Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Deichmann reference is non-analogous art to the claimed invention of the instant application. In response to applicant's argument that the Deichmann reference is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Deichmann is analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor of optics measurement as evidenced by its USPC classification of USPC 356/603 which is under the USPC 356 "Optics: Measuring and Testing" classification (applicant’s instant application ‘322 is currently associated with classification USPC 356/4.01). Deichmann relies on lasers for 3D modeling which is considered to be in the optics measurement field of endeavor. Additionally, Deichmann uses reflected light carried by light guide 801 from a laser scanner to determine variations in magnitude for modeling/imaging purposes (Deichmann; [0105]) which is applicable in CPC G01S17/06 (“Systems determining position data of a target”) classification. Thus, the Deichmann reference is analogous art to the claimed invention of the instant application because it is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
Applicant argues that “The Examiner has not identified any teaching or suggestion within Deichmann's disclosure that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to apply its histogram subtraction technique to modify Hirano so as to perform the claimed comparison and determination operations in time-of-flight systems.”. Examiner disagrees because the 1/14/26 non-final rejection on page 4 provides a rationale: “for the purpose of removing the background light intensity/noise (Deichmann; [0067] "to remove the background intensity").”. It appears that the applicant has not provided an argument to explain how this rationale is deficient. Thus, applicant’s statement appears to be merely an assertion without presenting any corresponding arguments/evidence to support the assertion.
Applicant argues that “even if Hirano and Deichmann were combined, such a combination would, at most, suggest removal of background light, but would still fail to teach or suggest comparing histogram data of a current optical signal with histogram data of ambient light, and determining both histogram data of an echo signal and distance information based on a result of the comparison, wherein the result comprises a magnitude of a ratio or a magnitude of a difference”. Examiner disagrees because the 1/14/26 non-final rejection on page 4 provides a teaching: “(Deichmann; [0067] first histogram is with light source turned off, and second histogram is with light source on, and taking the difference between the two histograms to remove the background intensity and to generate a new histogram for 3D modeling; [0037] "3D modeling")”. Also, Deichmann teaches “The background could also be removed by subtracting the image corresponding to the light source turned off from the image with light. The histogram used to determine the intensity could then be calculated from this difference image.” (Deichmann; [0067] “The background could also be removed by subtracting the image corresponding to the light source turned off from the image with light. The histogram used to determine the intensity could then be calculated from this difference image.”) (emphasis-added). It appears that the applicant has not provided an argument to explain how this teaching is deficient. Thus, applicant’s statement appears to be merely an assertion without presenting any corresponding arguments/evidence to support the assertion.
Applicant’s arguments relating to the other pending claims are similarly refuted as described above.
Examiner notes the following additional prior art for consideration in relation to the new limitations in independent claims 1 and 11:
Ida US20240230897 teaches performing an arithmetic operation Equation 10 of a reflected light component estimator 34 that calculates a difference between histograms to differentiate between the ambient light and the reflected light (Ida; Fig. 6, 11, and 13; [0101] “calculates a difference”; [0103] comparing the ambient light and the reflected light).
The previous drawing objection(s) has/have been addressed and is/are withdrawn.
The previous specification objection(s) has/have been addressed and is/are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-14 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination/interpretation of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano US20220342040 in view of Deichmann et al. US20030164952.
Regarding independent claim 1, Hirano discloses, in Figures 1-16,
A ranging adjustment method (Hirano; Fig. 1-16) of a LiDAR device (Hirano; the distance measurement apparatus 1), wherein the LiDAR device comprises a laser beam emission module (Hirano; light source 20 with laser light source 22) and a laser beam receiving module (Hirano; light reception device 30), the ranging adjustment method comprising:
turning off a laser beam emission module and turning on a laser beam receiving module, to obtain histogram data of ambient light (Hirano; Fig. 10B histogram of background light alone with the laser off and indicated by “tf of background light”);
adjusting detection efficiency of the laser beam receiving module based on the histogram data of the ambient light (Hirano; [0090] “on the basis of the fall time tf… the controller 40 outputs a control signal for controlling the light emission amount of the laser light source 22 or the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51, or both”; [0091] “controls the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51… ” and “SPAD driver 55 performs control to reduce the sensitivity of the SPAD element 51 by, for example, changing the voltage value (Ve6-V6d) of the voltage to be applied to the SPAD element 51 to cause the fall time 1r of the light reception response to converge to the predetermined reference value (reference time)±α”);
turning on the laser beam emission module and the laser beam receiving module, to obtain histogram data of a current optical signal (Hirano; Fig. 10C histogram of both the signal light and the background light); and
determining data of an echo signal and distance information of a to-be-detected object (Hirano; Fig. 8 “distance measurement”; Fig. 9 “distance information”).
Hirano does not specifically disclose comparing the histogram data of the current optical signal with the histogram data of the ambient light, and determining histogram data of an echo signal and distance information of a to-be-detected object, based on a result of the comparison, wherein the result of the comparison comprises magnitude of a ratio or magnitude of a difference.
Deichmann teaches subtracting a first histogram from a second histogram for the purpose of removing the background light intensity to generate a new histogram for 3D modeling (Deichmann; [0067] first histogram is with light source turned off, and second histogram is with light source on, and taking the difference between the two histograms to remove the background intensity and to generate a new histogram for 3D modeling; [0037] “3D modeling”); wherein the result of the comparison comprises magnitude of a ratio or magnitude of a difference (Deichmann; [0067] first histogram is with light source turned off, and second histogram is with light source on, and taking the difference between the two histograms to remove the background intensity) (Deichmann; [0067] “The background could also be removed by subtracting the image corresponding to the light source turned off from the image with light. The histogram used to determine the intensity could then be calculated from this difference image.”) (emphasis-added).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distance ranging method/steps as taught by Hirano to include the histogram comparison/subtraction to generate a new histogram as taught by Deichmann for the purpose of removing the background light intensity/noise (Deichmann; [0067] “to remove the background intensity”).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The ranging adjustment method according to claim 1, wherein obtaining the histogram data of the ambient light comprises: turning off the laser beam emission module and turning on the laser beam receiving module to receive current ambient light (Hirano; Fig. 10B histogram of background light alone with the laser off and indicated by “tf of background light”); and converting the ambient light received multiple times into multiple corresponding pulse signals, and superimposing the multiple corresponding pulse signals to form the histogram data of the ambient light (Hirano; Fig. 9; [0104] average computing section 634).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The ranging adjustment method according to claim 5, wherein converting the ambient light received multiple times into the multiple corresponding pulse signals, and superimposing the multiple corresponding pulse signals to form the histogram data of the ambient light comprises: performing averaging processing on the multiple pulse signals converted from the ambient light received multiple times, generating multiple pulse signals with equal amplitude, and superimposing the multiple pulse signals to form the histogram data of the ambient light (Hirano; Fig. 9; [0104] average computing section 634).
Regarding independent claim 11, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to regarding independent claim 1, and
A LiDAR device (Hirano; the distance measurement apparatus 1) (Hirano; Fig. 1-16), comprising a laser beam emission module (Hirano; light source 20 with laser light source 22), a laser beam receiving module (Hirano; light reception device 30), and a control circuit (Hirano; Fig. 2A; controller 40) respectively connected to the laser beam emission module and the laser beam receiving module, wherein the control circuit comprises a memory (Hirano; [0061] the inherent memory that cooperates with controller 40 and the CPU to store instructions that run the CPU and the controller and is analogous to the nonvolatile memory described in [0115] as correction table storage section 636), a processor (Hirano; [0061] controller 40 comprises a CPU), and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (Hirano; Fig. 8 flowchart that corresponds the computer program instructions), and wherein when the processor executes the computer program, the following processes are implemented:
turning off the laser beam emission module and turning on the laser beam receiving module, to obtain histogram data of ambient light (Hirano; Fig. 10B histogram of background light alone with the laser off and indicated by “tf of background light”);
adjusting detection efficiency of the laser beam receiving module based on the histogram data of the ambient light (Hirano; [0090] “on the basis of the fall time tf… the controller 40 outputs a control signal for controlling the light emission amount of the laser light source 22 or the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51, or both”; [0091] “controls the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51… ” and “SPAD driver 55 performs control to reduce the sensitivity of the SPAD element 51 by, for example, changing the voltage value (Ve6-V6d) of the voltage to be applied to the SPAD element 51 to cause the fall time 1r of the light reception response to converge to the predetermined reference value (reference time)±α”);
turning on the laser beam emission module and the laser beam receiving module, to obtain histogram data of a current optical signal (Hirano; Fig. 10C histogram of both the signal light and the background light); and
comparing the histogram data of the current optical signal with the histogram data of the ambient light (Deichmann; [0067] first histogram is with light source turned off, and second histogram is with light source on, and taking the difference between the two histograms to remove the background intensity and to generate a new histogram for 3D modeling; [0037] “3D modeling”), and
determining histogram data of an echo signal and distance information of a to-be-detected object, based on a result of the comparison (Hirano; Fig. 8 “distance measurement”; Fig. 9 “distance information”).
Hirano does not specifically disclose comparing the histogram data of the current optical signal with the histogram data of the ambient light, and determining histogram data of an echo signal and distance information of a to-be-detected object, based on a result of the comparison, wherein the result of the comparison comprises magnitude of a ratio or magnitude of a difference.
Deichmann teaches subtracting a first histogram from a second histogram for the purpose of removing the background light intensity to generate a new histogram for 3D modeling (Deichmann; [0067] first histogram is with light source turned off, and second histogram is with light source on, and taking the difference between the two histograms to remove the background intensity and to generate a new histogram for 3D modeling; [0037] “3D modeling”); wherein the result of the comparison comprises magnitude of a ratio or magnitude of a difference (Deichmann; [0067] first histogram is with light source turned off, and second histogram is with light source on, and taking the difference between the two histograms to remove the background intensity) (Deichmann; [0067] “The background could also be removed by subtracting the image corresponding to the light source turned off from the image with light. The histogram used to determine the intensity could then be calculated from this difference image.”) (emphasis-added).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distance ranging method/steps as taught by Hirano to include the histogram comparison/subtraction to generate a new histogram as taught by Deichmann for the purpose of removing the background light intensity/noise (Deichmann; [0067] “to remove the background intensity”).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR device according to claim 11, wherein the laser beam receiving module (Hirano; Fig. 2A; light reception device 30) comprises:
a laser beam receiving assembly (Hirano; Fig. 2A; the assembly of lens 31, optical sensor 32, and signal processor 33), wherein the laser beam receiving assembly is configured to convert a corresponding optical signal into a current signal (Hirano; optical sensor 32; [0060] “performs photoelectric conversion”);
a power supply circuit respectively connected to the control circuit and the laser beam receiving assembly, wherein the power supply circuit is triggered by a control signal of the control circuit to output a voltage signal with a corresponding value to the laser beam receiving assembly (Hirano; the inherent power supply circuit that supplies power to the distance measurement apparatus 1),
to adjust detection efficiency of the laser beam receiving assembly (Hirano; [0090] “on the basis of the fall time tf… the controller 40 outputs a control signal for controlling the light emission amount of the laser light source 22 or the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51, or both”; [0091] “controls the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51… ” and “SPAD driver 55 performs control to reduce the sensitivity of the SPAD element 51 by, for example, changing the voltage value (Ve6-V6d) of the voltage to be applied to the SPAD element 51 to cause the fall time 1r of the light reception response to converge to the predetermined reference value (reference time)±α”); and
a signal processing circuit respectively connected to the laser beam receiving assembly and the control circuit, wherein the signal processing circuit is configured to: convert, into corresponding histogram data, an electrical signal converted and output by the laser beam receiving assembly, and output the corresponding histogram data to the control circuit (Hirano; Fig. 5A circuit diagram; time calculator 60),
wherein the laser beam receiving assembly comprises a photoelectric converter (Hirano; SPAD 51; [0063] single photon avalanche diode SPAD).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR device according to claim 13, wherein the photoelectric converter comprises a photoelectric detection avalanche diode (Hirano; SPAD 51; [0063] single photon avalanche diode SPAD).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano US20220342040 in view of Deichmann et al. US20030164952 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao US20240192339 .
Regarding claim 3, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The ranging adjustment method according to claim 1, further comprising: adjusting the detection efficiency of the laser beam receiving module based on the histogram data of the ambient light (Hirano; [0090] “on the basis of the fall time tf… the controller 40 outputs a control signal for controlling the light emission amount of the laser light source 22 or the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51, or both”; [0091] “controls the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51… ” and “SPAD driver 55 performs control to reduce the sensitivity of the SPAD element 51 by, for example, changing the voltage value (Ve6-V6d) of the voltage to be applied to the SPAD element 51 to cause the fall time 1r of the light reception response to converge to the predetermined reference value (reference time)±α”).
Modified Hirano is silent regarding accordingly adjusting emission power or a number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in one frame of a scanning image.
Zhao teaches the balancing of parameters to optimize LIDAR performance under stray light saturation which include the correlation between adjusting light emission power and adjusting a bias voltage. Specifically, Zhao teaches an inverse correlation between emission power and bias voltage for LIDAR operation in that when bias voltages is increased, then light emission power is decreased for the purpose of maintaining long-range detection performance and to avoid the scenario of having the combination of both low photon detection efficiency PDE responsivity and low emission power which would reduce the long-range detection capability of the LIDAR (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distance ranging method/steps as taught by Modified Hirano to include adjusting emission power as taught by Zhao for the purpose of maintaining long-range detection performance and to avoid the scenario of having the combination of both low photon detection efficiency PDE responsivity and low emission power which would reduce the long-range detection capability of the LIDAR (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The ranging adjustment method according to claim 1.
Modified Hirano is silent regarding further comprising: after the distance information of the to-be-detected object is determined, accordingly adjusting emission power or a number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in one frame of a scanning image based on the histogram data of the echo signal.
Zhao teaches the balancing of parameters to optimize LIDAR performance under stray light saturation which include the correlation between adjusting light emission power and adjusting a bias voltage. Specifically, Zhao teaches an inverse correlation between emission power and bias voltage for LIDAR operation in that when bias voltages is increased, then light emission power is decreased for the purpose of maintaining long-range detection performance and to avoid the scenario of having the combination of both low photon detection efficiency PDE responsivity and low emission power which would reduce the long-range detection capability of the LIDAR (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distance ranging method/steps as taught by Modified Hirano to include adjusting emission power as taught by Zhao for the purpose of maintaining long-range detection performance and to avoid the scenario of having the combination of both low photon detection efficiency PDE responsivity and low emission power which would reduce the long-range detection capability of the LIDAR (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The ranging adjustment method according to claim 3, wherein adjusting the detection efficiency of the laser beam receiving module based on the histogram data of the ambient light (Hirano; [0090] “on the basis of the fall time tf… the controller 40 outputs a control signal for controlling the light emission amount of the laser light source 22 or the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51, or both”; [0091] “controls the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51… ” and “SPAD driver 55 performs control to reduce the sensitivity of the SPAD element 51 by, for example, changing the voltage value (Ve6-V6d) of the voltage to be applied to the SPAD element 51 to cause the fall time 1r of the light reception response to converge to the predetermined reference value (reference time)±α”), and
adjusting the emission power or the number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in one frame of the scanning image comprises: reducing the detection efficiency of the laser beam receiving module, and increasing the emission power or the number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in the frame of the scanning image, when the histogram data of the ambient light is greater than a first preset threshold of the histogram data (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”) (The combination of Hirano, Deichmann, and Zhao teaches that in an oversaturated ambient light condition, the PDE should be reduced by reducing the bias voltage which should be balanced by increasing the emission power in order to maintain sufficient long-distance ranging capabilities).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The ranging adjustment method according to claim 3, wherein adjusting the detection efficiency of the laser beam receiving module based on the histogram data of the ambient light (Hirano; [0090] “on the basis of the fall time tf… the controller 40 outputs a control signal for controlling the light emission amount of the laser light source 22 or the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51, or both”; [0091] “controls the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51… ” and “SPAD driver 55 performs control to reduce the sensitivity of the SPAD element 51 by, for example, changing the voltage value (Ve6-V6d) of the voltage to be applied to the SPAD element 51 to cause the fall time 1r of the light reception response to converge to the predetermined reference value (reference time)±α”), and
adjusting the emission power or the number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in one frame of the scanning image comprises: increasing the detection efficiency of the laser beam receiving module, and reducing the emission power or the number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in the frame of the scanning image, when the histogram data of the ambient light is less than a first preset threshold of the histogram data (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”) (The combination of Hirano, Deichmann, and Zhao teaches that in an undersaturated ambient light condition, the PDE should be increased by increasing the bias voltage which should be balanced by decreasing the emission power in order to maintain sufficient long-distance ranging capabilities).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The ranging adjustment method according to claim 3, wherein adjusting the detection efficiency of the laser beam receiving module based on the histogram data of the ambient light (Hirano; [0090] “on the basis of the fall time tf… the controller 40 outputs a control signal for controlling the light emission amount of the laser light source 22 or the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51, or both”; [0091] “controls the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51… ” and “SPAD driver 55 performs control to reduce the sensitivity of the SPAD element 51 by, for example, changing the voltage value (Ve6-V6d) of the voltage to be applied to the SPAD element 51 to cause the fall time 1r of the light reception response to converge to the predetermined reference value (reference time)±α”), and
adjusting the emission power or the number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in one frame of the scanning image comprises: when the histogram data of the ambient light is within a first preset range of the histogram data, setting the detection efficiency of the laser beam receiving module to constant preset detection efficiency, and setting the emission power or the number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in the frame of the scanning image to constant power or a constant number of emissions (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”) (The combination of Hirano, Deichmann, and Zhao teaches that in a normal/neutral saturation ambient light condition, the PDE should remain constant by maintaining a constant bias voltage which should be balanced by maintaining a constant emission power in order to maintain sufficient long-distance ranging capabilities).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The ranging adjustment method according to claim 4, wherein adjusting the emission power or the number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in one frame of the scanning image based on the histogram data of the echo signal (Hirano; [0090] “on the basis of the fall time tf… the controller 40 outputs a control signal for controlling the light emission amount of the laser light source 22 or the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51, or both”; [0091] “controls the sensitivity (detection efficiency PDE) of the SPAD element 51… ” and “SPAD driver 55 performs control to reduce the sensitivity of the SPAD element 51 by, for example, changing the voltage value (Ve6-V6d) of the voltage to be applied to the SPAD element 51 to cause the fall time 1r of the light reception response to converge to the predetermined reference value (reference time)±α”), comprises at least one of the following:
when the histogram data of the echo signal is greater than a second preset threshold of the histogram data, reducing the emission power or the number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in the frame of the scanning image (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”) (The combination of Hirano, Deichmann, and Zhao teaches that in an oversaturated ambient light condition, the PDE should be reduced by reducing the bias voltage which should be balanced by increasing the emission power in order to maintain sufficient long-distance ranging capabilities);
when the histogram data of the echo signal is less than a second preset threshold of the histogram data, increasing the emission power or the number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in the frame of the scanning image (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”) (The combination of Hirano, Deichmann, and Zhao teaches that in an undersaturated ambient light condition, the PDE should be increased by increasing the bias voltage which should be balanced by decreasing the emission power in order to maintain sufficient long-distance ranging capabilities); or
when the histogram data of the echo signal is within a second preset range of the histogram data, setting the emission power or the number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in the frame of the scanning image to constant power or a constant number of emissions (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”) (The combination of Hirano, Deichmann, and Zhao teaches that in a normal/neutral saturation ambient light condition, the PDE should remain constant by maintaining a constant bias voltage which should be balanced by maintaining a constant emission power in order to maintain sufficient long-distance ranging capabilities).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano US20220342040 in view of Deichmann et al. US20030164952 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Zhao US20240192339 and Shu et al. US20180259645.
Regarding claim 12, Modified Hirano teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR device according to claim 11, wherein the laser beam emission module comprises: a laser beam emission assembly (Hirano; the assembly of laser driver 21 and laser light source 22); and a laser beam drive circuit (Hirano; the corresponding circuit that cycles/switches the laser on/off) respectively connected to the control circuit and the laser beam emission assembly, wherein the laser beam drive circuit is accordingly turned on or off based on a control signal output by the control circuit.
Modified Hirano does not teach accordingly adjusts emission power or a number of laser beam emissions of the laser beam emission module in one frame of a scanning image, wherein the laser beam emission assembly comprises multiple lasers.
Zhao teaches the balancing of parameters to optimize LIDAR performance under stray light saturation which include the correlation between adjusting light emission power and adjusting a bias voltage. Specifically, Zhao teaches an inverse correlation between emission power and bias voltage for LIDAR operation in that when bias voltages is increased, then light emission power is decreased for the purpose of maintaining long-range detection performance and to avoid the scenario of having the combination of both low photon detection efficiency PDE responsivity and low emission power which would reduce the long-range detection capability of the LIDAR (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distance ranging method/steps as taught by Modified Hirano to include adjusting emission power as taught by Zhao for the purpose of maintaining long-range detection performance and to avoid the scenario of having the combination of both low photon detection efficiency PDE responsivity and low emission power which would reduce the long-range detection capability of the LIDAR (Zhao; [0114] “For example, when the light emission power becomes smaller, the first bias voltage can be increased so that the SiPM is not completely turned off.”; [0006] “low responsivity and low light emission power can cause the problem of reduced long-range detection performance of the LiDAR.”).
Modified Hirano does not teach wherein the laser beam emission assembly comprises multiple lasers.
Shu teaches wherein the laser beam emission assembly comprises multiple lasers (Shu; [0407] “Laser source 3542 can be on its own integrated circuit and can comprise a plurality of laser devices (e.g., vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs)).”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laser beam emission assembly as taught by Modified Hirano to comprise multiple lasers as taught by Shu for the purpose of adding redundancy and for determining ranges in multiple/other directions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ida US20240230897 teaches performing an arithmetic operation Equation 10 of a reflected light component estimator 34 that calculates a difference between histograms to differentiate between the ambient light and the reflected light (Ida; Fig. 6, 11, and 13; [0101] “calculates a difference”; [0103] comparing the ambient light and the reflected light).
Hirano US20250164615 teaches identifying the reflected light by comparing the histogram including only ambient light with the histogram including both ambient light and reflected light (Hirano; Fig. 13; [0183]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 5/1/26