DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An, et. al. (EPO translation of KR20210001334A; original cited in IDS), in view of Lee, et. al. (US 2022336887 A1) and Hood, et. al. (US 20100086810 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, An teaches a battery module mounting structure for a vehicle (“[0001] a vehicle battery mounting structure”), the battery module mounting structure comprising: a first case (“[0028] battery case 21 in which the battery cells and electronic equipment are mounted”) configured to surround a first side of a battery module (“[0028] one or more battery cells” ; see also “[0028] battery assembly 20,” which covers and contains the “[0028] one or more cells (or battery modules)”; a second case (an upper portion of the battery case 1 . . . . may include a cover 22”) coupled to the first case and configured to surround a second side of the battery module so that the battery module is accommodated in an inner space defined by the first case and the second case (see above). An at [0001, 26-28]. An teaches this module is fixed via a plurality of cross members which may “have a rectangular cross section,” which may be changed in terms of width and height “to enhance rigidity and/or strength according to the structure and size of the battery case 21.” Id. at [0029-30].
An at Fig. 2 and 7, depicting the floor panel 5, battery assembly 20, battery case 21m and cover 22.
However, An is silent as to a mounting plate positioned between the battery module and the first case and coupled to the first case, the battery module configured to be fixed to the mounting.
Lee teaches a battery pack for a vehicle, having a mounting plate 323 between the battery module 200 and the first case (here, this is the tray 320) and coupled to the first case(“[0018] Further, the mounting plate may include a mounting portion having a plate shape extending horizontally so that the plurality of battery modules is mounted on the mounting portion, a coupling portion which extends downward from a lower surface of the mounting portion, extends one side of the mounting portion to the other side and has a bottom coupled with the base plate”), the battery module configured to be fixed to the mounting plate (“[0042] Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4 together with FIGS. 1 and 2, the tray 320 may include the mounting plate 323 . The plurality of battery modules 200 may be mounted on the mounting plate 323”). Lee at [0041 – 44, 72], Fig. 2. However, Lee is silent as to a second case (i.e. a cover). Lee teaches its mounting plate permits the battery modules to have reduced “heat conduction path” from the battery modules and the refrigerant channels, increasing the cooling efficiency. Id. at [0024]. Lee teaches that the mounting plate 323 and mounting portion 337 allow for “stably fixing the battery pack 300 to the external device.” Lee at [0084].
Fig. 2 of Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery module mounting structure of Lim with the mounting plate of Lee, because Lee teaches a benefit to reducing improving the stability of the battery module.
However, An is silent as to “the mounting plate includes a flow path forming part which is bent and spaced apart from the battery module to form a flow path of air passing through the battery module between the mounting plate and the battery module, the flow path forming part being fixed to the first case, wherein the flow path forming part of the mounting plate is elongated to form the flow path along a direction in which battery cells of the battery module are stacked on one another, and wherein opposite sides of the flow path forming part of the mounting plate are fixed in close contact with the first case to form, together with the first case, a closed cross-section, the opposite sides extending along a longitudinal direction of the flow path forming part to reinforce the first case.”
Hood teaches an enclosure 120 for a cell stack 110, wherein “[0039] According to implementations, cover plates 146 , 156 may be provided in the enclosure 120 to form tapering inlet and outlet manifolds 145 , 155 leading to and from the stack 110.” These cover plates form at an angle corresponding to an angle of the stack, wherein air is directed via the manifold setup passing through the battery module. Hood at Fig. 1A.
This reads upon “wherein the mounting plate includes a flow path forming part which is bent and spaced apart from the battery module to form a flow path of air passing through the battery module between the mounting plate and the battery module, the flow path forming part being fixed to the first case, wherein the flow path forming part of the mounting plate is elongated to form the flow path along a direction in which battery cells of the battery module are stacked on one another, and wherein opposite sides of the flow path forming part of the mounting plate are fixed in close contact with the first case to form, together with the first case, a closed cross-section, the opposite sides extending along a longitudinal direction of the flow path forming part to reinforce the first case.”
Fig. 1A of Hood.
Hood teaches “[0038] According to implementations, the tapered air volumes 140 , 150 on either side of the stack 110 act to reduce the pressure drop in the air flow path leading through the stack and improve the distribution of air in the fuel cells making up the stack 110.” Further, this specific teaching also indicates a more general benefit to the use of flow path forming parts (in this case, cover plates 146, 156) to guide air and improve the distribution of air within a cell structure.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of An, such that the mounting plate (as previously modified, this comprises the mounting plate 323 as applied to An) includes a flow path forming part (cover plates 146, 156 of An) which is bent and spaced apart from the battery module (see Fig. 1A of Hood) to form a flow path of air passing through the battery module between the mounting plate and the battery module (as applied to An, these would be angled such that they meet the cell stack direction shown in Fig.2, 7 of An), the flow path forming part being fixed to the first case, wherein the flow path forming part of the mounting plate is elongated to form the flow path along a direction in which battery cells of the battery module are stacked on one another, and wherein opposite sides of the flow path forming part of the mounting plate are fixed in close contact with the first case to form, together with the first case, a closed cross-section, the opposite sides extending along a longitudinal direction of the flow path forming part to reinforce the first case, because Hood teaches a benefit to distribution of air and the reduction of a pressure drop in the air flow path. The Office notes that this modification comprises a modification to the mounting plate of modified An to meet the existing directionality of the battery cell stack of An, and does not comprise tilting or modifying the cell stack of modified An.
Claim 1 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified An.
Lee at Fig. 2 depicts the battery modules 200, which are “mounted” to the mounting plate 323; Lee in paragraph [0083] explains the mounting portion 337 may be bolt-coupled, having a bolting hole H2 for insertion of a bolt. Lee at Fig. 2, [0042, 83]. Lee also teaches at [0070] the mounting plate 323 comprises a mounting portion 323d and a coupling portion 323 e. Lee at [0070]. The coupling portion 323 e extends downward and “[0074] is coupled with the base plate 324” on the bottom.” Lee at [0074]. This indicates that this mounting is typically accomplished via a fastener which projects towards the fastening object. Lee teaches this configuration has the effect of “stably fixing the battery pack 300 to the external device.” Id. at [0083].
However, Lee does not directly disclose that the mounting portions 323 d comprise a bolt.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified An, such that the bolts of mounting portion 337 are also utilized within the mounting portion 323 d, such that the mounting plate 323 is configured to surround a projection of the battery module vertically projected toward the first case, because it provides a benefit to stable fixation.
Claim 2 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified An.
Lee at Fig. 2 depicts the battery modules 200, which are “mounted” to the mounting plate 323; Lee in paragraph [0083] explains the mounting portion 337 may be bolt-coupled, having a bolting hole H2 for insertion of a bolt. Lee at Fig. 2, [0042, 83]. Lee also teaches at [0070] the mounting plate 323 comprises a mounting portion 323d and a coupling portion 323 e. Lee at [0070]. The coupling portion 323 e extends downward and “[0074] is coupled with the base plate 324” on the bottom.” Lee at [0074]. This indicates that this mounting is typically accomplished via a fastener which projects towards the fastening object. Lee teaches this configuration has the effect of “stably fixing the battery pack 300 to the external device.” Id. at [0083].
However, Lee does not directly disclose that the mounting portions 323 d comprise a bolt. Lee does not disclose a plurality of bolts, but does disclose a plurality of battery modules, and that the holes shown in Fig. 2 roughly correspond to each battery module 200.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified An, such that it comprises a plurality of mounting bolts for fixing the battery module 200 is provided on the mounting plate 323 and configured to protrude toward the battery module, because it provides a benefit to stable fixation. Further, the duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, and here, an improvement to stability via the use of multiple mounting bolts for a mounting portion (as opposed to a singular mounting bolt) is not a new and unexpected result.
Claim 3 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood.
Regarding Claim 11, An teaches a battery module mounting structure (“[0001] a battery mounting structure) for a vehicle, the battery module mounting structure comprising: a battery module 5 including a plurality of battery cells stacked in a row (“[0028] The battery assembly 20 covers one or more battery cells (or battery modules), an electronic product related to one or more battery cells, a battery case 21 in which the battery cells and electronic equipment are mounted, and an upper portion of the battery case 21. It may include a cover 22.”); a first case (case 21) disposed on a first side of the battery module and configured to accommodate the battery module.
However, An is silent as to a mounting plate configured to fix the battery module to the first case while surrounding a surface facing the battery module toward the first case.
Lee teaches a battery pack for a vehicle, having a mounting plate 323 between the battery module 200 and the first case (here, this is the tray 320) and coupled to the first case(“[0018] Further, the mounting plate may include a mounting portion having a plate shape extending horizontally so that the plurality of battery modules is mounted on the mounting portion, a coupling portion which extends downward from a lower surface of the mounting portion, extends one side of the mounting portion to the other side and has a bottom coupled with the base plate”), the battery module configured to be fixed to the mounting plate (“[0042] Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4 together with FIGS. 1 and 2, the tray 320 may include the mounting plate 323 . The plurality of battery modules 200 may be mounted on the mounting plate 323”). Lee at [0041 – 44, 72], Fig. 2. However, Lee is silent as to a second case (i.e. a cover). Lee teaches its mounting plate permits the battery modules to have reduced “heat conduction path” from the battery modules and the refrigerant channels, increasing the cooling efficiency. Id. at [0024]. Lee teaches that the mounting plate 323 and mounting portion 337 allow for “stably fixing the battery pack 300 to the external device.” Lee at [0084]. For this reason, Lee teaches “a mounting plate configured to fix the battery module to the first case while surrounding a surface facing the battery module toward the first case”
Fig. 2 of Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to modify the battery module mounting structure of An with the mounting plate of Lee, such that a mounting plate is configured to fix the battery module to the first case while surrounding a surface facing the battery module toward the first case, because Lee teaches a benefit to reducing improving the stability of the battery module.
However, An is silent as to “the mounting plate includes a flow path forming part which is bent and spaced apart from the battery module to form a flow path of air passing through the battery module between the mounting plate and the battery module, the flow path forming part being fixed to the first case, wherein the flow path forming part of the mounting plate is elongated to form the flow path along a direction in which battery cells of the battery module are stacked on one another, and wherein opposite sides of the flow path forming part of the mounting plate are fixed in close contact with the first case to form, together with the first case, a closed cross-section, the opposite sides extending along a longitudinal direction of the flow path forming part to reinforce the first case.”
Hood teaches an enclosure 120 for a cell stack 110, wherein “[0039] According to implementations, cover plates 146 , 156 may be provided in the enclosure 120 to form tapering inlet and outlet manifolds 145 , 155 leading to and from the stack 110.” These cover plates form at an angle corresponding to an angle of the stack, wherein air is directed via the manifold setup passing through the battery module. Hood at Fig. 1A.
This reads upon “the mounting plate includes a flow path forming part which is bent and spaced apart from the battery module to form a flow path of air passing through the battery module between the mounting plate and the battery module, the flow path forming part being fixed to the first case, wherein the flow path forming part of the mounting plate is elongated to form the flow path along a direction in which battery cells of the plurality of battery cells are stacked on one another, and wherein opposite sides of the flow path forming part of the mounting plate are fixed in close contact with the first case to form, together with the first case, a closed cross-section, the opposite sides extending along a longitudinal direction of the flow path forming part to reinforce the first case..”
Fig. 1A of Hood.
Hood teaches “[0038] According to implementations, the tapered air volumes 140 , 150 on either side of the stack 110 act to reduce the pressure drop in the air flow path leading through the stack and improve the distribution of air in the fuel cells making up the stack 110.” Further, this specific teaching also indicates a more general benefit to the use of flow path forming parts (in this case, cover plates 146, 156) to guide air and improve the distribution of air within a cell structure.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious to further modify the battery module of An, such that the mounting plate (as previously modified, the mounting plate 323 as applied to modified An) includes a flow path forming part (cover plates 146, 156 of Hood) which is bent and spaced apart from the battery module to form a flow path of air (see Fig. 1A of Hood) passing through the battery module between the mounting plate and the battery module, the flow path forming part being fixed to the first case (in this case, the cover plates are fixed to the mounting plate 323; as modified here, these meet or are complementary to the angle of the cell stack as presented within Fig. 2, 7 of An), wherein the flow path forming part of the mounting plate is elongated to form the flow path along a direction in which battery cells of the plurality of battery cells are stacked on one another, and wherein opposite sides of the flow path forming part of the mounting plate are fixed in close contact with the first case to form, together with the first case, a closed cross-section, the opposite sides extending along a longitudinal direction of the flow path forming part to reinforce the first case, because Hood teaches a benefit to distribution of air and the reduction of a pressure drop in the air flow path. The Office notes that this modification comprises a modification to the mounting plate of modified An to meet the existing directionality of the battery cell stack of An, and does not comprise tilting or modifying the cell stack of modified An.
Claim 11 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood.
Claims 6-10, 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An, in view of Lee and Hood, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim, et. al. (US2013140101A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified An.
An is silent as to a bent mounting plate.
Lim teaches a battery mounting structure for a vehicle [0024], wherein Lim teaches “[0024] in order to slide the battery pack module 19 into the fettle portions, in the exemplary embodiment, the mounting plate 15 includes a plurality of curves.” This plurality of curves, and mounting brackets 21 produce the gaps formed in Fig. 3 of Lim, shown below. This reads upon “wherein the mounting plate is bent to form a flow path of air passing through the battery module between the mounting plate and the battery module.” Lim teaches a benefit to this configuration, because it provides “excellent mounting workability,” and “uniformly cool[s] each of the battery cells . . . and prevent[s] occupants from being exposed to an uncomfortable air flow environment by discharging air cooling a battery to the outside,” because this configuration provides flow paths from a cooling air providing means 7 (which may be a cooling fan 27 installed on the mounting plate 15 in front of the battery pack 9) to blow air into the cooling air distributing means 11 through branch ducks 29 and an exhaust duct 24. Lim at [0008, 28].
Fig. 2-3 of Lim, wherein the mounting plate 15 and the mounting bracket are joined and fixed to each other with a joining bolt [0026], and wherein the two rest on top of the center tunnel 7; as understood, the gaps shown in cross section are not filled, indicating air may pass through them. Further, the air appears to flow through the top branch ducts 19, over the battery cells, out through the discharge duct formed by the mounting plate 14 and discharge duct means 13. This discharge duct takes the form of two leg-like portions shown in Fig. 2.
Fig. 4 of Lim; as shown above, the mounting plate is bent and forms a flow path for air flow, and is separated from the floor panel of Lim.
Further, while not directly stated, because the discharge duct 13 is in front of the arrow portions shown in Fig. 4, it is strongly implied the air flowing from the upper two gaps formed by the mounting plate 15 and the mounting brackets 21 would flow out the discharge duct 13. This further provides a benefit to airflow, pulling air from the branches above the cells and from underneath the mounting plate.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified An, such that it comprises a mounting plate which is bent to form a flow path of air passing through the battery module between the mounting plate and the battery module, because Lim teaches a benefit to mounting workability, cooling, and a benefit to airflow, pulling air from the branches above the cells and from underneath the mounting plate.
In this configuration, Lim teaches the mounting plate 15 has a portion disposed on an upper side of the flow path forming part (between the plate 15 and the mounting bracket 21). Lim at Fig. 3.
For this reason, modified An teaches this portion is “spaced apart upwardly from the first case (battery case 21 of An), and configured to support the battery module (as with the previously battery module), and wherein in the portion of the mounting plate spaced apart upwardly from the first case, a plurality of mounting bolts pass through only the mounting plate and battery module (wherein the previously modified plurality of mounting bolts is spaced apart, as in the raised portion of the mounting plate 15). Id.
Claim 6 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood, further in view of Lim.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified An.
Lim teaches the flow path forming part of the mounting plate is elongated and configured to form the flow path along a direction in which battery cells of the battery module are stacked on one another (as shown in Fig. 3 and 4 of Lim, the batteries are stacked horizontally), wherein a first side of the flow path is sealed by a side panel provided in the battery module (this is met by the discharge duct means 13 in Fig. 2, wherein the duct presents a panel which covers the end and redirects the flow of air down through the leg-like ducts), and wherein a second side of the flow path (treating the flow path as space beneath the cells, the “second side” is the top side of this space, wherein air blows vertically down through cells and then underneath the cells to the discharge duct means 13) is connected to a blower through a blower duct (cooling air fan 7). Further, the Office notes that Lim teaches, “[0029] Although the illustrative embodiment of the present invention illustrates the cooling air providing means 7 as a cooling fan, the present invention is not limited as so. For example, a blower within an air-conditioning device installed a different location within the vehicle may also satisfy the cooling air providing means 7,” which indicates, for example, that the flow of air could instead be redirected so that the blower located elsewhere in Fig. 2 like along the mounting plate lower portion.
Claim 7 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood, further in view of Lim.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 relies upon Claim 7. Claim 7 is obvious over modified An.
Regarding a “second side,” this second side includes, for example, a second case which forms a cover. For this reason, Lim teaches a module duct (“branch ducts 29 / cooling air distributing means 11 of Lim as shown in Fig. 2.”) is disposed on the second side of the battery module and configured to distribute the air introduced into an air inlet to the battery cells that constitute the battery module (“The cooling air distributing means 11 may be configured as a plurality of branch ducts 29 which are overlapping to providing cooling air from the cooling fan 27 to each of the battery modules individually”). Lim at [0030], Fig. 2.
Claim 8 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood, further in view of Lim.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 8. Claim 8 is obvious over modified An.
An teaches “[0004] [a] pair of side seals are mounted on both sides of the floor panel, each side seal includes an inner side seal and an outer side seal, and a side reinforcement made of an extruded aluminum material is mounted inside each inner side seal. A pair of side flanges are provided on both sides of the battery case, and each side flange is coupled to each side seal through bolts and cylindrical nuts (pipe nuts), so that the high voltage battery assembly is mounted in each side seal.” An at [0004]. Further, this comprises “[0025] 1 and 2, the vehicle battery mounting structure 1 of the present invention includes a pair of side seals 10 spaced apart from the lower portion of the vehicle body, and a battery coupled to the pair of side seals 10.” This meets the term “sealing members are disposed on both sides of the flow path forming part of the mounting plate that are in contact with the battery module.” Id. at [0025].
Lim teaches the discharge duct means 13 which forms the side panel; this side panel provides the benefit of “the air passed over the cooling battery do[es] not affect the occupants of the vehicle.” Lim at [0033].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery module mounting structure of modified An, such that it comprises the side seal of An, such that a portion thereof in contact with the side panel of the battery module, and configured to secure airtightness of the flow path, because Lim teaches a benefit to preventing the cooling air from reaching the occupants of the vehicle.
Claim 9 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood, further in view of Lim.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 7. Claim 7 is obvious over modified An.
Lim teaches the flow path forming part is provided at a center of the mounting plate, and wherein one side of the flow path forming part is bent in the same direction as a wall surface of the first case and fixed in a state of closely contacting the wall surface of the first case. Lim at Fig. 3.
Claim 10 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood, further in view of Lim.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified An.
An and Lim are silent as to a module duct having an air inlet provided on a second side of the battery module.
Hood teaches the flow path forming part between the mounting plate and the battery module is configured to allow air, introduced through the air inlet and passed between the battery cells via the module duct, to flow through the flow path. Hood at Fig. 1A.
Lim teaches a battery mounting structure for a vehicle [0024], wherein Lim teaches “[0024] in order to slide the battery pack module 19 into the fettle portions, in the exemplary embodiment, the mounting plate 15 includes a plurality of curves.” This plurality of curves, and mounting brackets 21 produce the gaps formed in Fig. 3 of Lim, shown below.” Lim teaches a benefit to this configuration, because it provides “excellent mounting workability,” and “uniformly cool[s] each of the battery cells . . . and prevent[s] occupants from being exposed to an uncomfortable air flow environment by discharging air cooling a battery to the outside,” because this configuration provides flow paths from a cooling air providing means 7 (which may be a cooling fan 27 installed on the mounting plate 15 in front of the battery pack 9) to blow air into the cooling air distributing means 11 through branch ducts 29 and an exhaust duct 24. Lim at [0008, 28].
Fig. 2-3 of Lim, wherein the mounting plate 15 and the mounting bracket are joined and fixed to each other with a joining bolt [0026], and wherein the two rest on top of the center tunnel 7; as understood, the gaps shown in cross section are not filled, indicating air may pass through them. Further, the air appears to flow through the top branch ducts 19, over the battery cells, out through the discharge duct formed by the mounting plate 14 and discharge duct means 13. This discharge duct takes the form of two leg-like portions shown in Fig. 2.
Fig. 4 of Lim; as shown above, the mounting plate is bent and forms a flow path for air flow, and is separated from the floor panel of Lim.
Further, while not directly stated, because the discharge duct 13 is in front of the arrow portions shown in Fig. 4, it is strongly implied the air flowing from the upper two gaps formed by the mounting plate 15 and the mounting brackets 21 would flow out the discharge duct 13. This further provides a benefit to airflow, pulling air from the branches above the cells and from underneath the mounting plate.
This reads upon “wherein a module duct [cooling air distributing means 11 through branch ducts 29] having an air inlet is provided on a second side of the battery module [on the upward side], and wherein a flow path through which air introduced into the air inlet and passed between the battery cells through the module duct flows is formed between the mounting plate and the battery module [flowing down and then out the discharge duct 13].”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified An, such that it comprises a module duct [cooling air distributing means 11 through branch ducts 29] having an air inlet is provided on a second side of the battery module [on the upward side], and wherein a flow path through which air introduced into the air inlet and passed between the battery cells through the module duct flows is formed between the mounting plate and the battery module [flowing down and then out the discharge duct 13],” because Lim teaches a benefit to mounting workability, cooling, and a benefit to airflow, pulling air from the branches above the cells and from underneath the mounting plate.
Claim 12 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood, further in view of Lim.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 relies upon Claim 12. Claim 12 is obvious over modified An.
Lim teaches a first side of the flow path is sealed by a side panel (this is met by the discharge duct means 13 in Fig. 2, wherein the duct presents a panel which covers the end and redirects the flow of air down through the leg-like ducts) protruding to one side of the battery module, and wherein a second side of the flow path is connected to a blower through a blower duct (cooling air fan 7). Further, the Office notes that Lim teaches, “[0029] Although the illustrative embodiment of the present invention illustrates the cooling air providing means 7 as a cooling fan, the present invention is not limited as so. For example, a blower within an air-conditioning device installed a different location within the vehicle may also satisfy the cooling air providing means 7,” which indicates, for example, that the flow of air could instead be redirected so that the blower located elsewhere in Fig. 2 like along the mounting plate lower portion.
Claim 14 is obvious over An, in view of Lee, further in view of Lim.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 relies upon Claim 14. Claim 14 is obvious over modified An.
An teaches “[0004] [a] pair of side seals are mounted on both sides of the floor panel, each side seal includes an inner side seal and an outer side seal, and a side reinforcement made of an extruded aluminum material is mounted inside each inner side seal. A pair of side flanges are provided on both sides of the battery case, and each side flange is coupled to each side seal through bolts and cylindrical nuts (pipe nuts), so that the high voltage battery assembly is mounted in each side seal.” An at [0004]. Further, this comprises “[0025] 1 and 2, the vehicle battery mounting structure 1 of the present invention includes a pair of side seals 10 spaced apart from the lower portion of the vehicle body, and a battery coupled to the pair of side seals 10.”
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery module mounting structure of modified An, such that it comprises the side seal of An, such that “sealing members are disposed between the battery module and the mounting plate and configured to secure airtightness of the flow path by pressure at which the battery module is fastened to the mounting plate,” because Lim teaches a benefit to preventing the cooling air from reaching the occupants of the vehicle.
Claim 15 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood, further in view of Lim.
Regarding Claim 16, Claim 16 relies upon Claim 15. Claim 15 is obvious over modified An.
An teaches sealing members, but is silent as to the flow path forming part of the mounting plate. An teaches “[0004] [a] pair of side seals are mounted on both sides of the floor panel, each side seal includes an inner side seal and an outer side seal, and a side reinforcement made of an extruded aluminum material is mounted inside each inner side seal. A pair of side flanges are provided on both sides of the battery case, and each side flange is coupled to each side seal through bolts and cylindrical nuts (pipe nuts), so that the high voltage battery assembly is mounted in each side seal.” An at [0004]. An teaches “[0026] Each side seal 10 may include an inner side seal 11 and an outer side seal 12, and the inner side seal 11 and the outer side seal 12 may extend along the longitudinal direction of the vehicle. The inner side seal 11 may have an upper flange 11a and a lower flange 11b, and the outer side seal 12 may have an upper flange 12a and a lower flange 12b.” An at [0026].
Lim teaches the mounting plate 15, and the side panel (the discharge duct means 13). Lim at [0033], Fig. 4. The mounting plate 15 meets the mounting bracket 21,
16, connected by a “joining bolt.”
Because the side seals of An comprise flange portions in order to accomplish proper mounting, these side seals as applied to the flow path of Lim and the side panel of Lim would logically be placed upon both sides of the flow path forming part (because An teaches side seals upon opposing sides in [0026], and because the previous modification which comprises an airtight seal would necessarily include a seal to produce the airtightness.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the sealing members of modified An, such that the sealing members are disposed, in a state of being connected to each other, on both sides of the flow path forming part of the mounting plate that are in contact with the battery module, and at a portion thereof that is in contact with the side panel of the battery module, because the side seals of An comprise flange portions in order to accomplish proper mounting, and the previous modification which comprises an airtight seal would necessarily include a seal to produce the airtightness.
Claim 16 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood, further in view of Lim.
Regarding Claim 17, Claim 17 is obvious over Claim 15. Claim 15 is obvious over modified An.
Lim teaches a cross section perpendicular to the battery cell stacking direction of the battery module, a central portion of the mounting plate protrudes toward the first case by the flow path forming part and is coupled to the first case (see Fig.3, where the floor panel 17, mounting bracket 21, and the mounting plate 15 overlap and are joined). Lim at Fig. 3.
Lim teaches the mounting bracket 21 is bent in the same direction as a wall surface of the first case and fixed in a state of closely contacting the wall, but not the mounting plate the bracket is attached to.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to and wherein one side of the mounting plate based on the flow path forming part is bent in the same direction as a wall surface of the first case and fixed in a state of closely contacting the wall surface of the first case, because making a two piece construction integral is obvious where this would be an obvious engineering choice, such as wherein several parts are rigidly secured together as a single unit. MPEP 2144.04 (V)(B).
Claim 17 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood, further in view of Lim.
Regarding Claim 18, Claim 18 is obvious over Claim 15. Claim 15 is obvious over modified An.
An teaches a second case (cover 22) is coupled to the second side of the battery module (“[0044] In particular, the cross member 25 of the battery case 21 may be configured to penetrate the cover 22 and protrude to the top of the cover 22”. An at Fog/ 2, [0044]. However, An is silent as to “the second case being coupled to the first case (case 21), configured to accommodate the battery module therein.” However, the first and second case do meet at the front wall 31 facing the front of the vehicle, shown in Fig. 3. These side walls 33 are connected via sealing members 10. This sealing structure provides the benefit that “[0020] [because the component is] directly coupled to the side seal, it can be integrated into the skeleton structure of the vehicle body, so that not only static rigidity but also dynamic rigidity performance can be improved.”
Lim teaches an air inlet of the module duct ( and an air outlet blower (gas discharge duct means 13) of the blower (cooling fans 27) are formed.
One of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of Lee, such that the first and second cases are coupled together along the front portion of the battery case 21, because An teaches a benefit to static rigidity but also dynamic rigidity performance by coupling the two cases as with the side seals of An.
Fig. 3 of An.
Claim 18 is obvious over An, in view of Lee and Hood, further in view of Lim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6-12, 14-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725