DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSes filed 5/19/23, 10/13/23 and 1/13/26 have all been considered and placed of record. The three (3) initialed copies are attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 1, the limitation “the docking station” on line 8 lacks proper antecedent basis.
Re claims 2-13, they are indefinite for depending directly or indirectly on indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese document CN104124730A. See attached machine translation.
Re claims 1 and 14, the document discloses a robotic work tool configured to operate in an area in an autonomous manner (i.e. robotic mowing charging device), wherein the robotic work tool having, at least, one or more rechargeable batteries (i.e. charging device does have rechargeable batteries), and a contact plate configured to transfer electricity from a contact of a docking station to the one or more rechargeable batteries (i.e. charging electrode 31), wherein the contact plate comprises an edge surface extending along an abutment plane, the edge surface being configured to abut against the contact of the docking station upon movement of the robotic work tool relative to the docking station along a docking direction, and wherein the contact plate comprises a number of sections each being angled relative to the docking direction (i.e. embodiment: the intelligent grass-removing charging device… button and fence; figures 3 and 5). It further includes a docking station (i.e. automatically drive towards charging device).
Re claim 3 the document further discloses the contact plate having multiple bent sections (see figure 5).
Re claim 13, the document further discloses the tool is a self-propelled mower (i.e. Intelligent grass-removing and charging circuit carry out wireless telecommunications, in the time of intelligent grass-removing power shortage, intelligent grass-removing is located the position of charging device by wireless telecommunications, automatically drive towards charging device, intelligent grass-removing is under the effect of driving wheel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese document CN104124730A.
Re claims 2, 5 and 6, the document does not disclose the claimed number of bent and straight sections. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included any number of appropriate bent and straight sections, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 7, the document does not disclose the claimed thickness of the plate. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the plate to have the claimed thickness, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claims 8-12, the document does not disclose the claimed direction of different surfaces. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the surfaces to have them faced in the claimed direction, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claims 4 and 15, the document does not disclose the claimed curvature. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the curvature to have the claimed radius, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Examiner’s SPE is Taelor Kim and he can be reached at 571.270.7166. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087