DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Foreign priority is not claimed for this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/19/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation in claim 8 stating “a drain of the first common-gate amplifier being coupled to the drain of the first common-source amplifier” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It would help make the drawings clearer if nodes were added to indicate where two transistors are connected.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 last two lines: “a source of the second common-gate amplifier being coupled to a gate of the first common-source amplifier and the bias resistor” should this read “…coupled to a gate of the second common-source amplifier and the bias resistor.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220247358 by Salameh.
Regarding claim 8, Salameh teaches an electronic device (Fig. 6a) comprising:
one or more antennas (Fig. 11 #1102);
an amplifier coupled to the one or more antennas (Fig. 11, Par. 108-109),
the amplifier (Fig. 6a) comprising a bias resistor (Fig. 6a R) configured to receive an input signal (Fig. 6a RFin),
a first common-source amplifier (Fig. 6a M0), a source of the first common-source amplifier being coupled to a ground connection, a drain of the first common-source amplifier configured to receive an input power and provide an amplified signal in response to the input signal (Fig. 6a Vdd), and
a first common-gate amplifier (Fig. 6a MEQ), a source of the first common-gate amplifier being coupled to a gate of the first common-source amplifier (Fig. 6a M0) and the bias resistor (Fig. 6a R), and a drain of the first common-gate amplifier (MEQ) being coupled to the drain of the first common-source amplifier (M0).
Regarding claim 10, Salameh teaches the electronic device of claim 8, comprising a second common-source amplifier (Fig. 3 M0-), a drain of the second common-source amplifier being coupled to the drain of the first common-source amplifier (Fig. 3 M0+). The drains of M0+ and M0- are coupled to the supply voltage VDD, which means they are also coupled together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salameh as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 9413309 by Zhao et al.
Regarding claim 9, Salameh teaches the electronic device of claim 8, but fails to teach a first capacitor coupled to the drain and the source of the first common-gate amplifier.
However, Zhao teaches an amplifier circuit (Fig. 1a) with a first capacitor (Fig. 1a #118) coupled to the drain and the source of the first common-gate amplifier (Fig. 1a #114).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Zhao with Salameh in order to have an amplifier circuit with capacitors that can reduce or eliminate parasitic capacitance associated with the drain of the input common source transistors. This enhances performance and augments gain of the amplifier (Col. 5 lines 33-45).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is objected to, but would be allowed if rewritten to correct the minor issue stated above.
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are allowed.
The prior art fails to teach a bias resistor that is connected to the source of both of the common-gate amplifiers.
Conclusion
/NAREH SHAMIRYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843