DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 05/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 10-14, 19, and 21-24 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
For the purposes of examination, the following claim interpretation is made:
in claims 1 and 14, the limitation “wherein the first slot position is determined based on the first slot offset and a second slot offset collectively” is interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation to be using the first slot offset and a second slot offset in any way throughout a process of determining the first slot position. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2023/0114925), hereinafter “Yang”, in view of Lim et al. (US 2021/0336820), hereinafter “Lim”.
Regarding claims 1, 14, Yang teaches:
An aperiodic Reference Signal (RS) transmission method, performed by a terminal, or a terminal, wherein the method or the terminal comprises:
a memory storing computer-readable instructions (see Yang, Fig. 9, par. [0132]: The processing system 914 may be substantially the same as the processing system 814 illustrated in FIG. 8, including a bus interface 908, a bus 902, memory 905, a processor 904); and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer-readable instructions, wherein the computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor (see Yang, Fig. 9, par. [0132]: The processing system 914 may be substantially the same as the processing system 814 illustrated in FIG. 8, including a bus interface 908, a bus 902, memory 905, a processor 904), cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving first slot offset information by a slot offset indication field in Downlink Control Information (DCI) from a network-side device, wherein the first slot offset information is for indicating a first slot offset of a target aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource (see Yang, Fig. 6, par. [0115]: This sample deployment can allows a base station or gNB to dynamically indicate an A-SRS offset in the DCI. As illustrated, a DCI 602 can be transmitted by a base station or gNB, and see par. [0115]: A slot offset value can enables a UE receiving the DCI 602 to determine the slot offset (i.e., the number of slots of the offset). Additionally or alternatively, a UE receiving the DCI 602 can use a slot offset value to locate a slot offset from a list of predetermined slot offsets configured in the UE via RRC signaling); and
transmitting the target aperiodic SRS resource to the network-side device at a first slot position (see Yang, Fig. 6, par. [0116]: After determining the slot offset 604, a UE may then transmit at least one SRS transmission 606 using the determined slot offset), wherein the first slot position is determined based on the first slot offset and a second slot offset collectively, and wherein the second slot offset is a slot offset configured for the target aperiodic SRS resource by Radio Resource Control (RRC), and wherein the first slot offset and the second slot offset are different slot offsets (see Yang, par. [0113]: an A-SRS set (also termed “SRS-ResourceSet” in the 3GPP specifications) can be configured via a radio resource control (RRC) with a slot offset value (i.e., “slotOffset”), and see par. [0117]: Concerning how a DCI communicates a slot offset, various alternatives are contemplated for many possible deployments. In one alternative, each SRS resource set may be configured by an RRC with a listing or list of slot offsets (i.e., a plurality or some number of different slot offsets). In one aspect, an RRC configuration configures a UE such that the listing or list of slot offsets is known or stored in the UE with each respective SRS resource set. The signaling that indicates which particular SRS resource set and slot offset in the list of slot offsets has been selected may be accomplished through associating the various codepoints transmittable in the DCI with respective offset values in the list of slot offset value, where each codepoint in the DCI is associated with a particular offset value in the list of slot offsets; in this case, an SRS resource set is configured by an RRC configuration of multiple slot offsets, corresponding to a slot offset configured for the target aperiodic SRS resource by RRC (i.e. at least a first slot offset and a second slot offset are included in RRC configuration). The sections further teach a DCI which indicates a selected slot offset value (corresponding to the first slot offset) of the multiple slot offsets, including the first slot offset and the second slot offset. Although, in these sections, the DCI indicated slot offset is used as the final slot offset, all RRC configured offsets (including the first slot offset and the second slot offset) are used in the process of determining the final slot offset. Therefore, both the RRC configured slot offsets (including the second slot offset) and the DCI indicated slot offset (i.e. first slot offset) are used as part of determining the slot offset value (corresponding to the first slot position being determined based on a first slot offset and a second slot offset collectively). The RRC configured slot offsets (including the second slot offset) and the DCI indicated slot offset (i.e. first slot offset) are distinct offsets, corresponding to the first slot offset and the second slot offset being different slot offsets),
wherein when one or more first slot offsets are configured for the terminal by RRC, the first slot offset indicated by the first slot offset information carried in the slot offset indication field in the DCI indicates one of such configured first slot offsets (see Yang, par. [0117]: each SRS resource set may be configured by an RRC with a listing or list of slot offsets (i.e., a plurality or some number of different slot offsets). In one aspect, an RRC configuration configures a UE such that the listing or list of slot offsets is known or stored in the UE with each respective SRS resource set. The signaling that indicates which particular SRS resource set and slot offset in the list of slot offsets has been selected may be accomplished through associating the various codepoints transmittable in the DCI with respective offset values in the list of slot offset value, where each codepoint in the DCI is associated with a particular offset value in the list of slot offsets);
However, Yang does not teach:
when no first slot offset is configured for the terminal by the RRC, the slot offset indication field in the DCI has 0 bits and the first slot offset of the target aperiodic SRS resource is a default value N as a number of valid slots being offset.
Lim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
when no first slot offset is configured for the terminal by the RRC, the slot offset indication field in the DCI has 0 bits and the first slot offset of the target aperiodic SRS resource is a default value N as a number of valid slots being offset (see Lim, par. [0403]: A dropped AP SRS may be transmitted without additional DCI or with very small additional DCI by using the automatic delay-based triggered AP SRS transmission method, and see par. [0404]: When a UE is unable to transmit an AP SRS at a determined transmission timing, a BS may receive a report of a UE capability for automatic delay to determine whether the AP SRS may be transmitted by performing the automatic delay. When the UE transmits the report of the UE capability and the automatic delay may be supported, the BS may add a higher layer parameter, for example, ‘enableAutoDelay’, for determining whether to perform an automatic delay operation and may set a value to {on}, during an RRC configuration. The UE receives RRC configuration information from the BS, and see par. [0408]: Embodiment 3-2 provides an automatic delay method through an available resource index indicated by DCI to flexibly support an automatic delay method. An available resource index u indicates a uth transmittable resource (e.g., slot) from among resources (e.g., slots) on which AP SRSs may be transmitted may be transmitted, instead of a slot index, and see par. [0432]: In a third DCI field 23-15, an offset required to determine a transmission timing of an AP SRS according to a dynamic AP SRS triggering operation that is previously determined between the BS and the UE or determined by the first DCI field 23-05 and the second DCI field 23-10 may be indicated, and may be omitted for an operation not requiring an additional offset; in this case, the RRC configuring an automatic delay corresponds to no first slot offset being configured. An additional offset is not required and DCI indicating an offset may be omitted (corresponding to the slot offset indication field in the DCI has 0 bits). The automatic delay method uses an integer number of slots on which reference signals can be transmitted (corresponding to a default value N as a number of valid slots being offset) to determine slots for AP SRS transmissions (i.e. the first slot offset)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or terminal of Yang with the conditional DCI indication of Lim with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing DCI overhead (see Lim, par. [0336]).
Regarding claims 10, 21, the combination of Yang in view of Lim teaches the method or terminal.
Yang does not teach, but Lim teaches:
wherein the valid slot is a slot resource usable for the target aperiodic SRS resource (see Lim, par. [0408]: Embodiment 3-2 provides an automatic delay method through an available resource index indicated by DCI to flexibly support an automatic delay method. An available resource index u indicates a uth transmittable resource (e.g., slot) from among resources (e.g., slots) on which AP SRSs may be transmitted may be transmitted, instead of a slot index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or terminal of Yang with the conditional DCI indication of Lim with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing DCI overhead (see Lim, par. [0336]).
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Lim, as applied to claims 1, 10, 14, and 21 above, and further in view of Go et al. (US 2021/0367727), hereinafter "Go”.
Regarding claims 6, 19, the combination of Yang in view of Lim teaches the method or terminal.
However, the combination of Yang in view of Lim does not teach:
wherein before the transmitting the target aperiodic SRS resource to the network-side device at a first slot position, the method further comprises:
receiving first request information, wherein the first request information comprises a first activation indication field, and the first activation indication field is for indicating whether to activate the target aperiodic SRS resource, and
wherein when the first activation indication field indicates to activate the target aperiodic SRS resource, the first slot offset information is for indicating the first slot offset of the target aperiodic SRS resource.
Go, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein before the transmitting the target aperiodic SRS resource to the network-side device at a first slot position (see Go, Fig. 8, item S802, par. [0252], lines 1-3: A base station may transmit DCI related to SRS transmission (triggering SRS transmission) to UE (through a PDCCH) (S802)), the method further comprises:
receiving first request information (see Go, par. [0253], lines 1-3: UE may receive DCI related to SRS transmission (triggering SRS transmission) from a base station (through a PDCCH)), wherein the first request information comprises a first activation indication field (see Go, par. [0254], line 1: DCI may include information (a field)), and the first activation indication field is for indicating whether to activate the target aperiodic SRS resource (see Go, par. [0254], lines 1-5: DCI may include information (a field) which triggers SRS transmission for one or more SRS resource sets (i.e., M (M≤N, M is a natural number) SRS resource sets) among one or more SRS resource sets configured in Step S801 above (i.e., N SRS resource sets)), and
wherein when the first activation indication field indicates to activate the target aperiodic SRS resource, the first slot offset information is for indicating the first slot offset of the target aperiodic SRS resource (see Go, par. [0249], lines 1-8: the configuration information (in particular, configuration information for an additional SRS) may include slot offset information per SRS resource set (or per SRS resource). Here, a slot offset may mean an interval for a slot that the triggered SRS resource set (or SRS resource) is transmitted from a slot that DCI triggering transmission of an SRS resource set (or an SRS resource) is transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or terminal of the combination of Yang in view of Lim with the request information of Go with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing signaling overhead (see Go, pars. [0012-0013]).
Claims 11-13 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Lim, as applied to claims 1, 10, 14, and 21 above, and further in view of Go, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0330300), hereinafter “Wang”.
Regarding claims 11, 22, the combination of Yang in view of Lim teaches the method or terminal.
However, the combination of Yang in view of Lim does not teach:
wherein the first slot position satisfies at least one of the following:
the first slot position is located in a valid window;
a time interval between the first slot position and a second slot position is longer than or equal to a first time interval; or
a time interval between aperiodic SRS resources in the target aperiodic SRS resource is longer than or equal to a minimum time interval of antenna switching,
wherein the second slot position is a slot position at which DCI for activating the target aperiodic SRS resource is received, and the first time interval is a minimum time interval between DCI for activating an aperiodic SRS resource and the aperiodic SRS resource.
Go, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the first slot position satisfies at least one of the following:
a time interval between the first slot position and a second slot position is longer than or equal to a first time interval (see Go, par. [0279], lines 11-17: When UE receives DCI scheduling a PUSCH in slot n, a value of K2 is determined according to a row of a PUSCH resource allocation-related table indicated by m, a ‘Time domain resource assignment’ field value in corresponding DCI, and slot Ks allocated for a PUSCH is determined based on an index of a slot that DCI is received (i.e., n) and a value of K2); or
a time interval between aperiodic SRS resources in the target aperiodic SRS resource is longer than or equal to a minimum time interval of antenna switching (see Go, par. [0214], lines 4-8: a slot offset (slotOffset) may mean a time interval (or a slot interval) from a transmission/reception time (slot) of DCI triggering a corresponding SRS resource set to a time/(slot) transmitting a corresponding SRS resource set, and see Go, par. [0222], lines 8-15: 2 or more different (aperiodic) SRS resource sets which may be linked/associated to a specific codepoint of the SRS request field may be limited to SRS resource set(s) having the same ‘usage’ value. In other words, common ‘usage’ of the (aperiodic) SRS resource set may be a ‘codebook’, a ‘non-codebook’, ‘beam management’, ‘antenna switching’ or/and ‘positioning’, etc, and see Go, par. [0227], lines 3-9: an SRS resource set (resources) having a shorter slot offset (slotOffset) value may be transmitted in a corresponding slot. In addition, transmission of an SRS resource set (resources) having a longer slot offset (slotOffset) value may be performed by a shift/a delay in a subsequent valid UL slot after a corresponding slot),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or terminal of the combination of Yang in view of Lim with the slot position conditions of Go with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing signaling overhead (see Go, pars. [0012-0013]).
However, the combination of Yang in view of Lim, and further in view of Go, does not teach:
the first slot position is located in a valid window;
wherein the second slot position is a slot position at which DCI for activating the target aperiodic SRS resource is received, and the first time interval is a minimum time interval between DCI for activating an aperiodic SRS resource and the aperiodic SRS resource.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
the first slot position is located in a valid window (see Wang, par. [0098], lines 44-45: The valid slot is within the predetermined time window after the PDCCH);
wherein the second slot position is a slot position at which DCI for activating the target aperiodic SRS resource is received (see Wang, par. [0082], lines 1-7: the indication information includes a second slot offset parameter. The second slot offset parameter corresponds to a slot for receiving a downlink signal. The downlink signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS). The indication information is used for indicating that the second communication node receives an aperiodic CSI-RS, and see Wang, par. [0032], lines 13-16: The second communication node may be triggered, through the higher-layer signaling (also referred to as trigger type 0) or the DCI (also referred to as trigger type 1), to send the SRS), and the first time interval is a minimum time interval between DCI for activating an aperiodic SRS resource and the aperiodic SRS resource (see Wang, par. [0080], lines 26-28: The time interval between the PDCCH and a starting time-domain symbol of the SRS resource in the valid slot is greater than or equal to predetermined value A, and see Wang, par. [0032], lines 13-16: The second communication node may be triggered, through the higher-layer signaling (also referred to as trigger type 0) or the DCI (also referred to as trigger type 1), to send the SRS, and see Wang, par. [0030], lines 1-3: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is used for carrying downlink control information (DCI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the slot position conditions of the combination of Yang in view of Lim, and further in view of Go, with the additional slot position conditions of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving signal transmission flexibility (see Wang, par. [0035], lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 12, 23, the combination of Yang in view of Lim, and further in view of Go, and further in view of Wang, teaches the method or terminal.
The combination of Yang in view of Lim does not teach, but Go teaches:
wherein the valid window (see Go, par. [0331], line 6: the specific range in a time domain) is determined by at least one of the following: configured by the network-side device, specified in a protocol, or reported by the terminal (see Go, par. [0331], lines 5-9: the uplink DMRS and the SRS are indicated to be located in the specific range in a time domain by a scheduling offset indication of the PUSCH by the DCI, time domain bundling between the SRS and the uplink DMRS may be indicated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or terminal of the combination of Yang in view of Lim with the valid window of Go with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing signaling overhead (see Go, pars. [0012-0013]).
Regarding claims 13, 24, the combination of Yang in view of Lim, and further in view of Go, and further in view of Wang, teaches the method or terminal.
The combination of Yang in view of Lim, and further in view of Go, does not teach, but Wang teaches:
wherein a slot template of the valid window is determined by at least one of the following: configured by the network-side device, specified in a protocol, or reported by the terminal (see Wang, par. [0142], lines 1-8: k is determined through at least one of the following manners: k is configured through radio resource control (RRC) signaling, k is equal to the first slot offset parameter, k is configured through the RRC signaling and corresponds to one SRS trigger state or one antenna group association parameter, k corresponds to a control resource set, k corresponds to the slot where the PDCCH triggering the SRS is located, or k is a preset value),
wherein the slot template comprises a starting point of the valid window, a window size of the valid window, and a position distribution of enable slots in the valid window (see Wang, par. [0144], lines 1-14: in the case of using the DCI to trigger the aperiodic SRS, or in the case where the SRS resource or at least one SRS resource in the SRS resource set configured for the slot corresponding to the first slot offset parameter or configured for the slot where the PDCCH triggering the aperiodic SRS is located is on at least one downlink symbol, the indication information is used for indicating that the second communication node sends the aperiodic SRS on a third target slot. The third target slot is a first valid slot among N slots after the slot where the PDCCH triggering the aperiodic SRS is located. Alternatively, the third target slot is a first valid slot among N slots after the slot corresponding to the first slot offset parameter. N is a positive integer within the first preset range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or terminal of the combination of Yang in view of Lim, and further in view of Go, with the slot template of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving signal transmission flexibility (see Wang, par. [0035], lines 4-8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “Yang Fails to Disclose Distinct Co-existing Offsets Determining ‘Collectively’ “ (see Applicant’s Remarks, page 7).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to Yang in par. [0113]: an A-SRS set (also termed “SRS-ResourceSet” in the 3GPP specifications) can be configured via a radio resource control (RRC) with a slot offset value (i.e., “slotOffset”), and par. [0117]: Concerning how a DCI communicates a slot offset, various alternatives are contemplated for many possible deployments. In one alternative, each SRS resource set may be configured by an RRC with a listing or list of slot offsets (i.e., a plurality or some number of different slot offsets). In one aspect, an RRC configuration configures a UE such that the listing or list of slot offsets is known or stored in the UE with each respective SRS resource set. The signaling that indicates which particular SRS resource set and slot offset in the list of slot offsets has been selected may be accomplished through associating the various codepoints transmittable in the DCI with respective offset values in the list of slot offset value, where each codepoint in the DCI is associated with a particular offset value in the list of slot offsets.
These sections teach an SRS resource set being configured by an RRC configuration of multiple slot offsets, corresponding to a slot offset configured for the target aperiodic SRS resource by RRC (i.e. at least a first slot offset and a second slot offset are included in RRC configuration). The sections further teach a DCI which indicates a selected slot offset value (corresponding to the first slot offset) of the multiple slot offsets, including the first slot offset and the second slot offset. Although, in these sections, the DCI indicated slot offset is used as the final slot offset, all RRC configured offsets (including the first slot offset and the second slot offset) are used in the process of determining the final slot offset. Therefore, both the RRC configured slot offsets (including the second slot offset) and the DCI indicated slot offset (i.e. first slot offset) are used as part of determining the slot offset value (corresponding to the first slot position being determined based on a first slot offset and a second slot offset collectively). The RRC configured slot offsets (including the second slot offset) and the DCI indicated slot offset (i.e. first slot offset) are distinct offsets, corresponding to the first slot offset and the second slot offset being different slot offsets. Therefore, Yang teaches the limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant argues “Lim Fails to Bridge This Gap and Contradicts the Claimed Fallback Logic” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pages 7-8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to Lim in par. [0403]: A dropped AP SRS may be transmitted without additional DCI or with very small additional DCI by using the automatic delay-based triggered AP SRS transmission method, par. [0404]: When a UE is unable to transmit an AP SRS at a determined transmission timing, a BS may receive a report of a UE capability for automatic delay to determine whether the AP SRS may be transmitted by performing the automatic delay. When the UE transmits the report of the UE capability and the automatic delay may be supported, the BS may add a higher layer parameter, for example, ‘enableAutoDelay’, for determining whether to perform an automatic delay operation and may set a value to {on}, during an RRC configuration. The UE receives RRC configuration information from the BS, par. [0408]: Embodiment 3-2 provides an automatic delay method through an available resource index indicated by DCI to flexibly support an automatic delay method. An available resource index u indicates a uth transmittable resource (e.g., slot) from among resources (e.g., slots) on which AP SRSs may be transmitted may be transmitted, instead of a slot index, and par. [0432]: In a third DCI field 23-15, an offset required to determine a transmission timing of an AP SRS according to a dynamic AP SRS triggering operation that is previously determined between the BS and the UE or determined by the first DCI field 23-05 and the second DCI field 23-10 may be indicated, and may be omitted for an operation not requiring an additional offset.
These sections teach an RRC configuration indicating automatic delay AP SRS transmission method without additional DCI. The RRC configuring an automatic delay corresponds to no first slot offset being configured. In this case, an additional offset is not required and DCI indicating an offset may be omitted (corresponding to the slot offset indication field in the DCI has 0 bits). The automatic delay method uses an integer number of slots on which reference signals can be transmitted (corresponding to a default value N as a number of valid slots being offset) to determine slots for AP SRS transmissions (i.e. the first slot offset). These sections taken in combination with the above teachings of Yang teach the limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Abdelghaffar et al. (US 2023/0379111) teaches methods for determining an available slot for an aperiodic sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set.
Park et al. (US 2021/0211254) teaches configuration of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets from a base station; receiving, from the base station, activation command information commanding the SRS transmission activation of a particular SRS resource set from among the one or more SRS resource sets; and transmitting, to the base station, the SRS corresponding to the particular SRS resource set.
Yang et al. (US 2026/0113159) teaches aspects related to dynamic sounding reference signal (SRS) slot offset indication in a wireless communication system using aperiodic SRS.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409