DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Chen (US 8798852 B1) in view of Kuroda (JP 2013147123 A) fails to teach:
"a plurality of electrical components mounted on a bicycle to perform some functionality of the bicycle,"
"at least one of the plurality of electrical components includes a storage to store individual identification information about an authenticated electrical component," and
"at least one of the plurality of electrical components includes an authentication setter to record, in the storage, individual identification information about new authenticated electrical components when a user has performed a predetermined operation on the bicycle, the individual identification information about the new authenticated electrical components being individual identification information about electrical components mounted on the bicycle at a time of the predetermined operation".
Specifically, the applicant alleges that, “although column 20, lines 28-36 of Chen discloses that the updated component or system information may be received from the user, Chen does not teach or suggest what event by the user prompts the system to record new identification information”.
However, Chen does disclose an event executed by a user that prompts the recording of new identification information, “the user may execute machine executable instructions, for example in the form of an application or "app," on the portable electronic device to initiate unidirectional or bidirectional communication with the controller 302” (Col. 20, LL. 22-24). Chen further discloses that the established communication may, “facilitate the delivery of updated component or system information from the user, vehicle manufacturer, or OEM supplier to the controller 302” (Col. 20, LL. 32-37). Further, Chen in view of Kuroda would be able to teach all of the limitations of claim 1 even if Chen did fail to disclose which specific event by the user prompts the system to record new identification information, because the claim does not require that a specific operation is performed, only that said operation is predetermined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 8798852 B1) in view of Kuroda (JP 2013147123 A).
With respect to claim 1, Chen discloses: An on-board system (130, Fig. 3) comprising:
a plurality of electrical components (see Col. 8, LL. 4-25) mounted on a vehicle (100a, Fig. 4) to perform some functionality of the bicycle; wherein at least one of the plurality of electrical components includes a storage (see "store authentication information", Col. 15, LL. 24-27) to store individual identification information about an authenticated electrical component (see "…associated with some or all of the components…", Col. 15, LL. 24-27); at least one of the plurality of electrical components is detachable from the vehicle; the plurality of electrical components, when mounted on the bicycle, are electrically connected to each other; and a functionality of the bicycle implementable by at least one of the plurality of electrical components mounted on the bicycle that have been individually identified varies depending on whether a combination of the individually identified electrical components matches the individual identification information about the authenticated electrical component stored in the storage (see Col. 19, LL. 34-45), wherein at least one of the plurality of electrical components includes an authentication setter (340) to record, in the storage, individual identification information about a new authenticated electrical component (“facilitate the delivery of updated component system info”, Col. 20, LL. 28-36) when a user has performed a predetermined operation (“execute machine executable instructions, for example in the form of an application”, Col. 20, LL. 22-26) on the bicycle, bicycle, the individual identification information about the new authenticated electrical components being individual identification information about electrical components mounted on the bicycle at a time of the predetermined operation.
Regarding the “detachable” limitation, Chen discloses that a user of a vehicle may replace or upgrade components of the vehicle (see Col. 28, L. 65 – Col. 29, L. 5). Neither replacement nor upgrading of existing components would be possible without said components being detachable. Furthermore, every component of the vehicle would be detachable from the rest of the vehicle by at least some means, for example, cutting.
Regarding the “electrically connected” limitation, Chen discloses that the plurality of electric components are electrically connected to one another by the on-board system.
Regarding, “information about electrical components mounted on the bicycle at the time of the predetermined operation” Chen discloses that the on-board system may “authenticate or determine the suitability of some or all of the vehicular components or systems prior to or during operation of the vehicle” (Col. 21, LL. 48-50). In order to authenticate information about a vehicle component during operation of the vehicle, such a component would need to be on the bicycle at the time of the authentication.
Chen discloses the on-board system as usable with a variety of vehicles (see Col. 37, LL. 30-35) but is silent regarding a bicycle specifically.
Kuroda discloses an electric bicycle (10, Fig. 1) having a plurality of electric components (26-29).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the on-board system disclosed by Chen to an electric bicycle, such as the one disclosed by Kuroda, to prevent theft of electric bicycle components in the same manner that the on-board system is used to prevent theft of electric scooter components.
With respect to claim 2, Chen in view of Kuroda as modified above discloses: The on-board system according to claim 1, wherein, if the combination of the plurality of electrical components mounted on the bicycle that have been individually identified does not match the individual identification information about the authenticated electrical component stored in the storage, the functionality of the bicycle implementable by at least one of the plurality of electrical components is restricted relative to that in a case of a match (Chen; see Col. 19, LL. 34-45).
With respect to claim 3, Chen in view of Kuroda as modified above discloses: The on-board system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of electrical components includes:
an authenticator (Chen; controller 302; also see Col. 19, LL. 18-22) to determine whether the combination of the plurality of electrical components mounted on the bicycle that have been individually identified matches the individual identification information about the authenticated electrical component stored in the storage.
With respect to claim 5, Chen in view of Kuroda as modified above discloses: The on-board system according to claim 1, wherein the authentication setter (Chen; 340) is operable to control recording, in the storage, of the individual identification information about the new authenticated electrical component based on the individual identification information about the authenticated electrical component stored in the storage (…”that are compatible with the user’s vehicle”, Col. 19, Ll. 49-50).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Chen in view of Kuroda disclose: the on-board system according to claim 5 as well as an authenticator setter operable to record information about a new authenticated electrical component in response to a user operation (Chen; see Col. 19, L. 45 – Col. 21, L. 35). As noted above, the scope of claims 6 and 7 are uncertain; however, the examiner believes that the combination of Chen in view of Kuroda meets the intended limitations of claims 6 and 7 due to the structural similarities and similarities in principle of operation between the inventions.
With respect to claim 8, Chen in view of Kuroda disclose: the on-board system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrical components includes at least two of: a motor drive (see “motor controller”, Col. 16, L. 42), a display (see “display”, Col. 19, L. 47) to display a state of the bicycle, an operator (310) to receive an input by a user of the bicycle, a headlight (see “vehicle lights”, Col. 26, L. 11), and a battery (see “battery”, Col. 8, LL. 19-21).
With respect to claim 9, Chen in view of Kuroda discloses: A drive for a motor (Chen; see “motor”, Col. 19, L. 40), the drive comprising: one of the plurality of electrical components in the on- board system according to claim 1; wherein the drive is operable to vary the functionality of the bicycle (“the speed of the scooter may be limited…”, Col. 19, L. 41-42) implementable by driving of the motor depending on whether the combination of the plurality of electrical components mounted on the bicycle that have been individually identified matches the individual identification information about the authenticated electrical component stored in the storage (“responsive to determining that a safety critical component in an electric scooter is not authorized…”, Col. 19, L. 38-42).
With respect to claim 10, Chen in view of Kuroda disclose: A display for displaying a state of a bicycle, the display comprising: one of the plurality of electrical components in the on- board system according to claim 1; wherein the display (Chen; “display”, Col. 19, L. 60) is operable to vary the functionality of the bicycle implementable by at least one of the plurality of electrical components depending on whether the combination of the plurality of electrical components mounted on the bicycle that have been individually identified matches the individual identification information about the authenticated electrical component stored in the storage (“provide the user with an indication, via a sound, voice, or display delivered by the I/O device 310, that all of the vehicular components or systems have been successfully authenticated and full operability is provided”, Col. 19, LL. 59-63).
With respect to claim 11, Chen in view of Kuroda discloses: A battery (Chen; see “battery”, Col. 8, LL. 19-21) comprising: one of the plurality of electrical components in the on- board system according to claim 1; wherein the battery is operable to vary electric power (“limit power flow”, Col. 15, LL. 33-40) to be supplied to at least one of the plurality of electrical components depending on whether the combination of the plurality of electrical components mounted on the bicycle that have been individually identified matches the individual identification information about the authenticated electrical component stored in the storage (see Col. 15, LL. 33-40).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/DREW J BROWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617