DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 1 June 2026. Claim(s) 1-2, 7-11, 18-35 are currently pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim(s) 1-2, 8-11, 20, cancelled claim(s) 3-6, 12-17 and new claim(s) 21-35.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The limitation ‘treatment device’ in claims 1, 21 and 29 is construed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claims 1, 21 and 29 function: to engage a tissue and sever or disrupt the tissue.
Corresponding structure: first and second links, Figs. 3B, 5; [0015, 0017, 0054, 0065]; (310).
The limitation ‘actuating assembly’ in claims 1, 21 and 29 is construed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claims 1, 21 and 29 function: to control transition of the treatment device between the first configuration, the second configuration and the third configuration.
Corresponding structure: Figs. 3, 4; (304, 305, 307, 306); [0059,0064 0065].
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0061], lines 8, 10 and 11: please change “pusher” to “push rod”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Paragraph [0061], line 18: please change “1405” to “1407”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clark, III et al. (US 2014/0277027A1, “Clark”).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Clark discloses an aesthetic treatment system including an elongate member (1801, Figs. 19, 20; [0135, 0137]) extending from a handle (Fig. 18;1804; [0146]) and is capable of being inserted through the skin. A pushrod (2002) is coupled to the handle and extends through the elongate member (Fig. 20). A treatment device (1802/1902) is attached to a distal portion of the elongate member via fixed pivot location (1903; [0137]). The treatment device has a first configuration when stowed (constrained position; [0135]), a second configuration capable of engaging a tissue (intermediate configuration between constrained and deployed, wherein pushing distal portion and distal ends of treatment device into tissue would result in engagement thereof and a central portion of the treatment device is radially expanded relative to the elongate member), and a third configuration capable of severing or disrupting the tissue (deployed configuration; Fig. 20; [0139]). An actuating assembly (1805; [0146]) is capable of controlling the transition of the treatment device between the first, second and third configurations [0146]. The actuating assembly is capable of holding the treatment device in the second configuration by utilizing a locking mechanism which selectively locks support member (2004) in place one it has extended the treatment device to the desired configuration [0138, 0140]. The treatment device includes a first link and a second link (1902).
Claim(s) 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Halloran et al. (US 2016/0166262A1, “O’Halloran”).
Regarding claims 29-31, O’Halloran discloses an aesthetic treatment system including an elongate member (398; Fig. 27-29; [0073]) extending from a handle (Fig. 26;404]) and is capable of being inserted through the skin. The handle having a body (Fig. 26) and an actuating assembly (405). A treatment device (388; Fig. 27-29) is attached to a distal portion of the elongate member. The treatment device has a first configuration when stowed (Fig. 27), a second configuration capable of engaging a tissue (wherein pushing distal portion and distal ends of treatment device into tissue would result in engagement thereof and a central portion of the treatment device is radially expanded relative to the elongate member; Fig. 29), and a third configuration capable of severing or disrupting the tissue (deployed configuration; Fig. 28; [0073-0074]). The treatment device includes a first link having a blade (401) and a second link that is capable of shielding the blade in the second configuration. The blade is exposed in the third configuration. A pushrod (402; [0074]) is coupled to the handle and extends through the elongate member (Fig. 27). The first link is attached to the distal portion of the elongate member. The second link is attached to the distal portion of the pushrod. The first and second links are capable of radially expanding relative to the elongate member in the second configuration (Figs. 27-29). The actuating assembly is capable of controlling the transition of the treatment device between the first, second and third configurations [0074]. Please see annotated figure below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 21, 22, 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Clark, III et al. (US 2014/0277027A1, “Clark”) in view of Gannoe et al. (US 2002/0002376A1, “Gannoe”).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 21, 22 and 27, Clark discloses an aesthetic treatment system including an elongate member (1801, Figs. 19, 20; [0135, 0137]) extending from a handle (Fig. 18;1804; [0146]) and is capable of being inserted through the skin. A pushrod (2002) is coupled to the handle and extends through the elongate member (Fig. 20). A treatment device (1802/1902) is attached to a distal portion of the elongate member via fixed pivot location (1903; [0137]). The treatment device has a first configuration when stowed (constrained position; [0135]), a second configuration capable of engaging a tissue (intermediate configuration between constrained and deployed, wherein pushing distal portion and distal ends of treatment device into tissue would result in engagement thereof and a central portion of the treatment device is radially expanded relative to the elongate member), and a third configuration capable of severing or disrupting the tissue (deployed configuration; Fig. 20; [0139]). An actuating assembly (1805; [0146]) is capable of controlling the transition of the treatment device between the first, second and third configurations [0146]. The actuating assembly is capable of holding the treatment device in the second configuration by utilizing a locking mechanism which selectively locks support member (2004) in place one it has extended the treatment device to the desired configuration [0138, 0140]. The actuating assembly is capable of holding the treatment device in the second configuration by utilizing a locking mechanism which selectively locks support member (2004) in place one it has extended the treatment device to the desired configuration [0138, 0140]. The treatment device includes a first link and a second link (1902). However, Clark does not disclose a spring that is capable of biasing the pushrod to transition the treatment device to the first configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, biased pushrods, Gannoe teaches a device including a push rod (48, 50) disposed within a lumen. The lumen includes a spring (60) that biases the push rod such that the surgical element (40) is biased in the retracted position [0053]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the elongate member of Clark with a spring, as taught by Gannoe, to automatically bias the pushrod to proximal, retracted position such that the treatment device is in the first configuration. With this modification, the inadvertent harm from the extended blade of the treatment device of the combination of Clark and Gannoe would be prevented from occurring.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Clark and Gannoe discloses that the treatment device has a distal portion attached to a distal portion of the elongate member, a proximal portion attached to a distal portion of the pushrod and a central portion capable of radially expanding relative to the elongate member in the second configuration. Please see annotated figure below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7-9, 18, 20, 23-25, 28, and 32-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 7-11 and 18-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Greer (US 2008/0109023A1) discloses a treatment device (Fig. 8) having first and second links.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771