DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 26 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 26 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the axis" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear which axis is being referred to by the limitation “the axis thereof”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the axis" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear which axis is being referred to by the limitation “the axis thereof”.
Claims 2-7 and 9-13 depend from these rejected claims, and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ono et al. (US 7,878,740).
Regarding claim 1, Ono et al. discloses a drill guide bushing assembly 20 for use with a drill 12 and a bit 13 to drill a hole in an object 10, the drill guide bushing assembly comprising: a bushing holder 26 including at least one upper wall (see annotated figure), at least one lower wall (see annotated figure), and a body 23 (see annotated figure) connected to the at least one upper wall and the at least one lower wall, the body including a bushing channel (not labeled, for bushing 22, see figure 3) oriented along the axis (central vertical axis, see figure 3) thereof and having a hollow cylindrical shape (see figure 3); and a drill guide bushing 22 including a central passage 21 configured to receive the bit, the drill guide bushing positioned within the bushing channel and configured to move axially therein (during placement of the bushing in the bushing holder), the drill guide bushing coupled to the body of the bushing holder such that the drill guide bushing does not rotate within the bushing channel when the hole is being drilled (by placement of retaining pin 27).
Regarding claim 2, Ono et al. discloses wherein the drill guide bushing 22 includes a disc (upper disc shaped portion, see figures 2 and 3) having a cutout (for receiving pin 27, see figures 2 and 3) along a circumference thereof, and the drill guide bushing assembly further comprises a pin 27 connected to the body of the bushing holder 26 and positioned in the cutout such that the drill guide bushing is prevented from rotating within the bushing channel (see column 4, lines 14-17).
Regarding claim 5, Ono et al. discloses wherein the at least one upper wall and the at least one lower wall of the bushing holder 26 each have a cylindrical shape that tapers inward where each wall connects to the body 23 (as seen in the annotated figure above, the defined upper wall portion and lower wall portion each have a cylindrical shape portion and a portion that tapers inward to the defined body portion).
Regarding claim 8, Ono et al. discloses a drill guide bushing assembly 10 for use with a drill 12 and a bit 13 to drill a hole in an object 10, the drill guide bushing assembly comprising: a bushing holder 26 including at least one upper wall (see annotated figure), at least one lower wall (see annotated figure), and a body 23 (see annotated figure) connected to the at least one upper wall and the at least one lower wall, the body including a bushing channel (not labeled, for bushing 22, see figure 3) oriented along the axis (central vertical axis, see figure 3) thereof and having a hollow cylindrical shape (see figure 3); a drill guide bushing 22 including a disc (upper disc shaped portion, see figures 2 and 3) having a cutout (for receiving pin 27, see figures 2 and 3) along a circumference thereof and a central passage 21 configured to receive the bit, the drill guide bushing positioned within the bushing channel and configured to move axially therein (during placement of the bushing in the bushing holder); and a pin 27 connected to the body of the bushing holder and positioned in the cutout such that the drill guide bushing is prevented from rotating within the bushing channel (see column 4, lines 14-17).
Regarding claim 11, Ono et al. discloses wherein the at least one upper wall and the at least one lower wall of the bushing holder 26 each have a cylindrical shape that tapers inward where each wall connects to the body 23 (as seen in the annotated figure above, the defined upper wall portion and lower wall portion each have a cylindrical shape portion and a portion that tapers inward to the defined body portion).
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mackey, Sr. et al. (US 4,027,992).
Regarding claim 1, Mackey, Sr. et al. discloses a drill guide bushing assembly 2 for use with a drill 4/10 (only chuck and adapter portion shown, see figure 5) and a bit 36/38/40 to drill a hole in an object 46, the drill guide bushing assembly comprising: a bushing holder 22 including at least one upper wall (upper portion in figures 5 and 6), at least one lower wall (lower portion in figures 5 and 6), and a body (middle portion in figures 5 and 6) connected to the at least one upper wall and the at least one lower wall, the body including a bushing channel (not labeled, for receiving bushing 26, see figure 5) oriented along the axis (bit rotation axis, not labeled) thereof and having a hollow cylindrical shape (see figure 5); and a drill guide bushing 26 including a central passage (see figure 5) configured to receive the bit, the drill guide bushing positioned within the bushing channel and configured to move axially therein (moves axially during a drilling operation), the drill guide bushing coupled to the body of the bushing holder such that the drill guide bushing does not rotate within the bushing channel when the hole is being drilled (the pressure from spring 24 on the bushing 26, washer 20, and bushing holder 22 generally prevents relative rotation between the bushing and bushing holder, see column 3, lines 60-68).
Regarding claim 6, Mackey, Sr. et al. discloses wherein a lower edge of the drill guide bushing 26 extends below a lower edge of the bushing holder 22 (see figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Mackey, Sr. et al. discloses wherein the central passage of the drill guide bushing 26 has a first inner diameter that is larger than a diameter of the bit (lower bit channel portion, see figure 5) and a second inner diameter that is larger than the first inner diameter (upper spring channel portion, see figure 5).
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 104551103 A).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a drill guide bushing assembly (figure 1) for use with a drill (BTA deep hole drill) and a bit (not shown) to drill a hole in an object, the drill guide bushing assembly comprising: a bushing holder 1 including at least one upper wall (left side in figure 1), at least one lower wall (right side in figure 1), and a body (middle portion in figure 1) connected to the at least one upper wall and the at least one lower wall, the body including a bushing channel 5 oriented along the axis (rotation axis of drill) thereof and having a hollow cylindrical shape (see figure 1); and a drill guide bushing 2 including a central passage (not labeled, see figure 1) configured to receive the bit, the drill guide bushing positioned within the bushing channel and configured to move axially therein (when pushed against the force of spring 3), the drill guide bushing coupled to the body of the bushing holder such that the drill guide bushing does not rotate within the bushing channel when the hole is being drilled (when a screw is placed in stop screw hole 6 and keyway 7).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the drill guide bushing 2 includes a disc (larger diameter portion in figure 2) having a cutout 7 along a circumference thereof, and the drill guide bushing assembly further comprises a pin (stop screw, not shown) connected to the body of the bushing holder 1 and positioned in the cutout such that the drill guide bushing is prevented from rotating within the bushing channel 5 (by action of the screw in the stop screw hole and keyway).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses further comprising a spring 3 positioned within the bushing channel 5 and around the drill guide bushing 2, the spring configured to resist axial movement of the drill guide bushing within the bushing channel.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses a drill guide bushing assembly (figure 1) for use with a drill (BTA deep hole drill) and a bit (not shown) to drill a hole in an object, the drill guide bushing assembly comprising: a bushing holder 1 including at least one upper wall (left side in figure 1), at least one lower wall (right side in figure 1), and a body (middle portion in figure 1) connected to the at least one upper wall and the at least one lower wall, the body including a bushing channel 5 oriented along the axis (rotation axis) thereof and having a hollow cylindrical shape (see figure 1); a drill guide bushing 2 including a disc (larger diameter portion in figure 2) having a cutout 7 along a circumference thereof and a central passage (not labeled, see figure 1) configured to receive the bit, the drill guide bushing positioned within the bushing channel and configured to move axially therein (when pushed against the force of spring 3); and a pin (stop screw, not shown) connected to the body of the bushing holder and positioned in the cutout such that the drill guide bushing is prevented from rotating within the bushing channel (by action of the screw in the stop screw hole and keyway).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses further comprising a spring 3 positioned within the bushing channel 5 and around the drill guide bushing 2, the spring configured to resist axial movement of the drill guide bushing within the bushing channel.
Claims 1, 4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merriman (US 3,108,500).
Regarding claim 1, Merriman discloses a drill guide bushing assembly 10/36 (embodiment of figures 1-3) for use with a drill (not shown, see column 1, lines 11-13) and a bit to drill a hole in an object, the drill guide bushing assembly comprising: a bushing holder 36 including at least one upper wall (at 44 in figure 3), at least one lower wall (at 46 in figure 3), and a body (middle portion including projections 38, see figure 3) connected to the at least one upper wall and the at least one lower wall, the body including a bushing channel 40 oriented along the axis (rotation axis of drill bit) thereof and having a hollow cylindrical shape (see figure 3); and a drill guide bushing 10 including a central passage 16/18 configured to receive the bit, the drill guide bushing positioned within the bushing channel and configured to move axially therein (during assembly), the drill guide bushing coupled to the body of the bushing holder such that the drill guide bushing does not rotate within the bushing channel when the hole is being drilled (using protrusions 32).
Regarding claim 4, Merriman discloses further comprising a retaining ring 28 coupled to one end of the drill guide bushing 10, the retaining ring configured to retain the drill guide bushing within the bushing channel 40 (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Merriman discloses wherein a lower edge of the drill guide bushing 10 extends below a lower edge of the bushing holder 36 (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Merriman discloses wherein the central passage 16/18 of the drill guide bushing has a first inner diameter (at 16) that is larger than a diameter of the bit and a second inner diameter (at 18) that is larger than the first inner diameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merriman in view of Ono et al.
Regarding claim 8, Merriman discloses a drill guide bushing assembly 10/36 (embodiment of figures 1-3) for use with a drill (not shown, see column 1, lines 11-13) and a bit to drill a hole in an object, the drill guide bushing assembly comprising: a bushing holder 36 including at least one upper wall (at 44 in figure 3), at least one lower wall (at 46 in figure 3), and a body (middle portion including projections 38, see figure 3) connected to the at least one upper wall and the at least one lower wall, the body including a bushing channel 40 oriented along the axis (rotation axis of drill bit) thereof and having a hollow cylindrical shape (see figure 3); a drill guide bushing 10 including a disc 20 and a central passage 16/18 configured to receive the bit, the drill guide bushing positioned within the bushing channel and configured to move axially therein (during assembly); and the drill guide bushing is prevented from rotating within the bushing channel (using protrusions 32).
Merriman does not disclose the disc having a cutout along a circumference thereof, or a pin connected to the body of the bushing holder and positioned in the cutout such that the drill guide bushing is prevented from rotating within the bushing channel. Ono et al. teaches the use of a drill guide bushing assembly 10 comprising a bushing holder 26 with a bushing channel (not labeled, for bushing 22, see figure 3) and a drill guide bushing 22 including a disc (upper disc shaped portion, see figures 2 and 3) having a cutout (for receiving pin 27, see figures 2 and 3) along a circumference thereof, and a pin 27 connected to the body of the bushing holder and positioned in the cutout for the purpose of preventing the drill guide bushing is prevented from rotating within the bushing channel (see column 4, lines 14-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the drill guide bushing of Merriman to have a cutout and a pin connected to the bushing holder as taught by Ono et al. in order to use a more rigid device for preventing rotation between the drill guide bushing and bushing holder..
Regarding claim 10, the modified invention of Merriman discloses further comprising a retaining ring 28 coupled to one end of the drill guide bushing 10, the retaining ring configured to retain the drill guide bushing within the bushing channel 40.
Regarding claim 12, the modified invention of Merriman discloses wherein a lower edge of the drill guide bushing 10 extends below a lower edge of the bushing holder 36 (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, the modified invention of Merriman discloses wherein the central passage 16/18 of the drill guide bushing has a first inner diameter (at 16) that is larger than a diameter of the bit and a second inner diameter (at 18) that is larger than the first inner diameter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 4 February 2026