DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of layers of claims 1, 3 and 4, and the elements of claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The examiner requires a new figure(s) clearly showing the layers of at least claim 1. Note that corresponding brief and detailed descriptions of a new figure would be required.
The drawings are also objected to because the lines are not uniformly thick and well defined.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “[t]he present invention discloses” (line 1) is redundant to the purpose of the abstract and should be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “roughly” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “roughly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The range of angles denoted by this term is not clearly defined. Conversely, which also vague, the term “nearly” in the following line is not considered to be indefinite.
The term “communicated” in claim 1 and 4 is awkward and indefinite.
The term “large-scale” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The size requirement for the reservoir is not clearly defined.
The recitations regarding the turning methods in claim 4 are vague, narrative and indefinite.
Claim 3 is rejected because of its dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyaglin (U.S. Patent 11,434,610) in view of Turner et al. (U.S. Patent 1,628,935).
Tyaglin discloses an urban traffic system having a plurality of layers, including a ground plane layer (4) without a roadway, and motor vehicle layers (1, 3). There are a plurality of buildings (9, 10) along multiple blocks; therefore, it appears that there would naturally be a plurality of parallel and perpendicular roads in order to access points in the city, as is the purpose of Tyaglin. Tyaglin does not teach the cross-layer as claimed. Turner teaches a city having multiple layers accessible to one another via up and down auxiliary roads (Figure 1, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the cross-layer roads of Turner with the system of Tyaglin in order to facilitate vehicular movement in multiple directions, as taught by Turner and commensurate with the purpose of Tyaglin.
Regarding claim 2, Tyaglin includes the layers and parking lots. A water supply system is also disclosed (column 3, line 49, for example), but Tyaglin is silent regarding a reservoir. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a reservoir in order to supply water into the supply system. Regarding the non-motor vehicle roads, given the teaching of Tyaglin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have placed such roads anywhere as desired in order to meet a certain need. This is essentially a duplication of existing parts, since the upper layer is configured as claimed. This duplication cannot patentably distinguish the system in this case.
Tyaglin is configured in the manner of claim 3 (1, 3 in the figure).
Given the combination with Turner, claim 4 recitations would be met.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references teaches roadway configurations.
GARY S. HARTMANN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/GARY S HARTMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671