DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Claims 1, 3-10 and 14-19, in the reply filed on 15 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears the word “comninations” is utilized when “combinations” was intended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “said cathode electrolyte” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Further as to claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “said cathode electrode” in lines 8 and 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, the limitation “a cathode electrode” appears at line 9. Therefore, it is unclear as to if this limitation intends to refer back to the limitations of lines 8 and 9 or to a new and separation limitation. This further renders unclear which limitation is being referred back to with the claim language “said cathode electrode” in dependent claims 4, 16 and 17.
As to claims 3-10 and 14-19, the claims are each dependent on claim 1 and each recite “The equipment according to”; however, claim 1 does not refer to merely equipment, but “An electrochemical equipment and system thereof”. Therefore, it is unclear as to if all of the limitation of claim 1 or a subset of the limitations of claim 1 are required by the dependent claims.
Further as to claim 3, the claim recites the limitation of “a catalyst disposed on said cathode electrode and at least one of said anode electrode”; however, the claim does not require a plurality of anode electrodes, rendering in unclear as to what “at least one” in this limitation intends to refer to.
As to claim 19, the claim recites “a plurality of electrochemical equipment”; however, it is unclear as to if this intends to refer to a plurality of electrochemical equipment including one or more of the already introduced electrochemical equipment of claim 1 or to fully separate electrochemical equipment. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, both of the above interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0279563 A1 to Legrand (Legrand).
As to claims 1 and 3, Legrand teaches an electrochemical equipment and system thereof for reducing carbon dioxide, the apparatus comprising a cathode chamber (dry compartment) with an inlet and an output for feeding carbon dioxide gas, thus a chamber capable of performing the functional language of “wherein a carbon dioxide gas feed entering into said cathode chamber from said cathode gas input port, a mixed gas with a carbon dioxide reduction product leaving out said cathode chamber form said cathode gas output port”, a cathode electrolyte chamber (wet compartment) separated from the cathode chamber by a cathode (gas diffusion layer and cathode catalyst), the apparatus specifically performing the functional language of “allowing said cathode electrolyte to pass or stay” and “said cathode electrode reducing said carbon dioxide gas feed to form a mixed liquid with said carbon dioxide reduction product”; an isolation unit (anion exchange membrane), an anode chamber (anodic compartment) separated from the cathode electrolyte chamber by the isolation unit, the anode chamber including an anode input port, an anode output port and an anode electrode, the isolation unit attached to the anode chamber including the anode and the cathode electrolyte chamber, the anode chamber specifically performing the functional language of “wherein said anode feed entering into said anode chamber from said anode input port to contact said anode electrode, said anode feed being liquid, and an anode discharge exits out said anode chamber from said anode output port” (Paragraphs 0028, 0029, 0030, 0083, 0085, 0086; Figure 1).
As to claims 4, 5, 6 and 7, Legrand teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Legrand further teaches that the cathode comprises a catalyst comprising, for example, a metal such as lead or metal compound such as a metal oxide (Paragraphs 0090-0092). It is important to note that carbon compounds are presented merely as optional limitations.
As to claim 8, Legrand teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The limitations of the claim are functional limitations. Nonetheless, Legrand specifically teaches that the reaction products include ethylene (Paragraph 0092).
As to claim 9, Legrand teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The limitations of the claim are functional limitations. Nonetheless, Legrand specifically teaches that the anode compartment is feed with potassium hydroxide and water (anode reactant) (Figure 1).
As to claim 10, Legrand teaches the apparatus of claim 9. The limitations of the claim are functional limitations. Nonetheless, Legrand specifically teaches that the anode discharge comprises the electrolyte solution and product oxygen (Paragraph 0039).
As to claims 14 and 15, Legrand teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The limitations of the claims are functional limitations. Nonetheless, Legrand specifically teaches that the cathode electrolyte comprises a liquid state potassium hydroxide (Figure 1). It is important to note that solid state electrolyte is presented merely as an optional limitation.
As to claims 16, 17 and 18, Legrand teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Legrand further teaches that the cathode electrode comprises a porous gas diffusion layer comprising, for example PTFE, electroplating with a metal such as lead (Paragraphs 0090-0092).
As to claim 19, Legrand teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Legrand further teaches that the electrochemical cells are provided in plurality in a stack (Paragraphs 0026 and 0032). The limitation of connected in series, connected in parallel, or a combination covers all possible options for the stack connection.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794