DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks and Amendments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed December 12, 2025 have been entered. All rejections and objections not explicitly maintained herein are withdrawn. The rejections below constitute the full set of rejections being applied to the instant claims.
With respect to the rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 112(b), the rejection is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to correct the dependency of the claim.
With respect to the rejection of claims 7-9 under 35 USC 112(b), the rejection is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to delete the recitations of “preferably” and “more preferably.”
With respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 17-18 and 20-21 under 35 USC 102(a)(1), the rejection is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to import a requirement for a dosage of the administered rifabutin. Applicant notes that Chromy et al. does not teach such a dosage. Accordingly, the rejection is withdrawn.
With respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 17-18 and 20-24 for double patenting over the claims of US Patent 11,701,346, Applicants have requested that the rejection be held in abeyance. Since the conflicting claims still overlap with the claimed dosage, the rejection still applies over the claimed invention as amended and the rejection is maintained herein.
Status of Claims
Currently, claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 17-18 and 20-24 are pending in the instant application and under consideration herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-15, 17-18 and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chromy et al., Future Microbiology, Vol. 7, No. 8, (2012) in view of WO 2014/152332 (“the ‘332 publication”).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Chromy et al. teach the use of rifabutin to treat Acinetobacter baumannii isolated from US soldiers and marines, which reads on the requirement for treating humans. The reference teaches the use of the method for treating wound infections (which reads on the claimed skin or surgical site infection). According to the prior art, the three tested rifamycin compounds, which necessarily includes rifabutin, were found to be effective at preventing growth and preventing cellular respiration of MDRAb and select agent surrogate bacteria when evaluated in growth prevention assays, highlighting the potential for repurposing.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
The difference between the instant invention and the prior art is that the prior art does not teach a particular dosage for the rifabutin administration.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
To this end, it is noted that MPEP 2141 states, "The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that "[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusatory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’" KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include: (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; (E) " Obvious to try " - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention."
The ‘332 publication relates to the treatment of infections comprising administering antibiotics. In particular, the reference describes treatment of a bacterial infection comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount which is from 0.01 mg/kg to about 7 mg/kg (or 10 mg/day to 600 mg/day) (paragraphs [0020] - [0021]). In particular, the reference describes a more specific range of 0.1mg/kg to 5 mg/kg (paragraph [0067]). Most specifically, 0.1 mg/kg is disclosed as required by the instant claims (paragraph [0064]). Rifabutin is specifically disclosed as the antibiotic to be administered (paragraph [0074]). Accordingly, it would not have been considered inventive for the skilled artisan to follow the explicit suggestion of the prior art to treat bacterial infections with dosages of 0.1 mg/kg to 5 mg/kg of rifabutin. Doing so would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the active ingredient was known for the claimed therapeutic use of treating infection, and the particular dosage recited in the instant claims was also described in the art.
Further, MPEP 2144.05(I) provides that "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (claimed alloy held obvious over prior art alloy that taught ranges of weight percentages overlapping, and in most instances completely encompassing, claimed ranges; furthermore, narrower ranges taught by reference overlapped all but one range in claimed invention). Thus, the prior art ranges render the dosages of the instant claims obvious.
Accordingly, based on the teachings of the MPEP and KSR above, by employing the rationale in (B), (D), (E) or (G) above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use rifabutin for its known purpose at its art-described dosage in view of the combined teachings of Chromy and the ‘332 publication. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in the claimed treatment since the same Compound was already known in the art for the treatment of bacterial infection, including Acinetobacter infection specifically, and the art also disclosed the particular dosage range to be used. The instantly claimed invention would have therefore been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the filing of the instantly claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 17-18 and 20-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent 11,701,346 (“the ‘346 patent”).
The ‘346 patent claims recite a method for treating a mammalian subject infected with Acinetobacter, specifically Acinetobacter baumannii (reference claim 2), comprising administering rifabutin “co-administered with colistin but not with another therapeutically active agent.” Although it is noted that the instantly claimed invention recites the administration of rifabutin as the sole therapeutically active agent for Acinetobacter treatment, or that the rifabutin is not co-administered with any other therapeutic for treating the same infection, the overlap in scope is based on the interpretation of the term “co-administered” in the instant claims and reference claims. The term “co-administered” is not defined in the instant claims or specification based on a particularly limited amount of lag time such that substances would not be considered “co-administered” if administered with a particular amount of time between administrations. Dependent claims in the reference patent recite a time lag of “at least about 4 h” between administration of rifabutin and colistin. This amount of lag time reads on each substance being separately administered, 4 hours apart, such that the separate administration of rifabutin on this dosing schedule reads on the instant claims. This interpretation is further confirmed by the dependent claims in the instant application, which recite for example “at least about 4 h” between administration of rifabutin and any additional therapeutic for the treatment of the same infection. Since this is exactly the amount of time recited in the reference claims, and the reference claims further teach the required dosage of 60 to 600mg rifabutin as well as the treatment of a human patient, the claims are anticipated.
Since the patented and copending claims anticipate the examined claims, a double patenting rejection is appropriate.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA L OTTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699