Response to Arguments filed 08/26/2025
On page 10 (as written), the applicant’s arguments regarding the previously pending objections are persuasive.
On page 10-14 (as written), the applicant argued the previous rejection. This argument is not persuasive and is addressed in the rejection below.
The applicant hasn’t actually pointed to a particular limitation with the claims, nor are there any alleged difference pointed out from the prior art and the claims. The applicant copied and pasted the independent claims, then merely alleged the limitations are not disclosed and has made comments about Sharma et al, including the abstract, for which it doesn’t appear there is any relation to the actual rejection or the claims themselves because they have not been discussed.
Under the above rationale the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: The fifth from the last line states, “Aligning” and should be “aligning”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: The fifth from the last line states, “Aligning” and should be “aligning”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (US Patent No. 11,748,679).
Regarding claim 1, Sharma teaches a method (See col. 3 line 14 – 25) for converting interactive modality information into a data structure by a mixed reality system comprising: a virtual reality system, an augmented reality system, and a mixed reality controller operatively associated with blending operational elements of both the virtual reality system and augmented reality system, the data structure configured for multimodal distribution and parallel content authoring with a plurality of modalities associated with the multimodal distribution, the method comprising (See col. 6 lines 1- 15: AR/VR/MR. Col. 3 line 14-45, col. 13-line 54-67 : collaborative workspace. The workspace has multiple modalities for collaboration. ):
a) acquiring interactive modality information by importing or opening one of a document file (col. 3 line 61 - 67), a video file (col. 16 line 3 – 61: The red, green and blue frames can be a video file, ), a voice recording file in a conversion application (col 12 line 36 – 49: voice command), or an interactive modality data file including one or more of a virtual reality data file, an augmented reality data file, and a 2D virtual environment data file (See col. 11 line 47- col. 12 line 28);
b) parallel authoring, by an indirect or a direct measures sensor, wherein the sensor creates a data structure based at least in part on information collected from a mixed reality environment (See abstract: sensing data that is direct/indirect measured. Fig. 31: element 3106, initial sensing, may be considered direct, the other analyzed and determined insights or what is prioritized may be considered to be indirect. Col. 7 line 47-65: discloses different indirect measures. Col. 19 line 37 – 50, multiple processors for parallel authoring);
c) identifying specific steps within a procedure included in the acquired interactive modality information through manual selection, programmatically, or by observing user interactions in an interactive modality (See col. 11 line 47- col. 12 line 28);
d) parsing the identified steps into distinct components using Al-based machine learning algorithms, advanced human toolsets, or a combination of both (See col. 11 line 47- col. 12 line 28:JSON: AI);
e) categorizing the parsed components based on their characteristics, the characteristics including one or more of verbs, objects, tools used (See col. 16 lines 23 – 31: voice commands are considered to have characteristics such as being a verb as they are defining an action, considered to be objects or tools), and reference images, using Al-based classification methods (col. 14 line 4 – 41: deep learning);
f) generating images or videos directly from the importing or opening of the interactive modality information and or the interactive modality file or known information about a step and a context of the step within the procedure (col. 14 line 4 – 41: deep learning);
g) storing the parsed and categorized components, and the generated images or videos, in a data structure designed for multimodal distribution (col. 14 line 4 – 41: deep learning); and
h) accessing and editing the interactive modality information in another modality (See Fig. 13, col. 16 line 32 – 38, col. 19 line 10 – 56: extended reality has multiple modalities of different realities within it);
i) aligning and optimizing procedural guidance content, wherein the procedural guidance content is registered with real-world objects using artificial intelligence algorithms (See col. 12 Line 29 – 35: teaches an aligning system in. Furthermore the See col. 11 line 47- col. 12 line 28:JSON: AI. col. 14 line 4 – 41: deep learning) but doesn’t explicitly disclose and j) reviewing and validating, by a human or a process, procedural guidance content for incomplete data and correct description.
Sharma teaches and j) reviewing and validating, by a human or a process, procedural guidance content for incomplete data and correct description (See col. 6 lines 1 – 15, “Extended reality, which encompasses virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), and mixed reality (MR), when coupled with software analytics, may be implemented as
disclosed herein for utilizing project workspaces providing such immersive insights which may be situational, view sensitive, contextual and real-time. Immersive experiences may leverage affordances of natural human perception spatial
memory, and navigation and manipulation for better comprehension of 3D visualizations and enhanced creativity. These experiences may also be non-intrusive, which may
provide lower disruption in day-to-day processes. Moreover, the placement and type of the insights may be highly customizable as well, thus providing a seamless flow of
15 awareness throughout the workspace.” Col. 13 line 27 – 41, “FIG. 5 shows an example of the specific people and aisle category of visualization as a live screen grab through the device 106. The view of FIG. 5 may show pertinent insights as a 3D informational panel 500 anchored to the partitions in an aisle. This may help the user (e.g., a project lead) to quickly identify the progress and needs for guidance even
before reaching a project team members' desk, without disturbing the project team member(s). For the example of FIG. 5, the insights may now change to a subject-specific insight, rather than team-level insight. Further, insight prioritization components may be utilized herein as it is a subject-specific insight. The insights shown in FIG. 5 may be prioritized as disclosed herein with respect to FIGS.18-29.” Col. 3 lines 14 – col. 4 line 11, correct description such as a standard reports/documents/blueprints. Incomplete data may be email or chats. Also see MPEP 2173.05(h)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sharma in view of Sharma as combining the teachings with the known technique as it is ready for improvement and would yield predicable results. Furthermore combining the teachings would have been advantageous as doing so would improve efficiency and accuracy of Sharma.
Regarding claim 2, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: leveraging Al-based technology to generate 3D scene information through prompts or extracting relevant visual information from existing multimedia sources (col. 14 line 4 – line 41 and claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
creating a 3D representation of a target physical system (col. 12 line 6-49);
receiving a part selection from an editor of the 3D representation, the part selection from one of a plurality of parts included in the target physical system (col. 12 line 6- col 13 line 5);
collecting part actions from the editor, the part actions associated with actions to be performed on the selected part (See Fig. 14-16);
creating queued annotations for the part actions, wherein the queued annotations are to be displayed in a 3D environment with respect to the 3D representation of the target physical system, and wherein at least one of the queued annotations includes a camera position recording based on a type of the corresponding part action and a location of the target system part (See col. 10 line 37-55);
collecting and associating augmented reality data with the queued annotations (See col. 10 line 37-55);
publishing a data structure bundle including a data set for generation of the queued annotations, the data set parsable to create mixed reality content (See col. 10 line 37-55, Fig. 14-16); and
a mixed reality system creating and presenting to a user content including the queued annotations from the data set, where the user interacts with the target physical system and parts included in the parts selection according to the queued annotations (See col. 10 line 37-55, Fig. 14-16).
Regarding claim 4, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
collecting one or both of a text description for at least one of the queued annotations and an audio description for at least one of the queued annotations (See col. 10 line 37-55, Fig. 14-16: the description of the item can be considered an audio description as well. Also see MPEP 2173.05(h)).
Regarding claim 5, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
utilizing a large language model (LLM) within an end application to construct language guidance and other generative content based on a parsed data structure which includes generated images, videos, and/or multimedia content, and considers context,
user preferences, and specific requirements (See col. 12 line 10 – 49, col. 14 line 4-41 and claim 1);
leveraging additional Al-based generative models to create or refine the images, videos, and/or multimedia content that complements the tailored language guidance (See col. 12 line 10 – 49, col. 14 line 4-41 and claim 1);
dynamically adapting the generated language guidance and other generative content to the user's interactions, preferences, or changes in the data structure to provide a user personalized experience (See col. 12 line 10 – 49, col. 14 line 4-41 and claim 1); and
outputting to one or more devices a constructed language guidance in the form of one or both of text and voice, and outputting to the one or more devices the associated images, videos, and multimedia content based on the user preferences, a device's capabilities, and a context in which the guidance is being provided (See col. 12 line 10 – 49, col. 14 line 4-41 and claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the queued annotations are stored such that the queued annotations can be translated into at least one medium selected from a group of a 2D medium, and a 3D medium, wherein the queued annotations are presented in the at least one selected medium (Fig. 14-16: the annotations can be considered to be 2d or 3d. Also see MPEP 2173.05(h))).
Regarding claim 7, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the queued annotations are stored such that the queued annotations can be translated into at least one format selected from a group of a document format, wherein the queued annotations are presented in the at least one selected format (Fig. 14-16: the annotations is considered to be a document format. Also see MPEP 2173.05(h)).
Regarding claim 8, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a part selection and a part actions are received from an editors in a mixed reality environment (See Fig. 14-16).
Regarding claim 9, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, wherein an editor works collaboratively in at least one environment selected from a group of a mixed reality environment and a desktop environment (See col. 4 line 46 - 56).
Regarding claim 10, Sharma teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method for parallel content authoring publishes a data structure bundle comprising a data set for generation of the queued annotations, and the method for parallel content authoring publishes discrete individual outputs including a text, AR instructions (Fig. 14-16) and video (col. 16 line 3 – 61).
Claims 11-21 recite similar limitations to that of claims 1-10 and thus are rejected under similar rationale as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J CRADDOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618