DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1: it is unclear how the pump can convey fluid from the reservoir to the filter unit when the filter unit comprises the reservoir, i.e. the filter unit is the entirety of the system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doud (USP 4844932) and further in view of Taniguichi et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0284929).
Claims 1 and 5: Daoud teaches A device for tangential flow filtration of a fluid, comprising a filter unit (Fig. 2) having a first fluid opening (line into 13) and a second fluid (line out of 13) opening for the fluid, a filter element (13) and a permeate opening (9) to discharge a permeate filtered out of the fluid; a first flow connection (see annotated figure below) to connect the first fluid opening to a reservoir (10) for the fluid; a second flow connection (see annotated figure) to connect the second fluid opening to the reservoir for the fluid; a first pump (12) in the first flow connection, and configured to convey the fluid from the reservoir to the filter unit; a third flow connection configured to enable a fluid communication between the first flow connection and the second flow connection, the third flow connection bypassing the filter unit (see annotated figure).
Daoud does not teach a second pump configured to circulate the fluid through the third flow connection and the filter unit.
Taniguchi et al. teach a filtration system comprising a pump (Fig. 8, 18) in a filter bypass line (L11). The bypass pump is used to control flow of fluid through the bypass line [0085].
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to include a pump in the third flow connection of Daoud for the benefit of controlling the fluid flow through the third flow connection.
Claim 2: Daoud teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising a first branching point arranged at the first flow connection, and a second branching point arranged at the second flow connection, the third flow connection extending from the first branching point to the second branching point, and the first branching point disposed between the first pump and the first fluid opening of the filter unit (See annotated Figure 2 above; valves are the double triangle element in the line which is clear from Fig. 4, 60 which is depicted the same way and is titled a valve).
Claim 3: Daoud teaches a first flow controller configured to open or close a passage through the third flow connection (see valve in the third flow connection bypass line; see annotated Figure 2 above; valves are the double triangle element in the line which is clear from Fig. 4, 60 which is depicted the same way and is titled a valve).
Claim 4: Daoud teaches a second flow controller configured to open or close a passage through the second flow connection (Fig. 2, valve adjacent to filter 13, see annotated figure above).
Daoud does not teach that the second flow controller is disposed between the second branching point and the reservoir.
However, the use of valves to control fluid flow is well-known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to include a valve in the line between the second branching point and the reservoir for the benefit of enabling additional fluid control in the filtration system.
Claim 6: Daoud does not teach the absence of a flow controller in the bypass line so that the third flow connection is “always open during operation”. Daoud teaches a flow controller, i.e. a valve in the bypass line. However, the valve can be kept open as valves can be open or closed. Claiming the absence of a valve does not establish over the prior art that teaches a valve wherein the valve can be kept open and accomplish the same goal of having a flow connection “always open during operation”.
Claim 7: Daoud does not teach a flow controller between the second branching point and the reservoir.
Claim 8: Daoud does not teach a second pump arranged between the second branding point and the second fluid opening of the filter unit.
Taniguichi et al. teach a permeate pump disposed in the permeate line (Fig. 3, 17). The permeate pump allowed for control of the fluid in the permeate line.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to include a pump in the permeate line for the benefit of fluid flow control.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doud (USP 4844932) and Taniguichi et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0284929) in further view of Blankemeir et al. (USP 8905729).
Claim 9: Doud and Taniguichi et al. do not teach the first and second pumps are specific the electromagnetic rotary vane pumps recited in Claim 9. They do not teach any specific type of pump.
Blankemeier et al. teach an electromagnetic rotary pump comprising a casing (4), an inlet (204) and an outlet (206), vanes (242), a rotor, and a stator (col. 9, lines 1-5). The pump moves axially (Col. 10, lines 25-30).
This type of pump avoids rotating seals (col. 1, lines 11-13) which prevents leakage and contamination.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use Blankemeier et al.’s specific electromagnetic rotary pump as Daoud’s first and second pumps to obviate seals and prevent leakage and fluid contamination.
Conclusion
ALLISON FITZSIMMONS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773