DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amended Claim 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, and 9 and canceled Claim 2 in the response filed on 7/27/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 3-13 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner’s Comment
The Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Regarding the limitation(s) "corner" in the claims, the Examiner has given the term(s) the broadest reasonable interpretation(s) consistent with the written description in Applicants' specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Donaldson Co., Inc., 16 F.3d 1190, 1192-95, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1848-50 (Fed. Cir. 1994). See MPEP 2111. According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, corner is defined to be the point where converging lines, edge, or sides meet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. No. 20230063219 (“Moriya et al.”).
With regards to Claim 1, Moriya et al. teaches a battery module assembly structure for vehicles, the battery module assembly structure comprising a battery module (21 and 23) formed by overlapping battery cells (22), and a cell management unit (CMU) (30) coupled to a corner of the battery module to acquire information on the battery cells constituting the battery module (Abstract, Figs. 1-3, [0039], [0044], and [0057]-[0066]).
As annotated by the Examiner below, the CMU (30) is coupled to a corner of the battery module (21 and 23).
Fig. 2 of Moriya et al.
Moriya et al. further discloses the CMU is configured to move linearly with respect to the battery module (Figs. 2-3 and [0073]).
As annotated by the Examiner below, the battery module (21 and 23) is designed such that the CMU linearly move towards the battery module to be mounted thereto (i.e. to be fitted between elements 23). This is similar to Applicant’s Fig. 2, wherein the CMU (5) linearly moves down to be mounted/attached/fitted to the battery module.
Fig. 2 of Moriya et al.
Moriya et al. further teaches that wherein the CMU forms, when coupled to the battery module, a corner of a battery module assembly (Figs. 2-3 and [0073])..
As annotated by the Examiner below, the battery module assembly comprises many corners (i.e. where every converging sides meet). Thus, once CMU is coupled to the battery module, the CMU forms a corner of a battery module assembly.
Fig. 2 of Moriya et al.
With regards to Claim 3, Moriya et al. teaches the CMU is configured to be coupled to the battery module by moving downward with respect to the battery module and is configured to be separated from the battery module by moving upward with respect to the battery module (Figs. 2-4).
With regards to Claim 7, Moriya et al. teaches the CMU (30) is coupled to an upper corner of the battery module (21 and 23) and is configured to wirelessly transmit information on each battery cell of the battery cells constituting the battery module to a battery management system (BMS) (40) (Abstract, Figs. 2 and 4, [0073], [0076], and [0086]). Please see Examiner’s annotation of Moriya et al.’s Fig. 2.
Fig. 2 of Moriya et al.
With regards to Claim 8, Moriya et al. teaches a battery pack (11) for vehicles, the battery pack comprising a plurality of battery module assemblies each including a battery module (21 and 23) formed by overlapping battery cells (22) (Fig. 2, [0047], [0055]-[0059]),
a cell management unit (CMU) (30) coupled to a corner of each respective battery module (21 and 23) to acquire information on the battery cells constituting the respective battery module and configured to wireless transmit the acquired information on each of the battery cells to a battery management system (BMS) (40) (Abstract, Figs. 2-4, [0039], [0044], [0057]-[0066], [0073], [0076], and [0086]).
As annotated by the Examiner below, the CMU (30) is coupled to a corner of the battery module (21 and 23).
Fig. 2 of Moriya et al.
a battery case (50) provided to accommodate the plurality of battery module assemblies (Fig. 2 and [0056]),
wherein the BMS is provided in the battery case to receive the acquired information on each of the battery cells transmitted from respective CMUs of the plurality of battery module assemblies (Fig. 2 and [0076]), and
wherein the CMU of each of the plurality of battery module assemblies is coupled to an upper corner of the respective battery module such that the CMU forms an upper corner of a respective battery module assembly of the plurality of battery module assemblies (Fig. 2).
Please see Examiner’s annotation below.
With regards to Claim 9, Moriya et al. teaches the plurality of battery module assemblies is disposed in a single layer in the battery case, the CMU of each of the plurality of battery module assemblies is coupled to respective battery module, and the CMU of each of the plurality battery module assemblies and the BMS communicate through a space formed between an upper side of each respective battery modules and an upper cover of the battery case (Fig. 1, [0037], [0041], [0079], and [0080]).
With regards to Claim 10, Moriya et al. teaches each CMU is configured to be coupled to the respective battery module by moving downward with respect to the battery module and is configured to be separated from the battery module by moving upward with respect to the battery module (Figs. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20230063219 (“Moriya et al.”) as applied to Claim 1 or 10 respectfully above.
With regards to Claim 4, as shown in Figs. 2-3, the CMU (30) is on the battery module, and as shown in Fig. 4, the battery module and the CMU are coupled to each are so that they are electrically connected with each other. Therefore, the Examiner deems that Moriya et al.’s battery module and the CMU are electrically connected with each other by linear displacement of the CMU with respect to the battery module.
The figures do not necessarily disclose that the battery module and the CMU are provided with respective connectors capable of mutual engagement.
However, the Examiner deems that considering that the CMU is on the battery module and are electrically connected with each other, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the battery module and the CMU are provided with respective connectors capable of mutual engagement in order to effectively electrically connect with each other and be a functional battery module assembly.
With regards to Claim 11, as shown in Figs. 2-3 in Moriya et al., the CMU (30) is on the battery module, and as shown in Fig. 4 in Moriya et al., the battery module and the CMU are coupled to each are so that they are electrically connected with each other. Therefore, the Examiner deems that Moriya et al.’s battery module and the CMU are electrically connected with each other by linear displacement of the CMU with respect to the battery module.
The figures do not necessarily disclose that the battery module and the CMU are provided with respective connectors capable of mutual engagement.
However, the Examiner deems that considering that the CMU is on the battery module and are electrically connected with each other, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the battery module and the CMU are provided with respective connectors capable of mutual engagement in order to effectively electrically connect with each other and be a functional battery module assembly.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20230063219 (“Moriya et al.”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 20170338520 (“Lim et al.”).
Moriya et al. teaches cell electrodes are provided at least one side of the battery cells constituting the battery module, the cell electrodes are respectively connected to bus bars (Figs. 2-3, [0065], and [0066]). Moriya et al. further teaches that the battery module is provided with a printed circuit board (PCB) electrically connected to the battery cells constituting the battery module (Fig. 4).
Moriya et al. does not teach the connector of the battery module is provided on the PCB. While Moriya et al. teaches a sensing block (70) (Fig. 4 and [0088]), Moriya et al. does not teach the PCB is mounted on the sensing block so as to be connected to the bus bars provided in a sensing block.
However, Lim et al. teaches a battery module provided with a printed circuit board (PCB) (25 or relevant thereof) electrically connected to the battery cells, wherein the connector (41 or relevant thereof) of the battery module is provided on the PCB. Lim et al. further teaches that the cell electrodes are respectively connected to bus bars (22) provided in a sensing block, and the PCB is mounted on the sensing block so as to be connected to the bus bars (Figs. 1-4 and 7, [0010], and [0046]-[0049]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed structure in Moriya et al. in order to provide the necessary electrical connections for the various sensors to function appropriately.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20230063219 (“Moriya et al.”) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 20210210803 (“Aoki et al.”).
-AND-
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20230063219 (“Moriya et al.”) in view of US Pub. No. 20210210803 (“Aoki et al.”).
With regards to Claims 7 and 8, Moriya et al. teaches a battery pack, as set forth above. Moriya et al. teaches the CMU (30) is coupled to the battery module (21 and 23) and is configured to wirelessly transmit information on each battery cell of the battery cells (22) constituting the battery module to a battery management system (BMS) (40) (Abstract, Figs. 2 and 4, [0073], [0076], and [0086]).
While the Examiner deems that Moriya et al. teaches its CMU is coupled to an upper corner of the battery module, as shown and annotated above, Moriya et al. does not necessarily teach the CMU is coupled to an upper corner of the battery module as shown in Applicant’s Figs. 1-2.
However, Aoki et al. teaches many different placements of its CMU in relation to the battery module, including an upper corner of the battery module, wherein the CMU is configured to wirelessly transmit information on each battery cell of the battery cells constituting the battery module to a battery management system (BMS) (Figs. 1 and 6-10, [0032], [0035], and [0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Moriya et al.’s CMU be coupled to an upper corner of the battery module in order to provide additional configurations for different sized battery module assemblies and be used in many different sized vehicles.
With regards to Claim 9, Moriya et al. teaches the plurality of battery module assemblies is disposed in a single layer in the battery case, the CMU of each of the plurality of battery module assemblies is coupled to respective battery module, and the CMU of each of the plurality battery module assemblies and the BMS communicate through a space formed between an upper side of each respective battery modules and an upper cover of the battery case (Fig. 1, [0037], [0041], [0079], and [0080]).
Moriya et al. does not teach the CMU of each of the plurality of battery module assemblies is coupled to an upper corner of the respective battery module as shown in Applicant’s Figs. 1-2.
However, Aoki et al. teaches many different placements of its CMU in relation to the battery module, including an upper corner of the battery module, wherein its CMU and BMS communicate through a space formed between an upper side of each of its respective battery modules and an upper cover of its battery case (Figs. 1-10, [0032], [0035], and [0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Moriya et al.’s CMU be coupled to an upper corner of the battery module in order to provide additional configurations for different sized battery module assemblies and be used in many different sized vehicles.
With regards to Claim 10, Moriya et al. teaches each CMU is configured to be coupled to the respective battery module by moving downward with respect to the battery module and is configured to be separated from the battery module by moving upward with respect to the battery module (Figs. 2-4).
With regards to Claim 11, as shown in Figs. 2-3 in Moriya et al., the CMU (30) is on the battery module, and as shown in Fig. 4 in Moriya et al., the battery module and the CMU are coupled to each are so that they are electrically connected with each other. Therefore, the Examiner deems that Moriya et al.’s battery module and the CMU are electrically connected with each other by linear displacement of the CMU with respect to the battery module.
The figures do not necessarily disclose that the battery module and the CMU are provided with respective connectors capable of mutual engagement.
However, the Examiner deems that considering that the CMU is on the battery module and are electrically connected with each other, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the battery module and the CMU are provided with respective connectors capable of mutual engagement in order to effectively electrically connect with each other and be a functional battery module assembly.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20230063219 (“Moriya et al.”) as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 20170338520 (“Lim et al.”).
-AND-
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20230063219 (“Moriya et al.”) in view of US Pub. No. 20210210803 (“Aoki et al.”) as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 20170338520 (“Lim et al.”).
Moriya et al. teaches cell electrodes are provided at least one side of the battery cells constituting the battery module, the cell electrodes are respectively connected to bus bars (Figs. 2-3, [0065], and [0066]). Moriya et al. further teaches that each battery module is provided with a printed circuit board (PCB) electrically connected to the battery cells constituting the battery module (Fig. 4).
Moriya et al. does not teach the connector of the battery module is provided on the PCB. While Moriya et al. teaches a sensing block (70) (Fig. 4 and [0088]), Moriya et al. does not teach the PCB is mounted on the sensing block so as to be connected to the bus bars provided in a sensing block.
However, Lim et al. teaches a battery module provided with a printed circuit board (PCB) (25 or relevant thereof) electrically connected to the battery cells, wherein the connector (41 or relevant thereof) of the battery module is provided on the PCB. Lim et al. further teaches that the cell electrodes are respectively connected to bus bars (22) provided in a sensing block, and the PCB is mounted on the sensing block so as to be connected to the bus bars (Figs. 1-4 and 7, [0010], and [0046]-[0049]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed structure in Moriya et al. in order to provide the necessary electrical connections for the various sensors to function appropriately.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LC/
Lisa Chau
Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785