DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the head of the fastener flush with an outer surface in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 11-12, 14-18 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams et al., US20160223010 (hereinafter, Williams).
Regarding claim 1, Williams discloses a compression-limiting fastener assembly (see Fig. 2) for attaching a first component having a first opening relative to a second component having a second opening (intended use), the compression-limiting fastener assembly comprising:
a male fastener 36 having a head and a shank (see Fig. 2 for a head and a shank of the fastener 36);
a retainer clip 1 having a recessed pocket 28 with a fastener hole (see Figs. 1-2 and 5) formed therein,
wherein the retainer clip comprises a body portion having a pair of generally parallel legs 10, 12 that are resiliently connected to define a channel (see U shaped channel formed by parallel legs 10, 12 and the side plate 14),
wherein the recessed pocket is configured to maintain a first distance (d1, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) between the pair of generally parallel legs, and
wherein the retainer clip is configured to engage the first component 32 via the first opening and the channel; and
a female fastener 38 having a bore (see central bore of nut 38 in Fig. 2), wherein the shank is configured to pass through the fastener hole and the second opening to engage the bore (see Fig. 5),
wherein the recessed pocket 28 is configured to serve as a compression stop that limits deflection of the pair of generally parallel legs toward one another during tightening of the male fastener (see para. 0025 states that the recessed pocket 28 functions as a stopper to keep the fastener plates 10, 12 apart from each other).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 2, Williams discloses the compression-limiting fastener assembly of claim 1, wherein the recessed pocket 28 is formed in one of the pair of generally parallel legs 12 and is configured to contact the other one of the pair of generally parallel legs 10.
Regarding claim 4, Williams discloses the compression-limiting fastener assembly of claim 1, wherein the body portion defines a guide lip 24 at an entrance to the channel (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Williams discloses the compression-limiting fastener assembly of claim 1, wherein the body portion comprises a retainer tab 22 configured to retain the head of the male fastener within the recessed pocket prior to assembly (see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Williams discloses the compression-limiting fastener assembly of claim 1, wherein the body portion comprises one or more clip tabs (see tabs 24 in each side of the body 10 in Figs. 1-2) configured to secure the retainer clip to the first component via an interference fit.
Regarding claim 7, Williams discloses the compression-limiting fastener assembly of claim 6, wherein each of the one or more clip tabs 24 extends into the channel (see tabs 24 extending downwards towards the channel) from one of the pair of generally parallel legs 20.
Regarding claim 9, Williams discloses the compression-limiting fastener assembly of claim 1, wherein the retainer clip is a stamped-metal component (para. [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Williams discloses a retainer clip 1 of a compression-limiting fastener assembly (see Figs. 1-2) for attaching a first component having a first opening relative to a second component having a second opening (intended use), the retainer clip comprising:
a body portion having a pair of generally parallel legs 10, 12 that are resiliently connected to define a channel (see U shaped channel formed by parallel legs 10, 12 and the side plate 14), wherein the body portion is configured to engage the first component 32 via the first opening and the channel (see Figs. 5);
a recessed pocket 28 formed in one of said pair of generally parallel legs, wherein the recessed pocket configured to maintain a first distance (d1, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) between the pair of generally parallel legs; and
a fastener hole (see central hole of recessed pocket 28 where the bolt 36 is received in Fig. 5) formed in said recessed pocket,
wherein the recessed pocket 28 is configured to serve as a compression stop that limits deflection of the pair of generally parallel legs toward one another during tightening of the male fastener (see rejection set forth in claim 1 above).
Regarding clam 12, Williams discloses the retainer clip of claim 11, wherein the recessed pocket 28 is configured to contact the other one of the pair of generally parallel legs (see Figs. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Williams discloses the retainer clip of claim 11, wherein the body portion defines a guide lip 24 at an entrance to the channel (see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, Williams discloses the retainer clip of claim 13, wherein the body portion comprises a retainer tab 22 configured to retain the head (see head of the bolt 36) of the male fastener within the recessed pocket prior to assembly.
Regarding claim 16, Williams discloses the retainer clip of claim 11, wherein the body portion comprises one or more clip tabs 24 configured to secure the retainer clip to the first component via an interference fit.
Regarding claim 17, Williams discloses the compression-limiting fastener assembly of claim 16, wherein each of the one or more clip tabs 24 extends into the channel from one of the pair of generally parallel legs (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Williams discloses the retainer clip of claim 11, wherein the body portion is a stamped- metal component (para. [0019]).
Regarding claim 21, Williams discloses a retainer clip 1 configured for use with a compression-limiting fastener assembly, the retainer clip comprising:
a body portion having a pair of generally parallel legs that are resiliently connected
at one end to define a channel (see central hole/channel in Fig. 1) therebetween (see Fig. 1 and legs 10, 12);
a central sleeve 28 extending from a first one of the pair of generally parallel legs into
the channel (see Fig. 1), the central sleeve defining a fastener hole (see central hole of sleeve 28); and
one or more retainer tabs 22 extending from a second one of the pair of generally
parallel legs,
wherein the central sleeve has a height corresponding to a first distance (d1, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) between the pair of generally parallel legs such that the central sleeve is configured to contact the second leg to limit deflection of the legs toward one another during tightening (para. [0025]), and
wherein the retainer clip is configured such that a head of a male fastener
is, when assembled, positioned external to and flush with an outer surface of said
second leg and at least partially in contact with the one or more retainer tabs (as best understood, see Fig. 5 showing the bottom portion of the fastener head installed flush to the retainer tabs/central recess).
Regarding claim 22, William discloses the retainer clip of claim 21, wherein the one or more retainer tabs 22 are bent to extend at approximately ninety degrees (see Fig. 1 showing retainer tabs extending not exactly ninety degrees, but appears to be bent approximately/closer to ninety degrees) relative to the outer surface of the second leg and are in direct contact with side surfaces of the head (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Williams discloses the retainer clip of claim 21, wherein the body portion further comprises one or more clip tabs 24 extending into the channel from at least one of the pair of generally parallel legs (see clip tabs 24 extending towards bottom and towards channel between the first and second legs 10, 12) and configured to secure the retainer clip to a first component via an interference fit (see Figs. 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Bisset et al., US20150086290 (hereinafter, Bisset).
Regarding claim 8, Williams teaches the compression-limiting fastener assembly of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the shank comprises a shoulder adjacent the head that is configured to pass through the fastener hole and the second opening to maintain a second distance (D2) between the body portion and the female fastener, wherein the shoulder directly abuts the female fastener to define the second distance (D2) independent of clamping force applied to the body portion.
However, Bisset teaches similar Compression limiting fastening system (see Figs. 1-2) wherein a shank 19 comprises a shoulder (S, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) adjacent the head 17 that is configured to pass through the fastener hole (see Figs. 1-2) and the second opening to maintain a second distance between the body portion and the female fastener (the Examiner interprets the system and bolt in Bisset is capable of being configured to maintain a second distance upon connecting with female fastener).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the bolt of Williams to have shoulder adjacent to the head as taught by Bisset to increase the biasing force between the bolt and the clamping fingers/portion of the clip (para. (0023]).
Further, upon modification of the threaded fastener above, it is the examiner’s position that combination above is capable of being configured to create distance (D2) without clamping force as a part of installation steps. Please refer to the rejection above where all the structural limitations are met based on Williams modified by Bisset.
Annotated Fig. 1
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument in response to Drawing objection in previous Office Action has been found persuasive, therefore Drawing objection of Previous Office Action has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that William does not anticipate claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
William discloses and/or anticipates the structural limitations as claimed. Please refer to the claim map set forth above and refer to the paragraph in Williams to support the rejection made above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675