DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 12-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (US 2022/0338050)) in view of TOY (US 2019/0222523)
Regarding claim 1, LIU et al (US 2022/0338050)) discloses a method, comprising:
establishing a protocol data unit (PDU) session by a user equipment (UE) in a 5G mobile communication network (LIU: Fig. 6, ¶59, Fig. 1, PDU session is established by a UE in a 5G network);
receiving a downlink (DL) data packet comprising a QoS flow indicator (QFI), a reflective QoS indicator (RQI) (LIU: ¶104, ¶101, QFI, RQI, is included in a DL packet received at the UE), and multiple C-TAGs or S-TAGs deriving a packet filter component from the multiple C-TAGs or S-TAGs (LIU: ¶101., the DL packet includes C-TAGs and S-TAGs), wherein the packet filter component is derived from an C-TAG or S-TAG (LIU: ¶101, the uplink filter derivation is based on at least S-TAG, among the S-TAGs, C-TAGS, and other fields of the 5-tuple in the downlink/DL packet);
evaluating a packet header of an uplink data packet and find a matching packet filter of a QoS rule of the packet header (LIU: ¶102-103, uplink packets are matched with the rule based on the UL packet header assessment at the modem of the UE); and
transmitting the uplink data packet using the matched QoS rule (LIU: ¶76, uplink packet is transmitted in the uplink direction using the matched QoS rule).
LIU remains silent regarding the S-TAG being the outmost S-TAG.
However, TOY (US 2019/0222523) discloses the S-TAG being the outmost S-TAG (TOY: Fig. 1B, ¶43, S-Tag is the outmost).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of TOY as it provides a way to improve compliance with Ethernet frame header structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of LIU with teachings of TOY in order to maintain compatibility with the protocol.
Regarding claim 6, LIU modified by TOY discloses method of Claim 1, wherein the deriving of the packet filter component involves creating the packet filter component from a value of the outmost C-TAG or S-TAG (LIU: ¶101, the S-TAG is used to derive the packet filter; TOY: Fig. 1B, ¶43, S-Tag is the outmost).
Regarding claim 7, LIU modified by TOY discloses method of Claim 1, wherein the evaluating of the packet header of the uplink data packet involves finding a packet filter from QoS rules that matches with a packet filter of the uplink data packet (LIU: ¶119-120, at least one packet filter is found to be matching the QoS rules for an UL packet ).
Regarding claim 8, LIU modified by TOY discloses method of Claim 1, wherein the packet header of the uplink data packet carries multiple C-TAG or S-TAG, and wherein the UE evaluates the outmost C-TAG or S-TAG of the uplink data packet (LIU: ¶76, ¶101, where the S-TAG within the 5-tuple is a match; TOY: Fig. 1B, ¶43, S-Tag is the outmost).
Regarding claim 9, LIU discloses a method, comprising:
establishing a protocol data unit (PDU) session or a Packet data network (PDN) connection by a user equipment (UE) in a mobile communication network (LIU: Fig. 6, ¶59, Fig. 1, PDU session is established by a UE in a 5G network);
obtaining QoS rule configuration for the PDU session or Traffic Flow Template (TFT) configuration for the PDN connection, wherein the QoS rule configuration or the TFT configuration comprises a number of packet filters having packet filter components (LIU: ¶65, UE obtains an explicit QoS rule configuration from the network);
evaluating a header of an uplink data packet that carries multiple C-TAGs or S-TAGs wherein the UE evaluates an C-TAG or S-TAG of the uplink data packet based on the QoS rule or the TFT configuration (LIU: ¶102, ¶67, ¶76, uplink packets are matched with the rule based on the UL packet header assessment at the modem of the UE; this evaluation looks for C-TAGs and S-TAGs in the header of the packet); and
transmitting the uplink data packet using a matched QoS rule or a matched TFT (LIU: ¶76, uplink packet is transmitted using the matched QoS rule).
LIU remains silent regarding the S-TAG being the outmost S-TAG.
However, TOY discloses the S-TAG being the outmost S-TAG (TOY: Fig. 1B, ¶43, S-Tag is the outmost).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of TOY as it provides a way to improve compliance with Ethernet frame header structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of LIU with teachings of TOY in order to maintain compatibility with the protocol.
Regarding claim 12, LIU modified by TOY discloses method of Claim 9, wherein the evaluating involves the UE finding a packet filter from the QoS rule or the TFT configuration that matches with packet filter components associated with the outmost C-TAG or S-TAG of the uplink data packet (LIU: ¶102, ¶67, ¶76, uplink packets are matched with the rule based on the UL packet header assessment at the modem of the UE; this evaluation looks for C-TAGs and S-TAGs in the header of the packet).
Regarding claim 13, LIU modified by TOY discloses method of Claim 9, wherein the QoS rule or the TFT configuration is provided via a NAS signaling from the network (LIU: ¶86, NAS signaling used for configuring the QoS rule).
Regarding claim 14, LIU modified by TOY discloses method of Claim 9, wherein the QoS rule or the TFT configuration is derived by the UE from a downlink data packet (LIU: ¶86, QoS rule derived from the NAS signaling).
Claim(s) 2-5, 10-11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU modified by TOY as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of KIM (US 2020/0314690)
Regarding claim 2, LIU modified by TOY discloses method of Claim 1, wherein the DL data packet is a PDU comprising a header portion and data portion, (LIU: ¶101, ¶104, Table 4, header portion and payload portion).
LIU modified by TOY remains silent regarding the data portion further comprises an Ethernet Frame header.
However, KIM (US 2020/0314690) discloses the data portion further comprises an Ethernet Frame header (KIM: ¶572, Fig. 2U, Fig. 2G, SDAP payload includes Ethernet frame header).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of LIU modified by TOY would have been motivated to use the teachings of KIM as it provides a way to conserve the protocol layer structure of 5G protocol. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of LIU modified by TOY with teachings of KIM in order to maintain compatibility with the protocol structure and conserve resources by using header compression.
Regarding claim 3, LIU modified by TOY modified by KIM discloses method of Claim 2, wherein the header portion comprises a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) header, and the SDAP header further comprise the RQI and the QFI (LIU: ¶132, SDAP header includes QFI, and RQI).
Regarding claim 4, LIU modified by TOY modified by KIM discloses method of Claim 2 and above. LIU modified by KIM remains silent regarding the Ethernet Frame header comprising one or more TAG Protocol Identification (TPID) fields, wherein the Ethernet Frame header comprising one or more TAG Protocol Identification (TPID) fields (TOY: Fig. 1B, ¶43, TPID field are in the header).
Regarding claim 5, LIU modified by TOY modified by KIM discloses a method of Claim 4, wherein the one or more TPID fields carries multiple C-TAGs or S-TAGs in the Ethernet Frame header (TOY: Fig. 1B, ¶43, TPID fields carry C-TAG and S-TAG in the frame header).
Regarding claim 10, LIU modified by TOY discloses the method of Claim 9, wherein the uplink data packet is a PDU comprising a header portion and data portion, (LIU: ¶101, ¶104, Table 4, header portion and payload portion).
LIU modified by TOY remains silent regarding the data portion further comprises an Ethernet Frame header.
However, KIM (US 2020/0314690) discloses the data portion further comprises an Ethernet Frame header (KIM: ¶572, Fig. 2U, Fig. 2G, SDAP payload includes Ethernet frame header).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of LIU modified by TOY would have been motivated to use the teachings of KIM as it provides a way to conserve the protocol layer structure of 5G protocol. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of LIU modified by TOY with teachings of KIM in order to maintain compatibility with the protocol structure and conserve resources by using header compression.
Regarding claim 11, LIU modified by TOY modified by KIM discloses method of Claim 10, wherein the Ethernet Frame header comprises one or more TAG Protocol Identification (TPID) fields that carries the multiple C-TAGs or S-TAGs (TOY: Fig. 1B, ¶43, TPID fields carry C-TAG and S-TAG in the frame header)
Claim(s) 15, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (US 2022/0338050)) in view of GUO (US 2020/0145884) further in view of TOY (US 2019/0222523)
Regarding claim 15, LIU discloses method, comprising:
establishing a protocol data unit (PDU) session or a Packet data network (PDN) connection with a user equipment (UE) by a network entity (LIU: Fig. 6, ¶77-78, ¶the UPF and UE has a PDU session established between them);
evaluating a header of a downlink data packet that carries multiple C-TAGs or S-TAGs wherein the network entity evaluates an C-TAG or S-TAG of the downlink data packet based on the QoS rule or the TFT configuration (LIU: ¶101, ¶76, ¶78, the 5-Tupple is matched with the DL packet’s header’s 5-tupple which includes at least an S-TAG based on the filter rule); and
transmitting the downlink data packet to the UE using a matched QoS rule or a matched TFT (LIU: ¶78-79, Fig. 6, the DL packet is transmitted based on the matched QoS rule).
LIU remains silent regarding obtaining QoS rule configuration for the PDU session or Traffic Flow Template (TFT) configuration for the PDN connection, wherein the QoS rule configuration or the TFT configuration comprises a number of packet filters having packet filter components;
However, GUO (US 2020/0145884) discloses regarding obtaining QoS rule configuration for the PDU session or Traffic Flow Template (TFT) configuration for the PDN connection, wherein the QoS rule configuration or the TFT configuration comprises a number of packet filters having packet filter components (GUO: ¶70, ¶93, ¶30, the filter information for the DL packet filtration is provided to the UPF for the PDU session);
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of GUO as it avoids the problem of transmitting a large number of NAS messages carrying the uplink QoS rule to the UE and at the same time uses UPF instructions from SMF to configure filter information to enable such a avoidance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of LIU with teachings of GUO in order to improve packet filtering process in both uplink and downlink direction.
LIU modified by GUO remains silent regarding the S-TAG being the outmost S-TAG.
However, TOY discloses the S-TAG being the outmost S-TAG (TOY: Fig. 1B, ¶43, S-Tag is the outmost).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of LIU modified by GUO would have been motivated to use the teachings of TOY as it provides a way to improve compliance with Ethernet frame header structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of LIU modified by GUO with teachings of TOY in order to maintain compatibility with the protocol.
Regarding claim 18, LIU modified by GUO modified by TOY method of Claim 15, wherein the evaluating involves the network entity finding a packet filter from the QoS rule or the TFT configuration that matches with packet filter components associated with the outmost C-TAG or S-TAG of the downlink data packet (LIU: ¶101, ¶76, ¶78, the 5-Tupple is matched with the DL packet’s header’s 5-tupple which includes at least an S-TAG based on the filter rule; GUO: ¶174, evaluation includes matching the downlink data packet with the filter).
Claim(s) 16, 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU modified by GUO modified by TOY as applied to claim 15 above, further in view of KIM (US 2020/0314690)
Regarding claim 16, LIU modified by GUO modified by TOY discloses a method of Claim 15, wherein the downlink data packet is a PDU comprising a header portion and data portion, (LIU: ¶101, ¶104, Table 4, header portion and payload portion).
LIU modified by GUO modified by TOY remains silent regarding the data portion further comprises an Ethernet Frame header.
However, KIM (US 2020/0314690) discloses the data portion further comprises an Ethernet Frame header (KIM: ¶572, Fig. 2U, Fig. 2G, SDAP payload includes Ethernet frame header).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of LIU modified by GUO modified by TOY would have been motivated to use the teachings of KIM as it provides a way to conserve the protocol layer structure of 5G protocol. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of LIU modified by GUO modified by TOY with teachings of KIM in order to maintain compatibility with the protocol structure and conserve resources by using header compression.
Regarding claim 17, LIU modified by GUO modified by TOY discloses method of Claim 16, wherein the Ethernet Frame header comprises one or more TAG Protocol Identification (TPID) fields that carries the multiple C-TAGs or S-TAGs (TOY: Fig. 1B, ¶43, TPID fields carry C-TAG and S-TAG in the frame header)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue,
“
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's argument. Applicant argues that LIU modified by TOY does not disclose “…the packet filter component is derived from an outmost C-TAG or S-TAG. Applicants take a position that the combination of references LIU modified by TOY does not disclose (1) “…the packet filter component is derived from an outmost C-TAG or S-TAG and (2) does not address a “multi-tag ambiguity”.
Examiner respectfully submits, as an initial note, that nowhere in the claimed invention, any “ambiguity” regarding the C-TAGs or S-TAGs being used to derive the packet filter is addressed. This feature is being read into the claim, from the teachings of the specification. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
LIU, in ¶101, teaches deriving a packet filtering component using at least, C-TAG VID, C-TAG PCP/DEI, S-TAG VID, and S-TAG PCP/DEI.
[0101] … the 5-tuple parameters from which the packet filter may be derived may further include, for example, (6) a security parameter index of the downlink packet, (7) a destination MAC address of the downlink packet, (8) a source MAC address of the downlink packet, (9) an 802.1Q C-TAG VID of the downlink packet, (10) an 802.1Q C-TAG PCP/DEI of the downlink packet, (11) an 802.1Q S-TAG VID of the downlink packet, and/or (12) an 802.1Q S-TAG PCP/DEI of the downlink packet.
LIU, however, does not disclose how C-TAGs and S-TAGs are arranged in a downlink packet. That is, it remains silent when an S-TAG, among other S-TAGs or C-TAGs, is used to derive a packet filter, whether the S-TAG is an outermost S-TAG or not in the packet header.
TOY, however, discloses in ¶42-43 and Fig. 1B that an S-TAG is at the outermost field among the S-TAG and C-TAG.
LIU already teaches deriving packet filter from a S-TAGs and other fields including C-TAGs. TOY teaches how an S-TAG is the outermost among the S-TAG and C-TAG in the packet.
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of LIU would have been motivated to use the teachings of TOY as it provides a way to improve compliance with Ethernet frame header structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of LIU with teachings of TOY in order to maintain compatibility with the protocol.
Furthermore, LIU already describes how a packet filter is derived from all of the fields including all the S-TAGs and C-TAGs, which includes all the S-TAGs among which there is S-TAG that comes before the other S-TAGs making it the outermost S-TAG. The prior art TOY, however, is relied upon to show the S-TAG is before C-TAG making the S-TAG before all the C-TAGs also.
Applicants seem to take a position that the claim requires the derivation of the packet filter from only the outermost. This, however, is not claimed in claim 1 or other independent claims.
A person of ordinary skill in the world reasonably interpret the combination as disclosing “…the packet filter component is derived from an outmost C-TAG or S-TAG…”
All arguments are based on the arguments addressed as above, and are fully responded to as above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461