DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 04/13/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are not persuasive at least in view of reasons set forth below.
On page 11 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
However, although Chavva discloses computing or predicting feedback parameters, such as Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), CSI-Reference Signals (CSI-RS) Indicator (CRI), and Rank Indicator (RI) (see Chavva, para. [0116]), Chavva does not explicitly disclose that the N pieces of first information are used to represent a target object including: a first RS identifier, beam quality corresponding to the first RS identifier, and predicted beam quality. More importantly, Chavva does not disclose that the predicted beam quality itself comprises predicted beam quality of a second RS identifier within a preset time period, wherein the second RS identifier comprises an RS identifier comprised in the first beam measurement report that is sent to another device. In Particular, Chavva' s disclosure of predicted feedback parameters cannot be reasonably mapped to the claimed predicted beam quality. Chavva explains that the neural network may predict probable values of feedback parameters at a future time instance configured in the CSI ReportConfig IE, and provides PMI and RI as examples. See Chavva, para. [0124]. However, a predicted value of PMI, RI, CQI, or CRI is not the same as predicted beam quality of a second RS identifier. At most, Chavva discloses prediction of generic CSI feedback parameters. Chavva does not disclose predicting a beam-quality value for a second RS identifier, nor does Chavva
disclose that such second RS identifier is one that is comprised in the first beam measurement report sent to another device.
In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Unlike the applicant’s arguments above, Chavva in view of Guo clearly discloses, “the predicted beam quality comprises predicted beam quality of a second RS identifier within a preset time period, wherein the second RS identifier comprises an RS identifier comprised in the first beam measurement report that is sent to another device”, as currently claimed.
Chavva states:
[0124] The neural network 602 c can predict the probable values of the feedback parameters at a future time instance as configured by the gNB 607 in the CSI-ReportConfig IE. For example, consider that the CSI-ReportConfig IE indicates that the UE 601 needs to report the values of PMI and RI to the gNB 607 in a CSI report.
[0116] the processor 602 can include parameters, which can be computed and/or predicted using ML based learning models, in the CSI report. The parameters included in the CSI report can be referred to as feedback parameters, as the parameters are reported to the gNB 607 as CSI feedback. Examples of feedback parameters include, but not limited to, Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), CSI-RS Indicator (CRI), Rank Indicator (RI), and so on.
Based on reading the “CSI report” and “feedback parameters in the CSI report” of Chavva into the claimed “first beam measurement report” and “first information in the first beam measurement report“, respectively, the above-cited portions of Chavva disclose, the predicted quality comprises predicted quality of a second RS identifier within a preset time period [¶0124, predict the probable values of the feedback parameters at a future time instance as configured by the gNB 607 in the CSI-ReportConfig IE], wherein the second RS identifier comprises an RS identifier comprised in the first beam measurement report that is sent to another device [¶0116, CSI-RS indicator (CRI) included in the feedback parameters comprised in the CSI report that is sent to gNB].
Therefore, Chavva’s disclosure of “predicted feedback feedback parameters” and corresponding “CRI comprised in the CSI report” are mapped to the claimed “predicted beam quality” and “a second RS identifier comprised in the first beam measurement report”, respectively.
On page 12 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
Guo and Islam are cited for reasons unrelated to the above discussed claim limitations. Indeed, neither Guo nor Islam discloses or suggests that "the target object comprises a first Reference Signal (RS) identifier, beam quality corresponding to the first RS identifier, and predicted beam quality, wherein the predicted beam quality comprises predicted beam quality of a second RS identifier within a preset time period, wherein the second RS identifier comprises an RS identifier comprised in the first beam measurement report," as required by amended independent claim 1. Therefore, Guo and Islam do not cure the deficiency of Chavva.
In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Since claims 1, 15 and 19 are unpatentable over Chavva and Guo as set forth above, thus the other cited references do not necessarily be considered regarding patentability of the claims.
On page 12 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
Independent claims 15 and 19 are likewise allowable over Chavva, Guo, and Islam because they each recite similar claim limitations as those of independent claim 1.
In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Since claims 15 and 19 recite similar features to claim 1 without further patentable features, claims 15 and 19 are unpatentable in view of the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
On page 12 of Remarks, Applicant argued:
Dependent claims 2, 4-14, 16, 18, and 20 are thus allowable over these cited references at least by virtue of their dependencies from their respective base claims 1, 15, or 19, and because they each recite additional distinct limitations.
In response to the above Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Since claims 2, 4-14, 16, 18, and 20 are unpatentable over the cited references of record as set forth above, patentability of other dependent claims should be determined based on the claimed limitations recited thereon, rather than their respective independent claims. The dependent claims are also unpatentable in view of the corresponding cited references of records as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavva et al (US Publication No. 2021/0351885) in view of Guo et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190582).
Regarding claim 1, Chavva discloses, a beam reporting method [¶0091 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), a CSI reporting method], performed by a first device [¶0091 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), performed by user equipment (UE)], comprising:
performing beam measurement according to a beam measurement configuration to obtain a beam measurement result [¶0091-0092 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), performing measurements to CSI-RS or SSBs according to a feedback configuration to obtain channel metrics, baseband parameters and sensor measurements];
inputting the beam measurement result into an artificial intelligence (Al) network to obtain N pieces of first information, wherein N is a positive integer [¶0093 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), based on the baseband metrics, the channel metrics, RX beam pattern information and the sensor measurements, using the ML model, estimates the feedback parameters (i.e., first information); “The embodiments include estimating the feedback parameters using a Machine Learning (ML) model, such as a neural network. The computation of the feedback parameters is based on the baseband metrics, channel metrics, RX beam pattern information, and the sensor measurements. The embodiments include extracting feature vectors by processing the information in the measurement database. The embodiments include inputting the feature vectors to the ML model for computing the feedback parameters”]; and
sending a first beam measurement report to a second device [¶0095 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), the UE sends the CSI report including the estimated feedback parameters to gNB], wherein the first beam measurement report comprises the N pieces of first information, and the first information is used to determine beam information [¶0095 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), CSI report includes the estimated feedback parameters which are used to determine beam information (further see ¶0091, “the parameters can be Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), CSI-Reference Signals (CSI-RS) Indicator (CRI), Rank Indicator (RI), and so on.)] and to represent a target object [¶0091, the estimated feedback parameters include a CSI-RS indicator].
Although Chavva further discloses, wherein the target object comprises a first reference signal (RS) identifier [¶0091, the estimated feedback parameters include a CSI-RS indicator (i.e., first RS identifier)], predicted quality [¶0124, predicted probable values of the feedback parameters], wherein the predicted quality comprises predicted quality of a second RS identifier whin a preset time period [4"0115-0116 and 0124, predicted probable values of the feedback parameters at a future time instances configured in the CSI-ReportConfig IE (i.e., preconfigured); note that the predicted values include a value of CRI (a feedback parameter)], wherein the second RS identifier comprises an RS identifier comprised in the first beam measurement report [¶0116 and 0124, CSI-RS indicator (CRI) included in the feedback parameters comprised in the CSI report that is sent to gNB].
Chavva does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the quality is modified to be “beam quality”, and the target object comprises beam quality corresponding to the first RS identifier.
However, Guo discloses, the target object comprises beam quality corresponding to the first RS identifier [¶0236, the UE can be configured to report N=4 selected RS IDs and their corresponding L 1-RSRP measurements (i.e., beam quality)].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant’s endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Chavva with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Guo to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Guo into the system of Chavva would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to enable optimal beam selection and maintain reliable high-quality communication by allowing the network to adapt to channel condition dynamically, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 2, Chavva in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 1 as set forth above. Chavva discloses, wherein the first beam measurement report [¶0095 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), the CSI report] further comprises at least one of the following: a reference signal (RS) identifier corresponding to a beam [¶0091 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), CSI-RS indicator (CRI) corresponding to a CSI-RS].
Regarding claim 4, Chavva in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 1 as set forth above. Chavva discloses, wherein different types of beam quality correspond to different Al networks [FIG. 12; its related descriptions; ¶0173, different types of quality parameters such as CSI, RI, PMI, CQI, L1 and L1-RSRP correspond to different neural networks NM1 to NM6].
Regarding claim 5, Chavva in view of Guo discloses, the reporting method according to claim 1 as set forth above. Chavva discloses, wherein the target object comprises at least one of the following: quality of a sub-band [¶0115-0116 and 0122-0123, the CSI report comprising parameters such as channel quality indicator (CQI); note that the CQI is quality of at least one sub-band].
Regarding claim 6, Chavva in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 5 as set forth above. Chavva discloses, the second RS identifier further comprises any one of the following: an RS identifier associated with the first information [¶0116, the CRI associated with the feedback parameters; note that the CRI is included in the feedback parameters].
comprised in the first beam measurement report [¶0124, since a CSI report (i.e., first beam measurement report) includes computed and/or predicted feedback parameters including the value of CRI].
Regarding claim 7, Chavva in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 6 as set forth above. Chavva discloses, wherein when the first beam measurement report and a second beam measurement report meet a preset condition [¶0124-0128, the CSI report including computed and/or predicted feedback parameters including the value of CRI and CSI reports (i.e., second beam measurement report) transmitted in a periodic manner meet time conditions where the CSI reports are transmitted (further see ¶0140)], the third RS identifier comprises at least one of the following: a fourth RS identifier, wherein the fourth RS identifier is only associated with first information in a target measurement report, and the target beam measurement report is at least one of the first beam measurement report and the second beam measurement report [¶0115-0116 and 0124, note that the value of CRI is associated with information in the CSI report which is at least one of the CSI reports transmitted in a periodic manner], wherein the second beam measurement report is a beam measurement report that is closest to the first beam measurement report [¶0128 and 0140, each of the plurality of CSI reports can be sent to the gNB periodically during the reporting slots; note that the first CSI report of the periodic CSI report is closest to the CSI report including computed and/or predicted feedback parameters including the value (described in ¶0128)].
Regarding claim 8, Chavva in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 7 as set forth above. Chavva discloses, wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of the following: the RS identifier associated with the first information in the first beam measurement report is different from an RS identifier associated with first information in the second beam measurement report [¶0124-0128 and 0140, the CRI in the CRI report including the computed and predicted feedback parameters is different from the CRI in the periodic CSI reports because Chavva describes variations of inputted beam measurement results which results in changes of the CRIs (see ¶0127, “the neural network 602 c can determine a pattern of variations in each of the baseband metrics, channel metrics, and RX beam pattern information, with respect to the variation in the sensor measurements” and ¶0128, “the neural network 602 c can predict the probable values of the feedback parameters at the future time instances, based on the determined pattern of variations, and variations in factors such as, but not limited to, (feedback) delay in scheduling the PDSCH, based on the CSI report, by the gNB 607”)].
Regarding claim 9, Chavva in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 5 as set forth above. Chavva does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Guo discloses, wherein when the target object comprises the beam quality corresponding to the M third RS identifiers and M is greater than 1, the beam quality corresponding to the M third RS identifiers comprises any one of the following: beam quality of each RS identifier in the M third RS identifiers [¶0236, the UE can be configured to report N=4 selected RS IDs and their corresponding L1-RSRP measurements].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Guo in the system of Chavva for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Chavva in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 9 as set forth above. Chavva does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Guo discloses, wherein when the beam quality corresponding to the M third RS identifiers comprises the beam quality of each identifier in the at least one target RS identifier or the average beam quality of the at least one target RS identifier meets at least one of the following: when beam quality of L4 RS identifiers in the third RS identifier is greater than a second preset threshold, the at least one target RS is the L4 RS identifiers, wherein L4, L5, and L6 are all positive integers [¶0236, the UE can be configured to report N=4 selected RS IDs and their corresponding L1-RSRP measurements larger than X_1 dBm/a preset threshold].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Guo in the system of Chava for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Chava in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 1 as set forth above. Chava discloses, wherein inputting the beam measurement result into the Al network comprises: inputting target information into the Al network, wherein the target information comprises at least one of the following: beam quality [¶0093 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), based on the baseband metrics, the channel metrics, RX beam pattern information and the sensor measurements (i.e., beam quality), using the ML model, estimates the feedback parameters; “The embodiments include estimating the feedback parameters using a Machine Learning (ML) model, such as a neural network; further see FIGS. 9A-9B and their related description] of a sub-band [¶0093, note that the beam quality is associated with at least one frequency band (sub-band)].
Regarding claim 13, Chava in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 12 as set forth above. Chava discloses, wherein the target information further comprises at least one of the following: first information in a third beam measurement report [¶0128 and 0140, each of the plurality of CSI reports can be sent to the gang periodically during the reporting slots; note that the first CSI report of the periodic CSI report is considered as a third beam measurement report which has a value of CSI-RS indicator (CRI) (i.e., first information)], wherein the third beam measurement report is a beam measurement report within K time units from a current moment, and K is a positive integer [¶0128 and 0140, note that the first CSI report of the periodic CSI report is within time units/future time instances from a moment where the computation of the feedback parameters is performed and reported (further ¶0123-0124)].
Regarding claim 14, Chava in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 5 as set forth above. Chava discloses, determining the target object according to an indication of a network device [¶0091-0092 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), performing measurements to CSI-RS or SSBs according to a feedback configuration to obtain channel metrics, baseband parameters and sensor measurements and compute the feedback parameters including including the CRI].
Regarding claim 15, Chava discloses, a communications device [¶0092, user equipment (UE)], wherein the communications device is a first communications device [¶0092, user equipment (UE)], comprising:
a memory storing a computer program [FIG. 23; its related descriptions; ¶0228 and 0234, memory 2330 storing a computer program; note that every UE has at least one memory]; and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations [FIG. 23; its related descriptions; ¶0228 and 0234, processor 2310 coupled to the memory and executed to the program to perform action(s); note that every UE has at least one processor].
Since claim 15 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features, claim 15 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, Chava discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor of a first device, causes the processor to perform operations [FIG. 23; its related descriptions; ¶0228 and 0234, memory 2330 storing a computer program; note that every UE has at least one memory]. Since claim 19 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features, claim 19 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 21, Chava in view of Guo discloses the beam reporting method according to claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Chava further discloses, wherein the N pieces of first information meet at least one of the following: wherein the first RS identifier is any one of the following: an RS identifier comprised in the first beam measurement report [¶0095 (further see FIGS. 8-10, 12 and 13A and their related descriptions), the estimated feedback parameters are included in the CSI report; further see ¶0091, the feedback parameters includes the CSI-RS indicator (i.e., first RS identifier)], Chava does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized), but Guo discloses, when N is a positive integer and is greater than 1, each of the N pieces of first information is associated with the first RS identifier [¶0236, the UE can be configured to report N=4 selected RS IDs and their corresponding L1-RSRP measurements (i.e., beam quality)], and each of the N pieces of first information is associated with the first RS identifier [¶0236-0241, among the four (4) RSRP measurements, the largest RSRP measurement for the RS ID 1 (i.e., first RS identifier) is associated with the RS ID 1, and the rest RSRP measurements for the RS ID 2 to RS ID4 are represented as relative values to (i.e., associated with) the largest RSRP measurement for the RS ID 1; note that since the rest RSRP measurements are associated with the largest RSRP measurement, and the largest RSRP measurement is associated with the RS ID1, each of the RSRP measurements is associated with the RS ID 1/first RS identifier].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Guo in the system of Chava for similar rationales set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 21.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chava et al (US Publication No. 2021/0351885) in view of Guo et al (US Publication No. 2019/0190582) and further in view of Islam et al (US Publication No. 2019/0245605).
Regarding claim 11, Chava in view of Guo discloses, the beam reporting method according to claim 5 as set forth above. Chava in view of Guo does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Islam discloses, wherein the stability comprises at least one of the following: time domain stability [¶0131, the UE 604 may convey information regarding the variation of beam quality (e.g., fluctuations in a strength of a transmit beam) in the time domain to the base station 602].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Chava in view of Guo with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Islam to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Islam into the system of Chava in view of Guo would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure the base station assess channel quality variation and adjust link adaption or beam management strategies for more stable and efficient communication, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469