DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 09/17/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-3 have been amended. Claims 1-3 are pending in this application.
Applicant’s amendments to the abstract, see Abstract submitted 09/17/2025, overcome the objection to the abstract, therefore the objection to the abstract is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-3 overcome the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection of claims 1-3, therefore the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Main Argument
Applicant argues “…Tsai does not teach or suggest this amended feature. While Tsai [0166] may describe examples of PDCCH candidates, and [0171] may disclose that a UE may monitor a first PDCCH monitoring occasion and a second PDCCH monitoring occasion, these disclosures do not teach the conditional monitoring of a second type CSS based specifically on the presence of search space configuration information for a second search space within SystemInformationBlockl. The claimed feature expressly requires that the monitoring of the second type CSS occurs only when SystemInformationBlockl further includes such search space configuration information. Tsai is silent regarding SystemInformationBlockl containing search space configuration for a second search space, and thus fails to disclose or suggest the claimed condition.”
Reply
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., The claimed feature expressly requires that the monitoring of the second type CSS occurs only when SystemInformationBlockl further includes such search space configuration information) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Paragraph [0163] of Tsai teaches that the SIB1 for PDCCH monitoring may include searchSpaceSIB1 for any number of monitoring occasions which are tied to search spaces. The searchSpaceSIB1 is known to contain configuration information for a search space, which can be any number of search spaces tied to any number of PDCCH monitoring occasions.
Therefore, Agiwal and Tsai teach claimed features of “…in case that the SystemInformationBlock1 further comprises a search space configuration information for the second search space.”
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Second Argument
Applicant argues “The Examiner further relies on Wei (Fig. 8) for allegedly disclosing that "the first period is a period while the ra-ResponseWindow is running and the second period is after contention resolution is completed." Applicant respectfully notes that the claimed invention has been amended to require that "the second period starts after a specific downlink message is received; and the specific downlink message comprises an uplink message transmitted by the terminal." Wei merely describes timing relative to contention resolution, but does not teach or suggest that the second period is triggered by the receipt of a specific downlink message that includes an uplink message transmitted by the terminal, as now claimed.”
Reply
The argument is rendered moot as Wei is no longer relied upon for rejection of the cited limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal et al. (US 20230224997 A1), hereinafter Agiwal, in view of Tsai et al. (US 20220295540 A1), hereinafter Tsai, and further in view of Wei et al. (US 20220174723), hereinafter Wei.
For claim 1,
Agiwal teaches receiving by the terminal a SystemlnformationBlock1 ([0101], SIB1 received),
wherein, the SystemInformationBlock1 comprises Small Data Transmission (SDT) common configuration information, the SDT common configuration information comprises a first threshold value and a second threshold value; and the first threshold value is related to a reference signal received power and the second threshold value is related to data volume ([0773], SDT common configuration includes RSRP and data volume thresholds);
Agiwal does not explicitly teach determining, by the terminal, to initiate an SDT procedure based on the first threshold value and the second threshold value;
monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for a first type CSS configured by a first search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a second identifier during a first period of the SDT procedure, the first period starting when a ra-ResponseWindow starts; and
monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for a second type CSS configured by a second search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a third identifier during a second period of the SDT procedure, in case that the SystemInformationBlock1 further comprises a search space configuration information for the second search space, wherein:
the second period starts after a specific downlink message is received and the specific downlink message comprises an uplink message transmitted by the terminal,
whereinfirst search space is a search space related to random access, the second search space is a search space related to SDT, and
wherein the search space configuration information for the second search space comprises information indicating periodicity and offset of a slot for PDCCH monitoring.
However, Tsai teaches determining, by the terminal, to initiate an SDT procedure based on the first threshold value and the second threshold value ([0083], SDT procedure initiated based on data volume and RSRP);
monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for a first type CSS configured by a first search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a second identifier during a first period of the SDT procedure ([0166] and [0171], PDCCH monitored for first CSS configured by search space for DCI with CRC scrambled),
the first period starting when a ra-ResponseWindow starts ([0136] and [0138-0139] a window may be started when SDT transmission period starts, and the window may be a ra-ResponseWindow); and
monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for a second type CSS configured by a second search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a third identifier during a second period of the SDT procedure ([0166] and [0171], PDCCH monitored for second CSS configured by search space for DCI with CRC scrambled),
in case that the SystemInformationBlock1 further comprises a search space configuration information for the second search space, ([0163] SIB1 for PDCCH monitoring may include searchSpaceSIB1 for any number of monitoring occasions which are tied to search spaces. The searchSpaceSIB1 is known to contain configuration information for a search space, which can be any number of search spaces tied to any number of PDCCH monitoring occasions.) wherein:
the second period starts after a specific downlink message is received and the specific downlink message comprises an uplink message transmitted by the terminal ([FIGS. 4A and 4B] and [0112] SDT period may start after a MSG4 (downlink message) is received containing confirmation that the data in Msg3 was received, such as a C-RNTI proving the data was received correctly, which acts as the uplink information),
whereinfirst search space is a search space related to random access, the second search space is a search space related to SDT ([0166], [0171, and [0177], search spaces related to random access, and SDT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Agiwal for receiving an SIB1 with thresholds for RSRP and volume data with the methods of Tsai cited above, to ensure a procedure is not initiated if the threshold criteria are not met and to increase system efficiency.
Agiwal and Tsai do not explicitly teach wherein the search space configuration information for the second search space comprises information indicating periodicity and offset of a slot for PDCCH monitoring,
However, Wei teaches wherein the search space configuration information for the second search space comprises information indicating periodicity and offset of a slot for PDCCH monitoring ([FIG. 5], shows periodicity and slot offset),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Agiwal and Tsai for search space configuration with the method of Wei for the search space configuration comprising periodicity and offset information of a slot to ensure access is obtained in a timely manner and increase efficiency of the messaging system.
For claim 2, Agiwal, Tsai, and Wei teach claim 1.
Agiwal does not explicitly teach wherein the terminal monitors PDCCH for a first type CSS configured by the first search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by the third identifier during the second period of the SDT procedure, … in the case that SysteminformationBlock1 does not comprise the search space configuration information for the third search space.
However, Tsai further teaches in case that the SysteminformationBlock1 does not comprise the search space configuration information for the third search space ([0163] SIB1 for PDCCH monitoring may include searchSpaceSIB1 for any number of monitoring occasions which are tied to search spaces. The searchSpaceSIB1 is known to contain configuration information for a search space, which can be any number of search spaces tied to any number of PDCCH monitoring occasions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Agiwal and Wei for search space configuration with the method of Tsai for a SIBI1 not comprising a search space configuration to ensure access is obtained in a timely manner and increase efficiency of the messaging system.
Agiwal and Wei do not explicitly teach, while Wei further teaches wherein the terminal monitors PDCCH for a first type CSS configured by the first search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by the third identifier during the second period of the SDT procedure ([0085] and [129] terminal monitors for search space configured by a search and DCI scrambled by CRC. The Type-1 PDCCH CSS may be configured by SIB1 or other system information blocks. Since search spaces are used to find SIB1 and other system information blocks, this implies that the Type-1 PDCCH CSS could be configured by a first search space),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Agiwal and Tsai for search space configuration with the method of Wei, to ensure access is obtained in a timely manner and increase efficiency of the messaging system.
For claim 3, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, with the additional limitations of a transceiver configured to transmit and receive a signal, and a controller configured to control the transceiver to perform the limitations of claim 1 ([Agiwal, FIG. 20 and [813], shows a transceiver and controller).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Benjamin T. Ranew whose telephone number is (571)272-2746. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/BENJAMIN T. RANEW/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465