DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 12/29/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 12/29/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-2 are pending
Claims 1-2 are amended
Claims 1-2 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 20230413379 A1), hereinafter referenced as Jeon.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Jeon teaches a method performed by a terminal (Figs. 1A-1B, Para. [0038]-Jeon discloses wireless devices in a coverage area which perform according to disclosed methods. Fig. 15, Para. [0209-0210]-Jeon discloses a wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504 may include multiple antennas. The multiple antennas may be used to perform one or more MIMO or multi-antenna techniques, such as spatial multiplexing (e.g., single-user MIMO or multi-user MIMO), transmit/receive diversity, and/or beamforming. In other examples, the wireless device 1502 and/or the base station 1504 may have a single antenna ... The processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 to carry out one or more of the functionalities discussed in the present application), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control message including first configuration information for Small Data Transmission (SDT) (Fig. 21A, Para. [0299]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive a message (e.g., an RRC release message) comprising and/or indicating configuration parameters of an SDT {Small Data Transmission} … The one or more RNTIs may be predefined and/or configured by a base station (e.g., indicated by one or more RRC message that may comprise the message) for the PDCCH monitoring for the SDT and/or for a Non-RRC_CONNECTED), wherein
the first configuration information for SDT includes a Signaling Radio Bearer 2 (SRB2) indicator and a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) list (Para. [0232]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s));
determining, one or more radio bearers configured for SDT based on the first configuration information (Fig. 3, Para. [0067]-Jeon discloses the mapping/de-mapping between the QoS flows and the data radio bearers may be determined by the SDAP 225 at the gNB 220 ... for reflective mapping, the SDAP 225 at the gNB 220 may mark the downlink packets with a QoS flow indicator (QFI), which may be observed by the SDAP 215 at the UE 210 to determine the mapping/de-mapping between the QoS flows and the data radio bearers. Para. [0232]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s));
transitioning from RRCCONNECTED state to RRC INACTIVE state based on the radio resource control message (Para. [0103]-Jeon discloses the RRC state may transition from RRC connected 602 to RRC idle 604 through a connection release procedure 608 or to RRC inactive 606 through a connection inactivation procedure 610);
receiving, from the base station, system information including second configuration information for SDT (Fig. 17, Para. [0230]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the one or more messages in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state. The one or more messages may be broadcast, e.g., system information block)
the second configuration information for SDT includes a first threshold value and a second threshold value (Para. [0388]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive paging configuration parameters via system information (e.g., SIB1) {See also Para. [0230 and 0364]}. Para. [0172]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. Para. [0174-0176]-Jeon discloses the one or more RACH parameters may indicate one or more thresholds based on which the UE may determine at least one reference signal (e.g., an SSB and/or CSI-RS) and/or an uplink carrier (e.g., a normal uplink (NUL) carrier and/or a supplemental uplink (SUL) carrier) ... and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS) ... the one or more RACH parameters may indicate: a preamble format; a maximum number of preamble transmissions; and/or one or more thresholds for determining one or more preamble groups (e.g., group A and group B)); and
the first threshold value is related to a reference signal received power and the second threshold value is related to data volume (Para. [0388]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive paging configuration parameters via system information (e.g., SIB1) {See also Para. [0230 and 0364]}. Para. [0172]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. Para. [0174-0176]-Jeon discloses the one or more RACH parameters may indicate one or more thresholds. Para. [0176]-Jeon discloses the UE may determine the preamble based on the one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310. For example, the UE may determine the preamble based on a pathloss measurement, an RSRP measurement, and/or a size of the Msg 3 1313);
initiating SDT based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (Fig. 17, Para. [0230]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the one or more messages in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state. The one or more messages may be broadcast, e.g., system information block. Para. [0232-0234]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s) ... a wireless device may transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state via a random access procedure. For example, a wireless device may perform (and/or initiate) the random access procedure for an SDT);
monitoring Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for SDT based on a Common Search Space Set (CSS) during SDT (Para. [0340]-Jeon discloses a wireless device in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state may monitor PDCCH candidate(s) in at least one of the following search spaces sets: a CSS (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving MIB and/or SIB(s); a CSS (e.g., Type0A-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving other system information (e.g., other than SIB1); a CSS (e.g., Type1-PDCCH CSS set) for a random access procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type2-PDCCH CSS set) for a paging procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type3-PDCCH CSS) for receiving group common information (e.g., DCI), and/or one or more USS set for the wireless device. Para. [0360]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive, from a base station, a paging message via a paging procedure. The wireless device may monitor a PDCCH (e.g., paging search space). The wireless device may detect, via the PDCCH a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a P-RNTI. The DCI format may comprise a short message and/or a downlink assignment of a PDSCH that comprises the paging message. The P-RNTI may be an identifier that the wireless device uses to receive the short message and/or downlink assignment of the PDSCH); and
if data mapped to one or more radio bearers not configured for SDT becomes available during SDT, transmitting, to the base station, UEAssistanceInformation including a non-SDT data indication (Para. [0420]-Jeon discloses if the wireless device capability is limited (e.g., reduced capability wireless device, IoT devices, power limited devices, bandwidth-reduced low-complexity devices, coverage enhancement devices, devices in a particular device category, and/or the like), the wireless device may perform either the SDT operation or the paging procedure, e.g., during the at least one symbol. For example, if the wireless device's capability is not limited {capable of both SDT and non-SDT}, the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol, both the SDT operation and the paging procedure. The wireless device may transmit an indication {indicating non-SDT and/or SDT data} indicating whether the wireless device capability is limited or not. For example, the indication may be a transmission of Msg 1 and/or Msg A via a random access resource (e.g., a preamble, a preamble group, and/or a PRACH occasion) that is configured for such wireless device(s) having limited capability. For example, an uplink message (e.g., wireless device assistance information {UEAssistancelnformation}) that the wireless device transmits to a base station may comprise the indication {indicating non-SDT and/or SDT data}. Para. [0430]-Jeon discloses the second one or more wireless devices may comprise wireless device(s) receiving an RRC release message(s) that do not comprise configuration parameters of an SDT. For example, the second one or more wireless devices may comprise wireless device(s) that are not configured with an SDT. Para. [0422]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol in time, the SDT operation, e.g., if the first DL RS and the second DL RS are different and/or are not quasi co-located. Para. [0249]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may determine not to transmit the uplink data via the SDT, e.g., if the size is larger than at least one of the one or more sdt-TBS values (e.g., larger than all of the one or more sdt-TBS values)),
if the system information includes information indicating a search space for SDT, a type of the CSS is associated with SDT (Para. [0340]-Jeon discloses a wireless device in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state may monitor PDCCH candidate(s) in at least one of the following search spaces sets: a CSS (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving MIB and/or SIB(s); a CSS (e.g., Type0A-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving other system information (e.g., other than SIB1); a CSS (e.g., Type1-PDCCH CSS set) for a random access procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type2-PDCCH CSS set) for a paging procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type3-PDCCH CSS) for receiving group common information (e.g., DCI), and/or one or more USS set for the wireless device. Para. [0360]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive, from a base station, a paging message via a paging procedure. The wireless device may monitor a PDCCH (e.g., paging search space). The wireless device may detect, via the PDCCH a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a P-RNTI. The DCI format may comprise a short message and/or a downlink assignment of a PDSCH that comprises the paging message. The P-RNTI may be an identifier that the wireless device uses to receive the short message and/or downlink assignment of the PDSCH),
otherwise the type of the CSS is associated with random access (Para. [0340]-Jeon discloses a wireless device in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state may monitor PDCCH candidate(s) in at least one of the following search spaces sets: a CSS (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving MIB and/or SIB(s); a CSS (e.g., Type0A-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving other system information (e.g., other than SIB1); a CSS (e.g., Type1-PDCCH CSS set) for a random access procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type2-PDCCH CSS set) for a paging procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type3-PDCCH CSS) for receiving group common information (e.g., DCI), and/or one or more USS set for the wireless device. Para. [0360]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive, from a base station, a paging message via a paging procedure. The wireless device may monitor a PDCCH (e.g., paging search space). The wireless device may detect, via the PDCCH a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a P-RNTI. The DCI format may comprise a short message and/or a downlink assignment of a PDSCH that comprises the paging message. The P-RNTI may be an identifier that the wireless device uses to receive the short message and/or downlink assignment of the PDSCH), and
wherein the non-SDT data indication includes a resume cause (Para. [0420]-Jeon discloses if the wireless device's capability is not limited {capable of both SDT and non-SDT}, the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol, both the SDT operation and the paging procedure. Para. [0234]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state via a random access procedure. For example, a wireless device may perform (and/or initiate) the random access procedure for an SDT ... the initial access may be initiated based on receiving, by the wireless device, a paging message ... The wireless device may receive a message (e.g., Msg B, Msg 4, RRC setup, and/or RRC resume messages) comprising an indication of transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state. The wireless device may transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g., after or in response to receiving the message).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 12/29/2025, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1-2 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on pages 8 and 9, Lines [30-32 and 1-9 respectively], Applicant argues that, “cited passages are directed to capability/priority handling between SDT operations and paging and, at most, an indication of SDT/non-SDT data or device capability. They do not disclose that the UEAssistancelnformation carries a non-SDT data indication that includes a "resume cause," nor do they disclose transmitting such UEAssistancelnformation in response to the particular trigger condition required by the claims (i.e., non-SOT data becoming available on radio bearers not configured for SOT during SDT). Furthermore, the Office Action cites Jeon paragraph [0249], stating: "Para. [0249]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may determine not to transmit the uplink data via the SOT, e.g., if the size is larger than ... one or more sdt-TBS values .... " (Office Action, p. 11). This disclosure is a size-based permissibility determination for SDT transmission and likewise does not disclose a claimed non-SOT data indication including a resume cause.”
However, Jeon teaches if data mapped to one or more radio bearers not configured for SDT becomes available during SDT, transmitting, to the base station, UEAssistanceInformation including a non-SDT data indication (Para. [0420]-Jeon discloses if the wireless device capability is limited (e.g., reduced capability wireless device, IoT devices, power limited devices, bandwidth-reduced low-complexity devices, coverage enhancement devices, devices in a particular device category, and/or the like), the wireless device may perform either the SDT operation or the paging procedure, e.g., during the at least one symbol. For example, if the wireless device's capability is not limited {capable of both SDT and non-SDT}, the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol, both the SDT operation and the paging procedure. The wireless device may transmit an indication {indicating non-SDT and/or SDT data} indicating whether the wireless device capability is limited or not. For example, the indication may be a transmission of Msg 1 and/or Msg A via a random access resource (e.g., a preamble, a preamble group, and/or a PRACH occasion) that is configured for such wireless device(s) having limited capability. For example, an uplink message (e.g., wireless device assistance information {UEAssistancelnformation}) that the wireless device transmits to a base station may comprise the indication {indicating non-SDT and/or SDT data}. Para. [0430]-Jeon discloses the second one or more wireless devices may comprise wireless device(s) receiving an RRC release message(s) that do not comprise configuration parameters of an SDT. For example, the second one or more wireless devices may comprise wireless device(s) that are not configured with an SDT. Para. [0422]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol in time, the SDT operation, e.g., if the first DL RS and the second DL RS are different and/or are not quasi co-located. Para. [0249]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may determine not to transmit the uplink data via the SDT, e.g., if the size is larger than at least one of the one or more sdt-TBS values (e.g., larger than all of the one or more sdt-TBS values)), … wherein the non-SDT data indication includes a resume cause (Para. [0420]-Jeon discloses if the wireless device's capability is not limited {capable of both SDT and non-SDT}, the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol, both the SDT operation and the paging procedure. Para. [0234]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state via a random access procedure. For example, a wireless device may perform (and/or initiate) the random access procedure for an SDT ... the initial access may be initiated based on receiving, by the wireless device, a paging message ... The wireless device may receive a message (e.g., Msg B, Msg 4, RRC setup, and/or RRC resume messages) comprising an indication of transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state. The wireless device may transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g., after or in response to receiving the message).
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [15-30], Applicant argues that, “reliance on Jeon paragraphs [0272] and [0360] for the limitation requiring "monitoring ... PDCCH ... configured by a third search space ... until a specific radio resource control message is received," in the circumstance that "the system information includes search space configuration information for the third search space." ... Jeon paragraph [0360] is cited for conventional paging-monitoring a POCCH in a "paging search space" and detecting DCI with CRC scrambled by P-RNTI. Paging search space/P-RNTI operation is fundamentally distinct from an SOT-related third search space and does not teach the claimed SDT-specific monitoring scheme with a third identifier.”
However, Jeon teaches monitoring Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for SDT based on a Common Search Space Set (CSS) during SDT (Para. [0340]-Jeon discloses a wireless device in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state may monitor PDCCH candidate(s) in at least one of the following search spaces sets: a CSS (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving MIB and/or SIB(s); a CSS (e.g., Type0A-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving other system information (e.g., other than SIB1); a CSS (e.g., Type1-PDCCH CSS set) for a random access procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type2-PDCCH CSS set) for a paging procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type3-PDCCH CSS) for receiving group common information (e.g., DCI), and/or one or more USS set for the wireless device. Para. [0360]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive, from a base station, a paging message via a paging procedure. The wireless device may monitor a PDCCH (e.g., paging search space). The wireless device may detect, via the PDCCH a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a P-RNTI. The DCI format may comprise a short message and/or a downlink assignment of a PDSCH that comprises the paging message. The P-RNTI may be an identifier that the wireless device uses to receive the short message and/or downlink assignment of the PDSCH).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
CHIN et al. (US 20220377800 A1)-discloses A user equipment (UE) and a method for small data transmission (SDT) are provided. The method includes initiating an SDT procedure while the UE is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Inactive (RRC_INACTIVE) state; initiating a random access (RA) procedure before the SDT procedure is terminated; and determining whether to include a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) in an uplink (UL) message during the RA procedure based on at least one condition. The at least one condition includes whether the SDT procedure corresponds to a Configured Grant (CG)-SDT procedure. The UL message is a message 3 (Msg3) in a case that the RA procedure is a 4-step RA procedure. The UL message is a message A (MsgA) in a case that the RA procedure is a 2-step RA procedure…. …Fig. 1-5
Yu et al. (US 20220232351 A1)-discloses method and device for wireless communications, comprising receiving a first signaling, the first signaling being used to indicate a first ID set of a first service, the first service being a non-unicast service, and the first ID set comprising a plurality of IDs; determining a target ID; and applying the target ID to receive the target data set; wherein the first service comprises K data sets, the target data set is one of the K data sets, K being a positive integer greater than 1; the first ID set comprises K IDs, and the target ID is one of the K IDs in the first ID set. The application receives a target data set by receiving a first signaling and determining a target ID, which helps to improve efficiency and save power…. …Fig. 1-5
ZHI-XIANG WU et al. (CN 110475388 A)-discloses method for processing wireless resource controlling information recovery in reason, it is used for processing a restoration cause in a radio resource control message, said apparatus comprises at least one processing circuit, wherein the at least one processing circuit is configured to perform the following the instructions: starting a radio resource control recovery program is a non-access layer request object and a purpose of radio resource control request according to the non-access layer request-purpose rather than the target radio resource control request, determine a recovery reason the wireless resource control recovery program of one radio resource control of the recovery request message; the recovery reason transmission comprises with the radio resource control recovery request message to a base station of a network terminal, and receiving a response from the base station a radio resource control to recover message recovery request message of the radio resource control.… …Fig. 1-5
CHEN et al. (US 20220232351 A1)-discloses method and device for wireless communications, comprising receiving a first signaling, the first signaling being used to indicate a first ID set of a first service, the first service being a non-unicast service, and the first ID set comprising a plurality of IDs; determining a target ID; and applying the target ID to receive the target data set; wherein the first service comprises K data sets, the target data set is one of the K data sets, K being a positive integer greater than 1; the first ID set comprises K IDs, and the target ID is one of the K IDs in the first ID set. The application receives a target data set by receiving a first signaling and determining a target ID, which helps to improve efficiency and save power…. …Fig. 1-5
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472