DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 04/08/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 00/00/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2 are pending
Claims 1-2 are amended
Claims 1-2 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 20230413379 A1), hereinafter referenced as Jeon, in view of AGIWAL et al. (US 20260025877 A1), hereinafter referenced as Agiwal, and further in view of TSAI et al. (US 20220295540 A1), hereinafter referenced as Tsai.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Jeon teaches a method performed by a terminal (Figs. 1A-1B, Para. [0038]-Jeon discloses wireless devices in a coverage area which perform according to disclosed methods. Fig. 15, Para. [0209-0210]-Jeon discloses a wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504 may include multiple antennas. The multiple antennas may be used to perform one or more MIMO or multi-antenna techniques, such as spatial multiplexing (e.g., single-user MIMO or multi-user MIMO), transmit/receive diversity, and/or beamforming. In other examples, the wireless device 1502 and/or the base station 1504 may have a single antenna ... The processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 to carry out one or more of the functionalities discussed in the present application), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including first configuration information for Small Data Transmission (SDT) (Fig. 21A, Para. [0299]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive a message (e.g., an RRC release message) comprising and/or indicating configuration parameters of an SDT {Small Data Transmission} … The one or more RNTIs may be predefined and/or configured by a base station (e.g., indicated by one or more RRC message that may comprise the message) for the PDCCH monitoring for the SDT and/or for a Non-RRC_CONNECTED), wherein
the first configuration information for SDT includes a Signaling Radio Bearer 2 (SRB2) indicator and a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) list (Para. [0232]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s));
determining, one or more radio bearers configured for SDT based on the first configuration information (Fig. 3, Para. [0067]-Jeon discloses the mapping/de-mapping between the QoS flows and the data radio bearers may be determined by the SDAP 225 at the gNB 220 ... for reflective mapping, the SDAP 225 at the gNB 220 may mark the downlink packets with a QoS flow indicator (QFI), which may be observed by the SDAP 215 at the UE 210 to determine the mapping/de-mapping between the QoS flows and the data radio bearers. Para. [0232]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s));
transitioning from an RRC_CONNECTED state to an RRC_INACTIVE state based on the RRC message (Para. [0103]-Jeon discloses the RRC state may transition from RRC connected 602 to RRC idle 604 through a connection release procedure 608 or to RRC inactive 606 through a connection inactivation procedure 610);
receiving, from the base station, system information including second configuration information for SDT (Fig. 17, Para. [0230]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the one or more messages in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state. The one or more messages may be broadcast, e.g., system information block),
the second configuration information for SDT includes a first threshold value related to a reference signal received power (Para. [0388]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive paging configuration parameters via system information (e.g., SIB1) {See also Para. [0230 and 0364]}. Para. [0172]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. Para. [0174-0176]-Jeon discloses the one or more RACH parameters may indicate one or more thresholds based on which the UE may determine at least one reference signal (e.g., an SSB and/or CSI-RS) and/or an uplink carrier (e.g., a normal uplink (NUL) carrier and/or a supplemental uplink (SUL) carrier) ... and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS) ... the one or more RACH parameters may indicate: a preamble format; a maximum number of preamble transmissions; and/or one or more thresholds for determining one or more preamble groups (e.g., group A and group B)) and
a second threshold value (Para. [0388]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive paging configuration parameters via system information (e.g., SIB1) {See also Para. [0230 and 0364]}. Para. [0172]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. Para. [0174-0176]-Jeon discloses the one or more RACH parameters may indicate one or more thresholds. Para. [0176]-Jeon discloses the UE may determine the preamble based on the one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310. For example, the UE may determine the preamble based on a pathloss measurement, an RSRP measurement, and/or a size {Corresponding to data volume} of the Msg 3 1313);
initiating SDT based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (Fig. 17, Para. [0230]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the one or more messages in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state. The one or more messages may be broadcast, e.g., system information block. Para. [0232-0234]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s) ... a wireless device may transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state via a random access procedure. For example, a wireless device may perform (and/or initiate) the random access procedure for an SDT);
monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for SDT based on a Common Search Space (CSS) set during SDT (Para. [0340]-Jeon discloses a wireless device in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state may monitor PDCCH candidate(s) in at least one of the following search spaces sets: a CSS (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving MIB and/or SIB(s); a CSS (e.g., Type0A-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving other system information (e.g., other than SIB1); a CSS (e.g., Type1-PDCCH CSS set) for a random access procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type2-PDCCH CSS set) for a paging procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type3-PDCCH CSS) for receiving group common information (e.g., DCI), and/or one or more USS set for the wireless device. Para. [0360]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive, from a base station, a paging message via a paging procedure. The wireless device may monitor a PDCCH (e.g., paging search space). The wireless device may detect, via the PDCCH a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a P-RNTI. The DCI format may comprise a short message and/or a downlink assignment of a PDSCH that comprises the paging message. The P-RNTI may be an identifier that the wireless device uses to receive the short message and/or downlink assignment of the PDSCH); and
if data mapped to one or more radio bearers not configured for SDT becomes available during SDT, transmitting, to the base station, UEAssistanceInformation including a non-SDT data indication (Para. [0420]-Jeon discloses if the wireless device capability is limited (e.g., reduced capability wireless device, IoT devices, power limited devices, bandwidth-reduced low-complexity devices, coverage enhancement devices, devices in a particular device category, and/or the like), the wireless device may perform either the SDT operation or the paging procedure, e.g., during the at least one symbol. For example, if the wireless device's capability is not limited {capable of both SDT and non-SDT}, the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol, both the SDT operation and the paging procedure. The wireless device may transmit an indication {indicating non-SDT and/or SDT data} indicating whether the wireless device capability is limited or not. For example, the indication may be a transmission of Msg 1 and/or Msg A via a random access resource (e.g., a preamble, a preamble group, and/or a PRACH occasion) that is configured for such wireless device(s) having limited capability. For example, an uplink message (e.g., wireless device assistance information {UEAssistancelnformation}) that the wireless device transmits to a base station may comprise the indication {indicating non-SDT and/or SDT data}. Para. [0430]-Jeon discloses the second one or more wireless devices may comprise wireless device(s) receiving an RRC release message(s) that do not comprise configuration parameters of an SDT. For example, the second one or more wireless devices may comprise wireless device(s) that are not configured with an SDT. Para. [0422]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol in time, the SDT operation, e.g., if the first DL RS and the second DL RS are different and/or are not quasi co-located. Para. [0249]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may determine not to transmit the uplink data via the SDT, e.g., if the size is larger than at least one of the one or more sdt-TBS values (e.g., larger than all of the one or more sdt-TBS values)),
if the system information includes information indicating a search space for SDT, a type of the CSS set is associated with SDT (Para. [0340]-Jeon discloses a wireless device in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state may monitor PDCCH candidate(s) in at least one of the following search spaces sets: a CSS (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving MIB and/or SIB(s); a CSS (e.g., Type0A-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving other system information (e.g., other than SIB1); a CSS (e.g., Type1-PDCCH CSS set) for a random access procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type2-PDCCH CSS set) for a paging procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type3-PDCCH CSS) for receiving group common information (e.g., DCI), and/or one or more USS set for the wireless device. Para. [0360]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive, from a base station, a paging message via a paging procedure. The wireless device may monitor a PDCCH (e.g., paging search space). The wireless device may detect, via the PDCCH a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a P-RNTI. The DCI format may comprise a short message and/or a downlink assignment of a PDSCH that comprises the paging message. The P-RNTI may be an identifier that the wireless device uses to receive the short message and/or downlink assignment of the PDSCH),
CSS set … random access (Para. [0340]-Jeon discloses a wireless device in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state may monitor PDCCH candidate(s) in at least one of the following search spaces sets: a CSS (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving MIB and/or SIB(s); a CSS (e.g., Type0A-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving other system information (e.g., other than SIB1); a CSS (e.g., Type1-PDCCH CSS set) for a random access procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type2-PDCCH CSS set) for a paging procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type3-PDCCH CSS) for receiving group common information (e.g., DCI), and/or one or more USS set for the wireless device. Para. [0360]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive, from a base station, a paging message via a paging procedure. The wireless device may monitor a PDCCH (e.g., paging search space). The wireless device may detect, via the PDCCH a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a P-RNTI. The DCI format may comprise a short message and/or a downlink assignment of a PDSCH that comprises the paging message. The P-RNTI may be an identifier that the wireless device uses to receive the short message and/or downlink assignment of the PDSCH), and
wherein the non-SDT data indication includes a resume cause (Para. [0420]-Jeon discloses if the wireless device's capability is not limited {capable of both SDT and non-SDT}, the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol, both the SDT operation and the paging procedure. Para. [0234]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state via a random access procedure. For example, a wireless device may perform (and/or initiate) the random access procedure for an SDT ... the initial access may be initiated based on receiving, by the wireless device, a paging message ... The wireless device may receive a message (e.g., Msg B, Msg 4, RRC setup, and/or RRC resume messages) comprising an indication of transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state. The wireless device may transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g., after or in response to receiving the message. Para. [0036]-Jeon discloses Limitations, features, and/or elements from the disclosed example embodiments may be combined to create further embodiments within the scope of the disclosure).
Jeon fails to explicitly teach a second threshold value related to data volume.
However, Agiwal teaches a second threshold value related to data volume (Para. [0189-0191]-Agiwal discloses criteria for selecting CG-SDT: CG-SDT criteria is considered met, if all of the following conditions are met, [0190] 1) available data volume<=data volume threshold (data volume threshold is signaled by gNB and can be specific to CG-SDT or common for CG-SDT and RA-SDT) [0191] 2) RSRP (cell quality or RSRP of path loss reference) is greater than or equal to a configured threshold (threshold is signaled by gNB and can be specific to CG-SDT or common for CG-SDT and RA-SDT)).
Jeon and Agiwal are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with an apparatus, a method and a system for handling small data transmission (SDT) related procedures in wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Jeon to incorporate the teachings of Agiwal on SDT configuration, with a motivation for data volume threshold, and ensure small coverage areas may be provided in areas with high data traffic (or so-called “hotspots”) or in areas with weak macrocell coverage, (Jeon, Para. [0052]).
Jeon fails to explicitly teach otherwise the type of the CSS set is associated with random access.
However, Tsai teaches if the system information includes information indicating a search space for SDT, a type of the CSS set is associated with SDT, and otherwise the type of the CSS set is associated with random access (Para. [0171-0177]-Tsai discloses PDCCH monitoring occasion 604 may be configured for an SDT purpose(s), ... PDCCH monitoring occasion 606 may be configured for other purposes (e.g., for a paging/short message, for system information, for an RA, etc.), ... SS may be a common SS (e.g., the type-1 PDCCH CSS configured by the IE ra-SearchSpace, the type-3 PDCCH CSS, and/or a new common SS configured from system information/RRC release message) ... SS may be CSS(s) configured by the IE sdt-SearchSpace ... SS may be CSS(s) configured by the IE sdt-CG-SearchSpace ... PDCCH monitoring occasion (e.g., not for an SDT) may be configured by a second SS and/or a second CORESET ..., the second SS may be an IE searchSpaceZero, commonSearchSpaceList, searchSpaceSIB1, searchSpaceOtherSystemInformation, pagingSearchSpace, ra-SearchSpace. Para. [0166]-Tsai discloses UE may monitor the PDCCH candidates in a TypeO-PDCCH CSS set configured by an IE pdcch-ConfigSIB1 in a MIB or by an ID searchSpaceSIBl in an IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon or by an ID searchSpaceZero in the IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon for a DCI format with a CRC scrambled by a SI-RNTI on a primary cell of an MCG. In some implementations, the UE may monitor the PDCCH candidates in a TypeOA-PDCCH CSS set configured by an ID searchSpaceOtherSystemInformation in the IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon for a DCI format with a CRC scrambled by a SI-RNTI on the primary cell of the MCG. In some implementations, the UE may monitor the PDCCH candidates in a Typel-PDCCH CSS set configured by an ID ra-SearchSpace in the IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon for a DCI format with a CRC scrambled by an RA-RNTI, an MsgB-RNTI, or a TC-RNTI on the primary cell. In some implementations, the UE may monitor the PDCCH candidates in a Type2-PDCCH CSS set configured by an ID pagingSearchSpace in the IE PDCCH-ConfigCommon for a DCI format with a CRC scrambled by a P-RNTI on the primary cell of the MCG).
Tsai is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications dealing with monitoring of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) by a user equipment (UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Jeon in view of Agiwal to incorporate the teachings of Tsai on SIB, CSS and random access, with a motivation for CSS types and RA-Search Spaces, and ensure small coverage areas may be provided in areas with high data traffic (or so-called “hotspots”) or in areas with weak macrocell coverage, (Jeon, Para. [0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the new references (AGIWAL et al. (US 20260025877 A1) and TSAI et al. (US 20220295540 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Listed below are the provisional applications made of record and not relied upon but are considered potential double patenting to applicant`s disclosure.
Application US18/137,438 - discloses A method by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving by the terminal a SystemInformationBlock1, the SystemInformationBlock1 includes Small Data Transmission (SDT) common configuration information, the SDT common configuration information includes a first threshold value and a second threshold value, the first threshold value is related to a reference signal received power and the second threshold is related to data volume; monitoring by the terminal Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for a first type Common Search Space Set (CSS) configured by the first search space for Downlink Control Information (DCI) with Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) scrambled by the first identifier; determining by the terminal to initiate an SDT procedure based on the first threshold and the second threshold; monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for the first type CSS configured by a second search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a second identifier during a first period of the SDT procedure; and monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for a second type CSS configured by a third search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a third identifier during a second period of the SDT procedure, if SystemInformationBlock1 includes a search space configuration information for the third search space, wherein the first search space is a search space related to paging, the second search space is a search space related to random access, the third search space is a search space related to SDT, wherein the search space configuration information for the third search space includes information indicating periodicity and offset of a slot for PDCCH monitoring, wherein the first period is a period while the ra-ResponseWindow is running and the second period is after contention resolution is completed, wherein the first type CSS is a CSS applied to both RRC_IDLE state and RRC_INACTIVE state, and wherein the second type CSS is a CSS applied to RRC_INACTIVE state and not applied to RRC_IDLE state…. …Fig. 1-5
Application US18/137,442 - discloses A method by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving by the terminal a RRCRelease, the RRCRelease includes a first information for Small Data Transmission (SDT), the first information for SDT optionally includes a Signaling Radio Bearer2 (SRB2) indicator and a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) list; determining by the terminal a one or more radio bearers configured for SDT based on the first information; discarding by the terminal all stored Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Service Data Unit (SDU) and PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) in a PDCP entity of Signaling Radio Bearer1 (SRB1); discarding by the terminal all stored Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Service Data Unit (SDU) and PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) in a PDCP entity of SRB2 if the SRB2 indicator is included in the RRCRelease; storing by the terminal Ethernet Header Compression (EHC) information in User Equipment (UE) INACTIVE Access Stratum (AS) context; receiving by the terminal a SystemInformationBlock1, the SystemInformationBlock1 includes a second information for SDT, the second information for SDT includes a first threshold value and a second threshold value, the first threshold value is related to a reference signal received power and the second threshold is related to data volume; monitoring by the terminal Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for a first type Common Search Space Set (CSS) configured by a first search space for Downlink Control Information (DCI) with Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) scrambled by a first identifier; initiating by the terminal a SDT based on the first information and the second information; monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for a first type CSS configured by a second search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a second identifier during when ra-ResponseWindow is running; reestablishing by the terminal the PDCP entity of the SRB1 and resuming the SRB1; restoring by the terminal PDCP configurations of the radio bearers configured for SDT; resuming by the terminal the radio bearers; transmitting by the terminal a UEAssistanceInformation if data mapped to a one or more radio bearers not configured for SDT becomes available; and monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for a second type CSS configured by a third search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a third identifier, if the SystemInformationBlock1 includes a search space configuration information for the third search space, wherein the first search space is a search space related to paging, the second search space is a search space related to random access, the third search space is a search space related to SDT.… …Fig. 1-5
Application US18/533,182 - discloses A method performed by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving, by the terminal from a base station, a downlink Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for RRC_INACTIVE state; storing, by the terminal, a RRC configuration in a User Equipment (UE) Inactive Access Stratum (AS) Context based on the received downlink RRC message; receiving, by the terminal from the base station, system information including a first timer value and a second timer value; initiating, by the terminal, a first resume procedure or a second resume procedure based on the received system information; restoring, by the terminal, part of the RRC configuration from the UE Inactive AS Context; transmitting, by the terminal to the base station, a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU), wherein the MAC PDU comprises an uplink RRC message, wherein the uplink RRC message comprises a first terminal identifier; and performing, by the terminal, cell selection in case that the first timer or the second timer expires, wherein the first timer starts before the restoring part of the RRC configuration in case that the first resume procedure is initiated, and wherein the second timer starts after the restoring part of the RRC configuration in case that the second resume procedure is initiated…. …Fig. 1-5
Application US18/137,440 - discloses A method by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving by the terminal a RRCRelease, the RRCRelease includes a first information for Small Data Transmission (SDT), the first information for SDT optionally includes a Signaling Radio Bearer2 (SRB2) indicator and a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) list; determining by the terminal a one or more radio bearers configured for SDT based on the first information; discarding by the terminal all stored Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Service Data Unit (SDU) and PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) in a PDCP entity of Signaling Radio Bearer1 (SRB1); discarding by the terminal all stored Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Service Data Unit (SDU) and PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) in a PDCP entity of SRB2 if the SRB2 indicator is included in the RRCRelease; storing by the terminal Ethernet Header Compression (EHC) information in User Equipment (UE) INACTIVE Access Stratum (AS) context; receiving by the terminal a SystemInformationBlock1, the SystemInformationBlock1 includes a second information for SDT, the second information for SDT includes a first threshold value and a second threshold value, the first threshold value is related to a reference signal received power and the second threshold is related to data volume; initiating by the terminal a SDT based on the first information and the second information; reestablishing by the terminal the PDCP entity of the SRB1 and resuming the SRB1; restoring by the terminal PDCP configurations of the radio bearers configured for SDT; and resuming by the terminal the radio bearers…. …Fig. 1-5
Application US18/137,439 - discloses A method by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving by the terminal a RRCRelease, the RRCRelease includes a first information for Small Data Transmission (SDT), the first information for SDT includes a Signaling Radio Bearer2 (SRB2) indicator and a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) list; performing by the terminal cell selection; receiving by the terminal a SystemInformationBlock1 in a selected cell, the SystemInformationBlock1 includes a second information for SDT, the second information for SDT includes a first threshold value and a second threshold value, the first threshold value is related to a reference signal received power and the second threshold is related to data volume; initiating by the terminal a SDT based on the first information and the second information; transmitting by the terminal a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) including Common Control Channel (CCCH) Service Data Unit (SDU) for initial Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission and starting by the terminal a first timer; monitoring by the terminal Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for a first identifier based on a first search space or a second search space; and stopping by the terminal the first timer when a downlink assignment for the first identifier is received via PDCCH, wherein state transition to RRC_IDLE state is performed when the first timer expires…. …Fig. 1-5
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472