DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 07/19/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/19/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2 are pending
Claims 1-2 are amended
Claims 1-2 remain rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-2 recite “P0”, “sdt-P0-PUSCH”, “sdt-Alpha” and “UEAssistancelnformation” which are in an abbreviation form and which have not been followed by the full explanation of the terms and need to be clarified and defined within the claims;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 2 recites the limitation, “…the first configuration information for SDT includes … a pathloss compensation factor for PUSCH for SDT”. However, the limitation has no support in the specification. Therefore, the limitation is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 20230413379 A1), hereinafter referenced as Jeon, in view of AGIWAL et al. (US 20260025877 A1), hereinafter referenced as Agiwal.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Jeon teaches a method performed by a terminal (Figs. 1A-1B, Para. [0038]-Jeon discloses wireless devices in a coverage area which perform according to disclosed methods. Fig. 15, Para. [0209-0210]-Jeon discloses a wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504 may include multiple antennas. The multiple antennas may be used to perform one or more MIMO or multi-antenna techniques, such as spatial multiplexing (e.g., single-user MIMO or multi-user MIMO), transmit/receive diversity, and/or beamforming. In other examples, the wireless device 1502 and/or the base station 1504 may have a single antenna ... The processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524, respectively. Memory 1514 and memory 1524 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 to carry out one or more of the functionalities discussed in the present application), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including first configuration information for Small Data Transmission (SDT) (Fig. 21A, Para. [0299]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive a message (e.g., an RRC release message) comprising and/or indicating configuration parameters of an SDT {Small Data Transmission} … The one or more RNTIs may be predefined and/or configured by a base station (e.g., indicated by one or more RRC message that may comprise the message) for the PDCCH monitoring for the SDT and/or for a Non-RRC_CONNECTED), wherein
the first configuration information for SDT includes a Signaling Radio Bearer 2 (SRB2) indicator (Para. [0232]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s)),
a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) list (Para. [0232]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s)),
a P0 value for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) for SDT (sdt-P0- PUSCH) (Para. [0172]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. Para. [0172-0174]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE … The one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310 may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313. For example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate a reference power for a preamble transmission (e.g., a received target power and/or an initial power of the preamble transmission). There may be one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters. Para. [0311-0312]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the configuration parameters comprising indicator(s) indicating which reference signal(s) are associated with the data (e.g., PUSCH) and/or control signal (e.g., PUCCH) transmission associated with the transmission via the one or more radio resource(s) ... the indicator(s) may comprise a spatial relation information (e.g., UL TCI state). The spatial relation information may be for transmission(s) via PUSCH ... The spatial relation information may indicate at least one of following: cell index/identifier, one or more DL RSs (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), and/or any combination thereof), SRS resource index/identifier, BWP index/identifier, pathloss reference RS index/identifier, and/or power control parameter(s)), and
a pathloss compensation factor for PUSCH for SDT (sdt-Alpha) (Para. [0311-0314]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the configuration parameters comprising indicator(s) indicating which reference signal(s) are associated with the data (e.g., PUSCH) and/or control signal (e.g., PUCCH) transmission associated with the transmission via the one or more radio resource(s) ... the indicator(s) may comprise a spatial relation information (e.g., UL TCI state). The spatial relation information may be for transmission(s) via PUSCH ... The spatial relation information may indicate at least one of following: cell index/identifier, one or more DL RSs (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), and/or any combination thereof), SRS resource index/identifier, BWP index/identifier, pathloss reference RS index/identifier, and/or power control parameter(s) ... the wireless device receives message(s) comprising configuration parameters of transmission via one or more radio resource(s) in an RRC_CONNECTED state and/or a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state. (See also Para. [0425]));
determining, one or more radio bearers configured for SDT based on the first configuration information (Fig. 3, Para. [0067]-Jeon discloses the mapping/de-mapping between the QoS flows and the data radio bearers may be determined by the SDAP 225 at the gNB 220 ... for reflective mapping, the SDAP 225 at the gNB 220 may mark the downlink packets with a QoS flow indicator (QFI), which may be observed by the SDAP 215 at the UE 210 to determine the mapping/de-mapping between the QoS flows and the data radio bearers. Para. [0232]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s));
transitioning from an RRC_CONNECTED state to an RRC_INACTIVE state based on the RRC message (Para. [0103]-Jeon discloses the RRC state may transition from RRC connected 602 to RRC idle 604 through a connection release procedure 608 or to RRC inactive 606 through a connection inactivation procedure 610);
receiving, from the base station, system information including second configuration information for SDT (Fig. 17, Para. [0230]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the one or more messages in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state. The one or more messages may be broadcast, e.g., system information block),
the second configuration information for SDT includes a first threshold value related to reference signal received power (Para. [0388]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive paging configuration parameters via system information (e.g., SIB1) {See also Para. [0230 and 0364]}. Para. [0172]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. Para. [0174-0176]-Jeon discloses the one or more RACH parameters may indicate one or more thresholds based on which the UE may determine at least one reference signal (e.g., an SSB and/or CSI-RS) and/or an uplink carrier (e.g., a normal uplink (NUL) carrier and/or a supplemental uplink (SUL) carrier) ... and determine at least one reference signal having an RSRP above an RSRP threshold (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB and/or rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS) ... the one or more RACH parameters may indicate: a preamble format; a maximum number of preamble transmissions; and/or one or more thresholds for determining one or more preamble groups (e.g., group A and group B)) and
a second threshold value (Para. [0388]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive paging configuration parameters via system information (e.g., SIB1) {See also Para. [0230 and 0364]}. Para. [0172]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. Para. [0174-0176]-Jeon discloses the one or more RACH parameters may indicate one or more thresholds. Para. [0176]-Jeon discloses the UE may determine the preamble based on the one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310. For example, the UE may determine the preamble based on a pathloss measurement, an RSRP measurement, and/or a size {Corresponding to data volume} of the Msg 3 1313);
initiating SDT based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (Fig. 17, Para. [0230]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the one or more messages in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state. The one or more messages may be broadcast, e.g., system information block. Para. [0232-0234]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s) ... a wireless device may transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state via a random access procedure. For example, a wireless device may perform (and/or initiate) the random access procedure for an SDT);
the SDT is initiated only when all pending uplink data is mapped to the one or more radio bearers configured for SDT (Fig. 4A, Para. [0073-0074]-Jeon discloses an uplink data flow through the NR user plane protocol stack may be similar to the downlink data flow depicted in FIG. 4A … The downlink data flow of FIG. 4A begins when SDAP 225 receives the three IP packets from one or more QoS flows and maps the three packets to radio bearers. In FIG. 4A, the SDAP 225 maps IP packets n and n+1 to a first radio bearer 402 and maps IP packet m to a second radio bearer 404);
monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for SDT based on a Common Search Space (CSS) set during SDT (Para. [0340]-Jeon discloses a wireless device in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state may monitor PDCCH candidate(s) in at least one of the following search spaces sets: a CSS (e.g., Type0-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving MIB and/or SIB(s); a CSS (e.g., Type0A-PDCCH CSS set) for receiving other system information (e.g., other than SIB1); a CSS (e.g., Type1-PDCCH CSS set) for a random access procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type2-PDCCH CSS set) for a paging procedure; a CSS (e.g., Type3-PDCCH CSS) for receiving group common information (e.g., DCI), and/or one or more USS set for the wireless device. Para. [0360]-Jeon discloses a wireless device may receive, from a base station, a paging message via a paging procedure. The wireless device may monitor a PDCCH (e.g., paging search space). The wireless device may detect, via the PDCCH a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a P-RNTI. The DCI format may comprise a short message and/or a downlink assignment of a PDSCH that comprises the paging message. The P-RNTI may be an identifier that the wireless device uses to receive the short message and/or downlink assignment of the PDSCH); and
if data mapped to one or more radio bearers not configured for SDT becomes available during SDT, transmitting, to the base station, UEAssistanceInformation including a non-SDT data indication (Para. [0420]-Jeon discloses if the wireless device capability is limited (e.g., reduced capability wireless device, IoT devices, power limited devices, bandwidth-reduced low-complexity devices, coverage enhancement devices, devices in a particular device category, and/or the like), the wireless device may perform either the SDT operation or the paging procedure, e.g., during the at least one symbol. For example, if the wireless device's capability is not limited {capable of both SDT and non-SDT}, the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol, both the SDT operation and the paging procedure. The wireless device may transmit an indication {indicating non-SDT and/or SDT data} indicating whether the wireless device capability is limited or not. For example, the indication may be a transmission of Msg 1 and/or Msg A via a random access resource (e.g., a preamble, a preamble group, and/or a PRACH occasion) that is configured for such wireless device(s) having limited capability. For example, an uplink message (e.g., wireless device assistance information {UEAssistancelnformation}) that the wireless device transmits to a base station may comprise the indication {indicating non-SDT and/or SDT data}. Para. [0430]-Jeon discloses the second one or more wireless devices may comprise wireless device(s) receiving an RRC release message(s) that do not comprise configuration parameters of an SDT. For example, the second one or more wireless devices may comprise wireless device(s) that are not configured with an SDT. Para. [0422]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may perform, e.g., during the at least one symbol in time, the SDT operation, e.g., if the first DL RS and the second DL RS are different and/or are not quasi co-located. Para. [0249]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may determine not to transmit the uplink data via the SDT, e.g., if the size is larger than at least one of the one or more sdt-TBS values (e.g., larger than all of the one or more sdt-TBS values)),
an uplink transmission power of a PUSCH for the SDT is determined based on the sdt-P0-PUSCH and the sdt-Alpha (Para. [0172]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. Para. [0172-0174]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE … The one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310 may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313. For example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate a reference power for a preamble transmission (e.g., a received target power and/or an initial power of the preamble transmission). There may be one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters. Para. [0311-0312]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the configuration parameters comprising indicator(s) indicating which reference signal(s) are associated with the data (e.g., PUSCH) and/or control signal (e.g., PUCCH) transmission associated with the transmission via the one or more radio resource(s) ... the indicator(s) may comprise a spatial relation information (e.g., UL TCI state). The spatial relation information may be for transmission(s) via PUSCH ... The spatial relation information may indicate at least one of following: cell index/identifier, one or more DL RSs (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), and/or any combination thereof), SRS resource index/identifier, BWP index/identifier, pathloss reference RS index/identifier, and/or power control parameter(s)).
Jeon fails to explicitly teach a second threshold value related to data volume.
However, Agiwal teaches a second threshold value related to data volume (Para. [0189-0191]-Agiwal discloses criteria for selecting CG-SDT: CG-SDT criteria is considered met, if all of the following conditions are met, [0190] 1) available data volume<=data volume threshold (data volume threshold is signaled by gNB and can be specific to CG-SDT or common for CG-SDT and RA-SDT) [0191] 2) RSRP (cell quality or RSRP of path loss reference) is greater than or equal to a configured threshold (threshold is signaled by gNB and can be specific to CG-SDT or common for CG-SDT and RA-SDT)).
Jeon and Agiwal are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with an apparatus, a method and a system for handling small data transmission (SDT) related procedures in wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Jeon to incorporate the teachings of Agiwal on SDT configuration, with a motivation for data volume threshold, and ensure small coverage areas may be provided in areas with high data traffic (or so-called “hotspots”) or in areas with weak macrocell coverage, (Jeon, Para. [0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 07/19/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1-2 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 2, Line [28], Applicant argues that, “…Jeon does not disclose sdt-P0-PUSCH or sdt-Alpha in any context.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
However, in addition to the abbreviations “sdt-P0-PUSCH” and “sdt-Alpha” not being defined in the claims, Jeon et al. (US 20230413379 A1) also teaches the first configuration information for SDT includes a Signaling Radio Bearer 2 (SRB2) indicator, a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) list (Para. [0232]-Jeon discloses the RRC release procedure may comprise a suspension of the RRC connection (e.g., if a signaling radio bearer (SRB) (e.g., SRB2) and/or at least one dedicated radio bearer (DRB) is setup) and/or a suspension of the established radio bearer(s)), a P0 value for Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) for SDT (sdt-P0- PUSCH) (Para. [0172]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. Para. [0172-0174]-Jeon discloses the configuration message 1310 may be transmitted, for example, using one or more RRC messages. The one or more RRC messages may indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE … The one or more RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310 may be used to determine an uplink transmit power of Msg 1 1311 and/or Msg 3 1313. For example, the one or more RACH parameters may indicate a reference power for a preamble transmission (e.g., a received target power and/or an initial power of the preamble transmission). There may be one or more power offsets indicated by the one or more RACH parameters. Para. [0311-0312]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the configuration parameters comprising indicator(s) indicating which reference signal(s) are associated with the data (e.g., PUSCH) and/or control signal (e.g., PUCCH) transmission associated with the transmission via the one or more radio resource(s) ... the indicator(s) may comprise a spatial relation information (e.g., UL TCI state). The spatial relation information may be for transmission(s) via PUSCH ... The spatial relation information may indicate at least one of following: cell index/identifier, one or more DL RSs (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), and/or any combination thereof), SRS resource index/identifier, BWP index/identifier, pathloss reference RS index/identifier, and/or power control parameter(s)), and a pathloss compensation factor for PUSCH for SDT (sdt-Alpha) (Para. [0311-0314]-Jeon discloses the wireless device may receive the configuration parameters comprising indicator(s) indicating which reference signal(s) are associated with the data (e.g., PUSCH) and/or control signal (e.g., PUCCH) transmission associated with the transmission via the one or more radio resource(s) ... the indicator(s) may comprise a spatial relation information (e.g., UL TCI state). The spatial relation information may be for transmission(s) via PUSCH ... The spatial relation information may indicate at least one of following: cell index/identifier, one or more DL RSs (e.g., SSB(s), CSI-RS(s), and/or any combination thereof), SRS resource index/identifier, BWP index/identifier, pathloss reference RS index/identifier, and/or power control parameter(s) ... the wireless device receives message(s) comprising configuration parameters of transmission via one or more radio resource(s) in an RRC_CONNECTED state and/or a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state. (See also Para. [0425])).
In the remarks, on page 3, Lines [14-15], Applicant argues that, “…None of the Cited References Teaches that SDT Is Initiated Only When All Pending Uplink Data Is Mapped to Radio Bearers Configured for SDT.”
However, Jeon teaches the SDT is initiated only when all pending uplink data is mapped to the one or more radio bearers configured for SDT (Fig. 4A, Para. [0073-0074]-Jeon discloses an uplink data flow through the NR user plane protocol stack may be similar to the downlink data flow depicted in FIG. 4A … The downlink data flow of FIG. 4A begins when SDAP 225 receives the three IP packets from one or more QoS flows and maps the three packets to radio bearers. In FIG. 4A, the SDAP 225 maps IP packets n and n+1 to a first radio bearer 402 and maps IP packet m to a second radio bearer 404).
In the remarks, on page 4, Lines [1-2], Applicant argues that, “…Jeon, Para. [0052])- does not provide a rationale for combining the specific teachings required to arrive at the presently amended claims.”
However, Jeon and Agiwal are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication system, dealing with an apparatus, a method and a system for handling small data transmission (SDT) related procedures in wireless communication system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Jeon to incorporate the teachings of Agiwal on SDT configuration, with a motivation for data volume threshold, and ensure small coverage areas may be provided in areas with high data traffic (or so-called “hotspots”) or in areas with weak macrocell coverage, (Jeon, Para. [0052]).
Conclusion
Listed below are additional prior arts and provisional applications made of record and not currently relied upon but are pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
TSAI et al. (US 20220295540 A1) - discloses method receives, while being in a radio resource control (RRC) CONNECTED state, from a base station (BS), an RRC release message that includes a small data transmission (SDT) configuration. After receiving the RRC release message, the method transitions to an RRC_INACTIVE state from the RRC_CONNECTED state in response to receiving the RRC release message. The method then initiates an SDT procedure based on the SDT configuration. The method further determines whether a search space set associated with an SDT search space is received from the BS. The method monitors the PDCCHby monitoring the search space set during the SDT procedure when the search space set is received from the BS…. …Fig. 1-5
Application US18/137,438 - discloses A method by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving by the terminal a SystemInformationBlock1, the SystemInformationBlock1 includes Small Data Transmission (SDT) common configuration information, the SDT common configuration information includes a first threshold value and a second threshold value, the first threshold value is related to a reference signal received power and the second threshold is related to data volume; monitoring by the terminal Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for a first type Common Search Space Set (CSS) configured by the first search space for Downlink Control Information (DCI) with Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) scrambled by the first identifier; determining by the terminal to initiate an SDT procedure based on the first threshold and the second threshold; monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for the first type CSS configured by a second search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a second identifier during a first period of the SDT procedure; and monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for a second type CSS configured by a third search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a third identifier during a second period of the SDT procedure, if SystemInformationBlock1 includes a search space configuration information for the third search space, wherein the first search space is a search space related to paging, the second search space is a search space related to random access, the third search space is a search space related to SDT, wherein the search space configuration information for the third search space includes information indicating periodicity and offset of a slot for PDCCH monitoring, wherein the first period is a period while the ra-ResponseWindow is running and the second period is after contention resolution is completed, wherein the first type CSS is a CSS applied to both RRC_IDLE state and RRC_INACTIVE state, and wherein the second type CSS is a CSS applied to RRC_INACTIVE state and not applied to RRC_IDLE state…. …Fig. 1-5
Application US18/137,442 - discloses A method by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving by the terminal a RRCRelease, the RRCRelease includes a first information for Small Data Transmission (SDT), the first information for SDT optionally includes a Signaling Radio Bearer2 (SRB2) indicator and a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) list; determining by the terminal a one or more radio bearers configured for SDT based on the first information; discarding by the terminal all stored Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Service Data Unit (SDU) and PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) in a PDCP entity of Signaling Radio Bearer1 (SRB1); discarding by the terminal all stored Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Service Data Unit (SDU) and PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) in a PDCP entity of SRB2 if the SRB2 indicator is included in the RRCRelease; storing by the terminal Ethernet Header Compression (EHC) information in User Equipment (UE) INACTIVE Access Stratum (AS) context; receiving by the terminal a SystemInformationBlock1, the SystemInformationBlock1 includes a second information for SDT, the second information for SDT includes a first threshold value and a second threshold value, the first threshold value is related to a reference signal received power and the second threshold is related to data volume; monitoring by the terminal Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for a first type Common Search Space Set (CSS) configured by a first search space for Downlink Control Information (DCI) with Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) scrambled by a first identifier; initiating by the terminal a SDT based on the first information and the second information; monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for a first type CSS configured by a second search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a second identifier during when ra-ResponseWindow is running; reestablishing by the terminal the PDCP entity of the SRB1 and resuming the SRB1; restoring by the terminal PDCP configurations of the radio bearers configured for SDT; resuming by the terminal the radio bearers; transmitting by the terminal a UEAssistanceInformation if data mapped to a one or more radio bearers not configured for SDT becomes available; and monitoring by the terminal PDCCH for a second type CSS configured by a third search space for DCI with CRC scrambled by a third identifier, if the SystemInformationBlock1 includes a search space configuration information for the third search space, wherein the first search space is a search space related to paging, the second search space is a search space related to random access, the third search space is a search space related to SDT.… …Fig. 1-5
Application US18/533,182 - discloses A method performed by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving, by the terminal from a base station, a downlink Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for RRC_INACTIVE state; storing, by the terminal, a RRC configuration in a User Equipment (UE) Inactive Access Stratum (AS) Context based on the received downlink RRC message; receiving, by the terminal from the base station, system information including a first timer value and a second timer value; initiating, by the terminal, a first resume procedure or a second resume procedure based on the received system information; restoring, by the terminal, part of the RRC configuration from the UE Inactive AS Context; transmitting, by the terminal to the base station, a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU), wherein the MAC PDU comprises an uplink RRC message, wherein the uplink RRC message comprises a first terminal identifier; and performing, by the terminal, cell selection in case that the first timer or the second timer expires, wherein the first timer starts before the restoring part of the RRC configuration in case that the first resume procedure is initiated, and wherein the second timer starts after the restoring part of the RRC configuration in case that the second resume procedure is initiated…. …Fig. 1-5
Application US18/137,440 - discloses A method by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving by the terminal a RRCRelease, the RRCRelease includes a first information for Small Data Transmission (SDT), the first information for SDT optionally includes a Signaling Radio Bearer2 (SRB2) indicator and a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) list; determining by the terminal a one or more radio bearers configured for SDT based on the first information; discarding by the terminal all stored Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Service Data Unit (SDU) and PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) in a PDCP entity of Signaling Radio Bearer1 (SRB1); discarding by the terminal all stored Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) Service Data Unit (SDU) and PDCP Protocol Data Unit (PDU) in a PDCP entity of SRB2 if the SRB2 indicator is included in the RRCRelease; storing by the terminal Ethernet Header Compression (EHC) information in User Equipment (UE) INACTIVE Access Stratum (AS) context; receiving by the terminal a SystemInformationBlock1, the SystemInformationBlock1 includes a second information for SDT, the second information for SDT includes a first threshold value and a second threshold value, the first threshold value is related to a reference signal received power and the second threshold is related to data volume; initiating by the terminal a SDT based on the first information and the second information; reestablishing by the terminal the PDCP entity of the SRB1 and resuming the SRB1; restoring by the terminal PDCP configurations of the radio bearers configured for SDT; and resuming by the terminal the radio bearers…. …Fig. 1-5
Application US18/137,439 - discloses A method by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving by the terminal a RRCRelease, the RRCRelease includes a first information for Small Data Transmission (SDT), the first information for SDT includes a Signaling Radio Bearer2 (SRB2) indicator and a Data Radio Bearer (DRB) list; performing by the terminal cell selection; receiving by the terminal a SystemInformationBlock1 in a selected cell, the SystemInformationBlock1 includes a second information for SDT, the second information for SDT includes a first threshold value and a second threshold value, the first threshold value is related to a reference signal received power and the second threshold is related to data volume; initiating by the terminal a SDT based on the first information and the second information; transmitting by the terminal a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) including Common Control Channel (CCCH) Service Data Unit (SDU) for initial Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) transmission and starting by the terminal a first timer; monitoring by the terminal Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) for a first identifier based on a first search space or a second search space; and stopping by the terminal the first timer when a downlink assignment for the first identifier is received via PDCCH, wherein state transition to RRC_IDLE state is performed when the first timer expires…. …Fig. 1-5
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472