Acknowledgments
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 4/13/26. In the reply, the applicant elected claims 1-13 and 15-20 for examination. Examiner agrees. Claim 14 is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/21/24;4/21/23 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b). Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tysver et al. (US 2010/0037961) (“Tysver”).
(claim 1) Tysver discloses a system comprising a variable displacement pump VDP (114,18) in fluid communication with an inlet line (Fig. 1, note inlet lines associated with 16) and with an outlet line (48), wherein the VDP includes a variable displacement mechanism (24) configured to vary pressure to the outlet line; and an electromechanical actuator (EMA) 122, 22 operatively connected to actuate the variable displacement mechanism.
Claim 2: a bypass valve BPV (30/40) including a BPV inlet (50/52) in fluid communication with the outlet line, and a BPV outlet (note outlet of 40 upstream of 56) in fluid communication with a bypass line (56) that feeds into the inlet line upstream of the VDP; a minimum pressure shutoff valve MPSOV (84) connected in fluid communication with the outlet line, configured to block flow through the outlet line for shutoff (paragraph 34, Examiner noting the control 84 has in moving the valve element in either direction which would include shutoff positions), wherein the MPSOV is connected in fluid communication with the BPV for triggering recirculation through the BPV (paragraph 34, Examiner noting the control 84 has in moving the valve element in either direction which would include recirculation positions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tysver in view of Ito et al. (US 2016/0320114) (“Ito”).
Tysver teaches the previous limitations. Tysver is not explicit about a flow sensing valve connected in the outlet line, wherein the FSV includes a sensor configured to generate sensor data indicative of flow out of the outlet line, wherein the FSV includes an FSV inlet, an FSV outlet, and a valve member, wherein a biasing member biases the valve member in a first direction, and wherein pressure of flow through the FSV from the FSV inlet to the FSV outlet biases the valve member in a second direction opposite the first direction. However, Ito, in the analogous art, teaches a flow sensing valve associated with a pump in an outlet line (Fig. 1) which includes a sensor (256a) configured to generate sensor data indicative of flow out of the outlet line (Fig. 5), wherein the FSV includes an FSV inlet (note inlet upstream of 252), an FSV outlet (note outlet downstream of 252), and a valve member (252) , wherein a biasing member (253) biases the valve member in a first direction, and wherein pressure of flow through the FSV from the FSV inlet to the FSV outlet biases the valve member in a second direction opposite the first direction (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a flow sensing valve as taught by Ito into the apparatus of Tysver as it allows the valve to function as both a check valve and flow measuring device, simplifying the overall structure.
Claim 12: Tysver and Ito teach the previous limitations. Ito further teaches that the sensor includes a position sensor (256a) operatively connected to monitor position of the valve member in the FSV to generate the sensor data (Fig. 5; paragraphs 55- 56).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 4-10 are further objected to based on dependency.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13, 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12454950. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated or made obvious by the patented claims.
Conclusion
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783