CTNF 18/137,649 CTNF 78519 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 7, 9, 11-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,793,465 B2 to Wang in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0272199 A1 to Lin et al . Wang discloses an ultrasonic sensor utilizing chemically strengthened glass as substrate, comprising: a piezoelectric film (11); and a first carbon-nanotube(CNT)-based electrode layer (10; see column 2, lines 35-40) directly disposed on at least one side of the piezoelectric film (see Figures 1 and 3). However, it fails to disclose the CNT-based first electrode layer having a sheet resistance of less than 300 ohm/sq. Lin et al. discloses the ultrasonic spray coating of conducting and transparent films from combined graphene and conductive nano filaments, comprising: a CNT-based electrode layer (“ film ”) having a sheet resistance of less than 300 ohm/sq (see Abstract; see paragraphs [0045] and [0060]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the CNT-based electrode layer (“ film ”) disclosed by Lin et al. on the ultrasonic sensor disclosed by Wang, for the purpose of providing “ a graphene/nano filament-based hybrid film with a combination of exceptional optical transparency and high electrical conductivity (or low sheet resistance ) ” (see paragraphs [0002], [0025], [0026], [0031], and [0032]). With regards to claim 2, Wang discloses: the piezoelectric film being a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) piezoelectric film (see column 2, lines 40-43; see column 2, line 66 to column 3, line 2). With regards to claim 3, Lin et al. discloses: the piezoelectric film having an optical transmittance of at least 90% (see paragraphs [0026] and [0032]). With regards to claim 7, Wang discloses: the first CNT-based electrode layer comprises silver nanowires (see column 2, line 34). With regards to claim 9, Lin et al. discloses: the first CNT-based electrode layer has an optical transmittance of at least 90% (see paragraphs [0026] and [0032]). With regards to claim 11, Wang discloses: the piezoelectric device being a sensing device (see Title). With regards to claim 12, Wang discloses: a second CNT-based electrode layer directly disposed on the piezoelectric film (see Figures 1, 3, and 4). With regards to claim 13, Wang in view of Lin et al. disclose a method of manufacturing a piezoelectric device, comprising the steps of: obtaining a carbon nanotube (CNT) dispersion; coating a piezoelectric film with the CNT dispersion to obtain a CNT-based electrode layer directly disposed on the piezoelectric film; and curing the CNT-based electrode layer, wherein the CNT-based electrode layer has a sheet resistance of less than 300 ohm/sq. With regards to claim 14, Lin et al. discloses: the coating comprising one selected from a group consisting of a spray coating (see Title, Abstract; see paragraphs [0045], [0054], [0057], [0058], [0060], [0062], [0068], [0069], [0072], [0090], [0107], [0112], and [0113]), a screen printing (see paragraph [0094]), a spin coating (see paragraphs [0049], [0054], [0056], [0058], [0068], [0071], [0084] , [0085] , [0089] , [0092] , and Example 5), a blade coating, a dip coating (see paragraph [0089]), and a vacuum filtration coating (see paragraph [0089]). With regards to claim 15, both Wang and Lin et al. independently disclose: curing comprising exposing the CNT-based electrode layer to a temperature of no more than the Curie temperature of the piezoelectric film (see column 3, line 65 to column 4 of Wang; see column 6, lines 16-19; see paragraphs [0024], [0077], [0083], [0105], and [0114] of Lin et al.). With regards to claim 16, Wang discloses: adding at least one of silver nanowires (see column 2, line 34), metal mesh, conductive polymer, and graphene (see column 2, line 40) to the CNT dispersion. With regards to claim 18, Wang in view of Lin et al. disclose a piezoelectric device, comprising: a piezoelectric film (11); and a first carbon-nanotube(CNT)-based electrode layer (10; see column 2, lines 35-40) directly disposed on at least one side of the piezoelectric film (see Figures 1 and 3), wherein the CNT-based first electrode layer has a sheet resistance of less than 300 ohm/sq and forms a plurality of receiver electrodes (see Abstract; see paragraphs [0045] and [0060] of Lin et al.); and a processing system (“ smart phones or tablet computers ” in Background) for determining the position of the input object based on resulting signals obtained from the plurality of receiver electrodes. With regards to claim 19, Wang discloses: the piezoelectric film being a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) piezoelectric film (see column 2, lines 40-43; see column 2, line 66 to column 3, line 2). With regards to claim 20, Wang discloses: the CNT-based electrode layer comprises silver nanowires (see column 2, line 34) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 4, 5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,793,465 B2 to Wang in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0272199 A1 to Lin et al . as applied to claim s 1-3, 7, 9, 11-16, and 18-20 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0033276 A1 to Kou et al . Wang in view of Lin et al. disclose an ultrasonic sensor utilizing chemically strengthened glass as substrate as described in paragraph 6 above. However, it fails to disclose the piezoelectric film having an optical haze of less than 5%. Kou et al. discloses a bimorph-type piezoelectric film, comprising: an optical haze of less than 5% (see Tables 2 and 3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the bimorph-type piezoelectric film having an optical haze of less than 5% as disclosed by Kou et al. on the ultrasonic sensor disclosed by Wang in view of Lin et al., for the purpose of providing a thinner piezoelectric film with improved optical properties (see paragraph [0243]). With regards to claim 5, Kou et al. discloses: the piezoelectric film having a thickness in a range between 10µm and 200µm (see paragraph [0229]). With regards to claim 10, Kou et al. discloses: the first CNT-based electrode layer has an optical haze of less than 5% (see Tables 2 and 3) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,793,465 B2 to Wang in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0272199 A1 to Lin et al . as applied to claim s 1-3, 7, 9, 11-16, and 18-20 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0202890 A1 to Kim . Wang in view of Lin et al. disclose an ultrasonic sensor utilizing chemically strengthened glass as substrate as described in paragraph 6 above. However, it fails to disclose the piezoelectric film having a piezoelectric coefficient, d 31 , of at least 10pC/N. Kim discloses a display device, comprising: a piezoelectric film having a piezoelectric coefficient, d 31 , of at least 10pC/N (see paragraph [0048]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the a piezoelectric film disclosed by Kim on the ultrasonic sensor disclosed by Wang in view of Lin et al., for the purpose of providing a “ piezoelectric layer 164 can be mechanically stretched ” (see paragraph [0048]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9,793,465 B2 to Wang in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0272199 A1 to Lin et al . as applied to claim s 1-3, 7, 9, 11-16, and 18-20 above, and further in view of CN1616340 A to Yao et al . Wang in view of Lin et al. disclose an ultrasonic sensor utilizing chemically strengthened glass as substrate as described in paragraph 6 above. However, it fails to disclose the first CNT-based electrode layer is doped with at least one selected from a group consisting of iodine, HNO 3 , SOCl 2 , andMoO 3 . Yao et al. discloses a micro-machined electromechanical device, comprising: a CNT-based electrode layer being doped with at least one of iodine and HNO 3 (see page 14, lines 3-8). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the doping materials disclosed by Yao et al. on the piezoelectric film of the ultrasonic sensor disclosed by Wang in view of Lin et al. , for the purpose of utilizing well known precise and effective etching techniques. With regards to claim 17, Yao et al. discloses: doping the CNT dispersion with at least one of iodine and HNO 3 (see page 14, lines 3-8). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEDRO J CUEVAS whose telephone number is (571)272-2021. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jessica Han can be reached at (571) 272-2078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 March 19, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/137,649 Page 2 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,649 Page 3 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,649 Page 4 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,649 Page 5 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,649 Page 6 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,649 Page 7 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,649 Page 8 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,649 Page 9 Art Unit: 2896