DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2021/0045258 A1) in view of Akiba (US 2018/0319696 A1) and Klaus (WO 2021/073798 A1)
Regarding Claims 1-2, 5, and 11, Lee teaches a display system for having an interior surface with an opening (Abstract; Fig. 1A) comprising a support structure, attached to a flexible display panel (Fig. 6) Lee teaches the display panel is configured to reversibly transition between a retracted configuration and a deployed configuration, where the retracted configuration has the display in a curved position. Lee teaches the support structure reinforces the display in the deployed configuration. (Fig. 1A-1B, 11). Klaus teaches a support structure include a track system that will support the display system when deployed. (Fig. 11).
Lee does not specifically teach the glass sheet attached to the display and the support structure
Akiba teaches a glass sheet to be used as a cover glass to applied to flexible/foldable display. (Abstract; Paragraph 0011). Akiba teaches applying a cover glass will provide protection to the display and will not easily crack upon scratches. (Paragraph 0002, 0007). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to apply the claimed cover glass of Akiba against the front of the display panel of Klaus, which would have the glass sheet configured to be moved through the opening and reversibly transition between a retracted and deployed configuration.
Akiba teaches the glass sheet comprises a first major surface and an opposite major surface defining a thickness of 0.2 mm or less. (Abstract; Fig. 1). This overlaps the claimed range. In the flat shape/deployed position, Akiba teaches the glass sheet will have a central tension between the first major surface and the second major surface comprises a first surface compressive stress. (Paragraph 0017-0028; Fig. 1-8 of Klaus). Akiba teaches a central tension that overlaps the claimed range, given the formula of CT is less than or equal to 4×(t+0.02)−2+90. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05) (Paragraph 0029) In the unrolled/retracted position, Akiba teaches the second major surface comprises curved portion and comprise a second surface compressive stress. (Fig.1 of Akiba; Fig. 1-8 of Klaus)
Akiba teaches the flat depth of compression (DOL) can be 10 microns or greater and less than 50 microns. (Paragraph 0028). This overlaps the claimed range. Akiba teaches this ensures the glass will not break easily. (Paragraph 0028). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to set the DOL to the claimed range to ensure no breakage.
Akiba does not specifically teach the bent depth of compression at a radius of curvature of 50 mm or the second surface compressive stress is less than the first compressive stress.
However, given that Akiba’s glass sheet has the same structure and thickness as Applicants’ claim, Akiba’s first compressive stress and depth of compression overlap with that disclosed by Applicants’ (see Akiba’s 0020, 0028 compared with Applicants claims 4 and 6), Akiba’s glass composition itself overlaps with that of Applicants’ (see Akiba 0067-0089 and Applicants’ disclosure) and Akiba even produces their glass through a similar ion exchange process with similar salt, duration and temperature as done by Applicants’ (Akiba 0021, 0108 and Applicants’ par. 0067- 0068), one having ordinary skill would reasonably conclude the same effects to occur when bent to a radius as claimed absent an evidentiary showing to the contrary (MPEP 2112).
Lee teaches the display system comprises an actuator configured to move the flexible display, with the flexible glass sheet of Akiba, through the opening and transition the glass sheet between the deployed configuration and retracted configuration, the actuator engaged to an end of the glass sheet that is disposed below the interior surface in the deployed configuration. (Fig. 2).
While Lee and Akiba do not specifically teach this display system is for vehicle interior system, Klaus teaches it is well-known to add rollable display system, like of Lee, to vehicles as display infotainment systems (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3, Akiba teaches the flat depth of compression (DOL) can be 10 microns or greater and less than 50 microns. (Paragraph 0028). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05) Akiba teaches this ensures the glass will not break easily. (Paragraph 0028). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to set the DOL to the claimed range to ensure no breakage.
Regarding Claim 4, Akiba teaches the first compressive stress is greater than 700 MPa. (Paragraph 0019). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05) Akiba teaches this ensures the cover glass will not break upon scratching. (Paragraph 0019). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to set the first compressive stress to the claimed range as taught by Akiba.
Regarding Claim 6, Akiba teaches the edge finish has defects of less than 5 microns. (Paragraph 0034-0035). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05)
Regarding Claim 7, Lee teaches the display system comprises an actuator configured to move the flexible display, with the flexible glass sheet of Akiba, through the opening and transition the glass sheet between the deployed configuration and retracted configuration, the actuator engaged to an end of the glass sheet that is disposed below the interior surface in the deployed configuration. (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Akiba teaches the glass sheet can be rolled into a radius of curvature of less than or equal to 10 mm. (Paragraph 0019). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05) As Akiba teaches it possible to roll the display to this radius of curvature and a smaller roll will save space, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the set the radius of curvature taught by Akiba to reduce the space the display takes.
Regarding Claim 9, Akiba teaches the glass sheet as a cover glass, which means the display of Klaus is against the second major surface of the glass sheet, as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 10, Lee teaches a portion of the display can be unrolled into a flat position from a rolled portion, where the first major surface from concave curvature to flatness 1A and 1B). A flat position is considered an infinite radius of curvature. Therefore, the first major surface of the curved section will have a concave curvature that transition from less than 10 mm, as discussed above to infinite curvature. Therefore, the first major surface will have a concave curvature of less than infinite as the cover glass and display get unrolled. This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding Claims 12-13, Lee teaches actuator comprises a rotatable shaft to which end of the display panel, including the glass is engaged in the deployed configuration (Fig. 2), where the actuator is configured to selectively rotate the rotatable shaft to move the display with the glass sheet through the opening and transition between the deployed configuration and retracted configuration.
Regarding Claim 14-15, Lee teaches the actuator comprise a linear actuator to which the end of the display, including the glass sheet, is engaged in the deployed configuration, where the actuator is configured to translate the glass sheet along a track to move the glass sheet through the opening and transition the glass between the deployed configuration and the retracted configuration. (Fig. 2, 11)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
A new ground of rejection has been made in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781