DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claims 1-13, the generic placeholders are “a temperature load management device” and “a control unit” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited functions of the claims. Support for the generic placeholders were found in [0077] of the specification.
In claims 9 and 10 recite the generic placeholder, “a sensing unit” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited functions of the claims. Support for the generic placeholder was found in [0078] of the specification.
In claim 14, the generic placeholder is “an adjuster” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited functions of the claim. Support for the generic placeholder was found in [0088] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.112(b) or 35 U.S.C.112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, the claim recites constants such as A1, A2 and others as model parameters but the claim does not recite any definition of the model and how the model is used in relation to the temperature load management device. The claim generically cites a model without reciting any description of the model making the subject matter of the claim indefinite.
Claims 4-5 depend from claim 3 inheriting each and every rejection of claim 3 therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C.112(b). Claims 4 and 5 do not recite any description of the model.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,7-12,17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP73 (JP 2018091573 A) in view of Suyama et al. (US 20080114218 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JP73 teaches, a temperature load management device (air conditioning equipment control apparatus, [0008]) for use in exposing a user to a second environment (comfortable indoor temperature environment, [0007] and [0008]) for removing a first temperature load accumulated1 in a first environment 2(when the user enters the second environment that is the indoors from the outdoors (first environment, based on user/person physiological state determined from the thermal environment stress evaluation model (first temperature load accumulation, [0017]), the air conditioner sets the target indoor temperature to make the user comfortable indoors in relation to outdoors (load accumulated in a first environment determined by the thermal environment stress evaluation model ),[0008], [0010] and [0092]), the temperature load management device comprising:
a control unit configured to control the second environment (the appliance control unit controls the air conditioner in the room per the determined HF priority target room temperature, [0057]-[0059]), based on physiological information on the user (based on the determined temperature determined based on user’s heat factor related to thermal index of the user, the air conditioner controls air conditioning according to the determined temperature, [0010] and [0092]).
JP73 does not explicitly teach the details of make a notification of a time to end the exposing. However JP73 teaches to determine indoor temperature for conditioning indoors based on user’s/person thermal index (thermal sensation) in [0092].
Suyama et al. teaches, make a notification of a time to end the exposing (the control unit determines when the skin temperature and heart beat has returned to normal state during air conditioning. After normal state is achieved, the control unit notify the user via text message or image to display to stop air conditioning3, [0065] and [0066], see also [0056]-[0059]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature load management device for use in exposing a user to a second environment for removing first temperature load accumulated in a first environment as taught by JP73 by applying the known technique of making a notification of a time to end the exposing (stop air conditioning) as taught by Suyama et al. as an improvement to the temperature load management device to yield predictable results for conditioning a place based on user’s state.
JP73 teach:
[0008] (Means for Solving the Problem) According to the present invention, in order to adjust the indoor temperature based on the set temperature (tσ) set for adjusting the indoor temperature (ta) to a desired target indoor temperature (ts 1) An air conditioning equipment control apparatus for controlling an air conditioning equipment having the air conditioning equipment control device, comprising: a set temperature setting section (S404) for setting a set temperature; a time change rate (S An indoor temperature state judging section (S421) for judging whether or not the indoor temperature state is a steady temperature state, based on whether or not the absolute value of the indoor temperature state is equal to or lower than a predetermined threshold value (α) (Δt) of the temperature difference (Δt) between the target indoor temperature and the indoor temperature is equal to or lower than a predetermined indoor temperature allowable deviation (Δte) when it is judged that the indoor temperature state is the steady temperature state Temperature difference judgment section for judging whether or not 423), when the temperature difference judgment unit judges that the absolute value of the temperature difference is larger than the indoor temperature allowable deviation, the absolute value of the temperature difference becomes equal to or lower than the indoor temperature allowable deviation, the set temperature setting unit And a set temperature correction unit (S425) for correcting the set temperature set by the temperature setting unit based on the temperature difference.
[0010] Further, in the present invention, the target indoor temperature may be determined based on a heat factor (HF) which is a thermal index related to a thermal physiological state of a person existing in the room. More preferably, the target indoor temperature is preferably determined based on a temperature (ts) at which the heat factor matches a predetermined value (set heat factor HFs) that is predetermined.
Then, the set temperature setting unit sets the set temperature based on the target room temperature thus obtained. According to this, since the indoor temperature is accurately adjusted by the air conditioner based on the thermal sensation of the user, it is possible to provide the user with a more comfortable indoor temperature environment for the user.
[0092] Further, according to the present embodiment, the target room temperature ts 1 is determined based on the heat factor HF which is a thermal index related to the thermal physiological state of the person existing in the room. More specifically, the target room temperature ts1 is obtained based on the HF priority target room temperature ts, which is the temperature at which the heat factor HF matches the set heat factor HFs. Then, the indoor temperature ta is adjusted based on the target indoor temperature ts 1 obtained based on the heat factor HF in this way. That is, the room temperature ta is adjusted by the heat factor priority control. Therefore, since the indoor temperature ta is adjusted accurately by the air-conditioning equipment based on the user's thermal sensation, it is possible to provide the user with a more comfortable indoor temperature environment for the user.
Suyama et al. teach:
[0065] After receiving the advice, the user lowers the temperature of the vehicle air conditioner and listens to his or her favorite music. This relaxes the user and lowers the user's skin temperature and heart beat. Based on the data provided from the body temperature sensor 75 and the heart beat sensor 85, the control circuit 36 determines that the user's skin temperature and heart beat are both within the normal range.
[0066] Then, the control circuit 36 the activates the display 37 and the speaker 38 to notify the user that the skin temperature and heart beat have both been improved and returned to normal. For example, the control circuit 36 shows a text message or a picture message (e.g., icon or dynamic image) on the display 37. The content of the text message or picture message may be: "You are now calm. You may stop the air conditioner and the music." Further, the control circuit 36 outputs the content of the message from the speaker 38.
Regarding claim 7, combination of JP73 and Suyama et al. teach the temperature load of device claim 1. In addition JP73 teaches, the control unit controls the second environment or makes the notification of the time (control unit notifying user when to stop conditioning in view of Suyama et al. in [0065]) in accordance with accumulation of first human body exergy accumulated in the user at the
first temperature load (based on the determined user’s physiological state using the thermal stress evaluation model (first human body exergy accumulated) in a first environment inside a room target room temperature is determined. Air conditioning is controlled per the determined target temperature, [0032], [0040], [0057] and [0058]).
Regarding claim 8 combination of JP73 and Suyama et al. teach the temperature load management device of claim 7. In addition JP73 teaches, wherein the control unit sets a temperature of the second environment or the time (the appliance control unit controls the air conditioner per the determined target room temperature and increment the temperature at acquisition intervals (time), [0057] and [0058]), based on the accumulation of the first human body exergy and accumulation of second human body exergy that is accumulated at a second temperature load (based on user heat factor (first human body exergy) and determined target room temperature, the air conditioner conditions the room which alters user heat factor of the user as described in [0030] and [0032]. Then after certain intervals, the heat factor of the user is again determined to determine the subsequent target room temperature based on altered heat factor of the user in the second environment (second human body exergy) at the second temperature load (room at previously determined target room temperature), [0060] and [0061] and [0049]), which is opposite to the first temperature load4, and is necessary to cancel the accumulation of the first human body exergy (the state of thermal equilibrium of the body which is determined by heat factor of the user in a certain temperature changes when the ambient temperature change occurs due to air conditioning. If the user is feeling hot as determined by user’s physiological state and heat factor which is the first temperature load, the target room temperature is set such that the user feels comfortable that is opposite to the first temperature load of feeling hot/uncomfortable, such that the user feels comfortable either in hot or cold weather as taught in [0010] that is cancelling the accumulation of first human body exergy (feeling uncomfortable due to hot or cold with unstable thermal equilibrium determined by heat factor) by the second human body exergy (feeling comfortable with stable thermal equilibrium determined by updated heat factor calculated at certain interval, [0030],[0032],[0060] and [0061]).
Regarding claim 9 combination of JP73 and Suyama et al. teach the temperature load management device of claim 1. In addition Suyama teaches, a sensing unit configured to detect the physiological information (skin moisture sensor unit, heart beat sensor unit, body temperature sensor unit, all these sensing units are used to determine user’s state such as physiological state, that is whether the user is hot or cold in the ambient environment such as outdoors/ garage. Based on determined user’s state air conditioning at house (second environment) is controlled to make the user feel comfortable [0050]-[0053] and [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 10 combination of JP73 and Suyama et al. teach the temperature load management device of claim 9. In addition Suyama et al. teaches, wherein the sensing unit is of a bracelet type worn by the user and a sensor for measuring body temperatures at a plurality of points (condition improvement advisor which has the main unit houses various types of sensors is attached to a wristwatch or bracelet, [0093] and [0095]. The main unit has body temperature sensor unit for measuring user’s skin temperature at intervals (body temperatures measured at plurality of points) in addition to heartbeat, skin moisture content and other conditions determined by various sensors as taught in [0011] and [0094]).
Regarding claim 11 combination of JP73 and Suyama et al. teach the temperature load management device of claim 1. In addition JP73 teaches, wherein
the physiological information is at least one of a metabolic rate (metabolic rate, [0037]), a skin temperature (body surface temperature, [0030]), a core temperature (deep body temperature, [0030]), an amount of sweating (amount of perspiration change, [0030]), a blood vessel diameter, a blood flow rate5, a heart rate (heart rate, [0030]), a heart rate variability, or a respiration rate.
Regarding claim 12 combination of JP73 and Suyama et al. teach the temperature load management device of claim 1. In addition JP73 teaches, wherein
a target of control in the second environment is at least one of a temperature (target room temperature is obtained and air conditioning performed to achieve target room temperature, [0092] and [0095]), a humidity6, a radiation temperature, or an airflow.
Regarding claim 17, combination of JP73 and Suyama et al. teach the claimed temperature load management device. Therefore together they teach a temperature load management method performing the functional limitations of the above claimed device and therefore rejected for the reasons discussed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, combination of JP73 and Suyama et al. teach the claimed temperature load management method. In addition JP73 teaches, a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to execute (the tablet type terminal control device includes a microcomputer7 which has CPU, ROM, RAM and like such as non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer program for executing stored instructions as taught in [0023] and [0030].
Claim(s) 2,6,13-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP73 (JP 2018091573 A) in view of Suyama et al. (US 20080114218 A1) and Cheatham et al. (US 20160258641 A1).
Regarding claim 2 combination of JP73 and Suyama et al. teach the temperature load management of claim 1. In addition JP73 teaches, a load temperature which is a temperature of the first environment (room temperature which is the ambient temperature of the first environment, [0024]), a reduction temperature which is a temperature of the second environment (priority target room temperature for each interval is determined based on user’s heat factor for that interval,. The air conditioner conditions the room to achieve the priority target room temperature during each interval that is exposing the user to the second environment to for certain amount of time (interval=reduction period), [0056]-[0058]), and a reduction period for exposing the user to the second environment (for each interval that is the reduction period, priority target room temperature is determined, [0058]-[0060]), the control unit (HF priority target room temperature calculation unit, [0057]) being configured to receive as inputs the load temperature and one of the reduction temperature or the reduction period (for each interval (reduction period) the device control unit sends out the target room temperature-reduction temperature, [0056]-[0059]), and output the other of the reduction temperature or the reduction period (the device control unit send signals to operate the air conditioner per the received priority target room temperature for each interval that is the reduction period sent by the HF priority target room temperature calculation unit, [0056]-[0059]).
Neither in combination nor individually JP73 and Suyama et al. teach the details about setting shell temperature of the user to a target value based on a correlation among the shell temperature of the user. However JP73 explicitly teaches to set the target room temperature based on heat factor which includes user’s skin temperature as taught in [0053] and [0054]. Also Suyama et al. teaches in [0057] and [0058] that based on user’s reference skin temperature and skin moisture content, air conditioning control instructions are generated and sent to the user.
On the other hand Cheatham et al. teaches, the control unit (processor 30, [0031]) sets a shell temperature (target skin temperature, [0031]) of the user to a target value (target skin temperature is set by the processor 30, [0031], [0028] and [0020]), based on a correlation among the shell temperature of the user (based on ambient temperature, outdoor temperature and user’s current skin temperature, the target skin temperature (threshold setpoint) of the user is updated that is correlation of skin temperature with load temperature (ambient temperature), reduction temperature, [0028], [0030], [0035] and [0036]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature load management device setting a reduction temperature of the second environment based on load temperature and user skin temperature and controlling air conditioner accordingly as taught by combination of JP73 and Suyama et al. by applying the know technique of setting a target skin temperature (shell temperature) based on ambient temperature and target room temperature as taught by Cheatham et al. as an improvement to temperature load management device to yield predictable result of controlling the air conditioning equipment per user comfort.
For claim 6 combination of JP73, Suyama et al. and Cheatham et al. teach the temperature load of device claim 2. In addition Suyama et al. teaches, wherein the load temperature is corrected8 in view of at least one of a humidity, a wind speed, or a radiation temperature in the first environment (humidity sensor measuring ambient humidity, ultraviolet sensor measuring intensity of ambient ultraviolet radiation when the user walks from a garage (first environment) to the house (second environment) based of which the control circuit determines the appropriate temperature for air conditioning (load temperature is corrected based on user thermal sensation and outdoor condition) to make the house more comfortable to the user in view of the outdoor conditions, ([0047]-[0049], [0054], [0056] and [0057]).
For claim 13 combination of JP73, Suyama et al. and Cheatham et al. teach the temperature load of device claim 2. In addition JP73 teaches, an air-conditioning system comprising:
the temperature load management device of claim 2 (the air conditioner is controlled based on the determined HF priority target room temperature for the specific interval, [0057]-[0059]); and
an air conditioner configured to condition air in the second environment (conditioned room)(the air conditioner conditions the room per the determined HF priority target room temperature, [0057]-[0059]), based on the reduction temperature or the reduction period output from the control unit (the air conditioner is controlled based on the determined HF priority target room temperature for the specific interval, [0057]-[0059]).
For claim 14 combination of JP73, Suyama et al. and Cheatham et al. teach the temperature load of device claim 13. In addition JP73 teaches, an adjuster (remote controller, [0013]) configured to allow the user to change the reduction temperature or the reduction period output from the control unit (using a remote controller, the temperature interval that is reduction period and temperature width that is reduction temperature increment can be set preferably by a user, [0012] and [0013]).
For claim 15 combination of JP73, Suyama et al. and Cheatham et al. teach the temperature load of device claim 13. In addition Cheatham et al. teaches, a detector configured to detect the shell temperature (sensor system having sensor to measure skin temperature at different points in time, [0031] and [0042]), wherein if a difference between the shell temperature detected by the detector and the target value exceeds a first predetermined value (the variance that is the difference between the threshold setpoint (skin temperature setpoint) and first skin temperature at first time point is in upward trend that is exceeding the threshold setpoint over time with positive variance (exceeding a first predetermined value, [0009] and [0041]) that is current skin temperature is greater than threshold setpoint, [0039],[0041]-[0043]) the environmental control system regulates the room by varying the reduction temperature that is room temperature by controlling the air conditioner in the room, [0041],[0042] and [0047]), the air conditioner changes the reduction temperature9 so that a difference between the reduction temperature and normal temperature10 is lower than or equal to a second predetermined value (after the first point and conditioning, the skin temperature is again measured in the second point and variance is determined and if the measured skin temperature is below the threshold setpoint (downward trend) and room temperature is lower than the maximum value of the tolerance range (tolerance of the ambient room temperature) (second predetermined value) the reduction temperature is regulated to maintain the comfortable temperature for the user, [0047], [0041] and [0035]). In addition, Suyama et al. teaches, issues an alert to the user to stop the exposure to the second environment (after it is detected that the user has reached comfortable temperature condition, the control circuit sends a notification to the user to stop the air conditioning (stop the exposure) since user is now comfortable, [0066] and [0067]).
For claim 16 combination of JP73, Suyama et al. and Cheatham et al. teach the temperature load of device claim 13. In addition Cheatham et al. teaches, a sensor configured to sense entry of the user into the second environment (the occupancy sensors detects the occupancy when a person/user walks into the room (second environment) from outside, [0027] and [0033]),
wherein the air conditioner ends the air conditioning with the reduction temperature at a time when the reduction period has elapsed since the sensor sensed the entry of the user into the second environment (after sensing occupant’s entry to the room, based on occupant’s measured skin temperature and threshold setpoint, the air conditioning is controlled at intervals (reduction period) until the user/occupant has achieved comfortable level skin temperature (threshold setpoint) so the conditioning can be shut off (air conditioning ends after elapsed time (intervals) when user is comfortable) even when the user is still inside the room. Again after predetermined interval, if the measured skin temperature starts to differ from the threshold setpoint, the air conditioning of the room is regulated to bring the occupant’s skin temperature to the threshold setpoint, [0028] and [0025]).
Regarding claim 18, combination of JP73, Suyama et al. and Cheatham et al. teach the claimed temperature load management device. Therefore together they teach the temperature load management method performing the functional limitations of the above claimed device and therefore rejected for the reasons discussed in claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the outstanding rejection under made under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Cited prior art of record JP73 teaches a device and a method for controlling the air conditioning system including heater based on HF priority target room temperature determined based on user’s heat factor and ambient factor. The user’s heat factor is determined based on user’s thermal physiological amount determined by a thermal analysis model of the user as taught in [0030]-[0040]. However JP73 does not teach the specific details about the correlation expressed by the equations and coefficients as recited on the claim even though the model itself is not defined.
Cited prior art of record Cheatham et al. teaches to control the air conditioning unit based on target skin temperature and ambient factors. But however the Cheatham et al. does not teach the specific details about the correlation expressed by the equations and coefficients as recited on the claim even though the model itself is not defined.
As such neither in combination nor individually JP73, Cheatham et al. and any other cited prior arts of record teach the claim 3 as a whole. Therefore neither in combination nor individually JP73, Cheatham et al. and any other cited prior arts of record teach The temperature load management device of claim 2, wherein the correlation is expressed by:
BTs(t) = β1 x ln(t) + β2;
β1 = A I x TR + BI x TL - CI; and
β2 = A2 x TR + B2 x TL - C2,
where BTs is the shell temperature, TL is the load temperature, TR is the reduction temperature, tis the reduction period, ln is a natural logarithm, and A1, A2, B1, B2, C2, and C2 are model parameters.
Claims 4 and 5 depend from claim 3 inheriting each and every limitation of claim 3 and therefore allowable over prior art but objected due to depending from rejected based claim and 112(b) rejection for the reasons discussed above in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stivoric et al. (US 20170156594 A1) teaches a system and method which records the physiological state of the user and based on user’s physiological state determine actions including air conditioning to improve user’s condition.
/ANZUMAN SHARMIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/THOMAS C LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 There is no specific definition of first temperature load accumulation on the limitation. With BRI first temperature load accumulation is interpreted as the feeling of being hot or cold based on user’s physiological state. Therefore the air conditioner adjusts the indoor environment based on the user’s physiological state to make the user more comfortable (removing load) indoor – second environment.
2 In the claim it is not clear whether first environment is on a different location than the second environment. First environment could be non-conditioned space and second environment could be the conditioned space. Also Suayama et al teaches the first environment is the outdoors and second environment is the indoors in a vehicle or house ([0057] and [0065] where air conditioner is operated to expose the user to a more comfortable space inside the vehicle or house in relation to the outdoors.
3 Make a notification of a time to end the exposing that is air conditioning. There are two ways air conditioning can be activated either by the user or automatically. The control unit can automatically adjust the air conditioning based on user state as taught by JP73 or instruct the user to activate air conditioning at a certain temperature as taught by Suyama et al. Someone of ordinary skill in the art can choose from the above predictable identified solutions to adjust and control air conditioning with reasonable expectation of success.
4 Also Suyama et al. teaches in [0056]-[0059] that when the user walks from the garage (first environment non conditioned) to the house (second environment, conditioned), based on user’s skin temperature and heartbeat in the garage (first temperature load), the control unit suggests user to increase air conditioning temperature and activates humidifier to increase user skin temperature and moisture content (cancelling first human body exergy) by conditioning the house at a higher temperature and humidity to make user skin temperature reach normal range (second human body exergy at the second environment) such that the user feels comfortable.
5 In view of Suyama et al. [0094[ teaches blood pressure sensor unit. Someone of ordinary skill in the art can determine blood flow rate based on blood pressure using necessary equations.
6 Suyama et al. teaches in [0059] to control the room temperature and humidity to make the user feel comfortable inside the house when the user walks in from the garage to the house.
7 Any computer including microcomputer will have computer readable memory to store programs to be executed.
8 See also [0092] of JP73 where the space is conditioned based on user’s thermal sensation in relation to an unconditioned space.
9 The sensor system continuously determines at intervals in time such as first point, second point and so on regulating temperature to ensure the user is comfortable inside the target zone/room. That is reduction temperature/ temperature setpoint is varied over time to meet user’s comfort zone as taught in [0035]-[0039]. The room temperature is regulated such the skin temperature is always between the tolerance range of 7
10 Normal temperature is interpreted as room temperature since no definition for normal temperature is provided. Also the reduction temperature is room temperature setpoint, so comparison of room temperature setpoint has to be compared with another room temperature not skin temperature.