DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
As best understood, the applicant has argued:
(1) That McFarland does not teach the feature of “receive a selection of a function associated with a piece of equipment”. Applicant argues that McFarland only teaches selecting equipment, not selecting a function associated with the equipment.
Examiner response:
This argument is not found to be persuasive. McFarland discloses a user may select devices that make up the air handling unit, such as cooling coil 124, and that when selected, additional information associated with the cooling coil 124 may be displayed (e.g., See [0007]), and further that additional information or operations may also be provided with pull-down menus or pop-up windows (e.g., See [0033]). The operations presented to the user on the user interface for the selected device are interpreted to correspond to the “function associated with a piece of equipment”; and
(2) That Mairs does not teach the feature of “indicate set points impacted by the selection…”. Applicant argues that Mairs only teaches displaying current setpoints, not setpoints impacted by a function selection. Further, the applicant argues that Mairs setpoints are accessed via equipment selection, not via function selection.
Examiner response:
The argument is not found to be persuasive. Mairs discloses setpoints that are displayed, modified and associated with selected equipment. Mairs setpoints are editable and responsive to user interaction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to indicate which setpoints are affected when a function is selected. This is because if you change a setting on equipment, it’s obvious to show what will change, so that users can understand the effects and avoid any potential problems from changing the setting.
Double Patenting (maintained)
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over various claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,640,147, U.S. Patent No. 11,079,727 and US Patent No. 10,345,772. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons outlined below in this section.
There are 3 Obviousness Type Double Patenting rejections set forth below.
As previously mentioned, the pending claims are compared to each of:
(A) US Patent No.’s 11,640,147 (hereinafter: ‘147);
(B) US Patent No. 11,079,727 (hereinafter: ‘727); and
(C) US Patent No. 10,345,772 (hereinafter: ‘772).
For purposes of brevity, the pending claims will be laid out, side by side, with respect to the claims patented in ‘147 and each limitation of each independent claim will be discussed, but since the dependent claims are basically a 1:1 correspondence with the corresponding dependent claims of ‘147, a simple chart reiterating this is provided only for the dependents.
A) Analysis of ‘147 is as follows:
This feature is not taught by ‘147. See *** below:
*** It is noted that this feature is not explicitly taught by ‘147. However, since ‘147 explicitly discloses a user being able to pick an object and see how it connects to other equipment or space, and to change what information is shown on the screen, and since the system is taught to show relationships and let the user adjust what they see, it would be an easy and obvious implementation to also show which set points are affected when something is selected, thereby allowing for the system to present the effects of system impacts even clearer to the user, and this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
This feature is not taught by ‘147. See *** below:
This feature is not taught by ‘147. See ### below:
*** It is noted that this feature is not explicitly taught by ‘147. However, since ‘147 explicitly discloses a user interface and a dataset being manipulated through a GUI, clearly the system receives a user selection to perform these functions and therefore, the addition of this feature would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the purpose of enabling the system to process user choices in the same manner as the GUI menu of ‘147 already processes selections to remove inputs, overrides, or alarms, thereby enabling more interactive control and feedback.
### It is noted that this feature is not explicitly taught by ‘147. However, since ‘147 explicitly discloses a user being able to pick an object and see how it connects to other equipment or space, and to change what information is shown on the screen, and since the system is taught to show relationships and let the user adjust what they see, it would be an easy and obvious implementation to also show which set points are affected when something is selected, thereby allowing for the system to present the effects of system impacts even clearer to the user, and this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
This feature is not taught by ‘147. See *** below:
This feature is not taught by ‘147. See ### below:
*** It is noted that this feature is not explicitly taught by ‘147. However, since ‘147 explicitly discloses a user interface and a dataset being manipulated through a GUI, clearly the system receives a user selection to perform these functions and therefore, the addition of this feature would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for the purpose of enabling the system to process user choices in the same manner as the GUI menu of ‘147 already processes selections to remove inputs, overrides, or alarms, thereby enabling more interactive control and feedback.
### It is noted that this feature is not explicitly taught by ‘147. However, since ‘147 explicitly discloses a user being able to pick an object and see how it connects to other equipment or space, and to change what information is shown on the screen, and since the system is taught to show relationships and let the user adjust what they see, it would be an easy and obvious implementation to also show which set points are affected when something is selected, thereby allowing for the system to present the effects of system impacts even clearer to the user, and this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made.
The following claim mapping chart is used with respect to pending dependent claims 2-5, 7-13 and 15-20, with the pending claims on the left and the patented claims on the right. No additional explanations are needed since these claims represent a direct 1:1 correspondence with each other:
Claim 2 discloses a relationship of second objects with equipment/space…
Claim 2 discloses a relationship of second objects with equipment/space…
Claim 3 discloses a control path between second objects and equipment/spaces…
Claim 3 discloses a control path between second objects and equipment/spaces…
Claim 4 discloses a relationship and control path together …
Claim 4 discloses a relationship and control path together …
Claim 5 discloses determining equipment and space related to second objects …
Claim 5 discloses determining equipment and space related to objects …
Claim 7 discloses using a dataset to control/monitor an object, equipment or space…
Claim 7 discloses using a dataset to control/monitor an object, equipment or space…
Claim 8 discloses an external system receiving a dataset…
Claim 8 discloses an external system receiving a dataset…
Claim 9 discloses an external display generating GUI that illustrates a relationship/control path …
Claim 9 discloses an external display generating GUI that illustrates a relationship/control path …
Claim 10 discloses an external display generating GUI that illustrates a relationship/control path …
Claim 10 discloses an external display generating GUI that illustrates a relationship/control path …
Claim 11 discloses receiving a selection of an object from an external system …
Claim 11 discloses receiving a selection of an object from an external system …
Claim 12 discloses receiving a selection of an object from an external system …
Claim 12 discloses receiving a selection of an object from an external system …
Claim 13 discloses a dataset including a schedule related to a control strategy over time. ..
Claim 13 discloses a dataset including a schedule related to a control strategy over time. ..
Claim 15 discloses removing operator overrides…
Claim 15 discloses removing operator overrides…
Claim 16 discloses removing input/outputs …
Claim 16 discloses removing input/outputs …
Claim 17 discloses displaying options for changing operation of objects …
Claim 17 discloses displaying options for changing operation of objects …
Claim 18 discloses removing unrelated information …
Claim 18 discloses removing unrelated information …
Claim 19 discloses receiving a selection of objects from an external system…
Claim 19 discloses receiving a selection of objects from an external system…
Claim 20 discloses the external system using a dataset to control/monitor object/equipment impacted via a network …
Claim 20 discloses the external system using a dataset to control/monitor object/equipment impacted via a network …
B) Analysis of ’727 is as follows:
With respect to pending claim 1, and patented claim 1 of ‘727, both claims recite a building management system with a user interface, processing circuits, selection of an object, determination of related equipment/spaces, and a graphical interface illustrating relationships and control paths. However, ‘727 is missing the features of (1) “receive a selection of a function associated with a piece of equipment” (‘727 only recites receiving a selection of an object), and (2) “indicate set points impacted by the selection”. However, since ‘727 already discloses a graphical interface responsive to user object selections and control paths, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have received selections at the functional level, Similarly, indicating impacted setpoints is a predictable way to extend the same feedback mechanism by classifying the consequences of user choices just as relationships and control paths clarify system operations.
With respect to pending claim 6, and patented claim 6 of ‘727, both claims recite selecting an object, determining related equipment and spaces, and generating a dataset representative of relationships and control paths. However, ‘727 is missing the teachings of (1) “receive a selection of a function associated with a piece of equipment” (‘727 only recites receiving a selection of an object), and (2) “indicate set points impacted by the selection”. However, since ‘727 already discloses a graphical interface responsive to user object selections and control paths, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have received selections at the functional level, Similarly, indicating impacted setpoints is a predictable way to extend the same feedback mechanism by classifying the consequences of user choices just as relationships and control paths clarify system operations.
With respect to pending claim 14, and patented claim 14 of ‘727, both claims recite a building management system with a user interface, processing circuits, selection of an object, determination of related equipment/spaces, and a graphical interface illustrating relationships and control paths. However, ‘727 is missing the features of (1) “receive a selection of a function associated with a piece of equipment” (‘727 only recites receiving a selection of an object), and (2) “indicate set points impacted by the selection”. However, since ‘727 already discloses a graphical interface responsive to user object selections and control paths, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have received selections at the functional level, Similarly, indicating impacted setpoints is a predictable way to extend the same feedback mechanism by classifying the consequences of user choices just as relationships and control paths clarify system operations.
With respect to pending dependent claims 2-5, patented dependent claims 2-5, disclose the same relationship views, pending claims 7-13 and patented claims 713 both discuss the use of datasets for controlling/monitoring, and dependent claims 8-11 and 19-20 and patented claims 8-11 and 19-20 both disclose external system integration. However, pending claims 15-18 do not seem to have a counterpart in ‘727.
C) Analysis of ‘772 is as follows:
With respect to pending claim 1 and patented claim 1, both claims recite a building management system with a user device/interface, controller, selection of an object, determination of impacted equipment, spaces, and generation of a user interface illustrating relationships and control paths. However, ‘772 is missing the features of (1) “receive a selection of a function associated with a piece of equipment” (‘772 only recites receiving a selection of an object), and (2) “indicate set points impacted by the selection”. Since ‘772 clearly discloses object selection driving system feedback and, in dependent claims 3 and 13, the effects on setpoints and their display, it would have been obvious to allow function-level selections and highlighting impacted setpoints, both being predictable user interface extensions to provide clearer operational feedback.
With respect to pending claim 6 and patented claim 11, both claims recite selecting an object, determining impacted equipment and spaces, and generating a user interface illustrating relationships and control paths. However, ‘772 is missing the features of (1) “receive a selection of a function associated with a piece of equipment” and (2) “indicate set points impacted by the selection”. Since ‘772 clearly discloses object selection driving system feedback and, in dependent claims 3 and 13, the effects on setpoints and their display, it would have been obvious to allow function-level selections and highlighting impacted setpoints, both being predictable user interface extensions to provide clearer operational feedback.
With respect to pending claim 14 and patented claim 11, both claims recite a management system that selects an object, determines impacted equipment, and generates a dataset/interface illustrating the relationships. However, ‘772 is missing the features of (1) “receive a selection of a function associated with a piece of equipment” and (2) “indicate set points impacted by the selection”. Since ‘772 clearly discloses object selection driving system feedback and, in dependent claims 3 and 13, the effects on setpoints and their display, it would have been obvious to allow function-level selections and highlighting impacted setpoints, both being predictable user interface extensions to provide clearer operational feedback.
With respect to pending claims 2-5, patented claims 2,4 and 5 disclose the same features of refinements for displaying relationships and control paths. Further, pending claims 713 and patented claims 8-10 and 12-14 both disclose the use of datasets for monitoring and control. Further, pending claim 13 and patented claims 3 and 13 both disclose the integration of scheduling or setpoint effects. However, pending claims 15-18 do not seem to have a counterpart in ‘772.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (maintained)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McFarland, US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0011753 A1, in view of Mairs, US Patent No. 8,099,178 B2.
As per claim 1, McFarland discloses a building management system (e.g., See [0001], which discloses “This application relates to the field of building automation systems, and more particularly to visual monitoring and control of building automation systems.”) comprising:
a user interface configured to display one or more user interfaces to facilitate at least one of monitoring or controlling equipment associated with the building management system, the user interface comprising a graphical display (e.g., See [0002], which discloses “Building automation systems typically gather real-time data… presented at an operations and maintenance center (OMC) so that an operator may monitor and control a building or facility.”; also see [0007], which discloses “The logical graphics display 100 may be displayed in a window 134 … A mouse input device ... may move a cursor in the logical graphics display 100 and select devices … additional information associated with e cool coil 124 may be displayed …”); and
one or more processing circuits comprising one or more memory devices coupled to one or more processors, the one or more memory devices configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (e.g. See [0026], which discloses “With reference to Fig. 3, a block diagram 300 of an operation and maintenance center (OMC) 302… The OMC 302 may have a controller 304 coupled to a memory 306, network interface 308, video controller 310, and input/output (I/O) interface 3412 by address/data bus 314.”; also see [0028], which discloses “The controller 304 may execute instructions that may be stored in memory 306 that facilitates the operation of the OMC 302.”):
receive a selection of a function associated with a piece of equipment (e.g. See [0007], which discloses “The logical graphics display 100 … A mouse input device … may move a cursor … and selects devices that make up the air handling unit, such as cooling coil 124. When selected, additional information associated with the cooling coil 124 may be displayed…”; also see [0033], which discloses “As the device in the logical graphics display 100 is selected (e.g., coiling coil 124) … Additional information or operations may also be provided with pull-down menus or pop-up windows.”);
generate the graphical display illustrating (i) a relationship of a first object with the at least one of a plurality of second objects or (ii) a control path between the first object and the at least one of the second objects (e.g. See [0030], which discloses “Dynamic association may be employed, where the mapping between the logical graphics display 100 and geographic display system data 200 occurs dynamically when a field device … is selected… the points or devices associated with that field device are identified.”; also see [0030], which discloses “The OMC 302 dynamically may also associate the room closest to the temperature sensor 118 with the coiling coil 124 and other field device associated with the air handling unit 1092.”; also see [0031], which discloses “… the controller 304 will then “fade out” or “ghost” the unnecessary elements so that the logical connection between the selected devices that are shown in the logical graphics will be visually maintained.”).
However, McFarland does not specifically disclose indicating set points impacted by the selection for the at least one of the one second objects (Emphasis added).
In analogous art, Mairs teaches this feature (e.g. See C12 L34-38, which discloses “Spaces table 352 … displays a current active setpoint. A user can alter a desired heating or cooling temperature setpoint…”; also see C12 L53-55, which discloses “Pages of user interface 160 relevant to specific equipment are accessible when the user selects equipment tab 260…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the teachings of Mairs into McFarland for the purpose of providing a system that not only visualizes the logical and geographic relationships between building objects but which also clearly indicates which setpoints are affected by operator selections, and the benefit of this would be improved overall operator situational awareness, faster troubleshooting, and more efficient building management, which are goals of both McFarland and Mairs.
As per claim 2, McFarland’s combined system (McFarland in view of Mairs) further discloses that the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to generate the graphical display illustrating the relationship of the at least one of the second objects with the at least one of (a) the one or more pieces of equipment related to the at least one of the second objects or (b) one or more spaces related to the at least one of the second objects (e.g., See McFarland; [0030]).
As per claim 3, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to generate the graphical display illustrating the control path between the at least one of the second objects and the at least one of (a) the one or more pieces of equipment related to the at least one of the second objects or (b) one or more spaces related to the at least one of the second objects, the control path provides a control sequence that facilitates identifying how the at least one of the second objects and the at least one of (a) the one or more pieces of equipment related to the at least one of the second objects or (b) the one or more spaces related to at least one of the second objects impact one another (e.g. See McFarland; [0031]).
As per claim 4, McFarland’s combined system further discloses the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to generate the graphical display illustrating (i) the relationship of the at least one of the second objects with the at least one of (a) one or more pieces of equipment related to the at least one of the second objects or (b) the one or more spaces related to the at least one of the second objects and (ii) the control path between the at least one of the second objects and the at least one of (a) the one or more pieces of equipment related to the at least one of the second objects or (b) the one or more spaces related to the at least one of the second objects (e.g., See McFarland; [0031]).
As per claim 5, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine the one or more pieces of equipment related to the at least one of the second objects and one or more spaces related to the at least one of the second objects (e.g., See McFarland; [0030]).
As per claim 6, the rational set forth above with respect to the rejection of claim 1, is applied herein. Further, McFarland appears to further disclose the additional features of:
(1) determine one or more pieces of equipment related to the object (e.g., See McFarland; [0030]);
(2) determine one or more spaces of the building related to the object (e.g. See McFarland; [0030]); and
(3) generate a data set representative of (i) a relationship of the object with (a) the one or more pieces of equipment related to the object and (b) the one or more spaces related to the object and (ii) a control path between the object and (a) the one or more pieces of equipment related to the object and (b) the one or more spaces related to the object, the control path provides a control sequence that facilitates identifying how the object, the one or more pieces of equipment related to the object, and the one or more spaces related to the object impact one another (e.g., See McFarland; [0029] and [0031]).
As per claims 7, 12 and 13, the rational as already set forth, from above, with respect to the rejection of at least claims 2-5 is applied herein.
As per claim 8, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that an external system coupled to the one or more processing circuits, wherein the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to provide the data set to the external system, wherein the external system includes at least one of a user device or an application accessible with the user device through a network connected to the one or more processing circuits (e.g., See McFarland; [0026]).
As per claim 9, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the external system includes a display device configured to facilitate generating a graphical user interface on a display of the display device that illustrates the relationship and the control path based on the data set (e.g., See McFarland; [0026] and [0028]).
As per claim 10, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the external system is configured to use the data set to least one of control or monitor the at least one of (i) the object, (i1) the one or more pieces of equipment related to the object, or (iii) the one or more spaces related to the object (e.g., See McFarland; [0026] and [0028]).
As per claim 11, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to receive an indication of a selection of the object from the external system, and make the selection of the object based on the indication (e.g., See McFarland; [0035] and [0041]).
As per claim 13, ‘McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the data set comprises a schedule related to a control strategy over time for the at least one of (i) the object, (ii) the one or more pieces of equipment related to the object, or (iii) the one or more spaces related to the object (e.g., See McFarland; [0008] and [0038]).
As per claim 14, the rational as already set forth, from above, with respect to the rejections of claim 1, is applied herein. Further, McFarland also appears to adequately disclose the following additional features:
(1) determine one or more pieces of equipment that are impacted by the object (e.g., See McFarland; [0030]); and
(2) generate a data set that identifies a relationship of the object with the one or more pieces of equipment impacted by the object (e.g., See McFarland; [0029]).
Further it is noted that ‘753 discloses receiving a selection of equipment and displaying information/menus (e.g., See McFarland; [0007] and [0033]), but does not, as previously discussed, disclose indicating setpoints impacted by the selection.).
As per claim 15, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors remove information from the data set relating to operator overrides associated with the object (e.g., See ‘McFarland; [0031] and [0032]).
As per claim 16, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to remove information from the data set relating to inputs or outputs associated with the object (e.g., See McFarland; [0032]).
As per claim 17, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to display options for changing operation of the object (e.g., See McFarland; [0033]).
As per claim 18, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to remove information from the data set that is not directly involved with the object (e.g., See McFarland; [0032]).
As per claim 19, McFarland’s combined system further discloses that the one or more memory devices are further configured to store instructions thereon that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive an indication of a selection of the object from an external system connected to the one or more processing circuits; and make the selection of the object based on the indication (e.g., See McFarland; [0041]).
As per claim 20. The management system of Claim 19, further comprising the external system, wherein the external system is configured to use the data set to least one of control or monitor the at least one of the object or the one or more pieces of equipment impacted by the object, and wherein the external system includes at least one of a user device or an application accessible with the user device through a network connected to the one or more processing circuits (e.g., See McFarland; [0026] and [0028]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RONALD D HARTMAN JR/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119 March 19, 2026
/RDH/