CTNF 18/137,749 CTNF 78519 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0096825 A1 to Mohanty . Mohanty clearly teaches an electromechanical magnetometer and applications thereof, comprising: a substrate layer (608); a temperature compensation layer (208); a piezoelectric film layer (204); and an electrode layer (202); wherein: the temperature compensation layer is located between the substrate layer and the piezoelectric film layer (see Figures 6A-6G); the substrate layer and the temperature compensation layer are integrated by wafer bonding (see paragraphs [0093] and [0127]); the temperature compensation layer and the piezoelectric film layer are integrated by wafer bonding (see paragraphs [0093] and [0127]); and the temperature compensation layer is made of a positive temperature coefficient material (see paragraphs [0007], [0013] – [0016], [0018 – [0020], [0054], [0065], and [0165]); and the electrode layer is arranged on a surface of the piezoelectric film layer (see Figures 2A, 2B, 3A-3D, 3H-3J, and 6A-6G). With regards to claim 2, Mohanty discloses: the temperature compensation layer being made of silicon dioxide SiO 2 (see paragraphs [0071] and [0085]). With regards to claim 3, Mohanty discloses: the electrode layer being an interdigital electrode layer (see paragraph [0055]) and the interdigital electrode layer being made of at least one of the following materials: aluminum (see paragraphs [0065] and [0076]), copper, gold (see paragraph [0076]) and an aluminum-copper alloy. With regards to claim 4, Mohanty discloses: the piezoelectric film layer being made of at least one of the following materials: lithium tantalate LiTaO 3 (see paragraph [0065]), and lithium niobate LiNbO 3 (see paragraph [0065]). With regards to claim 5, Mohanty discloses: the substrate layer being made of at least one of the following materials: silicon Si (see paragraphs [0064], [0065], [0071], [0074], [0080], [0087], [0115], [0116], and [0182]), silicon carbide SiC (see paragraph [0074]), and sapphire (see paragraph [0074]). With regards to claims 6-10, Mohanty discloses: a thickness of the substrate layer ranges from 30λ to 150 λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]); a thickness of the temperature compensation layer ranges from 0.05λ to 2.0λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]); a thickness of the piezoelectric film layer ranges from 0.05λ to 10λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]); and a thickness of the electrode layer ranges from 0.06λ to 0.15λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]), wherein λ is a wavelength corresponding to the electrode layer (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]). With regards to claim 11, Mohanty discloses: the substrate layer being made of SiC (see paragraph [0074]); the temperature compensation layer being made of SiO 2 (see paragraphs [0071] and [0085]); the piezoelectric film layer being made of LiTaO 3 (see paragraph [0065]); and the electrode layer is made of gold (see paragraph [0076]). With regards to claim 12, Mohanty discloses: the substrate layer being made of SiC (see paragraph [0074]); the temperature compensation layer being made of SiO 2 (see paragraphs [0071] and [0085]); the piezoelectric film layer being made of LiTaO 3 (see paragraph [0065]); the thickness of the substrate layer is 110λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]); the thickness of the temperature compensation layer is 0.25λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]); the thickness of the piezoelectric film layer is 0.1λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]); and the thickness of the electrode layer is 0.1λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]). With regards to claim 13, Mohanty discloses: the substrate layer is made of SiC (see paragraph [0074]); the temperature compensation layer is made of SiO 2 (see paragraphs [0071] and [0085]); the piezoelectric film layer is made of LiTaO 3 (see paragraph [0065]); the thickness of the substrate layer is 110 λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]); the thickness of the temperature compensation layer is 0.25 λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]); the thickness of the piezoelectric film layer is 0.25 λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]); and the thickness of the electrode layer is 0.1 λ (see paragraphs [0055], [0066], [0075], [0080], and [0106]). With regards to claim 14, Mohanty discloses the steps of: obtaining a substrate layer (608); preparing a temperature compensation layer (208) on the substrate layer (see Figures 6A-6G), wherein: the substrate layer and the temperature compensation layer are integrated by wafer bonding (see paragraphs [0093] and [0127]); and a positive temperature coefficient (see paragraphs [0007], [0013] – [0016], [0018 – [0020], [0054], [0065], and [0165]) material is adopted for the temperature compensation layer; preparing a piezoelectric film layer (204) on the temperature compensation layer, wherein: the temperature compensation layer and the piezoelectric film layer are integrated by wafer bonding (see paragraphs [0093] and [0127]); and preparing an electrode layer (202) on the piezoelectric film layer (see Figures 6A-6G). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEDRO J CUEVAS whose telephone number is (571)272-2021. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jessica Han can be reached at (571) 272-2078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 March 20, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/137,749 Page 2 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,749 Page 3 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,749 Page 4 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,749 Page 6 Art Unit: 2896 Application/Control Number: 18/137,749 Page 7 Art Unit: 2896