Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8-11, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0265459 to Sfaelos (cited by applicant) in view of US 2013/0020992 to Wu et al. (hereinafter, "Wu", cited by applicant).
Regarding Claim 1, Sfaelos discloses electric vehicle supply equipment (electric vehicle charging station 206; Fig. 3 para [0026]) comprising:
a housing (charging station includes enclosure [housing]; Fig. 3 and para [0026]); an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) meter situated within the housing (charging station includes integrated an integrated electric meter in an advanced metering infrastructure network; para [0023]. [0028]), the AMI meter connected to a power grid to receive power from the power grid (the integrated meter is connected to a smart grid network (power grid] to receive power via a power line 106; Fig. 3 and para [0022, [0026]); an output terminal configured to connect to an electric vehicle (power feed 314 [output terminal) connected to electric vehicle 112: para [0028]-[0029]); an
output device (user device 322 [output device); Fig. 3 and para (0033); and an EVSE controller situated within the housing (charging controller 318 within enclosure 302 [housing]: Fig. 3 and para [0029]-[0033]), the EVSE controller connected to the AMI meter, the output terminal, and the output device (charging controller 318 coupled to meter 308 [AMI meter], power feed 314 [output terminal] and user device 322 [output device]; Fig. 3 and para [0026]-[0030]),
the EVSE controller configured to:
advertise a first charging current value to the output terminal (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current (charging current value] that can be drawn via the power feed 314 (output terminal; Fig. 3 and para [0030]),
Although Sfaelos further discloses advertising charging current value to the output terminal (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current [charging current value] that can be drawn via the power feed 314 [output terminal];
Fig. 3 and para (0030]) and provide, via the output device, a notification (user interface [output device] includes a display for receiving data from AMI network; para [0038]).
Sfaelos fails to explicitly disclose receive an indication of a high demand period of the power grid, advertise, in response to the indication of the high demand period, a second charging current value, the second charging current value being less than the first charging current value, and provide a notification indicating the high demand period.
Wu teaches electrical vehicle power supply systems (para [0005]) and further teaches receive an indication of a high demand period of the power grid (charging station receives load conditions of the utility grid including high demand and low demand periods; para [0025], [0027]. [0048]), advertise, in response to the indication of the high demand period, a second charging current value, the second charging current value being less than the first charging current value (when the utility grid is experiencing a light load, the system sends approval [advertise] of charging request at a desired current value [first value) requested by the electric vehicle, wherein when the utility grid is experiencing a heavy load demand on the grid, the system sends restricted power flow to a lower value by directing [advertise] the charging apparatus to charge at a 3.3 kW or lower rate during peak times [second charging value less than first value] ; para [0025], [0027]. [0040-0041], (0050]), and provide a notification indicating the high demand period (the charging unit receives load information including heavy or light demands; para [0025], [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle supply system of Sfaelos by incorporating dynamic charging based on load demands, as suggested by Wu, for the purpose of enhancing system robustness and optimizing efficiency of supply power by flexibly adjusting energy consumption to accommodate load conditions of the network (Wu, para [0026]).
Regarding Claim 2, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE of wherein the output device includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a speaker, a light emitting diode, and a display device (user device 322 configured as a laptop; Fig. 3 and para [0033]).
Regarding Claim 3, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE of Sfaelos fails to explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the high demand period of the power grid is a command from an external server associated with the power grid.
Wu teaches wherein the indication of the high demand period of the power grid wherein a command from an external server associated with the power grid (charging station receives load conditions of the utility grid including high demand and low demand periods, wherein the load conditions are communicated via network configured with server 50; Fig. 2 and para [0025], [0027], [0045], [0048]).
Regarding Claim 5, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE wherein the output terminal includes a SAE J1772 charge coupler (the charging plug configured as a SAE J-1772 coupler; para [0032, 0034]).
Regarding Claim 6, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE of claim 1, wherein the EVSE further includes an input device configured to receive a user input (user communicates with a charging controller using wireless transceiver to input user commands; Fig. 3 and para [0033], [0038]), and wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to: receive, from the input device, the user input (user communicates
with charging controller via wireless transceiver to Input user commands; Fig. 3 and para [0033], [0038]).
Although Sfaelos further teaches advertise the first charging current value to the output terminal (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current [charging current value] that can be drawn via the power feed 314 [output terminal]; Fig. 3 and para [0030]), Sfaelos fails to explicitly disclose advertise. in response to the user input, the first charging current value.
Wu teaches advertise, in response to the user input, the first charging current value (when the utility grid is experiencing a light load, the system sends approval [advertise] of charging request [user Input] at a desired current value first value] requested by the electric vehicle; para [0025], [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle supply system of Sfaelos by incorporating dynamic charging based on load demands, as suggested by Wu, for the purpose of enhancing system robustness and optimizing efficiency of supply power by flexibly adjusting energy consumption to accommodate load conditions of the network (Wu, para [0026]).
Regarding Claim 8, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to: detect a fault in the power provided to the output terminal (the charging controller 318 monitors ground faults; para [0030]), and perform, in response to the fault in the power, a protective operation (controller monitors for faults and performs preventative procedure including overcurrent protection; para [0030]).
Regarding Claim 9, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to: control a relay to an "ON" setting to provide power to the electric vehicle ( the charging controller 318 can be configured to turn ON/OFF the power to the EV 112; para [0030]), and control. in response to the fault in the power, the relay to an "OFF" setting to stop providing power to the electric vehicle (the charging controller monitors for faults and performs disconnection [OFF] and overcurrent protection]: para [0030]).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination including Sfaelos discloses EVSE wherein the AMI meter is configured to: monitor an amount of power received from the power grid, and report the amount of power received from the power grid to a utility server using an AMI network (AMI meter configured in an AMI network for collecting, measuring, monitoring and reporting power/energy usage. wherein communication in the network is configured with server 118; para [0023]. [0026], [0041], [0045]).
Regarding Claim 11, Sfaelos discloses an electric vehicle supply equipment (electric vehicle charging station 206; Fig. 3 para [0026]) comprising: a housing (charging station includes enclosure [housing]: Fig. 3 and para [0026]); an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) meter situated within the housing (charging station includes integrated an integrated electric meter in an advanced metering infrastructure
network; para [0023], [0026]), the AMI meter connected to a power grid to receive power from the power grid (the integrated meter is connected to a smart grid network [power grid] to receive power via 8 power line; para [0023]); an output terminal configured to connect to an electric vehicle (power feed 314 [output terminal] connected to electric vehicle 112; para [0028]-[0029]), the output terminal including a first power terminal, a second power terminal (system includes a first output terminal 314 connected to electric vehicle 112 and a second power terminal 106 connected to smart grid; Fig. 3 and para [0023], [0026]-[0028]), a first communication terminal, and a second communication terminal (system includes a first wireless radio transceiver 320 [first communication terminal] connected to a user device and a communication channel 116 (second communication terminal] connected to an AMI network; Fig. 3 and para [0026]-[0027]. [0033]); a user interface configured to receive user Inputs and configured to provide notifications (user interface includes a display for receiving
data from AMI network; para [0038]); and an EVSE controller situated within the housing(charging controller 318 within enclosure 302 [housing]: Fig. 3 and para [0029]-[0033]), the EVSE controller connected to the AMI mater, the output terminal, and the user interface (charging controller 318 coupled to meter 308 [AMI meter], power feed 314 and power line 106 [output terminal) and user interface 322; Fig. 3 and para (0026)-[0030]). the EVSE controller configured to: advertise, via the first communication terminal, 3 first charging current value to the electric vehicle (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current (charging current
value] that can be drawn via the power feed 314 (output terminal]; Fig. 3 and para [0030]). Although Sfaelos further discloses advertising charging current value (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current [charging current value) that can be drawn; Fig. 3 and para [0030])and 3 first and second communication terminal (system includes a first wireless radio transceiver 320 [first communication terminal] connected to a user device and a communication channel 116 [second communication terminal] connected to an AMI network; Fig. 3 and para [0026]-[0027], [0033]), and providing, via the user interface, a notification (user interface (output device] includes 3 display for receiving data from AMI network; para [0038]), Sfaelos fails to explicitly disclose receive an indication of a high demand period of the power grid, advertise, in response to the indication of the high demand period, a second charging current value to the electric vehicle, the second charging current value being less than the first charging current value, and provide a notification indicative of the high demand period.
Wu teaches electrical vehicle power supply systems (para [0005]) and further teaches receive an indication of a high demand period of the power grid (charging station receives load conditions of the utility grid including high demand and low demand periods; para [0025]. [0027], [0048]), advertise, in response to the indication of the high demand period, 3 second charging current value to the electric vehicle, the second charging current value being less than the first charging current value (when the utility grid is experiencing a light load, the system sends approval [advertise] of charging request at a desired current value [first value] requested by the electric vehicle, wherein when the utility grid is experiencing a heavy load demand on the grid, the system sends restricted power flow to a lower value by directing [advertise] the charging apparatus to charge at 3 3.3 kW or lower rate during peak times [second charging value less than first value) para [0025], [0027], [0040]. [0050]), and provide a notification indicative of the high demand period (the charging unit receives load information including heavy or light demands; para [0025], [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle supply system of Sfaelos by incorporating dynamic charging based on load demands, as suggested by Wu, for the purpose of enhancing system robustness and optimizing efficiency of supply power by flexibly adjusting energy consumption to accommodate load conditions of the network (Wo, para [0026]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Sfaelos discloses the EVSE wherein the second communication terminal is configured to provide an indication of whether the EVSE is receiving power (the second communication terminal 116 is connected to an AMI network configured to measure and monitor power/energy usage. wherein the system determines whether EVSE detection connection to EV for receiving charge; Fig. 3 and para [0023], [0030]).
Regarding Claim 14, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE wherein the AMI meter is configured to: monitor an amount of power received from the power grid, and report the amount of power received from the power grid to a utility server using an AMI network (AMI meter configured in an AMI network for collecting, measuring, monitoring and reporting power/energy usage, wherein communication in the network is configured with server 118; para [0023]. [0026], [0041], [0045]).
Regarding Claim 15, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE wherein the user interface includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a speaker, 3 light emitting diode, a rotary dial, a touch-screen device, and a display device (user device 322 includes LED and interface for displaying, Fig. 3 and para [0032], [0033], [0038]).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Sfaelos discloses the EVSE of claim 11, wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to: receive, from the user interface, a user input (user communicates with 3 charging controller using wireless transceiver to Input user commands; Fig. 3 and para [0033], [0036]), and advertise, via the first communication terminal, a third charging current value to the electric vehicle (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current [charging current value] that can be drawn; Fig. 3 and para [0030]).
Sfaelos fails to explicitly disclose advertise, in response to the user Input, the charging current value.
Wu teaches advertise, in response to the user input, the charging current value (when the utility grid is experiencing a light load, the system sends approval [advertise] of charging request [user input] at a desired current value requested by the electric vehicle; para [0025]. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electric vehicle supply system of Sfaelos by incorporating dynamic charging based on load demands, as suggested by Wu, for the purpose of enhancing system robustness and optimizing efficiency of supply power by flexibly adjusting energy consumption to accommodate load conditions of the network (Wu, para [0026]).
Regarding Claim 17, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to: detect a fault in the power provided to the output terminal (the charging controller 318 monitors ground faults; para [0030]). and perform, in response to the fault in the power. 3 protective operation (controller monitors for faults and performs preventative procedure including overcurrent
protection; para [0030]).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Sfaelos discloses the EVSE wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to: receive, from the user interface, a user input (user communicates with a charging controller using wireless transceiver to input user commands; Fig. 3 and para [0033], [0038]). and advertise the first charging current value to the output terminal (the charging controller 318 Informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current [charging current value] that can be drawn via the power feed 314 [output terminal); Fig. 3 and para [0030])).
Sfaelos fails to explicitly disclose advertise, in response to the user input, the charging current value.
Wu teaches advertise, in response to the user input, the charging current value (when the utility grid is experiencing a light load, the system sends approval [advertise] of charging request [user Input] at a desired current value requested by the electric vehicle; para [0025], [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle supply system of Sfaelos by incorporating dynamic charging based on load demands, as suggested by Wu, for the purpose of enhancing system robustness and optimizing efficiency of supply power by flexibly adjusting energy consumption to accommodate load conditions of the network (Wu, para [0026]).
Claim(s) 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US 2012/0265459 to Sfaelos in view of US 2013/0020992 to Wu et al. (hereinafter, "Wu") and US 2013/0346025 to Schulz (US 2013030346025, cited by applicant) .
Regarding Claim 4, modified Sfaelos discloses the EVSE of claim 1, wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to signal to the output terminal to advertise the charging current value to the output terminal (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current [charging current value) that can be drawn; Fig. 3 and para [0030]).
Sfaelos falls to explicitly disclose modulate a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal provided to advertise the charging to the terminal.
Schulz teaches electrical vehicle charging systems (para [0002]) and further teaches modulate a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal provided to advertise the charging to the terminal (sending a signal [advertise] to the EV charger [terminal] created by a pulse width modulator; para [0067]. [0070], (0074)-[0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle charging system of Sfaelos by incorporating pulse width generators for signaling charging data, as suggested by Schulz, for the purpose of enhancing system flexibility by configuring desired communication protocols for managing charging of electric vehicles (Schulz, para [0026]).
Regarding Claim 12, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE wherein the EVSE controller is configured to signal via the first communication terminal to adjust the charging current value advertised to the electric vehicle (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current [charging current value] that can be drawn; Fig. 3 and para [0030]).
Sfaelos fails to explicitly disclose modulate a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal provided to advertise the charging to the terminal.
Schulz teaches electrical vehicle charging systems (para [0002]) and further teaches modulate a pulse width modulated (PWM) signal provided to advertise the charging to the terminal (sending 3 signal [advertise] to the EV charger [terminal] created by a pulse width modulator; para [0067]. [0070], [0074]-[0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle charging system of Sfaelos by incorporating pulse width generators for signaling charging data, as suggested by Schulz, for the purpose of enhancing system flexibility by configuring desired communication protocols for managing charging of electric vehicles (Schulz, para [0026]).
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
over US 2012/0265459 to Sfaelos in view of US 2013/0020992 to Wu et al. (hereinafter, "Wu") and US 2015/0077054 to Uyeki (US 2015/0077054, cited by applicant).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination including Sfaelos discloses the EVSE of claim 6 and further discloses the EVSE controller (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current [charging current value) that can be drawn; para [0030]).
Sfaelos fails to explicitly disclose controller configured to ignore, in response to the user Input, the indication of the high demand period of the power grid until an end of a charging period of the electric vehicle.
Uyeki teaches electric vehicle charging systems (para (0001]) and further teaches controller configured to ignore, in response to the user input, the indication of the high demand period of the power grid until and of a charging period of the electric vehicle (the system overrides [ignore] indication of high demands to continue charging vehicle based on user input; para [0027]-[0028], [0054]-[005], [0090]. (0093]-[0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle charging system of Sfaelos by ignoring high demands based on user input, as suggested by Uyeki, for the purpose of enhancing flexibility and providing increased user experience in managing charging of electrical vehicles (Uyeki, para [0054]).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Sfaelos discloses the EVSE of claim 18, and further discloses the EVSE controller (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current [charging current value) that can be drawn; para [0030]).
Sfaelos fails to explicitly disclose controller configured to ignore, in response to the user input, the indication of the high demand period of the power grid until an end of 8 charging period of the electric vehicle.
Uyeki teaches electric vehicle charging systems in (para [0001]) and further teaches controller configured to ignore, In response to the user input, the indication of the high demand period of the power grid until an end of a charging period of the electric vehicle (the system overrides [ignore] indication of high demands to continue charging vehicle based on user input; para [0027]-[0028], [0054]-[005], [0090], [0093]-[0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle charging system of Sfaelos by ignoring high demands based on user input, as suggested by Uyekl. for the purpose of enhancing flexibility and providing increased user experience in managing charging of electrical vehicles (Uyeki, para [0054]).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US 2012/0265459 to Sfaelos in view of US 2015/0077054 to Uyeki.
Regarding Claim 20, Sfaelos discloses an electric vehicle supply equipment (electric vehicle charging station 206; Fig. 3 para [0026]) comprising: a housing (charging station includes enclosure [housing]: Fig. 3 and para [0026]); an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) meter situated within the housing (charging station includes integrated an integrated electric mater in an advanced metering infrastructure
network; para [0023], [0026]), the AMI meter connected to 3 power grid to receive power from the power grid (the integrated meter is connected to a smart grid network [power grid] to receive power via a power line 106; Fig. 3 and para [0022, [0026]); an output terminal configured to connect to an electric vehicle (power feed 314 [output terminal] connected to electric vehicle 112; para (0028)-(0029]): an input device configured to receive a user Input (user device 322 [input device]: Fig. 3 and para [0033]); and an EVSE controller situated within the housing (charging controller 318 within enclosure 302 [housing]: Fig. 3 and para [0029]-[0033]), the EVSE controller connected to the AMI meter and the output terminal (charging controller 318 coupled to meter 308 [AMI meter] and power feed 314 [output terminal]: Fig. 3 and para (0026)-[0030]), the EVSE controller configured to: advertise a first charging current value to the output terminal (the charging controller 318 informs [advertises] the electrical vehicle the amount of current [charging current value) that can be drawn via the power feed 314 (output terminal): Fig. 3 and para [0030]), receive, from the input device, the user input, enable, in response to the user input, setting of the EVSE (user communicates with 3 charging controller using wireless transceiver to input user commands: Fig. 3 and para [0033], [0038]),
Sfaelos fails to explicitly disclose an opt-out setting, receive an indication of a high demand period of the power grid, and ignore, in response to the opt-out setting being enabled, the indication of the high demand period of the power grid.
Uyeki teaches electric vehicle charging systems (para [0001]) and further teaches an opt-out setting (user configured to send an over-ride signal (opt-out setting]; para (0054]-[0055]). receive an indication of a high demand period of the power grid, and ignore, in response to the opt-out setting being enabled, the indication of the high demand period of the power grid (the system overrides [ignore] indication of high
demands to continue charging vehicle based on user override Input (opt-out setting): para [0027]-[0028]. [0054]-[0055], [0090], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the electric vehicle charging system of Sfaelos by ignoring high demands based on user input, as suggested by Uyeki, for the purpose of enhancing flexibility and providing increased user experience in managing charging of electric vehicles (Uyeki, para [0054]).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiken et al. (EP 2551145) in view of DeBoer et al. (US 2017/0043674) and further in view of Yagcitekin (TR 201606772).
Regarding claim 1, Aiken et al. teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) in (see fig. 1)comprising: a housing; an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) meter situated within the housing (20) , the AMI meter connected to a power grid to receive power from the power grid Vicinity of power supply, AC, 26); an output terminal configured to connect to an electric vehicle (see 14, 18, 30); an output device (HMI, 28, known to include display and so forth, even though not explicitly taught); and an EVSE controller (22) situated within the housing, the EVSE controller connected to the AMI meter, the output terminal, and the output device,
Aiken teaches that the EVSE controller configured to: advertise a first charging current value to the output terminal in (see first instructions, abstract and col. 4, claim 1).
However, Aiken fails to teach the comprehensive functional steps of the EVSE controller configured to
advertise a first charging current value to the output terminal
receive an indication of a high demand period of the power grid, advertise, in response to the indication of the high demand period, a second charging current value to the output terminal, the second charging current value being less than the first charging current value, and provide, via the output device, a notification indicating the high demand period.
DeBoer teaches a charging in (see figs. ) wherein a charging station such as in (see fig. 3) can utilize a controller to control charging current by advertising a first charging current value to the output terminal, terminal connected to the EV in (see para 0032, 0042, maximum amperage parameters). Furthermore, Deboer teaches for instance in (see para 0052-0054) being able to change current charging dynamics based on load demand and reduce charging current. Furthermore, DeBoer teaches in (see para 0035 and 355, 365 of fig. 3) that a display incorporated on a charging station can display or be viewed by a user to see current charge data which could include what’s shown in (figs. 6) if the display interface is on the charging station and not by the mobile phone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of DeBoer into that of Aiken thus making it possible to provide a dynamic power system wherein power can be allocated to charging stations based on availability, affordability to users and load balancing.
The combination, however, fails to teach explicitly informing a user of high peak demand after or while trying to re-configure power supply to a charging station based on availability and load balancing.
Yagcitekin teaches a charging management and electrical network safety for electrical vehicle wherein a user can make power request and a central control can control the charging process in (see page 3-4). Furthermore, the user can utilize a display of a charging station to request power which includes three options: SLOW, Normal, FAST charging in (see page 5-6) wherein the charge can be delivered accordingly. Furthermore in (see page 7-8), teaches that in response to high demand, charge can be changed dynamically by reducing current and informing the user accordingly. The applicant should refer to generally to (in see abstract, pages 3-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yagcitekin into the combination to inform a user in real-time of network limitations, dynamic pricing and load balancing capacity so that the user can make intelligent decisions regarding pricing and prioritizing what loads should be charged, if needed
Regarding claim 2, The combination wherein the output device includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a speaker, a light emitting diode, and a display device in (see fig. 3 of DeBoer @ interface, LEDS, display taught by Yagcitekin).
Regarding claim 3, The combination wherein the indication of the high demand period of the power grid is a command from an external server associated with the power grid in (see abstract of Yagcitekin, inferred from the disclosure, without the drawing).
Regarding claim 6, The combination teaches wherein the EVSE further includes an input device configured to receive a user input, and wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to: receive, from the input device, the user input, and advertise, in response to the user input, the first charging current value to the output terminal (see Deboer in para 0052). Furthermore, Yagcitekin teaches in (see disclosure page 3, 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 10, The combination teaches wherein the AMI meter is configured to: monitor an amount of power received from the power grid (see EP ‘146 @20 of fig. 1) which arguably would send charge data to elements (6,8), and report the amount of power received from the power grid to a utility server using a network is taught by (see for instance para 0040 of DeBoer).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiken et al. (EP 2551145) in view of DeBoer et al. (US 2017/0043674) and further in view of Yagcitekin (TR 201606772) and further in view of Sfaelos (US 2012/0265459).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, The combination fails to teach the claimed subject matter.
Sfaelos teaches a vehicle charging system wherein PWM by a controller can be used to display charge data in (see para 0032). Furthermore, Sfaelos teaches using an output connector SAE J1772 in (see para 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sfaelos into that of the combination thus making it possible to transmit power to an electric vehicle with known charging connectors efficiently and also, display charging information on an interface.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiken et al. (EP 2551145) in view of DeBoer et al. (US 2017/0043674) and further in view of Yagcitekin (TR 201606772) and further in view of Uyeki (US 2015/0077054).
Regarding claim 7, The combination teaches setting an override in (see para 0053-0054) wherein a battery can charge at a lower rate than the maximum in respond to peak demand but fails to explicitly teach wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to ignore, in response to the user input, the indication of the high demand period of the power grid until an end of a charging period of the electric vehicle.
Uyeki teaches electric vehicle charging systems (para (0001]) and further teaches controller configured to ignore, in response to the user input, the indication of the high demand period of the power grid until and of a charging period of the electric vehicle (the system overrides [ignore] indication of high demands to continue charging vehicle based on user input; para [0027]-[0028], [0054]-[0055], [0090]. (0093]-[0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric vehicle charging system of Sfaelos by ignoring high demands based on user input, as suggested by Uyeki, for the purpose of enhancing flexibility and providing increased user experience in managing charging of electrical vehicles (Uyeki, para [0054]).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiken et al. (EP 2551145) in view of DeBoer et al. (US 2017/0043674) and further in view of Yagcitekin (TR 201606772) and further in view of Dougherty (US 2014/0266039)
Regarding claims 8 and 9, The combination including DeBoer teaches being able to display a fault (output terminal) in (see fig. 3 of Deboer).
However, fails to teach in detail wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to: detect a fault in the power, and perform, in response to the fault in the power, a protective operation.
Dougherty teaches a vehicle charging device in (see fig. 2 @ 216 and para 0029, 0030) wherein a protection device can be used to determine a fault and to take corrective measures. Dougherty teaches in summary wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to: control a relay to an "ON" setting to provide power to the electric vehicle, and control, in response to the fault in the power, the relay to an "OFF" setting to stop providing power to the electric vehicle (para 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Dougherty into that of the combination thus making it possible to protect a load from excess current or damage.
Claim(s) 11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiken et al. (EP 2551145) in view of DeBoer et al. (US 2017/0043674) and further in view of Yagcitekin (TR 201606772) and further in view of Kinomura et al. (US 9,278,624).
Regarding claim 11, Aiken teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) in (see fig. 1) comprising: a housing; an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) meter (20) situated within the housing, the AMI meter connected to a power grid (26) to receive power from the power grid; an output terminal configured to connect to an electric vehicle, the output terminal (14, 18, 30); a user interface configured (HMI, 28), known in the art to receive user inputs and configured to provide notifications; and an EVSE controller (22) situated within the housing, the EVSE controller connected to the AMI meter, the output terminal, and the user interface. Aiken teaches sending a first instruction to modify power supply to controller which controls a charging station and an EV.
Aiken fails to teach the limitations comprising of the EVSE controller configured to: advertise, via the first communication terminal, a first charging current value to the electric vehicle, receive an indication of a high demand period of the power grid, advertise, via the first communication terminal and in response to the indication of the high demand period, a second charging current value to the electric vehicle, the second charging current value being less than the first charging current value, and provide, via the user interface, a notification indicative of the high demand period.
DeBoer teaches a charging in (see figs. ) wherein a charging station such as in (see fig. 3) can utilize a controller to control charging current by advertising a first charging current value to the output terminal, terminal connected to the EV in (see para 0032, 0042, maximum amperage parameters). Furthermore, Deboer teaches for instance in (see para 0052-0054) being able to change current charging dynamics based on load demand and reduce charging current. Furthermore, Deboer teaches in (see para 0035 and 355, 365 of fig. 3) that a display incorporated on a charging station can display or be viewed by a user to see current charge data which could include what’s shown in (figs. 6) if the display interface is on the charging station and not by the mobile phone.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of DeBoer into that of Aiken thus making it possible to provide a dynamic power system wherein power can be allocated to charging stations based on availability, affordability to users and load balancing.
The combination, however, fails to teach explicitly informing a user of high peak demand after or while trying to re-configure power supply to a charging station based on availability and load balancing.
Yagcitekin teaches a charging management and electrical network safety for electrical vehicle wherein a user can make power request and a central control can control the charging process in (see page 3). Furthermore, the user can utilize a display of a charging station to request power which includes three options: SLOW, Normal, FAST charging in (see page 5) wherein the charge can be delivered accordingly. Furthermore in (see page 7), teaches that in response to high demand, charge can be changed dynamically by reducing current and informing the user accordingly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yagcitekin into the combination to inform a user in real-time of network limitations, dynamic pricing and load balancing capacity so that the user can make intelligent decisions regarding pricing and prioritizing what loads should be charged, if needed.
The combination fails to teach an output terminal comprising of a plurality of power terminals and communication terminals.
Kinomura et al. teaches a vehicle coupled to a charging station in (see figs. 3, 9), a charging station with a plurality of power terminals (L1, L2) and communication terminals (L3, L4, L7, L8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kinomura into that of the combination thus making it possible to charge and also communicate with a vehicle control unit being charged to maximize charging.
Regarding claims 13 and 17, The combination teaches wherein the second communication terminal is configured to provide an indication of whether the EVSE is receiving power in (see fig. 3 of Deboer) which shows the status of the charger (FAULT, Charging). It’s well known in the art to take corrective measures when a fault is detected by using an overcurrent and/or overvoltage circuits
Regarding claim 14 , The combination teaches wherein the AMI meter (see EP ‘146) is configured to: monitor an amount of power received from the power grid, and report the amount of power received from the power grid to a utility server using an AMI network in (see para 0040 of Deboer).
Regarding claim 15, The combination including Deboer wherein the user interface includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a speaker, a light emitting diode, a rotary dial, a touch-screen device, and a display device (para 0035 of Deboer).
Regarding claim 16, see the explanation as set forth in light of the combination which allows a user the flexibility to adjust current charging needs in (see Deboer or TR ‘772) by user inputs.
Regarding claim 18, see the explanation as set forth regarding claim 11. The combination teaches wherein the EVSE controller is further configured to: receive, from the user interface, a user input, and advertise, in response to the user input, the first charging current value to the output terminal.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiken et al. (EP 2551145) in view of DeBoer et al. (US 2017/0043674) and further in view of Yagcitekin (TR 201606772) and further in view of Kinomura et al. (US 9,278,624) and further in view of Uyeki.
Regarding claim 19, The combination fails to teach the claimed subject matter explicitly as taught by Uyeki.
Uyeki teaches a charging system in (see para 0053-0054) wherein a user can ignore charging parameters including high demand by setting an override which allows a charging station to supply power to a vehicle regardless of dynamic parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Uyeki into that of the combination to operate charging stations and vehicle based on user override setting(s) without allowing a service provider to make sole decision when a user is charging a vehicle.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiken et al. (EP 2551145) in view of DeBoer et al. (US 2017/0043674) and further in view of Uyeki (US 2015/0077054).
Regarding claim 20, Aiken et al. teaches an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) comprising: a housing; an advanced metering infrastructure (AMI) meter situated within the housing, the AMI meter (20) connected to a power grid (power supply infrastructure) to receive power from the power grid; an output terminal configured to connect to an electric vehicle (14, 18, 30); an input device “human interface device (28), known in the art to provide user input and/or display; and an EVSE controller (22) situated within the housing, the EVSE controller connected to the AMI meter and the output terminal (see fig. 1),
Aiken et al. teaches being able to send first set of instruction in (see col. 4) t to reduce, reinstatement or modify charging current to an outlet used for charging a vehicle. However, Aiken fails to teach completely the limitations as set forth below comprising
the EVSE controller configured to: advertise a first charging current value to the output terminal, receive, from the input device, the user input, enable, in response to the user input, an opt-out setting of the EVSE, receive an indication of a high demand period of the power grid, and ignore, in response to the opt-out setting being enabled, the indication of the high demand period of the power grid.
Deboer teaches a charging station in (see para 0032, 0034, 0037) that a maximum charge current that can be used by vehicle which reads on inform or advertise a first charging current in part by user input. Furthermore, according to in (see para 0052-0054) that a user can set an override option wherein the override can be applied in making a decision. Furthermore, Deboer teaches a user interface (355, 365 of fig. 3 and para 0035) which can be buttons and/or display for controlling a charging station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Deboer into that of Aiken thus making it possible to determine charging parameters based on user settings and/or preferences.
The combination fails to teach explicitly ignoring in response to the opt-out setting being enabled, the indication of the high demand period of the power grid.
Uyeki teaches a charging system in (see para 0053-0054) wherein a user can ignore charging parameters including high demand by setting an override which allows a charging station to supply power to a vehicle regardless of dynamic parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Uyeki into that of the combination to operate charging stations and vehicle based on user override setting(s) without allowing a service provider to make sole decision when a user is charging a vehicle.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/REXFORD N BARNIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836