Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1, applicant asserts that “The Office Action alleges in an annotated version of Figure 1 (provided below) that Onishi provides windings with second portions that have a different cross-sectional area than the second portions thereof. Applicant notes that the annotated Figure 1 shows distributed windings (8) of the stator winding (7) of Onishi that are shown "covered with an insulating coating" per [0026], and the relative cross-sectional areas therefore cannot be determined from Figure 1. Accordingly, Applicant submits that Figure 1 of Onishi cannot be used to judge the cross-sectional areas of the underlying structure of the stator of Onishi because the underlying structures are obscured from view.”
The examiner, however, disagrees.
From figure 1, one of ordinary skilled in the art would easily determine that windings with second portions that have a different cross-sectional area than the second portions thereof. In addition, figures 6-9 show windings (8) of the stator winding (7) without being covered with an insulating coating, which clearly show that windings with second portions that have a different cross-sectional area than the second portions thereof.
Onishi discloses in paragraph [0031] that “The slot-housed portions 10a and 10a' are formed so as to have racetrack-shaped cross sections. The coil end portions 10b are formed so as to have circular cross sections except for root portions that connect to the slot-housed portions 10a and 10a'.” (emphasis added). Therefore, Onishi discloses that windings with second portions that have a different cross-sectional area than the second portions thereof.
Onishi further discloses in paragraph [0070] that “In each of the above embodiments, the slot-housed portions and the root portions of the coil end portions that connect to the slot-housed portions have identical or identical cross-sectional shapes, but the slot-housed portions and the root portions of the coil end portions that connect to the slot-housed portions have different cross-sectional shapes.” (emphasis added). Therefore, Onishi discloses that windings with second portions that have a different cross-sectional area than the second portions thereof.
Applicant further asserts that “Instead, Applicant directs attention to the underlying structures of the stator of Onishi shown in Figure 7 include rectilinear portions 23a and linking portions 23b and discussed with respect thereto in [0037-38]. Applicant notes that Onishi specifically states in [0038] that "Root portions of linking portions 23b are also simultaneously formed so as to have racetrack-shaped cross sections that are similar or identical to those of the rectilinear portions 23" (emphasis added). Accordingly, Applicant submits that Onishi does not teach or suggest first portions and second portions of a stator that have different first cross-sectional areas and second cross-sectional areas, respectively, as is claimed.
The examiner, however, disagrees.
First, it is noted that the claimed “a plurality of second portions arranged outside of the plurality of slots” read on linking portions 23b in figure 7, not root portions of linking portions 23b. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are moot.
Second, Onishi further discloses in paragraph [0070] that “In each of the above embodiments, the slot-housed portions and the root portions of the coil end portions that connect to the slot-housed portions have identical or identical cross-sectional shapes, but the slot-housed portions and the root portions of the coil end portions that connect to the slot-housed portions have different cross-sectional shapes.” (emphasis added). Therefore, the root portions of linking portions in Onishi may have a different cross-sectional area than the first portions thereof.
Therefore, the examiner contends that Onishi does anticipate claims 1, 21-23, or 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 21-23, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Onishi (US
2014/0333172).
As to claim 1, Onishi discloses an electric machine (Para 0022), comprising: a rotor (Para 0024);
and a stator (1; Para 0033) comprising: a magnetic core (2; Para 0048) that comprises a plurality of teeth
(Fig. 7) defining a plurality of slots between adjacent teeth of the plurality of teeth (Fig. 7); and a stator
winding (7; Fig. 1) that comprises a plurality of first portions (Fig. 1) arranged inside the plurality of slots
and a plurality of second portions (Fig. 1) arranged outside of the plurality of slots between the adjacent
teeth, wherein each first portion of the plurality of first portions has a first length and a first cross-
sectional area optimized for a frequency of an alternating current power supply that reduces resistive power loss in the stator winding when energized by the alternating current power supply (Para 0048);
and wherein each second portion of the plurality of second portions has a second length and a second
cross-sectional area, wherein the second cross-sectional area is different than the first cross-area and is
optimized for magnetic flux in the stator (Para 0006).
As to claim 21, Onishi discloses an electric machine (Para 0022), comprising: a rotor (Para 0024);
and a stator (1; Para 0033) comprising: a magnetic core (2; Para 0048) that comprises a plurality of teeth
(Fig. 7) defining a plurality of slots between adjacent teeth of the plurality of teeth (Fig. 7); and a stator
winding (7; Fig. 1) that comprises a plurality of first portions (Fig. 1) arranged inside the plurality of slots
and a plurality of second portions (Fig. 1) arranged outside of the plurality of slots between the adjacent
teeth, wherein each first portion of the plurality of first portions has a first cross-sectional area; and
wherein each second portion of the plurality of second portions has a second cross-sectional area,
wherein the second cross-sectional area is different than the first cross-sectional area (Fig. 1).
As to claim 22, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 21, wherein the first cross-sectional
area is optimized for a frequency of an alternating current power supply that reduces resistive power
loss in the stator winding when energized by the alternating current power supply (Para 0048).
As to claim 23, the combination of Nakayama and Lange discloses the electric machine of claim
22, wherein the second cross-sectional area is optimized for magnetic flux in the stator (Para 0006).
As to claim 29, Onishi discloses an electric machine (Para 0022), comprising: a rotor (Para 0024);
and a stator (1; Para 0033) comprising: a magnetic core (2; Para 0048) that comprises a plurality of teeth
(Fig. 7) defining a plurality of slots between adjacent teeth of the plurality of teeth (Fig. 7); and a stator
winding (7; Fig. 1) that comprises a plurality of slotted portions (Fig. 1) arranged inside the plurality of
slots and a plurality of connecting portions (Fig. 1) arranged outside of the plurality of slots between the
adjacent teeth, wherein each slotted portion of the plurality of slotted portions has a first cross-
sectional area; and wherein each connecting portion of the plurality of connecting portions has a second
cross-sectional area, wherein the second cross-sectional area is different than the first cross-sectional
area (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi and in view
of Takanezawa (US 20190372438).
As to claim 2, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 1.
Onishi fails to disclose each of the first portions of the plurality of first portions comprise a bar
that extends past a first face of the magnetic core and past a second face of the magnetic core, opposite
to the first face, wherein each slot of the plurality of slots extends from the first face to the second face.
Takanezawa, however, discloses each of the first portions of the plurality of first portions
comprise a bar that extends past a first face of the magnetic core and past a second face of the magnetic
core, opposite to the first face, wherein each slot of the plurality of slots extends from the first face to
the second face (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with each of the first
portions of the plurality of first portions comprise a bar that extends past a first face of the magnetic
core and past a second face of the magnetic core, opposite to the first face, wherein each slot of the
plurality of slots extends from the first face to the second face, as disclosed by Takanezawa, to improve
efficiency as there is more area that can be cooled.
As to claim 24, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 21.
Onishi fails to disclose each of the first portions of the plurality of first portions comprise a bar
that extends past a first face of the magnetic core and past a second face of the magnetic core, opposite
to the first face, wherein each slot of the plurality of slots extends from the first face to the second face.
Takanezawa, however, discloses each of the first portions of the plurality of first portions
comprise a bar that extends past a first face of the magnetic core and past a second face of the magnetic core, opposite to the first face, wherein each slot of the plurality of slots extends from the first face to
the second face (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with each of the first
portions of the plurality of first portions comprise a bar that extends past a first face of the magnetic
core and past a second face of the magnetic core, opposite to the first face, wherein each slot of the
plurality of slots extends from the first face to the second face, as disclosed by Takanezawa, to improve
efficiency as there is more area that can be cooled.
Claims 3, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi and
in view of Nakayama (US 2020/0021170).
As to claim 3, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 1.
Onishi fails to disclose wherein each second portion of the plurality of second portions
comprises a first frontal part connected to a first one of the plurality of first portions disposed in a first
slot of the plurality of slots and a second frontal part connected to a second one of the plurality of first
portions disposed in a second slot of the plurality of slots, wherein the first frontal part is connected to
the second frontal part at a given angle.
Nakayama, however, discloses wherein each second portion of the plurality of second portions
comprises a first frontal part connected to a first one of the plurality of first portions disposed in a first
slot of the plurality of slots and a second frontal part connected to a second one of the plurality of first
portions disposed in a second slot of the plurality of slots, wherein the first frontal part is connected to
the second frontal part at a given angle (Fig. 10 of Nakayama).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with each second portion of
the plurality of second portions comprises a first frontal part connected to a first one of the plurality of
first portions disposed in a first slot of the plurality of slots and a second frontal part connected to a
second one of the plurality of first portions disposed in a second slot of the plurality of slots, wherein
the first frontal part is connected to the second frontal part at a given angle, as disclosed by Nakayama,
to improve the structure and distribute forces evenly across many directions.
As to claim 25, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 1.
Onishi fails to disclose wherein each second portion of the plurality of second portions
comprises a first frontal part connected to a first one of the plurality of first portions disposed in a first
slot of the plurality of slots and a second frontal part connected to a second one of the plurality of first
portions disposed in a second slot of the plurality of slots, wherein the first frontal part is connected to
the second frontal part at a given angle.
Nakayama, however, discloses wherein each second portion of the plurality of second portions
comprises a first frontal part connected to a first one of the plurality of first portions disposed in a first
slot of the plurality of slots and a second frontal part connected to a second one of the plurality of first
portions disposed in a second slot of the plurality of slots, wherein the first frontal part is connected to
the second frontal part at a given angle (Fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with each second portion of
the plurality of second portions comprises a first frontal part connected to a first one of the plurality of
first portions disposed in a first slot of the plurality of slots and a second frontal part connected to a
second one of the plurality of first portions disposed in a second slot of the plurality of slots, wherein
the first frontal part is connected to the second frontal part at a given angle, as disclosed by Nakayama,
to improve the structure and distribute forces evenly across many directions.
As to claim 30, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 29.
Onishi fails to disclose a first slotted portion of the plurality of slotted portions is connected on a
first end to a first connecting portion of the plurality of connecting portions and connected on a second
end, opposite to the first end, to a second connecting portion of the plurality of connecting portions.
Nakayama, however, discloses a first slotted portion of the plurality of slotted portions is
connected on a first end to a first connecting portion of the plurality of connecting portions and
connected on a second end, opposite to the first end, to a second connecting portion of the plurality of
connecting portions (Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with a first slotted portion
of the plurality of slotted portions is connected on a first end to a first connecting portion of the plurality
of connecting portions and connected on a second end, opposite to the first end, to a second connecting portion of the plurality of connecting portions, to simplify assembly of the winding and ensure proper
connections.
Claims 4, 6, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi and in
view of Lange (US 2018/0233998).
As to claim 4, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 1.
Onishi fails to disclose wherein each second portion of the plurality of second portions defines a
v-shape pointed inward to an axis of rotation of the magnetic core with an apex of the v-shape located
equidistantly between adjacent first portions of the plurality of first portions.
Lange, however, discloses wherein each second portion of the plurality of second portions
defines a v-shape pointed inward to an axis of rotation of the magnetic core with an apex of the v-shape
located equidistantly between adjacent first portions of the plurality of first portions (Fig. 1c of Lange).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with each second portion of
the plurality of second portions defines a v-shape pointed inward to an axis of rotation of the magnetic core with an apex of the v-shape located equidistantly between adjacent first portions of the plurality of
first portions, as disclosed by Lange, to improve magnetic flux concentration.
As to claim 6, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 1.
Onishi fails to discloses wherein a first layer thickness of each first portion of the plurality of first
portions is greater than a second layer thickness of each second portion of the plurality of second
portions.
Lange, however, discloses wherein a first layer thickness of each first portion of the plurality of
first portions is greater than a second layer thickness of each second portion of the plurality of second
portions (Fig. 1c of Lange).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with wherein a first layer
thickness of each first portion of the plurality of first portions is greater than a second layer thickness of
each second portion of the plurality of second portions, as disclosed by Lange, to improve magnetic flux
concentration.
As to claim 26, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 21.
Onishi fails to discloses wherein each second portion of the plurality of second portions defines
a v-shape pointed inward to an axis of rotation of the magnetic core.
Lange, however, discloses wherein each second portion of the plurality of second portions
defines a v-shape pointed inward to an axis of rotation of the magnetic core (Fig. 1c of Lange).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with each second portion of
the plurality of second portions defines a v-shape pointed inward to an axis of rotation of the magnetic
core, as disclosed by Lange, to improve magnetic flux concentration.
Claims 5, 27, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi and in
view of Busse (US 20210346944).
As to claim 5, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 1.
Onishi fails to disclose the plurality of first portions includes a plurality of layers in each slot,
each layer of the plurality of layers having a different size such that inner layers of the plurality of layers
are thicker compared to outer layers of the plurality of layers.
Busse, however, discloses the plurality of first portions includes a plurality of layers in each slot (Fig. 1), each layer of the plurality of layers having a different size such that inner layers of the plurality
of layers are thicker compared to outer layers of the plurality of layers (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with the plurality of
first portions includes a plurality of layers in each slot, each layer of the plurality of layers having a
different size such that inner layers of the plurality of layers are thicker compared to outer layers of the
plurality of layers, as disclosed by Busse, in order to minimize current loss.
As to claim 27, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 21.
Onishi fails to disclose the plurality of first portions includes a plurality of layers in each slot,
each layer of the plurality of layers having a different size such that inner layers of the plurality of layers
are thicker compared to outer layers of the plurality of layers.
Busse, however, discloses the plurality of first portions includes a plurality of layers in each slot
(Fig. 1), each layer of the plurality of layers having a different size such that inner layers of the plurality
of layers are thicker compared to outer layers of the plurality of layers (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with the plurality of
first portions includes a plurality of layers in each slot, each layer of the plurality of layers having a
different size such that inner layers of the plurality of layers are thicker compared to outer layers of the
plurality of layers, as disclosed by Busse, in order to minimize current loss.
Claims 7 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi and in view
of Horng (US 11081926) and Takahashi (US 2018/0166933).
As to claim 7, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 1.
Onishi fails to disclose a motor structure; and a nonmagnetic support, wherein the nonmagnetic support connects the motor structure to the magnetic core, and wherein the nonmagnetic support is mounted to the magnetic core with an insulated coupler.
Horng, however, discloses a motor structure (Fig. 5); and a support (Fig. 5), wherein the connects the motor structure to the magnetic core, and wherein the support is mounted to the magnetic core with an insulated coupler (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with a motor structure;
and a support, wherein the support connects the motor structure to the magnetic core, and wherein the
support is mounted to the magnetic core with an insulated coupler, as disclosed by Horng, to properly
secure the motor structure and magnetic core.
Takahashi, however, discloses a nonmagnetic support (Paragraph 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with a nonmagnetic
support, as disclosed by Takahashi, to improve insulation.
As to claim 28, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 21.
Onishi fails to disclose a motor structure; and a nonmagnetic support, wherein the
nonmagnetic support connects the motor structure to the magnetic core, and wherein the nonmagnetic
support is mounted to the magnetic core with an insulated coupler.
Horng, however, discloses a motor structure (Fig. 5); and a support (Fig. 5), wherein the
connects the motor structure to the magnetic core, and wherein the support is mounted to the
magnetic core with an insulated coupler (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with a motor structure; and a support, wherein the support connects the motor structure to the magnetic core, and wherein the support is mounted to the magnetic core with an insulated coupler, as disclosed by Horng, to properly secure the motor structure and magnetic core.
Takahashi, however, discloses a nonmagnetic support (Paragraph 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with a nonmagnetic support, as disclosed by Takahashi, to improve insulation.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi and in view of JP961 (JP 2016536961).
As to claim 32, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 29.
Onishi fails to disclose wherein the stator winding comprises stamped aluminum.
JP961, however, discloses wherein the stator winding comprises stamped aluminum (claims 3 and 4; “The first phase winding (111, 112) and / or the second phase winding (213, 214) are made of pre-manufactured, especially stamped, aluminum members”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with wherein the stator winding comprises stamped aluminum, as disclosed by JP961, to improve strength and reduce weight of the machine.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi.
As to claim 34, Onishi fails to expressly disclose the second cross-sectional area is 4-6 times larger than the first cross-sectional area. Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary values of the second cross-sectional area and the first cross-sectional area. In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that the second cross-sectional area is 4-6 times larger than the first cross-sectional area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Onishi, such that the second cross-sectional area is 4-6 times larger than the first cross-sectional area, in order to yield predictable results such as reducing the weight and size of the stator core 2 (because the slotted first cross-sectional area is smaller than the second cross-sectional area).
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onishi and in view of Okamoto (JP 2018029420).
As to claim 35, Onishi discloses the electric machine of claim 29, wherein each bobbin of the plurality of bobbins includes one slotted portion of the plurality of slotted portions and one connecting portion of the plurality of connecting portions.
Onishi fails to disclose wherein the stator winding comprises a plurality of bobbins attached together by a joining technique selected from the group consisting of welding to form the stator.
Okamoto, however, discloses wherein the stator winding comprises a plurality of bobbins attached together by a joining technique selected from the group consisting of welding to form the stator (Para 0198).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electric machine of Onishi with wherein the stator winding comprises a plurality of bobbins attached together by a joining technique selected from the group consisting of welding to form the stator, as disclosed by Okamoto, to improve the mechanical stability of the machine.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visithttps://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834