DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that Wang and Li do not teach amended claim 1. Particularly, applicant argues that Wang provides protrusion 40 disposed on the first abutment portion 12 to abut against the rupture disc 30 and that the rupture disc 30 is fixed to welding ring 21 and the welding ring 21 is then welded and fixed to cover plate such that rupture disc 30 is not directly injection-molded onto the cover plate 10.
However, the rejection provided below primarily refers to the embodiment of figures 7-8 of Wang, which is different from the protrusion configuration of the other embodiments in Wang as referred to by the applicant. The embodiment of figs. 7-8 of Wang specifically provide the injection molded structure as claimed: see e.g., Wang; figs. 7-8, [0071]-[0072], regarding how the insert 51 is injection molded to fill the hole in the cover assembly 100, fig. 7 showing the through holes from the top view, regarding the connection holes 52 of the cover corresponding to the fixing holes, which are arranged to correspond with the injection molded insert parts 51 on a one-to-one basis in order to form improved connection stability.
Applicant argues that Wang fails to disclose the technical effects of the present application, with regarding to the claimed diameter of a first opening of the through hole is larger than a diameter of a second opening of the through hole, and the second opening is located away from the housing relative to the first opening.
However, Wang does provide the first and second openings as claimed and provides a technical effect of the structural configuration: Wang provides in the figure 8 welded part 21 and sealing ring 22, which is similarly used in other embodiments in Wang. That is, as shown in the embodiment of figures 2-4, and as best seen in figure 4, the cover plate 10 is provided with explosion-proof hole 11, in which the hole comprises of a first opening (in which welded part 21 is situated in) with a larger diameter than a diameter of a second opening of the through hole (in which sealing ring 22 and explosion-proof sheet 30 is situated in). As provided in figs. 1, 2, and 9, and [0075], a protective plate 60 is provided on the outside of the cover plate to provide protection from foreign objects, and therefore indicates the directional configuration of the cover plate in fig. 2 such that the second opening is located away from the housing relative to the first opening. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the embodiment as provided in figs. 7-8 of Wang have a first opening of the through hole larger than a diameter of a second opening of the through hole wherein the second opening is located away from the housing relative to the first opening as provided in the embodiment of figs. 2-4 of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide this configuration in order to solve the problem of large fluctuation range of explosion pressure of the explosion-proof valve of the secondary battery (see e.g., Wang; [0009]).
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claim. That is, the technical concept of modified Wang does not need to be the same as that of the present application when modified Wang teaches the structural configuration of the explosion-proof valve structure as claimed. Moreover, applicant’s arguments refer to embodiments 1-4 of Wang, which is not the primary embodiment relied upon in the rejection of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN-112234309-A) (see translation), and in further view of Li (CN-111341953-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses
a non-metallic (see e.g., Wang; [0071], regarding injection molded insert 51 which is plastic) explosion-proof valve structure of a battery, comprising;
a cover assembly (see e.g., Wang; figs. 7-8, [0048]);
and an injection molded part (see e.g., Wang; figs. 7-8, [0071], regarding inserts 51 of plastic part 30 formed by injection molding),
wherein the cover assembly is provided with a through hole (see e.g., Wang; figs. 7-8, [0071], regarding how the insert 51 is injection molded to fill the hole in the cover assembly 100, fig. 7 showing the through holes from the top view), the injection molded part is fixedly connected with the cover assembly or the housing provided with the through hole (see e.g., Wang; figs. 7-8, [0071], regarding how the injection molded insert 51 of the plastic sheet 30 solidifies in the connection holes 52 which ensures the connection strength of the part), and seals the through hole (see e.g., Wang; fig. 8, [0071]),
a plurality of fixing holes are arranged in an area where the cover assembly is connected with the injection molded part, the injection molded part is fixedly connected with the plurality of fixing holes, the injection molded part is formed in the area where the cover assembly is connected with the injection molded part by injection molding process, and an injection molding material of the injection molded part is filled into the plurality of fixing holes (see e.g., Wang; figs. 7-8, [0071], regarding the connection holes 52 of the cover corresponding to the fixing holes, which are arranged to correspond with the injection molded insert parts 51 on a one-to-one basis in order to form improved connection stability).
Wang discloses wherein the connecting holes 52 are arranged around the cover (see e.g., Wang; figs. 7-8, [0071]-[0072]), which may correspond with the claimed plurality of fixing holes arranged in regular or irregular distribution. That is, the example of fig. 8 wherein the fixing holes 52 are arranged on either ends of the through hole may correspond with a regular distribution as claimed because they are the same interval or distance apart from each other.
Wang discloses in a different embodiment a housing connected in a sealed manner (see e.g., Wang; fig. 1, [0048], regarding housing 200, the cover assembly 100 covering the housing 200 thereby corresponding to connecting in a sealed manner). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the embodiment of figs. 7-8 of Wang also be provided to a housing connected in a sealed manner as in the embodiment of fig. 1 in order to improve the connection stability (see e.g., Wang; [0071]) and solve the problem of large fluctuation range of explosion pressure of the explosion-proof valve of the secondary battery (see e.g., Wang; [0009]).
Regarding the claimed diameter of a first opening of the through hole is larger than a diameter of a second opening of the through hole, and the second opening is located away from the housing relative to the first opening, Wang provides in the figure 8 welded part 21 and sealing ring 22, which is similarly used in other embodiments in Wang. That is, as shown in the embodiment of figures 2-4, and as best seen in figure 4, the cover plate 10 is provided with explosion-proof hole 11, in which the hole comprises of a first opening (in which welded part 21 is situated in) with a larger diameter than a diameter of a second opening of the through hole (in which sealing ring 22 and explosion-proof sheet 30 is situated in). As provided in figs. 1, 2, and 9, and [0075], a protective plate 60 is provided on the outside of the cover plate to provide protection from foreign objects, and therefore indicates the directional configuration of the cover plate in fig. 2 such that the second opening is located away from the housing relative to the first opening. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the embodiment as provided in figs. 7-8 of Wang have a first opening of the through hole larger than a diameter of a second opening of the through hole wherein the second opening is located away from the housing relative to the first opening as provided in the embodiment of figs. 2-4 of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide this configuration in order to solve the problem of large fluctuation range of explosion pressure of the explosion-proof valve of the secondary battery (see e.g., Wang; [0009]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of fixing holes is a chemically etched or laser-engraved fixing hole, and each of the plurality of fixing holes is a nanoscale fixing hole. However, Li discloses a lid assembly for a battery wherein chemical etching may be performed on a wall, which forms recessed areas corresponding to claimed fixing holes, and wherein the recesses may be nano-sized pores smaller than 0.1 mm (see e.g., Li; [0065], figs. 5-7, regarding chemical etching on wall of mounting hole 201, forming recessed areas, which may be nano-sized). Li is further analogous art because Li discloses that the chemical etching treatment forming nano-sized recessed micropores may have injection molding filling the space of the recess. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fixing holes as disclosed by Wang to be chemically etched nano-sized pores as disclosed by Li in order to improve airtightness and meet high battery sealing requirements (see e.g., Li; [0065]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Wang teaches the non-metallic explosion-proof valve structure according to claim 1, wherein the injection molded part comprises a body part and a weak part, and the weak part is arranged on the body part (see e.g., Wang; fig. 8, [0071]-[0072], regarding the injection molded part comprising sheet 30 and inserts 51, wherein the sheet 30 corresponds to the body part and the inserts 51 correspond to the weak part arranged on the body part; [0072] further describes how the number of inserts 51 into the connection holes 52 determines burst threshold of the connection of the part with the cover which indicates that the breaking point).
Regarding claim 3, modified Wang teaches the non-metallic explosion-proof valve structure according to claim 2, wherein the weak part comprises a sunken structure (see e.g., Wang; fig. 8, [0071]-[0072], wherein the inserts 51 fill into the connection holes 52, and therefore the material sinks into the connection holes which corresponds to a sunken structure as claimed),
and the sunken structure comprises an annular sunken structure or a cambered sunken structure (see e.g., Wang; [0072], fig. 8, regarding a plurality of connection holes which extend annularly around the cover for inserts 51 to fill which may correspond to the annular sunken structure as claimed, or wherein fig. 8 shows how the inserts 51 are filled into the connection holes 52 in a convex or arched shape thereby corresponding with a cambered sunken structure as claimed).
Regarding claim 4, modified Wang teaches the non-metallic explosion-proof valve structure according to claim 1, wherein the injection molded part comprises a body part and a reinforcing part, the reinforcing part is arranged on the body part (see e.g., Wang; fig. 8, [0071]-[0072], regarding the injection molded part comprising sheet 30 and inserts 51, wherein the sheet 30 corresponds to the body part and the inserts 51 correspond to the reinforcing part arranged on the body part).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wang teaches the non-metallic explosion-proof valve structure according to claim 4.
Wang discloses an embodiment wherein the plurality of connection holes may be connecting grooves (see e.g., Wang; [0073]). Then, the injection molded part 51 (see e.g., Wang; [0071], fig. 8) would fill in the connecting grooves to form ribs, which correspond to the claimed reinforcing part comprising a plurality of reinforcing ribs, the plurality of reinforcing ribs are in a strip structure.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied to embodiment of using grooves as the connecting part 52 and filling in the grooves with the injection molded part 51 as disclosed by Wang in order to improve connection stability (see e.g., Wang; [0073], [0071]).
Applying this embodiment of Wang, the claimed “one ends of the plurality of reinforcing ribs are connected, and the other ends are distributed radially,” is also taught by Wang. Provided with a plurality of reinforcing inserts 51, one ends of the inserts 51 may be considered as connected (“connected” is interpreted as linked together in some material way) because the inserts 51 are all integrated with sheet 30; thereby, sheet 30 connects the one ends of the plurality of reinforcing ribs. Furthermore, the inserts 51, including the other ends of the inserts 51, are distributed radially around the opening of the cover (see e.g., Wang; fig. 8), which corresponds to the claimed other ends distributed radially.
Regarding claim 6, modified Wang teaches the non-metallic explosion-proof valve structure according to claim 1, wherein the injection molded part comprises a body part, a weak part and a reinforcing part, the weak part is arranged on the body part, the reinforcing part is arranged on the body part, and the weak part and the reinforcing part are matched in a cross-connection manner (see e.g., Wang; annotated fig. 8 below, [0071]-[0072]). That is, the whole part of sheet 30 with injection molded inserts 51 may correspond with the body part, portions around the body part may correspond with the weak part, and the inserts 51 may correspond with the reinforcing part. Thus, both the weak part and reinforcing part are arranged on the body part. Furthermore, the weak part which is directed to a portion close to the reinforcing part are matched in a cross-connection manner as claimed.
The examiner notes that “the reinforcing part” and “the weak part” are not defined. In this case, “the weak part” as directed to in annotated fig. 8 is on the sheet 30, which Wang describes as the part that is broken through (see e.g., Wang; [0064]) and therefore may correspond with being a weak part. Furthermore, “the reinforcing part” as directed to in annotated fig. 8 and corresponding with the inserts 51 is disclosed by Wang as strengthening connection stability (see e.g., Wang; [0071]), and therefore may correspond with being reinforcing.
"Matched in a cross-connection manner" is interpreted as being connected to each other by some material means; there is material between the weak part and reinforcing part and therefore they are connected.
Regarding claim 9, modified Wang teaches the non-metallic explosion-proof valve structure according to claim 1, wherein the injection molded part is provided with a convex part (see e.g., Wang; fig. 8, regarding the inserts 51 of the injection molded part that fills the connecting holes 52 corresponding to a convex shape), the inner wall of the through hole is provided with a concave part (see e.g., Wang; fig. 8, [0071]-[0072], regarding the connecting holes 52 which correspond with a concave part and is on an inner wall of the hole), and the convex part and the concave part are concave-convex matched (see e.g., Wang; fig. 8, [0071]-[0072], wherein the injection molded insert 51 fills the connecting holes 52).
Regarding claim 10, modified Wang teaches a battery (see e.g., Wang; [0008], [0076]), comprising the non-metallic explosion-proof valve structure according to claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728