DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the amendment filed on 2/25/26. Claims 1-18 and new claims 19-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed
invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the
invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sweeney et al., US Pub. No.20100151821 in view of et Przybysz et al., US
20100217858 and further in view of Thompson et al., US Pub. No.20220058583.
As to claim 1, Sweeney discloses a method of creating one or more user
accounts with at least a first communication service provider, said method comprising
the following steps:
placing a user account creation request with said first communication service provider
by a first user, using a communication device and receiving said request by a
processing server of said first communication service provider (providing location-based
services to consumers by creating user accounts using a service provider, see fig.3,
[0031] to [0032]);
presentation of one or more lists of telephone numbers each comprising at least one
telephone numbers by said processing server to said first user, said one or more lists of
telephone numbers, said telephone numbers comprising at least one telephone number
for said first user to select, said at least one telephone number having the format of a
national, regional or international, landline or mobile telephone number (process
registers one or more mobile devices associated with the user. For example, in some
embodiments, a user registers a phone number and/or a subscriber identity module SIM
card number associated with a mobile device of the user, see [0032] to [0034]);
selection of a telephone number from said one or more lists of telephone numbers by
said first user, creating a user account for said first user with said first communication
service provider and assigning said telephone number, selected by said first user, as a
login for said user account (i.e., monitoring the presence of the registered mobile device
at one or more shopping facilities and detects a registered mobile device, the process
retrieves a user profile associated with the detected registered mobile device, see
[0032] to [0033]). Sweeney does not specifically disclose dynamically filtering to only include telephone numbers that are not allocated by a telecom operator at the time said one or more list of telephone numbers are presented. However, Przybysz discloses dynamically filtering to only include telephone numbers that are not allocated by a telecom operator at the time said one or more list of telephone numbers are presented (detecting identities including telephone numbers owned by the IMS network operator and will be able to determine that an identity belongs to the operator but is unallocated, see abstract, fig.3, [0040]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Przybysz's teachings into the computer system of Sweeney to control unallocated telephone numbers because it would have allowed operators and service providers to control user access to services and to charge users accordingly (see Przybysz's [0005)).
Neither Sweeny nor Przybysz discloses the telephone numbers generated by a communication service provider. However, Thompson discloses the telephone numbers generated by a communication service provider (the request 208 can be generated as part of a referral agent onboarding process and received at a cloud communications platform 202 (e.g., a platform including or connected to a cloud communications service provider) that automatically generates a telephone number 210 and assigns (or associates) the telephone number 210 with a user, see Thompson’s [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Thompson’s teachings into the computer system of Sweeney to generate telephone numbers because it would have allowed a user to send messages to particular or multiple other users, form social links in the form of associations to other users within the network service (see Thompson’s [0053]).
As to claim 3, Sweeney discloses said first communication service provider is a web
page or a communication software application (processing web service, see [0011)).
As to claim 4, Sweeney discloses the one or more lists of telephone numbers were
provided by a third party telecom provider (Subscriber services, see [0031)).
As to claim 5, Sweeney discloses proposing a pre-existing telephone number
associated with said first user to enter or select before the step of presenting one or
more telephone lists (see [0031] to [0034]).
As to claim 6, Sweeney discloses one or more validation steps said user account to be
created, whereon said one or more validation steps is authentication of said first user's
communication device, validation by said first user e-mail, validation by SMS of said
user's mobile device, validation by fingerprint using said user mobile device recognition,
validation by facial recognition using said user mobile device, validation by password
creation by said first user, or a combination thereof (a user creates a login name and a
password, see [0032] to [0034}).
As to claim 7, Sweeney discloses aid validation steps occur prior to the step of
presenting one or more lists of telephone numbers (telephone directory, see [0031)). As
to claim 8, Sweeney discloses one or more steps of securing the created user account
(see [0031] to [0032)).
As to claim 9, Sweeney discloses after the step of creating said first user account, a
step of said first user account, followed by a step of making said telephone number
available for possible further requests (see [0031] to [0034)).
As to claim 10, Sweeney discloses creating, by the first user, one or more additional
accounts with the first communication service provider, said method comprising the
following steps: placing a new user account creation request with said first
communication service provider by said first user using a communication device, receipt
of said new request by the processing server, presentation (2) by said processing
server to said first user of one or more lists of telephone numbers each comprising at
least one telephone number (providing location-based services to consumers by
creating user accounts using a service provider, see fig.3, [0031] to [0032]), selection,
by said first user, of a new telephone number from said list or lists of telephone
numbers, creating a new user account for said first user with the first communication
service provider and assigning said new telephone number, selected by said first user
to said new user account (monitoring the presence of the registered mobile device at
one or more shopping facilities and detects a registered mobile device, the process
retrieves a user profile associated with the detected registered mobile device, see
[0032] to [0033)). Sweeney does not specifically disclose dynamically filtering to only
include telephone numbers that are not allocated by a telecom operator at the time said
one or more list of telephone numbers are presented. However, Przybysz discloses
dynamically filtering to only include telephone numbers that are not allocated by a
telecom operator at the time said one or more list of telephone numbers are presented
(detecting identities including telephone numbers owned by the IMS network operator
and will be able to determine that an identity belongs to the operator but is unallocated,
see abstract, fig.3, [0040]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Przybysz's teachings into the computer system of Sweeney to control unallocated telephone numbers because it would have allowed operators and service providers to control user access to services and to charge users accordingly (see Przybysz's [0005)).
As to claim 11, Sweeney discloses the first user already has at least one user account
with the first communication service provider prior to creation said first user account(see
[0031) to [0033)).
As to claim 12, Sweeney discloses creating, by a first user, a user account with a first communication service provider, by implementing the method of creating the one or more user account according to claim 1 (providing location-based
services to consumers by creating user accounts using a service provider, see fig.3,
[0031] to [0032)), connection of said first user to his user account with said first
communication service provider by means of a communication device and using the
telephone number assigned to said first users account, and initiation by said first user,
of a communication with said second user, for the establishment of a telephone-type
communication link between said first user and said second user (monitoring the
presence of the registered mobile device at one or more shopping facilities and detects
a registered mobile device, the process retrieves a user profile associated with the
detected registered mobile device, see [0032] to [0034)).
As to claim 13, Sweeney discloses activating said first telephone number selected by the first user, with a third party provider, and/or one or more telephone operators (see [0032] to [0033}).
As to claim 14, Sweeney discloses the communication comprises exchanging voice,
images, video, and a combination thereof (see [0032]).
As to claim 15, Sweeney discloses wherein a logout step is added after the step of
creating an account, and before the log in step (see [0031)).
As to claim 16, Sweeney discloses system for establishing a communication link
between a first user and a second user for implementing the method of claim 12, said
system comprising a first user with a communication device and a first communication
service provider, comprising one or more software applications and/or one or more
Internet pages (providing location-based services to consumers by creating user
accounts using a service provider, see fig.3, [0031] to [0032]) one or more processing
servers, proposing one or more lists of telephone numbers and allowing the creation of
a user account, having as identifier one of the proposed telephone numbers, at least
one second communication service provider and one or more telephone communication
networks, allowing data communication and/or one or more Internet networks and one
or more operators running said network(s) (monitoring the presence of the registered
mobile device at one or more shopping facilities and detects a registered mobile device,
the process retrieves a user profile associated with the detected registered mobile
device, see [0032] to [(0033]). Sweeney does not specifically disclose dynamically
filtering to only include telephone numbers that are not allocated by a telecom operator
at the time said one or more list of telephone numbers are presented. However,
Przybysz discloses dynamically filtering to only include telephone numbers that are not
allocated by a telecom operator at the time said one or more list of telephone numbers
are presented (detecting identities including telephone numbers owned by the IMS
network operator and will be able to determine that an identity belongs to the operator
but is unallocated, see abstract, fig.3, [0040]). It would have been obvious to one of the
ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Przybysz's teachings into the computer system of Sweeney to control unallocated telephone numbers because it would have allowed operators and service providers to control user access to services and to charge users accordingly (see Przybysz's [0005)).
As to claim 17, Sweeeny discloses said one or more lists of telephone numbers
contains only telephone numbers that are not allocated by a telecom operator at the
time said one or more lists of telephone numbers are presented, further includes
telephone numbers which are not already associated with a SIM, eSIM, or virtual
number (see [0032] to [0034]).
As to claim 18, Sweeeny discloses said one or more lists of telephone numbers
contains only telephone numbers that are not allocated by a telecom operator at the
time said one or more lists of telephone numbers are presented, further includes
telephone numbers which are not already associated with a SIM, eSIM, or virtual
number (see [0032] to [0034]).
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 20, Sweeny discloses wherein said telephone numbers presented in said one or more lists: are not associated with a SIM , eSim or virtual number at the time of the presentation and upon deletion of said user account, said assigned telephone number is returned to a pool of unallocated telephone numbers for possible assignments (see [0032] to [0035] and [0135]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeney
and Przybysz and Pzzybyzs and Thompson as in above and in view of Ring et al., US Pub. No.20120033610.
As to claim 2, Sweeney and Przybysz's and Thompson’s teachings still applied as in item 3 above. Neither Sweeney nor Przybysz specifically disclose the communication device is a landline telephone. However, Ring discloses the communication device is a landline telephone (landline services, see [0039]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to implement Ring's teachings into the computer system of Sweeney to process data information because it would have provided a plurality of user identities or personas on a single mobile device in a communication network (see [0040]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on 2/25/26 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s)
under 1-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has
been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is
made in view of Thompson et al., US 20220058583.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
examiner should be directed to Khanh Dinh whose telephone number is (571) 272-
3936. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.m.
to 5:00 P.m.
supervisor, Cheema Umar, can be reached on (571) 270-3037. The fax phone number
for this group is (703) 872-9306.
mailing date of this communication. Failure to response within the period for response
will cause the application to become abandoned (35 U.S.C. Sect. 133). Extensions of
time may be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(A). Information regarding
the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information
Retrieval IPAIRI system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PMR or Public PMR. Status information for unpublished applications
is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system,
see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private
PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/KHANH Q DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458