2. Claims 1-14, 16-17, and 19-34 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 16-17, and 19-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aghara et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0150597), herein after referred to as Aghara, in view of Rathod (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0338081).
Regarding independent claim 1, Aghara discloses an apparatus (Figures 1 and 5A-5B reference HMD 100/500 as described in paragraph [0054].), comprising:
one or more displays [ ] (Figures 1 and 5A-5B reference display unit 100/510 comprising left eye display 132 and right eye display 132.);
a housing to which the one or more displays are mounted (Figure 5B reference display unit 510 depicted housing left and right displays.), wherein the housing is configured to be worn on a head of a user in a manner that allows eyes of the user to see images displayed on the one or more displays (Figure 5A-5B reference HMD 500 (head mounted display) described in paragraph [0021] to be worn by a user.);
at least two adjustable cushions attached to the housing and configured to make contact with the head when the housing is worn on the head (Figures 5A-5B reference strap harness 520 depicted with three straps described in paragraphs [0053]-[0054] to be inflated/deflated to provide proper and comfortable fit based on pressure sensing. A cushion includes the definition of material which softens an impact or force. The described inflatable straps to provide a comfortable fit based on pressure is within the scope of a cushion.);
[ ]; and
one or more processors configured to [ ] control one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions [ ] (Figure 1 and paragraph [0037] describes microcontroller 124 to control the motor 128 and pump 130 for automatic control of straps of the HMD. Figure 5B reference motor and pump to inflate or deflate straps 545 to provide a desired/proper and comfortable fit as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0054].).
Aghara does not specifically disclose the cushion adjustment system comprising: at least one valve coupled with at least one of the two adjustable cushions; the one or more processors configured to process to provide haptic feedback simulating a physical sensation associated with an in-game event for the user by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve.
Rathod discloses at least one valve coupled with at least two adjustable cushions (Figure 8 reference bladders 806-A through 806-N (depicted as at least three) described in paragraph [0145] to be connected to a manifold 812 by one or more valves.);
one or more processor (814) configured to process an in-game event (Paragraph [0148] describes the artificial mixed reality system provides functionality in one or more applications including games (describing the event to be an in-game event).) and provide haptic feedback that simulates a physical sensation associated with the event for the user (Paragraph [0144] describes a controller 814 to send one or more signals to pressure changing device 810 to specify a desired pressure at the haptic assembly 822 at a particular time. The particular time exampled when a user makes contact with an artificial coffee mug. Paragraph [0142] describes the haptic assemblies 822 are configured to transition between different pressurized states to provide haptic feedback to the user in view of artificial reality.) by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve (Paragraph [0145] describes controller 814 controls the one or more valves of the manifold 812 to switchably couple the haptic assemblies 822 based on the control signals from the controller 814.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Aghara’s apparatus comprising one or more displays and at least two adjustable cushions with the known technique of at least one valve coupled with at least two adjustable cushions; one or more processor configured to process an in-game event and provide haptic feedback that simulates a physical sensation associated with the event for the user by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve yielding the predictable results of providing haptic feedback, in view of artificial reality, to the user that the action was performed as disclosed by Rathod (paragraph [0141]-[0142]).
Regarding claim 2, Aghara discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to adjust, based on input received from a user, a size of each of the at least two adjustable cushions (Paragraph [0059] describes user’s profile data for automatic adjustment of the straps and a user can do manual final adjustment which can be saved with the user’s profile.).
Regarding claim 3, Aghara discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to maintain different sizes for each of the at least two adjustable cushions (Paragraph [0055] describes the top strap to inflate to a first threshold and one or more of the side straps to inflate to a second threshold.).
Regarding claim 4, Aghara discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive information indicative of a current size of each of the at least two adjustable cushions (Paragraph [0053] describes inflating/deflating based on pressure detected by pressure signal data form pressure sensors 540. This describes an indirect means of determining the cushion/strap sizes via the relationship of increased pressure is indicative of increase size.).
Regarding claim 5, Aghara discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to communicate with a system for saving the information indicative of a current size of each of the at least two adjustable cushions (Paragraph [0059] describes user’s profile data for automatic adjustment of the straps and a user can do manual final adjustment which can be saved with the user’s profile.).
Regarding claim 6, Aghara discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to automatically adjust the size of each of the at least two adjustable cushions (Paragraph [0059] describes user’s profile data for automatic adjustment of the straps.).
Regarding claim 7, Aghara discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the at least two adjustable cushions comprises one or more bladders associated with each of the at least two adjustable cushions (Definition of a bladder includes anything inflated and hollow. Figures 5A-5B and paragraph [0051] describes the straps to inflate. Straps are within the scope of interpretation of a bladder. Aghara figure 5B discloses three cushions 545 each a single inflatable strap/bladder.).
Regarding claim 8, Aghara discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the at least two adjustable cushions comprises an inflation system configured to adjust a size of each of the at least two adjustable cushions by adjusting an amount of pressure in one or more bladders associated with each of the at least two adjustable cushions (Paragraph [0055] describes the top strap to inflate to a first threshold and one or more of the side straps to inflate to a second threshold.).
Regarding claim 9, Aghara discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the inflation system is further configured to maintain different amounts of pressure in each of the one or more bladders associated with each of the at least two adjustable cushions (Paragraph [0055] describes the top strap to inflate to a first threshold and one or more of the side straps to inflate to a second threshold.).
Regarding claim 10, Rathod discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions comprises a haptics capability (Paragraph [0142] describes the haptic assemblies 822 are configured to transition between different pressurized states to provide haptic feedback to the user in view of artificial reality.).
Regarding claim 11, Aghara discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions comprises:
one or more bladders; and
at least one air cell located within the one or more bladders, wherein the air cell is configured to be inflated separately from the one or more bladders (Support for the subject matter is found in applicant’s figure 6 and corresponding description which states three air cells 612, 614, 616 are capable of being inflated separately from the main chamber 606 of the air bladder. It is noted paragraph [0023] describes the adjustable cushions may be formed from and/or include a bladder or other similar item that is inflatable such as a cell. This implies the bladder and air cell are two names for the same function of inflating/deflating. In view of the support, prior art Aghara discloses three straps in figures 5A-5B which are individually inflatable via motors and pumps 545 as described in paragraphs [0052]-[0053]. One of the straps may be labeled a bladder while the other two (such as the sides) may be labeled air cells.).
Regarding independent claim 12, Aghara discloses a method, comprising:
detecting an [ ] event indicating that one or more adjustable cushions attached to an interior of a head-mounted display (HMD) should be modified (Paragraph [0059] describes user’s profile data for automatic adjustment of the straps once the user wears the HMD (event) and a user can do manual final adjustment which can be saved with the user’s profile. An additional event is described in paragraph [0054] when a user presses a button to deflate and loosen the straps for removal of the HDM. Another event is described in paragraph [0063] wherein the HMD comprises an IMU which sends data to the HMD to readjust the straps in real time.), wherein the HMD includes at least two adjustable cushions configured to make contact with a head of a user when the HMD is worn on the head of the user (Figures 5A-5B reference strap harness 520 depicted with three straps described in paragraphs [0053]-[0054] to be inflated/deflated to provide proper and comfortable fit based on pressure sensing. A cushion includes the definition of material which softens an impact or force. The described inflatable straps to provide a comfortable fit based on pressure is within the scope of a cushion.) and [ ];
[ ] control one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions [ ] (Figure 1 and paragraph [0037] describes microcontroller 124 to control the motor 128 and pump 130 for automatic control of straps of the HMD. Figure 5B reference motor and pump to inflate or deflate straps 545 to provide a desired/proper and comfortable fit as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0054].).
Aghara does not specifically disclose the cushion adjustment system comprising: at least one valve coupled with at least one of the two adjustable cushions; the one or more processors configured to process to provide haptic feedback simulating a physical sensation associated with an in-game event for the user by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve.
Rathod discloses at least one valve coupled with at least two adjustable cushions (Figure 8 reference bladders 806-A through 806-N (depicted as at least three) described in paragraph [0145] to be connected to a manifold 812 by one or more valves.);
one or more processor (814) configured to process an in-game event (Paragraph [0148] describes the artificial mixed reality system provides functionality in one or more applications including games (describing the event to be an in-game event).) and provide haptic feedback that simulates a physical sensation associated with the event for the user (Paragraph [0144] describes a controller 814 to send one or more signals to pressure changing device 810 to specify a desired pressure at the haptic assembly 822 at a particular time. The particular time exampled when a user makes contact with an artificial coffee mug. Paragraph [0142] describes the haptic assemblies 822 are configured to transition between different pressurized states to provide haptic feedback to the user in view of artificial reality.) by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve (Paragraph [0145] describes controller 814 controls the one or more valves of the manifold 812 to switchably couple the haptic assemblies 822 based on the control signals from the controller 814.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Aghara’s apparatus comprising one or more displays and at least two adjustable cushions with the known technique of at least one valve coupled with at least two adjustable cushions; one or more processor configured to process an in-game event and provide haptic feedback that simulates a physical sensation associated with the event for the user by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve yielding the predictable results of providing haptic feedback, in view of artificial reality, to the user that the action was performed as disclosed by Rathod (paragraph [0141]-[0142]).
Regarding claim 13, Aghara discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the detecting an event indicating that one or more adjustable cushions attached to an interior of a head-mounted display (HMD) should be modified in size comprises: detecting that a current user of the HMD has completed use of the HMD (Completed use of the HMD is interpreted to regard attempt to remove the HMD. Paragraph [0054] describes when a user presses a button to deflate and loosen the straps for removal of the HDM.).
Regarding claim 14, Aghara discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the detecting that a current user of the HMD has completed use of the HMD comprises:
detecting that the current user of the HMD has completed use of the HMD based on one or more of user input data (Completed use of the HMD is interpreted to regard attempt to remove the HMD. Paragraph [0054] describes when a user presses a button (user input data) to deflate and loosen the straps for removal of the HDM.), camera data, or data from a sensor.
Regarding claim 16, Aghara discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the detecting a next user of the HMD is based on one or more of user input data, user profile data, biometrics data, camera data, or data from a sensor (Paragraphs [0057]-[0059] describes identification such as fingerprint sensor and iris scan sensor (considered user input data/biometric/camera/data/sensor).).
Regarding claim 17, Aghara discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising modifying the one or more adjustable cushions attached to an interior of a head-mounted display (HMD) based on data received from a sensor on the HMD indicating that the one or more adjustable cushions should be adjusted (Paragraph [0063] describes the HMD to comprise an IMU which sends data to the HMD to readjust the straps in real time.).
Regarding claim 19, Aghara discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising:
determining a size to which each of the one or more adjustable cushions should be adjusted based on one or more of user input data, user profile data, biometrics data, preset size configurations, or default size options (Paragraph [0059] describes user’s profile data for automatic adjustment of the straps once the user wears the HMD and a user can do manual final adjustment which can be saved with the user’s profile. Describing user input data, user profile data, and preset size configurations. Paragraphs [0057]-[0059] describes biometric data used to identify a user for the profile. Paragraph [0054] describes a user may press a button, once the HMD is worn on their head, such that the straps/cushions inflate based on pressure data (void of profile data) which may be interpreted as “default size options”.).
Regarding claim 20, Aghara discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising:
determining a size to which each of the one or more adjustable cushions should be modified to be based on a next user of the HMD (Paragraphs [0005] and [0022] describes the intent of the invention is in regards to multiple user utilizing a single HMD and each user comprising various head size and shape requiring large amount of adjustment for the HMD to fit. Paragraphs [0057]-[0061] describes user profile data that is stored and loaded based on user identification (detecting next user)) for automatic adjustment of the HMD.).
Regarding claim 21, Aghara discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the determining an identity of a next user of the HMD comprises:
determining the identity of the next user of the HMD based on one or more of user input data, user profile data, or biometrics data (Paragraphs [0005] and [0022] describes the intent of the invention is in regards to multiple user utilizing a single HMD and each user comprising various head size and shape requiring large amount of adjustment for the HMD to fit. Paragraphs [0057]-[0061] describes user profile data that is stored and loaded based on user identification (detecting next user)) for automatic adjustment of the HMD. Said paragraphs describes identification in regards to biometric data including fingerprint sensor or iris scanner.).
Regarding claim 22, Aghara discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising:
automatically modifying the one or more adjustable cushions to the size determined for each of the one or more adjustable cushions by
determining the HMD is being worn by a next user before automatically adjusting the one or more adjustable cushions to the size determined for each of the one or more adjustable cushions (Paragraph [0059] describes automatic adjust is done “once the user wears/puts on the HMD”. Paragraph [0022] describes multiple users.).
Regarding claim 23, Aghara discloses the method of claim 12, wherein: each of the at least two adjustable cushions comprises one or more bladders (Definition of a bladder includes anything inflated and hollow. Figures 5A-5B and paragraph [0051] describes the straps to inflate. Straps are within the scope of interpretation of a bladder.); and
modifying the one or more adjustable cushions comprises adjusting an amount of pressure in each of the one or more bladders associated with each of the one or more adjustable cushions (Paragraph [0053] describes inflating/deflating based on pressure detected by pressure signal data form pressure sensors 540.).
Regarding claim 24, Aghara discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising:
modifying, any of the at least two adjustable cushions in response to input from a user to achieve a desired fit of the HMD on the head of the user (Figure 5B reference motor and pump to inflate or deflate straps 545 to provide a desired/proper and comfortable fit as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0054]. Paragraph [0059] describes a user can do manual final adjustments of the fit.).
Regarding independent claim 25, Aghara discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more computer instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the processors to perform operations (Paragraph [0078]) comprising:
detecting an [ ] event indicating that one or more adjustable cushions attached to an interior of a head-mounted display (HMD) should be modified (Paragraph [0059] describes user’s profile data for automatic adjustment of the straps once the user wears the HMD (event) and a user can do manual final adjustment which can be saved with the user’s profile. An additional event is described in paragraph [0054] when a user presses a button to deflate and loosen the straps for removal of the HDM. Another event is described in paragraph [0063] wherein the HMD comprises an IMU which sends data to the HMD to readjust the straps in real time.), wherein the HMD includes at least two adjustable cushions configured to make contact with a head of a user when the HMD is worn on the head of the user (Figures 5A-5B reference strap harness 520 depicted with three straps described in paragraphs [0053]-[0054] to be inflated/deflated to provide proper and comfortable fit based on pressure sensing. A cushion includes the definition of material which softens an impact or force. The described inflatable straps to provide a comfortable fit based on pressure is within the scope of a cushion.) and [ ];
[ ]; and
one or more processors configured to [ ] control one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions [ ] (Figure 1 and paragraph [0037] describes microcontroller 124 to control the motor 128 and pump 130 for automatic control of straps of the HMD. Figure 5B reference motor and pump to inflate or deflate straps 545 to provide a desired/proper and comfortable fit as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0054].).
Aghara does not specifically disclose the cushion adjustment system comprising: at least one valve coupled with at least one of the two adjustable cushions; the one or more processors configured to process to provide haptic feedback simulating a physical sensation associated with an in-game event for the user by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve.
Rathod discloses at least one valve coupled with at least two adjustable cushions (Figure 8 reference bladders 806-A through 806-N (depicted as at least three) described in paragraph [0145] to be connected to a manifold 812 by one or more valves.);
one or more processor (814) configured to process an in-game event (Paragraph [0148] describes the artificial mixed reality system provides functionality in one or more applications including games (describing the event to be an in-game event).) and provide haptic feedback that simulates a physical sensation associated with the event for the user (Paragraph [0144] describes a controller 814 to send one or more signals to pressure changing device 810 to specify a desired pressure at the haptic assembly 822 at a particular time. The particular time exampled when a user makes contact with an artificial coffee mug. Paragraph [0142] describes the haptic assemblies 822 are configured to transition between different pressurized states to provide haptic feedback to the user in view of artificial reality.) by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve (Paragraph [0145] describes controller 814 controls the one or more valves of the manifold 812 to switchably couple the haptic assemblies 822 based on the control signals from the controller 814.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Aghara’s apparatus comprising one or more displays and at least two adjustable cushions with the known technique of at least one valve coupled with at least two adjustable cushions; one or more processor configured to process an in-game event and provide haptic feedback that simulates a physical sensation associated with the event for the user by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve yielding the predictable results of providing haptic feedback, in view of artificial reality, to the user that the action was performed as disclosed by Rathod (paragraph [0141]-[0142]).
Regarding claim 26, Aghara discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 25, wherein operations further comprise modifying the one or more adjustable cushions attached to an interior of a head-mounted display (HMD) based on detecting that a current user of the HMD has completed use of the HMD (Completed use of the HMD is interpreted to regard attempt to remove the HMD. Paragraph [0054] describes when a user presses a button to deflate and loosen the straps for removal of the HDM.).
Regarding claim 27, Aghara discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 25, wherein operations further comprise modifying the one or more adjustable cushions attached to an interior of a head-mounted display (HMD) based on detecting a next user of the HMD (Paragraphs [0005] and [0022] describes the intent of the invention is in regards to multiple user utilizing a single HMD and each user comprising various head size and shape requiring large amount of adjustment for the HMD to fit. Paragraphs [0057]-[0061] describes user profile data that is stored and loaded based on user identification (detecting next user)) for automatic adjustment of the HMD.).
Regarding claim 28, Aghara discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 25, wherein the operations further comprise:
determining the size to which each of the one or more adjustable cushions should be modified based on one or more of user input data, user profile data, biometrics data, preset size configurations, or default size options (Paragraph [0059] describes user’s profile data for automatic adjustment of the straps once the user wears the HMD and a user can do manual final adjustment which can be saved with the user’s profile. Describing user input data, user profile data, and preset size configurations. Paragraphs [0057]-[0059] describes biometric data used to identify a user for the profile. Paragraph [0054] describes a user may press a button, once the HMD is worn on their head, such that the straps/cushions inflate based on pressure data (void of profile data) which may be interpreted as “default size options”.).
Regarding independent claim 29, Aghara discloses a system (Figures 1 and 5A-5B reference HMD 100/500 as described in paragraph [0054].), comprising:
a head-mounted display (HMD) that includes at least two adjustable cushions attached to an interior of the HMD that are configured to make contact with a head of a user when the HMD is worn on the head of the user (Figures 5A-5B reference strap harness 520, of HMD 500, depicted with three straps described in paragraphs [0053]-[0054] to be inflated/deflated to provide proper and comfortable fit based on pressure sensing. A cushion includes the definition of material which softens an impact or force. The described inflatable straps to provide a comfortable fit based on pressure is within the scope of a cushion.) and [ ]; and
a processor-based system configured to execute operations (paragraph [0078]) comprising,
detecting an [ ] event;
in response to the detecting the [ ] event (Paragraph [0059] describes user’s profile data for automatic adjustment of the straps once the user wears the HMD (event) and a user can do manual final adjustment which can be saved with the user’s profile. An additional event is described in paragraph [0054] when a user presses a button to deflate and loosen the straps for removal of the HDM. Another event is described in paragraph [0063] wherein the HMD comprises an IMU which sends data to the HMD to readjust the straps in real time.);
in response to the detecting an [ ] event, providing [ ] feedback [ ] associated with the [ ] event for the user by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions [ ] (Figure 1 and paragraph [0037] describes microcontroller 124 to control the motor 128 and pump 130 for automatic control of straps of the HMD. Figure 5B reference motor and pump to inflate or deflate straps 545 to provide a desired/proper and comfortable fit as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0054].).
Aghara does not specifically disclose the cushion adjustment system comprising: at least one valve coupled with at least one of the two adjustable cushions; the one or more processors configured to process to provide haptic feedback simulating a physical sensation associated with an in-game event for the user by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve.
Rathod discloses at least one valve coupled with at least two adjustable cushions (Figure 8 reference bladders 806-A through 806-N (depicted as at least three) described in paragraph [0145] to be connected to a manifold 812 by one or more valves.);
one or more processor (814) configured to process an in-game event (Paragraph [0148] describes the artificial mixed reality system provides functionality in one or more applications including games (describing the event to be an in-game event).) and provide haptic feedback that simulates a physical sensation associated with the event for the user (Paragraph [0144] describes a controller 814 to send one or more signals to pressure changing device 810 to specify a desired pressure at the haptic assembly 822 at a particular time. The particular time exampled when a user makes contact with an artificial coffee mug. Paragraph [0142] describes the haptic assemblies 822 are configured to transition between different pressurized states to provide haptic feedback to the user in view of artificial reality.) by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve (Paragraph [0145] describes controller 814 controls the one or more valves of the manifold 812 to switchably couple the haptic assemblies 822 based on the control signals from the controller 814.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Aghara’s apparatus comprising one or more displays and at least two adjustable cushions with the known technique of at least one valve coupled with at least two adjustable cushions; one or more processor configured to process an in-game event and provide haptic feedback that simulates a physical sensation associated with the event for the user by controlling one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions by the at least one valve yielding the predictable results of providing haptic feedback, in view of artificial reality, to the user that the action was performed as disclosed by Rathod (paragraph [0141]-[0142]).
Regarding claim 30, Aghara discloses the system of claim 29, further comprising modifying the one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions based on detecting that a current user of the HMD has completed use of the HMD (Completed use of the HMD is interpreted to regard attempt to remove the HMD. Paragraph [0054] describes when a user presses a button to deflate and loosen the straps for removal of the HDM.).
Regarding claim 31, Aghara discloses the system of claim 29, further comprising modifying the one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions based on detecting a next user of the HMD (Paragraphs [0005] and [0022] describes the intent of the invention is in regards to multiple user utilizing a single HMD and each user comprising various head size and shape requiring large amount of adjustment for the HMD to fit. Paragraphs [0057]-[0061] describes user profile data that is stored and loaded based on user identification (detecting next user)) for automatic adjustment of the HMD.).
Regarding claim 32, Aghara discloses the system of claim 29, further comprising:
determining a size to which each of the one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions should be adjusted to based on one or more of user input data, user profile data, biometrics data, preset size configurations, or default size options (Paragraph [0059] describes user’s profile data for automatic adjustment of the straps once the user wears the HMD and a user can do manual final adjustment which can be saved with the user’s profile. Describing user input data, user profile data, and preset size configurations. Paragraphs [0057]-[0059] describes biometric data used to identify a user for the profile. Paragraph [0054] describes a user may press a button, once the HMD is worn on their head, such that the straps/cushions inflate based on pressure data (void of profile data) which may be interpreted as “default size options”.).
4. Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aghara-Rathod, in view of Savicki et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0183690), herein after referred to as Savicki.
Regarding claim 34, Rathod discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one air bladder (Figure 8 806) coupled to the at least one valve via a tube (808) (Paragraph [0145] describes bladders 806 to be connected to a manifold 812 by one or more valves and tubing 808.), [ ].
Rathod does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one air bladder comprises at least one main chamber, and wherein the at least one main chamber comprises a plurality of air cells, each air cell being configured to be inflated or deflated independently from the main chamber and independently of each other air cell; and wherein the controlling the one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions comprises inflating or deflating at least one of the main chamber or at least one air cell of the plurality of air cells via the valve.
Savicki discloses at least one air bladder (Figure 2 106) coupled to the at least one valve (108 paragraph [0016] describes the motor to comprise a valve) via a tube (110), wherein the at least one air bladder comprises at least one main chamber, and wherein the at least one main chamber comprises a plurality of air cells (paragraph [0015]), each air cell being configured to be inflated or deflated independently from the main chamber and independently of each other air cell (Paragraph [0020]); and
wherein the controlling the one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions comprises inflating or deflating at least one of the main chamber or at least one air cell of the plurality of air cells via the valve (Paragraph [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Rathod’s bladder with the known technique of wherein the at least one air bladder comprises at least one main chamber, and wherein the at least one main chamber comprises a plurality of air cells, each air cell being configured to be inflated or deflated independently from the main chamber and independently of each other air cell; and wherein the controlling the one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions comprises inflating or deflating at least one of the main chamber or at least one air cell of the plurality of air cells via the valve yielding the predictable results of a user adjustable firmness as disclosed by Savicki (paragraph [0015]).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 33 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 33, Rathod discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one air bladder (806) (Paragraph [0143] describes the bladder 806 may contain a medium such as air that can be added or removed to change the pressure.) coupled to the at least one valve via a tube (808) (Figure 8 reference bladders 806-A through 806-N (depicted as at least three) described in paragraph [0145] to be connected to a manifold 812 by one or more valves and tubing 808.);
[ ]; and
wherein the controlling the one or more of the at least two adjustable cushion comprises inflating or deflating the one or more of the at least one air bladder via the at least one valve (Paragraph [0145] describes controller 814 controls the one or more valves of the manifold 812 to switchably couple the haptic assemblies 822 based on the control signals from the controller 814.) and [ ].
Rathod does not specifically disclose at least one vibration device encased within one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions, the at least one vibration device including one or more rods that encircle a respective one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions; and actuating the one or more rods via the at least one vibration device to vibrate the one or more of the at least two adjustable cushions.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2025 have been fully considered and relate to newly amended subject matter. New cited art Rathod and Savicki are utilized in combination with Aghara to disclose the subject matter. Please refer to the above office action as the rebuttal. This action is final.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621