DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims of May 28, 2026, in response to the Office Action of November 28, 2026, are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
The rejections under §§ 101 and 112 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
With regard to new claim 41, the examiner cites: Barot et al., “Mitochondrial Dysfunction in Retinal Diseases,” Curr Eye Res. 2011 December ; 36(12): 1069–1077. Barot explains that mitochondrial dysfunction is associated with AMD. Future therapeutic strategies are taught to target mitochondria to block the retarding effects of mitochondrial dysfunction. See p8. Similarly, Field et al., “Noninvasive Imaging of Mitochondrial Dysfunction in Dry Age-Related Macular Degeneration,” Ophthalmic Surgery, Lasers and Imaging Retina Volume 43, Number 5 Pages 358 – 365 July 2012, teaches that mitochondrial dysfunction is implicated in the pathogenesis of ARMD.
Applicant’s arguments and allegations of unexpected results have been thoroughly considered in their entirety.
Applicant traverses the rejection under § 103 by arguing that unexpected results are presented. In support thereof, Applicant submits a Declaration by Dr. Nady Golestaneh showing that fenofibrate reverses symptoms of dry AMD rather than just treating them.
The examiner does not dispute the allegations provided in the declaration. However, the examiner notes that unexpectedly superior results means unexpectedly superior as compared to the closest prior art. Such showing must establish that the result being alleged would was unexpected as compared to that taught by the cited prior art. Further, any showing must be commensurate in scope with the breadth of the claims.
In this case, the showing is limited to fenofibrate. There is no claim limited to fenofibrate. Further, there is no dosage claimed in any claim nor route of administration. As such, even if shown, the allegations are not commensurate in scope with the breadth of the claims.
Moreover, Wassel (the primary reference) teaches formulations for topical delivery of therapeutically effective amounts of lipophilic APIs to treat eye conditions, including age-related macular degeneration, including dry age-related macular degeneration. See par.’s 127-129. The API in the composition can be fenofibrate. See Abstract. A concentration can be 0.5% or 3% fenofibrate, as examples. See par.’s 43 and 44.
As such, the prior art teaches administering the claimed agent to a claimed subject (i.e., one that has dry AMD) and is therefore capable of having or needing a reversal of symptoms. When Wassel administers fenofibrate to a subject with dry AMD, it would appear that such administration would do that which is described in the declaration- irrespective of whether such result was recognized at the time. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Here, absent evidence to the contrary, when fenofibrate is administered to a subject with dry ARMD as taught by Wassel, the results of such steps would yield that which is described by Applicant in the Declaration of Dr. Nady Golestaneh submitted to the Office on May 28, 2026.
As such, the rejections of record are maintained.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 14, 26-30, 35-41 are pending. Claims 1-3, 14, 29, 30, and 35-37 are withdrawn. Claims 26-28 and 38-41 are examined.
Claim rejections – 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 26-28 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wassel et al. in US 2014/0275263 et al.(cited in IDS), in view of Chiras et al. in Critical Reviews in Clinical Laboratory Sciences, 52(1): 12 – 27 (2015) (cited in IDS), and in view of del V Cano et al. in PPAR Research Volume 2008, Article ID 821592, 5 pages (2008) (cited in IDS).
Wassel teaches formulations for topical delivery of therapeutically effective amounts of lipophilic APIs to treat eye conditions, including age-related macular degeneration, including dry age-related macular degeneration. See par.’s 127-129. The API in the composition can be fenofibrate. See Abstract. A concentration can be 0.5% or 3% fenofibrate, as examples. See par.’s 43 and 44.
Further, Chiras teaches epidemiologic, genetic and molecular studies support a major role for oxidative stress in the development of dry AMD and that understanding the early molecular events in the pathogenesis and the exact role of oxidative stress in dry AMD may provide novel opportunities for therapeutic intervention for the prevention of progression to advanced disease (See Abstract, p15). Chiras teaches that oxidative stress refers to cellular or molecular damage caused by reactive oxygen species, which especially occurs in age-related conditions as a result of an imbalance between the production of reactive oxygen species and the antioxidant defense response. Chiras teaches the antioxidants used to minimize oxidative stress include the major antioxidant enzymes superoxide dismutase (SOD), glutathione peroxidase (GPx) and catalase and none-enzyme molecules such as glutathione (GSH) (page 13, Figure 1). Overall, Chiras sets forth a mechanistic basis for treating dry AMD; i.e. minimizing role of oxidative stress, caused by reactive oxygen species.
Moreover, Del V Cano teaches PPAR-α as potential therapeutic agents for the treatment of AMD. Del V Cano teaches biological pathways important to the onset and progression of dry AMD include immune modulation, lipid regulation and oxidant/antioxidant pathways. See Abstract.
Del V Cano teaches fenofibrate is a ligand known to activate PPAR-α (which is present in the retina) and that activation of PPAR-α may have a potential role in oxidant/antioxidant pathways now strongly implicated in the pathogenesis of dry AMD. See page 2.
Del V Cano teaches there is a substantial literature linking oxidative damage to dry AMD pathogenesis and that PPAR-α could theoretically inhibit AMD progression via effects on oxidative pathways. Del V Cano teaches it has been previously reported that PPAR-α activation induces the expression and activation of antioxidant enzymes, such as super oxide dismutase and glutathione peroxidase. Del V Cano teaches antioxidants can provide direct protection to the retina as supported by a clinical trial adding antioxidants to the routine care of dry AMD. Del V Cano teaches because fenofibrates PPAR-α activators (or agonists) have an established safety profile, when administered orally and it is important to examine the potential beneficial effects of fenofibrate on onset and progression of nonneovascular “(dry)” AMD disease and conversion from dry to wet AMD disease. See page 3.
The combination of Wassel, Chiras and del V Cano renders prima facie obvious a method of treating dry AMD by administering a fibrate, such as the PPARα agonist compound fenofibrate to a subject in need thereof with a reasonable expectation of success because oxidative stress plays a major role in the development of dry AMD and because fenofibrate is an antioxidant, known to activate antioxidant enzymes, such as super oxide dismutase and glutathione peroxidase, and thus will reduce oxidative stress.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to administer a claimed fibrate to a subject with dry AMD. This is taught by Wassel. Further, Chiras sets forth a mechanistic basis for treating dry AMD; i.e. minimizing role of oxidative stress, caused by reactive oxygen species while del V Cano teaches a fibrate to work through such mechanistic bases and notes that fenofibrate through those specific mechanisms can treated dry AMD. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable basis that a claimed agent will treat a subject with AMD and that such administration will have a claimed effect secondary to administration as a known mechanistic basis for mitigating dry AMD.
Claims 26-28 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wassel et al. in US 2014/0275263 et al., in view of Chiras et al. in Critical Reviews in Clinical Laboratory Sciences, 52(1): 12 – 27 (2015), del V Cano et al. in PPAR Research Volume 2008, Article ID 821592, 5 pages (2008) and Egger et al. in PLosOne 7(2), 1 – 12 (2012) (cited in IDS), in view of Roggia et al., αvβ5 Integrin/FAK/PGC-1α Pathway Confers Protective Effects on Retinal Pigment Epithelium,” PLOS One, published August 5, 2015 (cited in IDS), and in view of Zhang et al., “Derivation, culture and retinal pigment epithelial differentiation of human embryonic stem cells using human fibroblast feeder cells,” J Assist Reprod Genet (2012) 29:735-744.
Wassel teaches formulations for topical delivery of therapeutically effective amounts of lipophilic APIs to treat eye conditions, including age-related macular degeneration, including dry age-related macular degeneration. See par.’s 127-129. The API in the composition can be fenofibrate. See Abstract. A concentration can be 0.5% or 3% fenofibrate, as examples. See par.’s 43 and 44.
Wassel does not teach the steps of determining expression or activity levels of peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor gamma coactivator 1-alpha (PGC-1α).
Chiras teaches epidemiologic, genetic and molecular studies support a major role for oxidative stress in the development of dry AMD and that understanding the early molecular events in the pathogenesis and the exact role of oxidative stress in dry AMD may provide novel opportunities for therapeutic intervention for the prevention of progression to advanced disease (See Abstract, p15). Chiras teaches that oxidative stress refers to cellular or molecular damage caused by reactive oxygen species, which especially occurs in age-related conditions as a result of an imbalance between the production of reactive oxygen species and the antioxidant defense response. Chiras teaches the antioxidants used to minimize oxidative stress include the major antioxidant enzymes superoxide dismutase (SOD), glutathione peroxidase (GPx) and catalase and none-enzyme molecules such as glutathione (GSH) (page 13, Figure 1). Overall, Chiras sets forth a mechanistic basis for treating dry AMD; i.e. minimizing role of oxidative stress, caused by reactive oxygen species.
Del V Cano teaches PPAR-α as potential therapeutic agents for the treatment of AMD. Del V Cano teaches biological pathways important to the onset and progression of dry AMD include immune modulation, lipid regulation and oxidant/antioxidant pathways. See Abstract.
Del V Cano teaches fenofibrate is a ligand known to activate PPAR-α (which is present in the retina) and that activation of PPAR-α may have a potential role in oxidant/antioxidant pathways now strongly implicated in the pathogenesis of dry AMD. See page 2.
Del V Cano teaches there is a substantial literature linking oxidative damage to dry AMD pathogenesis and that PPAR-α could theoretically inhibit AMD progression via effects on oxidative pathways. Del V Cano teaches it has been previously reported that PPAR-α activation induces the expression and activation of antioxidant enzymes, such as super oxide dismutase and glutathione peroxidase. Del V Cano teaches antioxidants can provide direct protection to the retina as supported by a clinical trial adding antioxidants to the routine care of dry AMD. Del V Cano teaches because fenofibrates PPAR-α activators (or agonists) have an established safety profile, when administered orally and it is important to examine the potential beneficial effects of fenofibrate on onset and progression of nonneovascular “(dry)” AMD disease and conversion from dry to wet AMD disease. See page 3.
The combination of Wassel, Chiras and del V Cano renders prima facie obvious a method of treating dry AMD by administering a fibrate, such as the PPARα agonist compound fenofibrate to a subject in need thereof with a reasonable expectation of success because oxidative stress plays a major role in the development of dry AMD and because fenofibrate is an antioxidant, known to activate antioxidant enzymes, such as super oxide dismutase and glutathione peroxidase, and thus will reduce oxidative stress.
Wassel, Chiras and del V Cano do not teach or suggest the steps of determining expression or activity levels of peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor gamma coactivator 1-alpha (PGC-1α) in a sample obtained from the subject as recited in instant Claim 38.
Egger teaches peroxisome proliferator-activated receptor γ coactivator 1 (PGC-1) proteins are key regulators of cellular bioenergetics and are accordingly expressed in tissues with a high energetic demand. See Abstract. More specifically, Egger teaches PGC-1α is found at high levels in the retina and most prominently in the photoreceptors, 2) PGC-1α knockout mice suffer from a striking deterioration in retinal morphology and function upon detrimental light exposure, 3) Gene expression studies revealed dysregulation of all major pathways involved in retinal damage and apoptosis, repair and renewal in the PGC-1α knockouts, and 4) PGC-1α is a central coordinator of energy production and, importantly, all of the major processes involved in retinal damage and subsequent repair. See Abstract. Egger teaches that PGC-1α might be an attractive target for therapeutic approaches aimed at retinal degeneration diseases. See Abstract. Eggers teaches reduced levels of PGC-1α in retinal disease models. See Figures 1C and 1D.
Egger teaches pathological conditions of the retina such as age-related macular degeneration is associated with excess generation of reactive oxygen species (ROS), inflammation and endoplasmic reticulum stress, which result in apoptosis and tissue degeneration; wherein PGC-1α affects these processes by promoting ROS detoxification, ameliorating endoplasmic reticulum stress and modulating tissue as well as systemic inflammation. See p2.
Eggers also teaches PGC-1α promotes reactive oxygen species (ROS) detoxification in the retina, wherein an excess of ROS, is associated with age-related macular degeneration.
Roggia teaches AMD is associated with age-related abnormalities in the retinal pigment epithelium, among other tissues. Roggia explains the following at page 13:
Dry and wet AMD are the late stages of AMD, wherein the degeneration cannot be fully reversed. Choriocapillaris is maintained by VEGF secretion from RPE cells; the results of our previous study reveal that PGC-1α is an important regulator of VEGF expression in RPE cells, particularly in response to POS phagocytosis. Therefore, a therapeutic approach targeting PGC-1α at the early stage of AMD may suppress the progression of this disease.
Aging phenotypes in RPE are identified in PGC-1α deficient mice. Several compounds proposed to treat early stage AMD include those that induce PGC-1α. See p13. Roggia concludes: “In conclusion, we have found that the αvβ5 integrin/FAK/PGC-1α pathway is involved in POS-induced PGC-1α upregulation, which confers protective effects on RPE cells.” P14, 1st par. Further, the following is described with respect to dry AMD in the first full paragraph on page 13.
We identified accelerated aging phenotypes in RPE, Bruch’s membrane, and choriocapillaris of PGC-1α-deficient mice. The loss of choriocapillaris with age and in the early stage of AMD has been confirmed in humans. Moreover, loss of choriocapillaris and thickening of the Bruch’s membrane hampers nutrient supply to RPE cells and metabolite release from those cells, leading to RPE loss (i.e., dry AMD).
Thus, it appears that the nexus between dry AMD and PGC-1α is clear.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to administer a claimed fibrate to a subject with dry AMD. This is taught by Wassel. Further, Chiras sets forth a mechanistic basis for treating dry AMD; i.e. minimizing role of oxidative stress, caused by reactive oxygen species while del V Cano teaches a fibrate to work through such mechanistic bases and notes that fenofibrate through those specific mechanisms can treated dry AMD. As such, there is a reasonable and predictable basis that a claimed agent will treat a subject with AMD and that such administration will have a claimed effect secondary to administration as a known mechanistic basis for mitigating dry AMD. Further, Egger teaches i) pathological conditions of the retina such as age-related macular degeneration are associated with excess generation of reactive oxygen species (ROS), wherein PGC-1α affects these processes by promoting ROS detoxification; and ii) reduced levels of PGC-1α are observed in retinal disease models; and Roggia teaches: PGC-1α deficiency is related to aging phenotypes including dry AMD, and that upregulation of PGC-1α confers a protective benefit on RPE cells. Even further, a therapeutic approach targeting PGC-1α at the early stage of AMD may suppress the progression of this disease.
As such one of ordinary skill treating subjects suffering from dry AMD would have been motivated to determine whether the expression or activity levels of PGC-1α were reduced compared to normal levels (wherein “normal” levels are reasonably taken to be levels in a subject showing no measurable symptoms of dry AMD; i.e. an individual’s level of PGC-1α prior to the onset of dry AMD or an individual who does not display AMD; new Claims 61 – 63) because Egger teaches PGC-1α promotes ROS detoxification. Accordingly, reduced levels of PGC-1α (observed in the retinal disease models of Egger) would indicate higher levels of ROS and provide motivation to one of ordinary skill to administer the antioxidant fenofibrate, taught by del V Cano and Chiras to have a role in reducing ROS, a pathway strongly implicated in the pathogenesis of dry AMD (and moreover, taught to induce, through PPAR-α activation expression of antioxidant enzymes super oxide dismutase and glutathione peroxidase). Finally, it is noted that Egger’s teaching of determining levels of PGC-1α expression in various tissues would necessitate obtaining a sample from a subject to determine said levels as recited in step a) of instant Claim 38. Roggia strengthens the nexus between dry AMD and other aging phenotypes of RPE cells by establishing a relationship between PGC-1α deficiency and upregulation with aging phenotype and RPE protection, respectively. However, because the cited prior art references renders prima facie obvious administering the elected fibrate compound to the same patient population; i.e. subjects in need of treatment of dry AMD who have been determined to have a reduction in expression or activity levels of PGC-1α, any functional outcomes that accrue from said administration (e.g. inducing expression of PGC-1α in retinal pigment epithelial cells), would naturally flow, irrespective of whether the prior art was aware of said outcome.
Even further, Zhang teaches that the effects of various human feeders on growth of undifferentiated ESCs and two adult skin fibroblast cells lines established from abdominal skin biopsies supported prolonged growth over 30 weekly passages in culture. See p736, 3rd full par. Zhang studied ESCs from human foreskin and abdominal skin feeder cells for committed differentiation into RPE cells. Id. Cell replacement using functional RPE cells provides a hope to cure AMD that is caused by degeneration and dysfunction of the RPE. See p736, 2nd par. Abdominal fibroblasts can differentiate into RPE cells for therapies in treating retinal diseases, such as AMD. See p742, 2nd full par. Thus, using human skin derived RPE cells are more promising because they avoid heterologous contamination that was associated with mouse feeder layers. Overall and in view of Zhang a POSA would use a skin biopsy of abdominal skin feeder cells to obtain functional RPE for use as replacement therapy to treat dry AMD.
As such, no claim is allowed.
Conclusion
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628