DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10-13 and 21-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-13, 22-26 and 28-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZBINDEN et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20200280145 A1).
As per claim 1, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, comprising: a first contact 40; a contact support 18; and an elastically deformable element 30, wherein said first contact 40 protrudes (shown in figure 3) from said contact support 18, said connector 15 defines a contact direction ID, in a deformed state (30, shown in figure 8), said elastically deformable element 30 exerts a force (30, see paragraph 45) that urges said contact support 18 in said contact direction ID, and in an engaged state (shown in figure 8) of said connector 15, said force (30, see paragraph 45) contributes to a deformation (along 30) of said first contact 40.
As per claim 2, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, comprising: a housing (62 and 68), wherein said contact support 18 is elastically supported relative to said housing (62 and 68).
As per claim 3, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, comprising: a housing (62 and 68); and a signal transmission component (40, 40a), wherein said signal transmission component (40, 40a) is affixed to said housing (62 and 68), and in an unengaged state (along 30, shown in figure 3) of said connector 15, said signal transmission component (40, 40a) elastically supports said contact support 18 relative to said housing (62 and 68).
As per claim 4, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, wherein: in an unengaged state (along 30, shown in figure 3) of said connector 15, said signal transmission component (40, 40a) supports said contact support 18 such that said contact support 18 abuts said elastically deformable element 30.
As per claim 5, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, wherein: said signal transmission component (40, 40a) is elastically affixed to said housing (62 and 68).
As per claim 6, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, wherein: said first contact 40 is electrically connected to a conductor (along 40, 40a) of said signal transmission component (40, 40a).
As per claim 7, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, wherein: a protruding length (along 30) of said first contact 40 is less than a length selected from the group consisting of 5 mm, 2 mm, 1 mm, and 0.5 mm. (see paragraph 5)
As per claim 8, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, comprising: a second contact 40a that protrudes (shown in figure 3) from said contact support 18, wherein said first contact 40 is electrically insulated from said second contact 40a, and a distance from a central longitudinal axis (along ID) of said first contact 40 to a central longitudinal axis (along ID) of said second contact 40a is less than a distance selected from the group consisting of 2 mm, 1 mm, 0.5 mm, and 0.2 mm. (see paragraph 5)
As per claim 10, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, comprising: a connector 15; and a device (12, see paragraph 45), wherein said device (12, see paragraph 45) comprises: a planar surface (along ID) comprising a contact region (along 58) said connector 15 comprises: a contact support 18; an elastically deformable element 30; and a first contact 40 that protrudes (shown in figure 3) from said contact support 18, said first contact 40 abuts said contact region (along 58), in a deformed state (30, shown in figure 8), said elastically deformable element 30 exerts a force (30, see paragraph 45) that urges said contact support 18 toward said planar surface (along ID), and in an engaged state (shown in figure 8) of said connector 15 and said device (12, see paragraph 45), said force (30, see paragraph 45) contributes to a deformation (along 30) of said first contact 40.
As per claim 11, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, comprising: a housing (62 and 68), wherein said contact support 18 is elastically supported relative to said housing (62 and 68).
As per claim 12, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, wherein: a protruding length (along 30) of said first contact 40 is less than a length selected from the group consisting of 5 mm, 2 mm, 1 mm, and 0.5 mm. (see paragraph 5)
As per claim 13, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, wherein: said connector 15 comprises a second contact 40a that protrudes (shown in figure 3) from said contact support 18, said first contact 40 is electrically insulated from said second contact 40a, and a distance from a central longitudinal axis (along ID) of said first contact 40 to a central longitudinal axis (along ID) of said second contact 40a is less than a distance selected from the group consisting of 2 mm, 1 mm, 0.5 mm, and 0.2 mm. (see paragraph 5)
As per claim 22, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, wherein: said engaged state (shown in figure 8) is a state in which said contact support 18 contacts a planar surface (along ID), said first contact 40 contacts said planar surface (along ID), and said elastically deformable element 30 is in a deformed state (30, shown in figure 8).
As per claim 23, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, wherein: said engaged state (shown in figure 8) is a state in which said contact support 18 contacts said planar surface (along ID), said first contact 40 contacts said planar surface (along ID), and said elastically deformable element 30 is in a deformed state (30, shown in figure 8).
As per claim 24, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, wherein: said connector 15 comprises: a housing (62 and 68); and a signal transmission component (40, 40a), said signal transmission component (40, 40a) is affixed to said housing (62 and 68), and in an unengaged state (along 30, shown in figure 3) of said connector 15, said signal transmission component (40, 40a) supports said contact support 18 such that said contact support 18 abuts said elastically deformable element 30.
As per claim 25, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, wherein: said first contact 40 is electrically connected to a conductor (along 40, 40a) of said signal transmission component (40, 40a).
As per claim 26, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, comprising: a component structured and arranged to abut said connector 15 and press said connector 15 toward said device (12, see paragraph 45).
As per claim 28, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, comprising: a housing (62 and 68); and a signal transmission component (40, 40a), wherein said signal transmission component (40, 40a) is affixed to said housing (62 and 68), and in an unengaged state (along 30, shown in figure 3) of said connector 15, said signal transmission component (40, 40a) supports said contact support 18 such that said contact support 18 abuts said elastically deformable element 30.
As per claim 29, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, comprising: a first contact 40 that protrudes (shown in figure 3) from said contact support 18, wherein said first contact 40 is electrically connected to a conductor (along 40, 40a) of said signal transmission component (40, 40a).
As per claim 30, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, comprising: a housing (62 and 68); a contact support 18; an elastically deformable element 30; and a signal transmission component (40, 40a), wherein said connector 15 defines a reference plane (along ID) exterior to said housing (62 and 68), said signal transmission component (40, 40a) is affixed to said housing (62 and 68), in an unengaged state (along 30, shown in figure 3) of said connector 15, said signal transmission component (40, 40a) elastically supports said contact support 18 such that said contact support 18 intersects said reference plane (along ID), and said elastically deformable element 30 inhibits a movement (30, see paragraph 45) of said contact support 18 toward an interior of said housing (62 and 68).
As per claim 31, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, wherein: said contact support 18 comprises an alignment structure (bottom portion of 18), in an engaged state (shown in figure 8) of said connector 15, said contact support 18 does not intersect said reference plane (along ID), in said engaged state (shown in figure 8) of said connector 15, said alignment structure (bottom portion of 18) is aligned with said reference plane (along ID), and a movement (30, see paragraph 45) of said contact support 18 from said unengaged state (along 30, shown in figure 3) to said engaged state (shown in figure 8) effects an elastic deformation (along 30) of said elastically deformable element 30.
As per claim 32, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, comprising: a first contact 40; a contact support 18; and an elastically deformable element 30, wherein said first contact 40 protrudes (shown in figure 3) from said contact support 18, a longitudinal axis of said elastically deformable element 30 is generally perpendicular to a length of said first contact 40, said connector 15 defines a contact direction ID, and in a deformed state (30, shown in figure 8), said elastically deformable element 30 exerts a force (30, see paragraph 45) that urges said contact support 18 in said contact direction ID.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZBINDEN et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20200280145 A1) in view of Cartier, JR. et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20210091496 A1).
As per claim 21, ZBINDEN teaches an assembly 21, wherein: said elastically deformable element 30 comprises an elastomer.
ZBINDEN does not teach, an elastically deformable element that comprises an elastomer.
Cartier, JR. teaches, said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) comprises an elastomer (see paragraph 76).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of ZBINDEN in view of Cartier, JR. to include the teaching of, an elastically deformable element that comprises an elastomer.
The motivation to combine the teachings of ZBINDEN in view of Cartier, JR. would have been to have material or component designed to be both flexible and electrically conductive (see paragraph 76 and 112).
As per claim 27, ZBINDEN teaches a connector 15, comprising: a contact support 18; and an elastically deformable element 30, wherein said elastically deformable element 30 comprises an elastomer said connector 15 defines a contact direction ID, and in a deformed state (30, shown in figure 8), said elastically deformable element 30 exerts a force (30, see paragraph 45) that urges said contact support 18 in said contact direction ID.
ZBINDEN does not teach, an elastically deformable element that comprises an elastomer.
Cartier, JR. teaches, said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) comprises an elastomer (see paragraph 76).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of ZBINDEN in view of Cartier, JR. to include the teaching of, an elastically deformable element that comprises an elastomer.
The motivation to combine the teachings of ZBINDEN in view of Cartier, JR. would have been to have material or component designed to be both flexible and electrically conductive (see paragraph 76 and 112).
Conclusion
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831