DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argument regarding, that said first contact protrudes from said contact support and that, in an engaged state of said connector, said force contributes to a deformation of said first contact.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Cartier teaches, that said first contact 932A protrudes (see paragraph 236) from said contact support 916 and that, in an engaged state (shown in figure 9) of said connector 111, said force (along 932, see paragraph 124) contributes to a deformation (see paragraph 35) of said first contact 932A.
Since applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, therefore the rejection still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 ,10-11 and 21-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cartier, JR. et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20210091496 A1).
As per claim 1, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, comprising: a first contact 932A; a contact support 916; and an elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124), wherein said first contact 932A protrudes (see paragraph 236) from said contact support 916, said connector 111 defines a contact direction (along 932), in a deformed state (along 932, see paragraph 124), said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) exerts a force (along 932, see paragraph 124) that urges said contact support 916 in said contact direction (along 932) and in an engaged state (shown in figure 8) of said connector 111, said force (along 932, see paragraph 124) contributes to a deformation (see paragraph 35) of said first contact 932A.
As per claim 2, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, comprising: a housing (see paragraph 113), wherein said contact support 916 is elastically supported (see paragraph 146) relative to said housing (see paragraph 113).
As per claim 3, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, comprising: a housing (see paragraph 113); and a signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9), wherein said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9) is affixed to said housing (see paragraph 113), and in an unengaged state (shown in figure 8) of said connector 111, said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9) elastically supports (see paragraph 146) said contact support 916.
As per claim 4, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, wherein: in an unengaged state (shown in figure 8) of said connector 111, said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9) supports said contact support 916 such that said contact support 916 abuts said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124).
As per claim 5, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, wherein: said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9) is elastically affixed to said housing (see paragraph 113).
As per claim 6, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, wherein: said first contact 932A is electrically connected to a conductor (see paragraph 105) of said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9).
As per claim 10, Cartier, JR. teaches an assembly (shown in figure 8), comprising: a connector 111; and a device (102, see paragraph 90), wherein said device (102, see paragraph 90) comprises: a planar surface (surface of the substrate, see paragraph 15) comprising a contact region 800 said connector 111 comprises: a contact support 916; an elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124); and a first contact 932A that protrudes (see paragraph 236)from said contact support 916, said first contact 932A abuts said contact region 800, in a deformed state (along 932, see paragraph 124), said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) exerts a force (along 932, see paragraph 124) that urges said contact support 916 toward said planar surface (surface of the substrate, see paragraph 15), and in an engaged state (shown in figure 1b) of said connector 111 and said device (102, see paragraph 90), said force (along 932, see paragraph 124) contributes to a deformation (see paragraph 35) of said first contact 932A.
As per claim 11, Cartier, JR. teaches an assembly (shown in figure 8), comprising: a housing (see paragraph 113), wherein said contact support 916 is elastically supported (see paragraph 146) relative to said housing (see paragraph 113).
As per claim 21, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, wherein: said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) comprises an elastomer (see paragraph 76).
As per claim 22, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, wherein: said engaged state (shown in figure 1b) is a state in which said contact support 916 contacts a planar surface (surface of the substrate, see paragraph 15), said first contact 932A contacts said planar surface (surface of the substrate, see paragraph 15), and said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) is in a deformed state (along 932, see paragraph 124).
As per claim 23, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, wherein: said engaged state (shown in figure 1b) is a state in which said contact support 916 contacts said planar surface (surface of the substrate, see paragraph 15), said first contact 932A contacts said planar surface (surface of the substrate, see paragraph 15), and said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) is in a deformed state (along 932, see paragraph 124).
As per claim 24, Cartier, JR. teaches an assembly (shown in figure 8), wherein: said connector 111 comprises: a housing (see paragraph 113); and a signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9), said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9) is affixed to said housing (see paragraph 113), and in an unengaged state (shown in figure 1a) of said connector 111, said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9) supports said contact support 916 such that said contact support 916 abuts said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124).
As per claim 25, Cartier, JR. teaches an assembly (shown in figure 8), wherein: said first contact 932A is electrically connected to a conductor (see paragraph 105) of said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9).
As per claim 26, Cartier, JR. teaches an assembly (shown in figure 8), comprising: a component (116, see paragraph 9) structured and arranged to abut said connector 111 and press said connector 111 toward said device (102, see paragraph 90).
As per claim 27, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, comprising: a contact support 916; and an elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124), wherein said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) comprises an elastomer (see paragraph 76) said connector 111 defines a contact direction (along 932), and in a deformed state (along 932, see paragraph 124), said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) exerts a force (along 932, see paragraph 124) that urges said contact support 916 in said contact direction (along 932).
As per claim 28, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, comprising: a housing (see paragraph 113); and a signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9), wherein said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9) is affixed to said housing (see paragraph 113), and in an unengaged state (shown in figure 1a) of said connector 111, said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9) supports said contact support 916 such that said contact support 916 abuts said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124).
As per claim 29, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, comprising: a first contact 932A that protrudes (see paragraph 236) from said contact support 916, wherein said first contact 932A is electrically connected to a conductor (see paragraph 105) of said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9).
As per claim 30, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, comprising: a housing (see paragraph 113); a contact support 916; an elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124); and a signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9), wherein said connector 111 defines a reference plane (along 102) exterior to said housing (see paragraph 113), said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9) is affixed to said housing (see paragraph 113), in an unengaged state (shown in figure 1a) of said connector 111, said signal transmission component (116, see paragraph 9) elastically supports said contact support 916 such that said contact support 916 intersects said reference plane (along 102), and said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) inhibits a movement (see paragraph 117) of said contact support 916 toward an interior of said housing (see paragraph 113).
As per claim 31, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, wherein: said contact support 916 comprises an alignment structure 910, in an engaged state (shown in figure 1b) of said connector 111, said contact support 916 does not intersect said reference plane (along 102), in said engaged state (shown in figure 1b) of said connector 111, said alignment structure 910 is aligned with said reference plane (along 102), and a movement (see paragraph 117) of said contact support 916 from said unengaged state (shown in figure 1a) to said engaged state (shown in figure 1b) effects an elastic deformation (see paragraph 35) of said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124).
As per claim 32, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, comprising: a first contact 932A; a contact support 916; and an elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124), wherein said first contact 932A protrudes (see paragraph 236)from said contact support 916, a longitudinal axis of said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) is generally perpendicular (shown in figure 8) to a length of said first contact 932A, said connector 111 defines a contact direction (along 932), and in a deformed state (along 932, see paragraph 124), said elastically deformable element (along 932, see paragraph 124) exerts a force (along 932, see paragraph 124) that urges said contact support 916 in said contact direction (along 932).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cartier, JR. et al. (US Patent Application Publication 20210091496 A1).
As per claim 7, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111.
Cartier, JR. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a protruding length of said first contact is less than a length selected from the group consisting of 5 mm, 2 mm, 1 mm, and 0.5 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to wherein a protruding length of said first contact is less than a length selected from the group consisting of 5 mm, 2 mm, 1 mm, and 0.5 mm, the motivation would have been correct desired size suitable to couple and to match an impedance of the cable conductor (see paragraph 75 and 143), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As per claim 8, Cartier, JR. teaches a connector 111, comprising: a second contact 932B that protrudes (see paragraph 236)from said contact support 916, wherein said first contact 932A is electrically insulated from said second contact 932B.
Cartier, JR. discloses the claimed invention except for a distance from a central longitudinal axis of said first contact to a central longitudinal axis of said second contact is less than a distance selected from the group consisting of 2 mm, 1 mm, 0.5 mm, and 0.2 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a distance from a central longitudinal axis of said first contact to a central longitudinal axis of said second contact is less than a distance selected from the group consisting of 2 mm, 1 mm, 0.5 mm, and 0.2 mm, the motivation would have been correct desired size suitable to couple and to match an impedance of the cable conductor (see paragraph 75 and 143), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As per claim 12, Cartier, JR. teaches an assembly (shown in figure 8).
Cartier, JR. discloses the claimed invention except for wherein: a protruding length of said first contact is less than a length selected from the group consisting of 5 mm, 2 mm, 1 mm, and 0.5 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to wherein: a protruding length of said first contact is less than a length selected from the group consisting of 5 mm, 2 mm, 1 mm, and 0.5 mm, the motivation would have been correct desired size suitable to couple and to match an impedance of the cable conductor (see paragraph 75 and 143), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As per claim 13, Cartier, JR. teaches an assembly (shown in figure 8), wherein: said connector 111 comprises a second contact 932B that protrudes (see paragraph 236) from said contact support 916, said first contact 932A is electrically insulated from said second contact 932B,
Cartier, JR. discloses the claimed invention except for a distance from a central longitudinal axis of said first contact to a central longitudinal axis of said second contact is less than a distance selected from the group consisting of 2 mm, 1 mm, 0.5 mm, and 0.2 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a distance from a central longitudinal axis of said first contact to a central longitudinal axis of said second contact is less than a distance selected from the group consisting of 2 mm, 1 mm, 0.5 mm, and 0.2 mm, the motivation would have been correct desired size suitable to couple and to match an impedance of the cable conductor (see paragraph 75 and 143), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nelson R. Burgos-Guntin/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831