DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 26, 2023 and June 12, 2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 6 and 1 of US 9,714,916 B2, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US 9,714,916 B2 anticipate the respective claims of the instant application. While the claims of US 9,714,916 B2 do not recite that the sample is blood, given that the sample in the claims of US 9,714,916 B2 comprises particles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use blood as the sample in the claims of US 9,714,916 B2 to perform a blood count.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 5-8 of US 10,613,051 B2, respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US 10,613,051 B2 anticipate the respective claims of the instant application. While the claims of US 10,613,051 B2 do not recite that the sample is blood, given that the sample in the claims of US 10,613,051 B2 comprises particles, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use blood as the sample in the claims of US 10,613,051 B2 to perform a blood count.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the limitation “by the acquired sample” in line 3 should be changed to “from the acquired sample”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Atchley et al. (“Atchley”) (US 2009/0315533 A1) in view of Shine et al. (“Shine”) (US 2002/0035879 A1) and Young (US 2003/0092184 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Atchley discloses a method for counting particles, the method comprising the steps of:
counting particles in a sample using a Coulter counter (see [0033]) by a resistance method (see [0034]), and monitoring whether a pore blocking event occurs during counting (see [0033]);
suspending counting (see [0035] disclosing that counting must be suspended while unblocking operation is conducted) and performing an unblocking operation if the pore blocking event occurs (see [0033] and [0053]); and
re-counting the same sample after the unblocking operation (see [0053]).
The method taught by Atchley differs from the claimed invention in that Atchley does not explicitly disclose that the Coulter counter measures impedance. In addition, Atchley does not explicitly disclose that the sample is blood, and Atchley does not disclose the steps of preparing the sample for analysis (i.e. acquiring a sample in a test location, and preparing a diluted sample from the acquired sample).
Regarding the measurement of impedance, given that resistance and impedance are analogous, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the Coulter counter to measure impedance instead of resistance (see also [0022] of Shine disclosing that resistance or impedance is measured in a normal Coulter counter).
Regarding the sample and the steps of acquiring said sample and subsequently diluting the sample prior to analysis, Atchley discloses that Coulter counters are commonly used to analyze (count and identify) blood cells (see [0005]). Based on the disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to analyze blood cells using the method taught by Atchley. Naturally, such a method would further comprise a step of acquiring the blood sample at a test location (e.g. a lab, a hospital, a clinic), and preparing the sample for analysis via the Coulter counter, for example, diluting it, as taught by Young (see [0023]).
With respect to claim 2, the method further comprises:
monitoring the pore blocking event during a predetermined period from the beginning of the counting (see [0015] and [0033]); and
outputting the pore blocking event when the pore blocking event is identified (see [0033] disclosing that the Coulter counter automatically takes a predetermined action upon detecting a pore blocking event, meaning the identification of the pore blocking event must be outputted ).
With respect to claim 3, the monitoring step comprises:
starting timing once counting starts (see [0015] and [0046]);
instantly determining a received pore voltage in real time* during the timing (see [0015], [0050] and [0064]); and
outputting the pore blocking event when determining that the pore voltage is abnormal (see [0064]).
*While Atchley does not disclose the terms “real time” or “instantly”, based on the disclosure directed to how the pore blocking event is identified and subsequently resolved, it is evident that the received pore voltage is determined the moment it is received, and the determination is made during the timing.
With respect to claim 4, determining the received pore voltage in real time comprises determining whether the pore voltage is abnormal according to at least one of intensity of the real-time pore voltage (see [0020]), baseline voltage (see [0020]) and pulse form (see [0019]).
With respect to claim 5, the unblocking operation comprises pushing liquid backwards to dislodge pore blocking material (see [0052]).
Claim 6 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Atchley in view of Shine and Young as applied to claims 1-5, and further in view of Xu et al. (“Xu”) (CN 101750477 A).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Atchley, Shine and Young does not teach an unblocking operation that encompasses supplying an electric current to burn off pore blocking material. However, Coulter counters that address pore blocking events by applying an electric current so as to burn off pore blocking material are well-known in the art (see [0031] of Xu). Based on the disclosure of Xu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the modified Atchley Coulter counter with a means to perform an unblocking operation by supplying an electric current to burn off the pore blocking material. The modification would constitute substitution of one element (reversing flow) for an equivalent (burning off material), which is considered obvious. Alternatively, the modification would provide the Coulter counter with an additional method of performing an unblocking operation in case the unblocking operation taught by Atchley (reversing flow) is unsuccessful.
Conclusion
/PAUL S HYUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796