DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to the Amendments filed on April 09, 2026.
Claims 1 has been amended.
Claims 1-34 are pending.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments filed in the communications on 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. In remarks applicant argues in substance that the cited references do not teach receiving a request from a first communication device for access to a remote network prior to authenticating the first communication device to access the remote network through the first wireless access point, analyzing wireless access control information indicating how to control wireless connectivity with the first wireless access point; and controlling the access associated with the first communication device through the first wireless access point in accordance with the wireless access control information.
Examiner response
Examiner respectfully disagree and would like to point to paragraph [0026] of the Manroa reference which teaches receiving a request from the communication device to establish a wireless connection with the second wireless access point; and from the second wireless access point, communicate with an authentication server operated by the first private wireless network service provider. Chen was introduced because it teaches obtaining a media access control address information associated with the wireless access point from the discovery request; obtaining, from the discovery request, a tenant account information associated with the wireless access point if the wireless access point has been previously assigned to a tenant controller and also teaches assigning to the wireless access point a tenant account ID if the wireless access point does not already have a tenant account ID, and assigning the wireless access point to an appropriate tenant controller based on the newly assigned tenant account ID, a device ID of the wireless access point, a private IP address of the wireless access point, and a public IP address of the wireless access point (see paragraph [0052]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-10, 12-14, 18-20, 22-24, 26-28, and 30-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 11, 15-17, 21, 25, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Manroa et al. (US PGPub 2017/0111842) in view of Chen et al. (WO 2014/183107).
As per claim 1, Manroa teaches a method comprising: at a first wireless access point receiving a request from a first communication device for access through the first access point to a remote network via a wireless communication link (Manroa, see paragraph [0026], … receive a request from the communication device to establish a wireless connection with the second wireless access point; and from the second wireless access point, communicate with an authentication server operated by the first private wireless network service provider).
Manroa doesn’t explicitly teach prior to authenticating the first communication device to access the remote network through a first wireless access point, analyzing wireless access control information indicating how to control wireless connectivity with the first wireless access point; and controlling the access associated with the first communication device through the first wireless access point in accordance with the wireless access control information.
In analogous art Chen teaches prior to authenticating the first communication device to access the remote network through a first wireless access point, analyzing wireless access control information indicating how to control wireless connectivity with the first wireless access point (Chen, see paragraph [0052], obtaining a media access control address information associated with the wireless access point from the discovery request; obtaining, from the discovery request, a tenant account information associated with the wireless access point if the wireless access point has been previously assigned to a tenant controller) and controlling the access associated with the first communication device through the first wireless access point in accordance with the wireless access control information (Chen, see paragraph [0052], assigning to the wireless access point a tenant account ID if the wireless access point does not already have a tenant account ID, and assigning the wireless access point to an appropriate tenant controller based on the newly assigned tenant account ID, a device ID of the wireless access point, a private IP address of the wireless access point, and a public IP address of the wireless access point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the teaching of Chen and apply them on the teaching of Manroa as doing so would help in better control and management of access points. (Chen, see paragraph [0017]).
As per claim 2, Manroa-Chen teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the request is a discovery request generated by the first communication device. (Manroa, see paragraph [0065], discovery request (such as from communication interface 255) to any listening access points 105)
As per claim 3, Manroa-Chen teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein receiving the request includes: receiving a service provider identity value with the request, the service provider identity value indicating an identity of a first wireless network service provider to which a user of the first communication device subscribes, the first wireless network service provider being one of multiple wireless network service providers supported by the first wireless access point (Manroa, see paragraph [0083], receives the query (request) from the communication device 120-1 requesting identities of multiple different private wireless network service providers supported by the second wireless access point 105-2. In response to receiving the request, as specified by the support information 136-2, the wireless access point 105-2 notifies the communication device 120-1 (client device), via a response, that the second wireless access point 105-2 provides connectivity for subscribers of the first private wireless network service provider TWX and subscribers of the second private wireless network service provider RINGER.)
As per claim 7, Manroa-Chen teaches the method as in claim 3 further comprising: prior to receiving the request, transmitting discovery information from the first wireless access point to the first communication device, the transmitted discovery information indicating identities of multiple wireless network service providers supported by the first wireless access point, the discovery information including the identity of the first wireless network service provider (Manroa, see paragraph [0082], The communication device 120-1 receives the (broadcasted) communications from the second wireless access point. As previously discussed, the second wireless access point 105-2 is operated by a second private wireless network service provider RINGER. The broadcast message or beacon indicates an identity (such as SSID2=RINGER) and availability of the second wireless access point 105-2 in the region of wireless coverage 107-2.)
As per claim 11 Manroa doesn’t explicitly teach the method as in claim 1 further comprising: controlling the access via authentication management hardware operative to analyze the request from the first communication device to determine whether to proceed with authentication of the first communication device to use the first wireless access point.
In analogous art Chen teaches the method as in claim 1 further comprising: controlling the access via authentication management hardware operative to analyze the request from the first communication device to determine whether to proceed with authentication of the first communication device to use the first wireless access point (Chen, see paragraph [0033], re-authenticate at the new AP to which the wireless client has roamed needs to be less than 40 ms or in some cases less than 20 ms depending on the application. Re-authentication at the new AP is also referred to as "re-association" with the new AP. If the time needed to re- authenticate at the new AP is greater than 20 ms then jitter or disconnection can occur for real time applications such as VOIP. The time needed for authentication is about 40ms- 80 ms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the teaching of Chen and apply them on the teaching of Manroa as doing so would help in better control and management of access points. (Chen, see paragraph [0017]).
As per claim 15, Manroa teaches a system (Manroa, see paragraph [0022], communication management systems, workstations) comprising:
communication management hardware disposed in a network environment, (Manroa, see paragraph [0022], wireless communication equipment, communication management systems, workstations) the communication management hardware operable to:
receive a request from a first communication device for access to a remote network via a wireless communication link (Manroa, see paragraph [0026], … receive a request from the communication device to establish a wireless connection with the second wireless access point; and from the second wireless access point, communicate with an authentication server operated by the first private wireless network service provider).
Manroa doesn’t explicitly teach prior to authenticating the first communication device to access the remote network through a first wireless access point, retrieve wireless access control information indicating how to control wireless connectivity with the first wireless access point; and control the access associated with the first communication device through the first wireless access point in accordance with the wireless access control information.
In analogous art Chen teaches prior to authenticating the first communication device to access the remote network through a first wireless access point, retrieve wireless access control information indicating how to control wireless connectivity with the first wireless access point; (Chen, see paragraph [0052], obtaining a media access control address information associated with the wireless access point from the discovery request; obtaining, from the discovery request, a tenant account information associated with the wireless access point if the wireless access point has been previously assigned to a tenant controller) and control the access associated with the first communication device through the first wireless access point in accordance with the wireless access control information (Chen, see paragraph [0052], assigning to the wireless access point a tenant account ID if the wireless access point does not already have a tenant account ID, and assigning the wireless access point to an appropriate tenant controller based on the newly assigned tenant account ID, a device ID of the wireless access point, a private IP address of the wireless access point, and a public IP address of the wireless access point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the teaching of Chen and apply them on the teaching of Manroa as doing so would help in better control and management of access points. (Chen, see paragraph [0017]).
As per claim 16, MAnroa-Chen teaches the system as in claim 15, wherein the request is a discovery request generated by the first communication device. (Manroa, see paragraph [0065], discovery request (such as from communication interface 255) to any listening access points 105).
As per claim 17, MAnroa-Chen teaches the system as in claim 15, wherein the communication management resource is further operative to: receive a service provider identity value with the request, the service provider identity value indicating an identity of a first wireless network service provider to which a user of the first communication device subscribes, the first wireless network service provider being one of multiple wireless network service providers supported by the first wireless access point (Manroa, see paragraph [0083], receives the query (request) from the communication device 120-1 requesting identities of multiple different private wireless network service providers supported by the second wireless access point 105-2. In response to receiving the request, as specified by the support information 136-2, the wireless access point 105-2 notifies the communication device 120-1 (client device), via a response, that the second wireless access point 105-2 provides connectivity for subscribers of the first private wireless network service provider TWX and subscribers of the second private wireless network service provider RINGER.)
As per claim 21, Manroa teaches the system as in claim 17, wherein the communication management resource is further operative to:prior to receiving the request, transmit discovery information from the first wireless access point, the transmitted discovery information indicating identities of multiple wireless network service providers supported by the first wireless access point, the discovery information including the identity of the first wireless network service provider. (Manroa, see paragraph [0082], The communication device 120-1 receives the (broadcasted) communications from the second wireless access point. As previously discussed, the second wireless access point 105-2 is operated by a second private wireless network service provider RINGER. The broadcast message or beacon indicates an identity (such as SSID2=RINGER) and availability of the second wireless access point 105-2 in the region of wireless coverage 107-2.)
As per claim 25, Manroa doesn’t explicitly teach the system as in claim 15, wherein the communication management resource is further operative to: control the access via authentication management hardware operative to analyze the request from the first communication device to determine whether to proceed with authentication of the first communication device to use the first wireless access point.
In analogous art Chen teaches the system as in claim 15, wherein the communication management resource is further operative to: control the access via authentication management hardware operative to analyze the request from the first communication device to determine whether to proceed with authentication of the first communication device to use the first wireless access point (Chen, see paragraph [0033], re-authenticate at the new AP to which the wireless client has roamed needs to be less than 40 ms or in some cases less than 20 ms depending on the application. Re-authentication at the new AP is also referred to as "re-association" with the new AP. If the time needed to re- authenticate at the new AP is greater than 20 ms then jitter or disconnection can occur for real time applications such as VOIP. The time needed for authentication is about 40ms- 80 ms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the teaching of Chen and apply them on the teaching of Manroa as doing so would help in better control and management of access points. (Chen, see paragraph [0017]).
As per claim 29,
[Rejection rational for claims 1 and 15 are applicable].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HERMON ASRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449 138