DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-19 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Remarks/Comments
Specification
Applicants’ amendment of the title, in response to the objection of title of the invention as being non-descriptive in the Non-Final Rejection mailed June 16, 2025 is effective. Accordingly, the objection to the title and the specification is withdrawn.
Prior Art Rejection(s)
In the Non-Final Rejection mailed June 16, 2025, the claim(s) were rejected as follow(s):
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 10, 11, 12, 17, and 19, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM (US 20200252168 A1). Claim(s) 4 and 13 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20200252168 A1) in view of INOUE (US 20110002282 A1). Claim(s) 5, 6, 14 and 15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20200252168 A1) in view of INOUE (US 20110002282 A1) in view of ZHOU (“US 20200351843 A1”). Claim(s) 7 and 16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20200252168 A1) in view of BAGHERI (US 20240349267 A1). Claim(s) 9 and 18 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20200252168 A1) in view of SABER (US 20210153237 A1). In response to the prior art rejections, Applicants have amended at least independent claim(s) 1, 10, and 19. Accordingly in light of amendments a new ground rejection has been made in view of WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197). Furthermore Applicant' s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: There appears to be a typographic error. Where it recites, “receiving one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) based on the information related to the SPS configuration and the DCI, wherein the one or more PDSCHs are received on some of the N resources” it should instead recite, “transmitting one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) based on the information related to the SPS configuration and the DCI, wherein the one or more PDSCHs are transmitted on some of the N resources”, as the features of the claim are performed by a base station. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 10, 11, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197)
In regards to claim 1, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, information related to a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration, wherein the information related to the SPS configuration includes information related to M resources within one periodicity (WONG teaches a gNB transmitting to a UE, information related to a SPS configuration via RRC, wherein the information related to the SPS configuration includes information related to M resources, NSPS, within one periodicity, PSPS “[0057] Similarly, to the use of Configured Grants (CGs) in the uplink, the use of SPS in the downlink reduces latency, particularly for regular and periodic traffic. The gNB is required to explicitly activate and deactivate SPS resources when it determines they may be required. These SPS resources are typically configured via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signalling, and occur periodically where each SPS PDSCH occasion has a pre-configured and fixed duration. This allows the gNB to schedule traffic that has a known periodicity and packet size. The gNB may or may not transmit any PDSCH in any given SPS PDSCH occasion, and so the UE is required to monitor each SPS PDSCH occasion for a potential PDSCH transmission… [0061] In Rel-16 the UE can be configured with up to eight SPS PDSCHs, where each SPS PDSCH has an SPS Configuration Index that is RRC configured. Each SPS PDSCH is individually activated using a DCI (Format 1_0, 1_1, and 1_2) with the CRC scrambled with CS-RNTI, where the DCI indicates the SPS Configuration Index of the SPS PDSCH to be activated. However, multiple SPS PDSCHs can be deactivated using a single deactivation DCI. Similar to Rel-15, the UE provides a HARQ-ACK feedback for the deactivation DCI, but does not provide one for the activation DCI… [0074] Example embodiments described in this section can provide methods to determine the MSPS out of NSPS configured SPS in the SPS set. In the following description, MSPS designates the number of SPS resource allocations monitored by the UE, and MPDSCH designates the number of PDSCH data packets to be received in a time window.”, Fig. 13 shows an example of M resources, 5 SPS resources, within one periodicity, PSPS); and
receiving downlink control information (DCI) including information related to N resources available to the UE among the M resources (WONG discloses receiving DCI, such as an activation DCI, including information related to N resources, MPDSCH, available to the UE among the, NSPS resources, “[0075]…The values for M.sub.PDSCH can be RRC configured or indicated in the activation DCI...”); and
receiving one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) based on the information related to the SPS configuration and the DCI, wherein the one or more PDSCHs are received on some of the N resources ([Fig. 13] illustrates receiving one or more PDSCHs, SPS #4, based on the information related to the SPS configuration and the DCI, wherein the one or more PDSCHs are received on some of the N resources ).
In regards to claim 10, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to transmit and receive a signal in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver;
at least one processor; and
at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising ([Fig. 3, Par. 45 – Par. 46] show a UE, comprising a transceiver, receiver 48, transmitter 49, at least one processor, controller 44, and at least one memory, computer readable medium/nonvolatile memory, connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising, “[0046] The transmitter circuits 30, 49 and the receiver circuits 32, 48 (as well as other transmitters, receivers and transceivers described in relation to examples and embodiments of the present disclosure) may include radio frequency filters and amplifiers as well as signal processing components and devices in order to transmit and receive radio signals in accordance for example with the 5G/NR standard. The controller circuits 34, 44 (as well as other controllers described in relation to examples and embodiments of the present disclosure) may be, for example, a microprocessor, a CPU, or a dedicated chipset, etc., configured to carry out instructions which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory. The processing steps described herein may be carried out by, for example, a microprocessor in conjunction with a random access memory, operating according to instructions stored on a computer readable medium.”):
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, information related to a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration, wherein the information related to the SPS configuration includes information related to M resources within one periodicity(WONG teaches a gNB transmitting to a UE, information related to a SPS configuration via RRC, wherein the information related to the SPS configuration includes information related to M resources, NSPS, within one periodicity, PSPS “[0057] Similarly, to the use of Configured Grants (CGs) in the uplink, the use of SPS in the downlink reduces latency, particularly for regular and periodic traffic. The gNB is required to explicitly activate and deactivate SPS resources when it determines they may be required. These SPS resources are typically configured via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signalling, and occur periodically where each SPS PDSCH occasion has a pre-configured and fixed duration. This allows the gNB to schedule traffic that has a known periodicity and packet size. The gNB may or may not transmit any PDSCH in any given SPS PDSCH occasion, and so the UE is required to monitor each SPS PDSCH occasion for a potential PDSCH transmission… [0061] In Rel-16 the UE can be configured with up to eight SPS PDSCHs, where each SPS PDSCH has an SPS Configuration Index that is RRC configured. Each SPS PDSCH is individually activated using a DCI (Format 1_0, 1_1, and 1_2) with the CRC scrambled with CS-RNTI, where the DCI indicates the SPS Configuration Index of the SPS PDSCH to be activated. However, multiple SPS PDSCHs can be deactivated using a single deactivation DCI. Similar to Rel-15, the UE provides a HARQ-ACK feedback for the deactivation DCI, but does not provide one for the activation DCI… [0074] Example embodiments described in this section can provide methods to determine the MSPS out of NSPS configured SPS in the SPS set. In the following description, MSPS designates the number of SPS resource allocations monitored by the UE, and MPDSCH designates the number of PDSCH data packets to be received in a time window.”, Fig. 13 shows an example of M resources, 5 SPS resources, within one periodicity, PSPS); and
receiving downlink control information (DCI) including information related to N resources available to the UE among the M resources(WONG discloses receiving DCI, such as an activation DCI, including information related to N resources, MPDSCH, available to the UE among the, NSPS resources, “[0075]…The values for M.sub.PDSCH can be RRC configured or indicated in the activation DCI...”);and
receiving one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) based on the information related to the SPS configuration and the DCI, wherein the one or more PDSCHs are received on some of the N resources([Fig. 13] illustrates receiving one or more PDSCHs, SPS #4, based on the information related to the SPS configuration and the DCI, wherein the one or more PDSCHs are received on some of the N resources ).
In regards to claim 19, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) teaches a base station configured to transmit a signal in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising:
at least one transceiver;
at least one processor; and
at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising ([Fig. 3, Par. 45 – Par. 46] show a BS, TRP/gNB, comprising a transceiver, receiver 32, transmitter 30, at least one processor, controller 34, and at least one memory, computer readable medium/nonvolatile memory, connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising, “[0046] The transmitter circuits 30, 49 and the receiver circuits 32, 48 (as well as other transmitters, receivers and transceivers described in relation to examples and embodiments of the present disclosure) may include radio frequency filters and amplifiers as well as signal processing components and devices in order to transmit and receive radio signals in accordance for example with the 5G/NR standard. The controller circuits 34, 44 (as well as other controllers described in relation to examples and embodiments of the present disclosure) may be, for example, a microprocessor, a CPU, or a dedicated chipset, etc., configured to carry out instructions which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory. The processing steps described herein may be carried out by, for example, a microprocessor in conjunction with a random access memory, operating according to instructions stored on a computer readable medium.”): transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, information related to a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration, wherein the information related to the SPS configuration includes information related to M resources within one periodicity(WONG teaches a gNB transmitting to a UE, information related to a SPS configuration via RRC, wherein the information related to the SPS configuration includes information related to M resources, NSPS, within one periodicity, PSPS “[0057] Similarly, to the use of Configured Grants (CGs) in the uplink, the use of SPS in the downlink reduces latency, particularly for regular and periodic traffic. The gNB is required to explicitly activate and deactivate SPS resources when it determines they may be required. These SPS resources are typically configured via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signalling, and occur periodically where each SPS PDSCH occasion has a pre-configured and fixed duration. This allows the gNB to schedule traffic that has a known periodicity and packet size. The gNB may or may not transmit any PDSCH in any given SPS PDSCH occasion, and so the UE is required to monitor each SPS PDSCH occasion for a potential PDSCH transmission… [0061] In Rel-16 the UE can be configured with up to eight SPS PDSCHs, where each SPS PDSCH has an SPS Configuration Index that is RRC configured. Each SPS PDSCH is individually activated using a DCI (Format 1_0, 1_1, and 1_2) with the CRC scrambled with CS-RNTI, where the DCI indicates the SPS Configuration Index of the SPS PDSCH to be activated. However, multiple SPS PDSCHs can be deactivated using a single deactivation DCI. Similar to Rel-15, the UE provides a HARQ-ACK feedback for the deactivation DCI, but does not provide one for the activation DCI… [0074] Example embodiments described in this section can provide methods to determine the MSPS out of NSPS configured SPS in the SPS set. In the following description, MSPS designates the number of SPS resource allocations monitored by the UE, and MPDSCH designates the number of PDSCH data packets to be received in a time window.”, Fig. 13 shows an example of M resources, 5 SPS resources, within one periodicity, PSPS); and
transmitting downlink control information (DCI) including information related to N resources available to the UE among the M resources(WONG discloses transmitting DCI, such as an activation DCI, including information related to N resources, MPDSCH, available to the UE among the, NSPS resources, “[0075]…The values for M.sub.PDSCH can be RRC configured or indicated in the activation DCI...”);and
transmitting one or more physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) based on the information related to the SPS configuration and the DCI, wherein the one or more PDSCHs are transmitted on some of the N resources ([Fig. 13] illustrates transmitting one or more PDSCHs, SPS #4, based on the information related to the SPS configuration and the DCI, wherein the one or more PDSCHs are transmitted on some of the N resources ).
In regards to claim 2, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the DCI is activation DCI for the SPS configuration (“[0075]…The values for M.sub.PDSCH can be RRC configured or indicated in the activation DCI...”)
In regards to claim 11, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) teaches UE of claim 10, wherein the DCI is activation DCI for the SPS configuration (“[0075]…The values for M.sub.PDSCH can be RRC configured or indicated in the activation DCI...”)
In regards to claim 8, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) teaches the method of claim 1, wherein one hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) is transmitted in response to the one or more PDSCHs (“[0061] In Rel-16 the UE can be configured with up to eight SPS PDSCHs, where each SPS PDSCH has an SPS Configuration Index that is RRC configured. Each SPS PDSCH is individually activated using a DCI (Format 1_0, 1_1, and 1_2) with the CRC scrambled with CS-RNTI, where the DCI indicates the SPS Configuration Index of the SPS PDSCH to be activated. However, multiple SPS PDSCHs can be deactivated using a single deactivation DCI. Similar to Rel-15, the UE provides a HARQ-ACK feedback for the deactivation DCI, but does not provide one for the activation DCI.
[0062] The slot or sub-slot containing the PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to an SPS PDSCH occasion is determined using the K.sub.1 value indicated in the activation DCI. Since each SPS PDSCH configuration is individually activated, different SPS PDSCH can be indicated with different K.sub.1 values. [0063] Since different K.sub.1 values can be used for different SPS PDSCH configurations, it is possible that the HARQ-ACK for multiple SPS PDSCHs point to the same slot or sub-slot, and in such a scenario, these HARQ-ACKs are multiplexed into a single PUCCH. For multiple SPS PDSCH configurations, PUCCH Format 2, 3, and 4 (in addition to PUCCH Format 0 and 1) can be used to carry multiple HARQ-ACKs for SPS PDSCH. Here, the HARQ-ACKs in the PUCCH are sorted in ascending order according to the DL slot for each of the SPS PDSCH Configuration Indices, and then sorted in ascending order of SPS PDSCH Configuration Index. It should be noted here that since typically the K.sub.1 value is fixed per SPS PDSCH then it is unlikely to have two or more SPS PDSCH with the same index being multiplexed into a PUCCH.”).
In regards to claim 17, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) teaches the UE of claim 10, wherein one hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) is transmitted in response to the one or more PDSCHs (“[0061] In Rel-16 the UE can be configured with up to eight SPS PDSCHs, where each SPS PDSCH has an SPS Configuration Index that is RRC configured. Each SPS PDSCH is individually activated using a DCI (Format 1_0, 1_1, and 1_2) with the CRC scrambled with CS-RNTI, where the DCI indicates the SPS Configuration Index of the SPS PDSCH to be activated. However, multiple SPS PDSCHs can be deactivated using a single deactivation DCI. Similar to Rel-15, the UE provides a HARQ-ACK feedback for the deactivation DCI, but does not provide one for the activation DCI.
[0062] The slot or sub-slot containing the PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to an SPS PDSCH occasion is determined using the K.sub.1 value indicated in the activation DCI. Since each SPS PDSCH configuration is individually activated, different SPS PDSCH can be indicated with different K.sub.1 values. [0063] Since different K.sub.1 values can be used for different SPS PDSCH configurations, it is possible that the HARQ-ACK for multiple SPS PDSCHs point to the same slot or sub-slot, and in such a scenario, these HARQ-ACKs are multiplexed into a single PUCCH. For multiple SPS PDSCH configurations, PUCCH Format 2, 3, and 4 (in addition to PUCCH Format 0 and 1) can be used to carry multiple HARQ-ACKs for SPS PDSCH. Here, the HARQ-ACKs in the PUCCH are sorted in ascending order according to the DL slot for each of the SPS PDSCH Configuration Indices, and then sorted in ascending order of SPS PDSCH Configuration Index. It should be noted here that since typically the K.sub.1 value is fixed per SPS PDSCH then it is unlikely to have two or more SPS PDSCH with the same index being multiplexed into a PUCCH.”).
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) in view of Kumagai (US 20230328730 A1).
In regards to claim 3, WONG is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the information on the N resources is received in the form of a bitmap having a length of M. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving configuration for semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) communications. Kumagai (US 20230328730 A1) teaches where for a SPS communication, information for N resources, SPS PDSCH not skipped, is received in a form of a bitmap having a length of M, the length M being the total number of available SPS PDSCHs, (“[0084] The information related to the HPN indicating the skipped SPS PDSCH, the UE is notified of may be a bitmap indicating a plurality of (for example, all) HARQ processes (Embodiment 2-1-1). In Embodiment 2-1-1, if each bit value of the bitmap is a first value (for example, 0), the UE may determine that the corresponding SPS PDSCH is not skipped, and if each bit value of the bitmap is a second value (for example, 1), the UE may determine that the corresponding SPS PDSCH is skipped… [0089] When Embodiment 2-1-1 is applied to the case of FIG. 4, the UE may be notified of a bitmap of HPN “0011 (or 1100)” indicating the skipped SPS PDSCH.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of Kumagai it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS configuration feature of WONG, by adopting use of a bitmap to select a number, N resources from a set of M resources, to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the information on the N resources is received in the form of a bitmap having a length of M, recognizing that use of a bitmap could provide a reliable alternative to the feature for indication of the N resources for SPS configuration taught by WONG.
In regards to claim 12, WONG is silent on the UE of claim 10, wherein the information on the N resources is received in the form of a bitmap having a length of M. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving configuration for semi-persistent scheduled (SPS) communications. Kumagai (US 20230328730 A1) teaches where for a SPS communication, information for N resources, SPS PDSCH not skipped, is received in a form of a bitmap having a length of M, the length M being the total number of available SPS PDSCHs, (“[0084] The information related to the HPN indicating the skipped SPS PDSCH, the UE is notified of may be a bitmap indicating a plurality of (for example, all) HARQ processes (Embodiment 2-1-1). In Embodiment 2-1-1, if each bit value of the bitmap is a first value (for example, 0), the UE may determine that the corresponding SPS PDSCH is not skipped, and if each bit value of the bitmap is a second value (for example, 1), the UE may determine that the corresponding SPS PDSCH is skipped… [0089] When Embodiment 2-1-1 is applied to the case of FIG. 4, the UE may be notified of a bitmap of HPN “0011 (or 1100)” indicating the skipped SPS PDSCH.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of Kumagai it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS configuration feature of WONG, by adopting use of a bitmap to select a number, N resources from a set of M resources, to thus arrive at the UE of claim 10, wherein the information on the N resources is received in the form of a bitmap having a length of M, recognizing that use of a bitmap could provide a reliable alternative to the feature for indication of the N resources for SPS configuration taught by WONG.
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) in view of INOUE (US 20110002282 A1).
In regards to claim 4, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the information on the N resources is received in the form of a single field in which information on a first available resource among the M resources and a number of available resources are jointly coded. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation, such as the SPS configurations described in WONG. INOUE (US 20110002282 A1) teaches where information on N resources is received in the form of a single field, resource allocation field, in which information on a first available resource among M resources, starting resource block, and a number of available resources, consecutive resource blocks are jointly coded (“[0066] The scheduler 207 uses the uplink CQI measured for each mobile station UE while taking account of the maximum frequency block count determined at the maximum frequency block count determining section 206 to make channel-dependent frequency scheduling (resource allocation) under control of the control section 205. The scheduler 207 outputs a result of downlink data scheduling to the downlink data generating section and a result of uplink data scheduling (scheduling information) to the downlink control generating section 209, which are in turn transmitted to the mobile stations by the wireless communication control section 201. Now the transmission of a result of scheduling transmitted to mobile stations will be described below. A resource allocation field in scheduling information (UL grant) notified through a downlink control signal is composed of one or more resource indication values (RIV). A resource indication value RIV.sub.n for an n-th frequency block represents a start resource block (RB.sub.start,n) or start position, and a length (L.sub.CRBs,n) or the number of consecutive resource blocks. The resource indication value RIV.sub.n is notified to a mobile station with Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), for example. N.sub.RIV represents the maximum number of resource indication values, that is, the maximum frequency block count, where the value of N.sub.RIV is broadcast as part of system information. An n-th resource indication value RIV.sub.n defined by EQ. 1 below. It should be noted that L.sub.CRBs,n and RB.sub.start,n may be broadcast as separate pieces of information.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of INOUE (US 20110002282 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature of WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) to arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the information on the N resources is received in the form of a single field in which information on a first available resource among the M resources and a number of available resources are jointly coded, in order to provide an efficient means of providing the resource allocation.
In regards to claim 13, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) is silent on the UE of claim 10, wherein the information on the N resources is received in the form of a single field in which information on a first available resource among the M resources and a number of available resources are jointly coded. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation, such as the SPS configurations described in WONG. INOUE (US 20110002282 A1) teaches where information on N resources is received in the form of a single field, resource allocation field, in which information on a first available resource among M resources, starting resource block, and a number of available resources, consecutive resource blocks are jointly coded (“[0066] The scheduler 207 uses the uplink CQI measured for each mobile station UE while taking account of the maximum frequency block count determined at the maximum frequency block count determining section 206 to make channel-dependent frequency scheduling (resource allocation) under control of the control section 205. The scheduler 207 outputs a result of downlink data scheduling to the downlink data generating section and a result of uplink data scheduling (scheduling information) to the downlink control generating section 209, which are in turn transmitted to the mobile stations by the wireless communication control section 201. Now the transmission of a result of scheduling transmitted to mobile stations will be described below. A resource allocation field in scheduling information (UL grant) notified through a downlink control signal is composed of one or more resource indication values (RIV). A resource indication value RIV.sub.n for an n-th frequency block represents a start resource block (RB.sub.start,n) or start position, and a length (L.sub.CRBs,n) or the number of consecutive resource blocks. The resource indication value RIV.sub.n is notified to a mobile station with Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), for example. N.sub.RIV represents the maximum number of resource indication values, that is, the maximum frequency block count, where the value of N.sub.RIV is broadcast as part of system information. An n-th resource indication value RIV.sub.n defined by EQ. 1 below. It should be noted that L.sub.CRBs,n and RB.sub.start,n may be broadcast as separate pieces of information.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of INOUE (US 20110002282 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature of WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) to arrive at the UE of claim 10, wherein the information on the N resources is received in the form of a single field in which information on a first available resource among the M resources and a number of available resources are jointly coded, in order to provide an efficient means of providing the resource allocation.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) in view of BAGHERI (US 20240349267 A1).
In regards to claim 7, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein among the N resources, the resources on which the one or more PDSCHs are received are determined based on a received demodulation reference signal (DMRS). Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving SRS configuration. BAGHERI (US 20240349267 A1) teaches where resources on which PDSCHs are received, are determined based on a received DMRS (“[0099] In some embodiments, using multiple SPS configurations with same start time or end time of SPS resources (or SPS occasions) allows for reduced UE decoding complexity, e.g., in terms of performing blind decoding for which SPS configuration is used for a PDSCH transmission and buffering for potential PDSCH. In further embodiments, the UE 205 may further support one or more of the following additional indications to reduce decoding complexity: [0100] In certain embodiments, the additional indication includes a Demodulation Reference Signal (“DMRS”) (e.g., front-load DMRS). The additional indication may be used to indicate whether an SPS resource corresponding to a first SPS configuration (e.g., the first SPS configuration 301 in FIG. 3) or an SPS resource corresponding to a second SPS configuration (e.g., the third SPS configuration 305 in FIG. 3) is used for PDSCH. In certain embodiments, the frequency resources for the first SPS configuration and second SPS configuration are the same, but the time resource for the first SPS configuration may be longer than (and contain) the time resource for the second SPS configuration. [0101] In an example, the first SPS configuration has a first DL DMRS scrambling initialization (or DMRS scrambling ID), and the second SPS configuration has a second DL DMRS scrambling initialization (or DMRS scrambling ID). [0102] In another example, the DL DMRS scrambling initialization is determined based on a parameter dependent on: the symbol/time unit where an SPS occasion of a SPS configuration ends; or the time duration (e.g., in number of symbols) of an SPS occasion of a SPS configuration. [0103] In a further example, the DL DMRS may be located in a symbol (or similar time unit) that is common or overlapping (e.g., first common/overlapping symbol) to at least a subset of the set of SPS configurations. For example, with reference to FIG. 3, the DL DMRS may be located on the first symbol of slot 3, which corresponds to the first symbol of the second SPS configuration 303 and fourth SPS configuration 307, and which symbol is common to all four SPS configurations (i.e., first SPS configuration 301, second SPS configuration 303, third SPS configuration 305, and fourth SPS configuration 307). Moreover, the DMRS sequence for the DL DMRS (e.g., with different DMRS scrambling initialization and/or DMRS scrambling ID) can indicate the SPS configuration index of the SPS resource used for PDSCH.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of BAGHERI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WONG’s SRS configuration feature by using the DMRS for downlink resource determination/selection to arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein among the N resources, the resources on which the one or more PDSCHs are received are determined based on a received demodulation reference signal (DMRS), in order to provide a benefit of reduced downlink decoding complexity.
In regards to claim 16, WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) is silent on the UE of claim 10, wherein among the N resources, the resources on which the one or more PDSCHs are received are determined based on a received demodulation reference signal (DMRS). Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving SRS configuration. BAGHERI (US 20240349267 A1) teaches where resources on which PDSCHs are received, are determined based on a received DMRS (“[0099] In some embodiments, using multiple SPS configurations with same start time or end time of SPS resources (or SPS occasions) allows for reduced UE decoding complexity, e.g., in terms of performing blind decoding for which SPS configuration is used for a PDSCH transmission and buffering for potential PDSCH. In further embodiments, the UE 205 may further support one or more of the following additional indications to reduce decoding complexity: [0100] In certain embodiments, the additional indication includes a Demodulation Reference Signal (“DMRS”) (e.g., front-load DMRS). The additional indication may be used to indicate whether an SPS resource corresponding to a first SPS configuration (e.g., the first SPS configuration 301 in FIG. 3) or an SPS resource corresponding to a second SPS configuration (e.g., the third SPS configuration 305 in FIG. 3) is used for PDSCH. In certain embodiments, the frequency resources for the first SPS configuration and second SPS configuration are the same, but the time resource for the first SPS configuration may be longer than (and contain) the time resource for the second SPS configuration. [0101] In an example, the first SPS configuration has a first DL DMRS scrambling initialization (or DMRS scrambling ID), and the second SPS configuration has a second DL DMRS scrambling initialization (or DMRS scrambling ID). [0102] In another example, the DL DMRS scrambling initialization is determined based on a parameter dependent on: the symbol/time unit where an SPS occasion of a SPS configuration ends; or the time duration (e.g., in number of symbols) of an SPS occasion of a SPS configuration. [0103] In a further example, the DL DMRS may be located in a symbol (or similar time unit) that is common or overlapping (e.g., first common/overlapping symbol) to at least a subset of the set of SPS configurations. For example, with reference to FIG. 3, the DL DMRS may be located on the first symbol of slot 3, which corresponds to the first symbol of the second SPS configuration 303 and fourth SPS configuration 307, and which symbol is common to all four SPS configurations (i.e., first SPS configuration 301, second SPS configuration 303, third SPS configuration 305, and fourth SPS configuration 307). Moreover, the DMRS sequence for the DL DMRS (e.g., with different DMRS scrambling initialization and/or DMRS scrambling ID) can indicate the SPS configuration index of the SPS resource used for PDSCH.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of BAGHERI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WONG’s SRS configuration feature by using the DMRS for downlink resource determination/selection to arrive at the UE of claim 10, wherein among the N resources, the resources on which the one or more PDSCHs are received are determined based on a received demodulation reference signal (DMRS), in order to provide a benefit of reduced downlink decoding complexity.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WONG (USPGPub No. 2025/0212197) in view of SABER (US 20210153237 A1)
In regards to claim 9, WONG is silent on the method of claim 1, wherein the M resources are included in a resource set consisting of some of resources configured by a first SPS configuration and a second configuration, and wherein based on resources configured by the first SPS configuration being overlapped with resources configured by the second SPS configuration in a time domain, and the first SPS configuration having a lower index than the second SPS configuration, the resources configured by the first SPS configuration are included in the resource set, and the resources configured by the second SPS configuration are not included in the resource set. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving SRS configuration. SABER (US 20210153237 A1) teaches wherein M resources are included in a resource set consisting of some of resources configured by a first SPS configuration and a second configuration, and wherein based on resources configured by the first SPS configuration being overlapped with resources configured by the second SPS configuration in the time domain, and the first SPS configuration having a lower index than the second SPS configuration, the resources configured by the first SPS configuration are included in the resource set, and the resources configured by the second SPS configuration are not included in the resource set (“[0070] The number of HARQ-ACK containers M.sub.j can be configured by a radio resource control (RRC) message or determined by a pre-defined rule (e.g., according to the configured TDRA table) and the number of candidate occasions within the j-th sub-group. For example, the number of HARQ-ACK containers M.sub.j may depend on the capabilities of the UE, such as the number of overlapping PDSCHs the UE is capable of receiving (e.g., based on the number of pipelines in the radio 12 and/or the baseband processor 14 for receiving multiple PDSCHs and/or buffering received PDSCHs for later processing). Each sub-group may have a different value M.sub.j. [0071] In various embodiments of the present disclosure, the UE selects which SPS PDSCHs UE to receive or decode according to the SPS configuration index (e.g., based on lowest index), periodicity (e.g., highest periodicity), and so on. In case of SPS configuration index, according to one embodiment of the present disclosure, the UE receives or decodes the M.sub.j-α.sub.j SPS PDSCHs having the lowest SPS configuration indices. However, embodiment of the present disclosure are not limited thereto and other criteria may be used to select which of the SPS PDSCHs are to be received.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of SABER, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS configuration feature of WONG, by using an a lowest index to select a specific SPS resource from a set of SPS resources, to thus arrive at the method of claim 1, wherein the M resources are included in a resource set consisting of some of resources configured by a first SPS configuration and a second configuration, and wherein based on resources configured by the first SPS configuration being overlapped with resources configured by the second SPS configuration in a time domain, and the first SPS configuration having a lower index than the second SPS configuration, the resources configured by the first SPS configuration are included in the resource set, and the resources configured by the second SPS configuration are not included in the resource set, in order to provide a benefit of reduced downlink decoding complexity.
In regards to claim 18, WONG is silent on the UE of claim 10, wherein the M resources are included in a resource set consisting of some of resources configured by a first SPS configuration and a second configuration, and wherein based on resources configured by the first SPS configuration being overlapped with resources configured by the second SPS configuration in the time domain, and the first SPS configuration having a lower index than the second SPS configuration, the resources configured by the first SPS configuration are included in the resource set, and the resources configured by the second SPS configuration are not included in the resource set. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving SRS configuration. SABER (US 20210153237 A1) teaches wherein M resources are included in a resource set consisting of some of resources configured by a first SPS configuration and a second configuration, and wherein based on resources configured by the first SPS configuration being overlapped with resources configured by the second SPS configuration in the time domain, and the first SPS configuration having a lower index than the second SPS configuration, the resources configured by the first SPS configuration are included in the resource set, and the resources configured by the second SPS configuration are not included in the resource set (“[0070] The number of HARQ-ACK containers M.sub.j can be configured by a radio resource control (RRC) message or determined by a pre-defined rule (e.g., according to the configured TDRA table) and the number of candidate occasions within the j-th sub-group. For example, the number of HARQ-ACK containers M.sub.j may depend on the capabilities of the UE, such as the number of overlapping PDSCHs the UE is capable of receiving (e.g., based on the number of pipelines in the radio 12 and/or the baseband processor 14 for receiving multiple PDSCHs and/or buffering received PDSCHs for later processing). Each sub-group may have a different value M.sub.j. [0071] In various embodiments of the present disclosure, the UE selects which SPS PDSCHs UE to receive or decode according to the SPS configuration index (e.g., based on lowest index), periodicity (e.g., highest periodicity), and so on. In case of SPS configuration index, according to one embodiment of the present disclosure, the UE receives or decodes the M.sub.j-α.sub.j SPS PDSCHs having the lowest SPS configuration indices. However, embodiment of the present disclosure are not limited thereto and other criteria may be used to select which of the SPS PDSCHs are to be received.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of SABER, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SPS configuration feature of WONG, by using an a lowest index to select a specific SPS resource from a set of SPS resources, to thus arrive at the UE of claim 10, wherein the M resources are included in a resource set consisting of some of resources configured by a first SPS configuration and a second configuration, and wherein based on resources configured by the first SPS configuration being overlapped with resources configured by the second SPS configuration in a time domain, and the first SPS configuration having a lower index than the second SPS configuration, the resources configured by the first SPS configuration are included in the resource set, and the resources configured by the second SPS configuration are not included in the resource set, in order to provide a benefit of reduced downlink decoding complexity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5, 6, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476