Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/02/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings on 4/24/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81. Accordingly, the drawings are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification submitted on 4/24/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.71. Accordingly, the specification is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18, line 1, "is” appears to be –in--;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, are 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being unpatentable by Pei (US 20190120940 A1, “Pei1”).
Regarding claim 1, Pei1 teaches a system for LiDAR, the system comprising: a platform comprising a first side and a second side, wherein the first side is opposite of the second side (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has both laser sources 640 and photodetectors 650 attached to a left and right side respectively);
a laser mounted on the platform, the laser arranged to transmit light into an environment (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has laser sources 640 attached to the left side);
a base (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where the fixed frame 610 serves as the base);
a first flexure extending from a first mounting location to the platform, wherein (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is mounted on the frame 610 and extends to the left side of platform 620):
the first flexure is fixedly coupled with the base at the first mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610); and
the first mounting location is closer to the first side of the platform than the second side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the left side of the platform according to the figure); and
a second flexure extending from a second mounting location to the platform, wherein (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is mounted on the frame 610 and extends to the right side of platform 620):
the second flexure is fixedly coupled with the base at the second mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610); and
the second mounting location is closer to the second side of the platform than the first side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the right side of the platform according to the figure);
a detector arranged to detect light from the laser after light is transmitted from the laser into the environment (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has photodetectors 650 attached to the right side); and
one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed, calculate a distance to an object in the environment based on detecting the light from the laser (Pei1, Para [0020], Fig 1, where processor 190 is configured to determine the distance through the time of flight (TOF)).
Regarding claim 3, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a counterweight coupled with the base (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 12-22, Fig 6, where second platform 630 can serve as a counterweight to first platform 620).
Regarding claim 4, Pei1 teaches system for LiDAR, the system comprising: a platform comprising a first side and a second side, wherein the first side is opposite of the second side (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has both laser sources 640 and photodetectors 650 attached to a left and right side respectively);
an optical component mounted on the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has laser sources 640 attached to the left side);
a base (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where the fixed frame 610 serves as the base);
a first flexure extending from a first mounting location to the platform, wherein (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is mounted on the frame 610 and extends to the left side of platform 620):
the first flexure is fixedly coupled with the base at the first mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610); and
the first mounting location is closer to the first side of the platform than the second side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the left side of the platform according to the figure); and
a second flexure extending from a second mounting location to the platform, wherein (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is mounted on the frame 610 and extends to the right side of platform 620):
the second flexure is fixedly coupled with the base at the second mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610); and
the second mounting location is closer to the second side of the platform than the first side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the right side of the platform according to the figure).
Regarding claim 5, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4, wherein: the optical component is a laser (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has laser sources 640 and photodetectors attached to the left side);
the laser is arranged to transmit light into an environment (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1204 consists of emitting lasers 640 at a plurality of positions);
the system comprises a detector arranged to detect light from the laser, after light is transmitted from the laser into the environment (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1206 consists of detecting laser pulses from one or more objects using detector 650); and
one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed, calculate a distance to an object in the environment based on detecting the light from the laser (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1208 consists of using a processor to determine distance using time of flight).
Regarding claim 6, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4, comprising a lens rigidly coupled with the base, wherein (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where lenses 612 and 614 are fixed to frame 110):
the lens is characterized by a focal plane (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where laser sources 640 substantially lie in the focal plane of emission lens 612, and photodetector surfaces substantially lie in the focal plane of the receiving lens 614); and
the optical component is positioned on the focal plane of the lens (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where laser sources 640 substantially lie in the focal plane of emission lens 612, and photodetector surfaces substantially lie in the focal plane of the receiving lens 614); and
the first flexure and the second flexure are arranged to move the optical component in the focal plane of the lens (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where the set of flexures 670a and 670b are configured to move first platform 620 with laser sources 640 and photodetectors 650 in different directions relative to the fixed frame 610 where the lens are attached. Resultingly, the optical components in the focal plane will move).
Regarding claim 7, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4, wherein: the first flexure comprises a first arm and a second arm (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move horizontally and vertically at different resonant frequencies); and
the first arm and the second arm are coupled with the platform (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where set of flexures 670a and 670b extend from the platform).
Regarding claim 8, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4, the system further comprising a counterweight (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 12-22, Fig 6, where second platform 630 can serve as a counterweight to first platform 620), wherein:
the first flexure comprises a first arm and a second arm (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where the set of flexures 670a and 670b have multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d as shown in Fig 4A and 4B);
the first arm is coupled with the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where arms from the flexures 670a and 670b are coupled with platform 620 by being attached to it); and
the second arm is coupled with the counterweight (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where arms from the flexures 670a and 670b are coupled with counterweight/platform 630 by being connected through frame 610 and second set of flexures 680a and 680b).
Regarding claim 9, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the first flexure is separated from the second flexure at the platform by a gap (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where flexures 670a and 670b are separated by a gap where lenses 612 and 614 lie between).
Regarding claim 10, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the first flexure and the second flexure are made of a same piece of material (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig 6, where flexures 420a and 420b are cut from the same spring material).
Regarding claim 11, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the first flexure and the second flexure suspend the platform over the base, so that the base is below the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where flexures 670a and 670b suspend platform 620 over the bottom of the base 610).
Regarding claim 12, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4, wherein: movement of the platform with respect to the base is characterized by a first resonant frequency in a first direction (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move horizontally at a resonant frequency);
the movement of the platform with respect to the base is characterized by a second resonant frequency in a second direction (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move vertically at a resonant frequency); and
the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move horizontally and vertically at different resonant frequencies).
Regarding claim 13, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the platform is centered between the first flexure and the second flexure (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 is in between 670a and 670b).
Regarding claim 14, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the optical component is mounted on the first side of the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has laser sources 640 on the left half of the platform).
Regarding claim 17, Pei1 teaches a method for using a LiDAR system, the method comprising: translating a platform relative to a lens in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the lens (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each can move horizontally and vertically at different resonant frequencies and therefore move platform 620 in Fig 6., which is perpendicular to the optical axis of the lenses as disclosed in Fig. 12 step 1202), wherein:
a laser is mounted on the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has both laser sources 640 are attached to the left side);
a first flexure extends from a first mounting location to the platform (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is mounted on the frame 610 and extends to the left side of the platform 620);
the platform comprises a first side and a second side (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has a side where the laser 640 sits on the left side and photodetectors 650 sits on the right side);
the second side is opposite the first side (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has photodetectors 650 attached to the right side);
the first flexure is fixedly coupled with a base at the first mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610);
the first mounting location is closer to the first side of the platform than the second side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the left side of the platform according to the figure);
a second flexure extends from a second mounting location to the platform (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is mounted on the frame 610 and extends to the right side of platform 620);
the second flexure is fixedly coupled with the base at the second mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610); and
the second mounting location is closer to the second side of the platform than the first side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the right side of the platform according to the figure);
emitting light from the laser, while translating the laser (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure can vibrate and therefore scan horizontally and vertically at different resonant frequencies);
transmitting light emitted from the laser through the lens and into an environment (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1204 consists of emitting lasers 640 at a plurality of positions, and the lasers are substantially in the focal plane of a lens);
detecting light from the laser, using a detector, after transmitting the light emitted from the laser into the environment (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1206 consists of detecting laser pulses from one or more objects using detector 650); and
calculating a distance to an object in the environment based on detecting the light from the laser (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1208 consists of using a processor to determine distance using time of flight).
Regarding claim 18, Pei1 teaches the method of claim 17, comprising translating the laser is a focal plane of the lens, wherein the lens is rigidly coupled with the base (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where laser sources 640 substantially lie in the focal plane of emission lens 612 which is rigidly coupled with frame 610. Photodetector surfaces substantially lie in the focal plane of the receiving lens 614 which is rigidly coupled with frame 610. The laser can scan vertically and horizontally at different resonant frequencies as per Para [0039]).
Regarding claim 19, Pei1 teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the first flexure and the second flexure suspend the platform over the base, so that the base is below the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where flexures 670a and 670b suspend platform 620 over the bottom of the base 610).
Regarding claim 20, Pei1 teaches the method of claim 17, comprising: translating the laser in a first direction at a first resonant frequency (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move horizontally at a resonant frequency); and
translating the laser in a second direction at a second resonant frequency, wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move vertically at a resonant frequency).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei1 in view of Goldman et al. (WO 2022046401 A1, "Goldman”).
Regarding claim 2, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: the first flexure comprises a tapered arm; and
However, Pei1 does not teach the tapered arm narrows in a direction toward the platform
On the other hand, Goldman teaches a narrowing arm for increased flexibility when mapping at different resonant frequencies. (Goldman, pp.7 Para (4), Fig. 5A, where the flexure tapers from both directions 507c and 507d to allow for more intense frequencies)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Pei1 in view of Goldman, by applying the technique of tapering flexure arms to increase the range of motion in a wide-angle scan . See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Regarding claim 16 Pei1, teaches the system of claim 4, wherein:
the first flexure and the second flexure are coupled with the spar (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 with lasers 640 can be attached to the Goldman, Fig. 5A, where hinge 502 (spar) disclosed in Goldman, taking the place of the mirror, therefore coupling the flexures and the spar).
However, Pei1 does not teach the platform comprises a spar;
On the other hand, Goldman teaches a bar attaching a platform with an optical component to a flexure, allowing the component to move while not being directly connected to a base (Goldman, pp.7 Para (4), Fig. 5A, where hinge 502 functions as a spar to attach the flexures to the platform with an optical component (in this case mirror 501)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Pei1 in view of Goldman, by applying a hinge/spar to connect a platform with lasers to a flexure, such that the platform can translate through the flexure without being attached directly to a base. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei1 in view of Pei et al. (US 20200243577 A1, “Pei2”).
Regarding claim 15, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 4.
However, Pei1 does not teach the optical component is mounted on a third side of the platform; and
the third side is between the first side and the second side of the platform.
On the other hand, Pei2 teaches an additional platform board introducing a third side in between the two sides opposite the center of the platform, where the optical components are mounted (Pei2, Para [0014], Fig 1, where platform board 140 is a part of Pei1's Fig 6 platform 620, making the first side the part of the platform left of the board, the second side the part of the platform to the right of the board and the third side the top side of the board. This would put Pei2 board's optical component 130 in between the first and second side of the platform).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Pei1 in view of Pei2, by applying an additional platform board to the original for a change desired scanning angle range. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Conclusion
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645