Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 5/13/2026
The amendment is sufficient to overcome the objection to the claims
Claims 1, 4, 10, 11, 17, and 18 were amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1-2 of the remarks, filed 5/13/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Yautz et al. (US 20220120862 A1, “Yautz”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14, are 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being unpatentable by Pei (US 20190120940 A1, “Pei1”) and Yautz et al. (US 20220120862 A1, “Yautz”).
Regarding claim 1, Pei1 teaches a system for LiDAR, the system comprising: a platform comprising a first side and a second side, wherein the first side is opposite of the second side (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has both laser sources 640 and photodetectors 650 attached to one face of a platform)
a laser mounted on the first side of the platform, the laser arranged to transmit light in the forward direction, away from the first side of the platform, and into an environment (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has laser sources 640 attached to a face of the platform);
a base (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where the fixed frame 610 serves as the base);
the first flexure is fixedly coupled with the base at the first mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610); and
the first mounting location is closer to the first side of the platform than the second side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the left side of the platform according to the figure); and
the second flexure is fixedly coupled with the base at the second mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610); and
the second mounting location is closer to the second side of the platform than the first side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the right side of the platform according to the figure);
a detector mounted on the first side of the platform and arranged to detect light from the laser after light is transmitted from the laser into the environment (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has photodetectors 650 attached to the face of the platform platform); and
one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed, calculate a distance to an object in the environment based on detecting the light from the laser (Pei1, Para [0020], Fig 1, where processor 190 is configured to determine the distance through the time of flight (TOF)).
However, Pei1 does not teach , such that the first side is characterized by a normal vector that is parallel and opposite to a normal vector of the second side, the normal vector of the first side defining a forward direction; and
a first flexure extending from a first mounting location to the platform, wherein:
a second flexure extending from a second mounting location to the platform, wherein:
On the other hand, Yautz teaches a rotating platform that has two opposite sides (Yautz, Para [0030], Fig 3, where the rotating platform has opposite first and second sides of a rotating platform in which top part of housing 302 has a position of flexures which when combined extend past the opposite sides) with a housing functioning as flexures that extend across the opposite sides which when combined with Pei1 teaches multiple sets of flexures where each set extends across both opposite sides of a platform (Yautz, Para [0030], Fig 3, where the top part of housing 302 teaches the position of flexures which extend past a first and second side of a platform. When combined with the first flexure 670a and second flexure 670b of Pei1, Yautz teaches a set of two flexures extending across both opposite sides of a base, the first flexure being closer to a first side and a second flexure being closer to a second side).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Pei1 in view of Yautz, by modifying the position of the first and second flexures such that when combined they extend past first and second opposite side to increase efficiency of heat transfer between the inside of the flexures and the exterior of the Lidar system.
Regarding claim 3, Pei1 teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising a counterweight coupled with the base (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 12-22, Fig 6, where second platform 630 can serve as a counterweight to first platform 620).
Regarding claim 4, Pei1 teaches a system for LiDAR, the system comprising:
a platform comprising a first side and a second side, wherein the first side is opposite of the second side (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has both laser sources and photodetectors attached to a side in between the two opposite sides parallel to the extending direction of flexures 670a and 670b),
an optical component mounted on the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has both laser sources 640 and photodetectors 650 attached to a face of the platform);
a base (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where the fixed frame 610 serves as the base);
the first flexure is fixedly coupled with the base at the first mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610); and
the first mounting location is closer to the first side of the platform than the second side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the left side of the platform according to the figure); and
the second flexure is fixedly coupled with the base at the second mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610); and
the second mounting location is closer to the second side of the platform than the first side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the right side of the platform according to the figure).
However Pei1 does not teach such that the first side is characterized by a normal vector that is parallel and opposite to a normal vector of the second side;
a first flexure extending in a direction of the normal vector of the first side from the platform to a first mounting location to the , wherein:
a second flexure extending in a direction of the normal vector of the second side from the platform to a second mounting location, wherein:
On the other hand, Yautz teaches a rotating platform that has two opposite sides (Yautz, Para [0030], Fig 3, where the rotating platform has opposite first and second sides of a rotating platform in which top part of housing 302 has a position of flexures which when combined extend past the opposite sides) with a housing functioning as flexures that extend across the opposite sides which when combined with Pei1 teaches multiple sets of flexures where each set extends across both opposite sides of a platform (Yautz, Para [0030], Fig 3, where the top part of housing 302 teaches the position of flexures which extend past a first and second side of a platform. When combined with the first flexure 670a and second flexure 670b of Pei1, Yautz teaches a set of two flexures extending across both opposite sides of a base, the first flexure being closer to a first side and a second flexure being closer to a second side).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Pei1 in view of Yautz, by modifying the position of the first and second flexures such that when combined they extend past first and second opposite side to increase efficiency of heat transfer between the inside of the flexures and the exterior of the Lidar system.
Regarding claim 5, Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 4, wherein:
the optical component is a laser (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has laser sources 640 and photodetectors attached to a face of a platform);
the laser is arranged to transmit light into an environment (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1204 consists of emitting lasers 640 at a plurality of positions);
the system comprises a detector arranged to detect light from the laser, after light is transmitted from the laser into the environment (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1206 consists of detecting laser pulses from one or more objects using detector 650); and
one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed, calculate a distance to an object in the environment based on detecting the light from the laser (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1208 consists of using a processor to determine distance using time of flight).
Regarding claim 6, Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 4, comprising a lens rigidly coupled with the base, wherein (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where lenses 612 and 614 are fixed to frame 110):
the lens is characterized by a focal plane (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where laser sources 640 substantially lie in the focal plane of emission lens 612, and photodetector surfaces substantially lie in the focal plane of the receiving lens 614); and
the optical component is positioned on the focal plane of the lens (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where laser sources 640 substantially lie in the focal plane of emission lens 612, and photodetector surfaces substantially lie in the focal plane of the receiving lens 614); and
the first flexure and the second flexure are arranged to move the optical component in the focal plane of the lens (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where the set of flexures 670a and 670b are configured to move first platform 620 with laser sources 640 and photodetectors 650 in different directions relative to the fixed frame 610 where the lens are attached. Resultingly, the optical components in the focal plane will move).
Regarding claim 7, Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 4, wherein: the first flexure comprises a first arm and a second arm (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move horizontally and vertically at different resonant frequencies); and
the first arm and the second arm are coupled with the platform (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where set of flexures 670a and 670b extend from the platform).
Regarding claim 8, Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 4, the system further comprising a counterweight (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 12-22, Fig 6, where second platform 630 can serve as a counterweight to first platform 620), wherein:
the first flexure comprises a first arm and a second arm (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where the set of flexures 670a and 670b have multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d as shown in Fig 4A and 4B);
the first arm is coupled with the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where arms from the flexures 670a and 670b are coupled with platform 620 by being attached to it); and
the second arm is coupled with the counterweight (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where arms from the flexures 670a and 670b are coupled with counterweight/platform 630 by being connected through frame 610 and second set of flexures 680a and 680b).
Regarding claim 9, Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the first flexure is separated from the second flexure at the platform by a gap (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where flexures 670a and 670b are separated by a gap where lenses 612 and 614 lie between).
Regarding claim 10, Pei1 in view of Yautz the system of claim 4, wherein the first flexure and the second flexure are made of a same piece of material (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig 6, where flexures 420a and 420b are cut from the same spring material) that extends continuously from the first mounting location to the second mounting location (Yautz, Para [0030], Fig 3, where the top part of housing 302 teaches the position of flexures which extend past a first and second side of a platform. When combined with the first flexure 670a and second flexure 670b of Pei1, Yautz teaches a set of two flexures extending across both opposite sides of a base, the first flexure being closer to a first side and a second flexure being closer to a second side).
Regarding claim 11, Pei1 in view of Yautz the system of claim 4, wherein the first flexure and the second flexure suspend the platform over the base, so that the base is below the platform and the flexures (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where flexures 670a and 670b suspend platform 620 over the bottom of the base 610).
Regarding claim 12, Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 4, wherein: movement of the platform with respect to the base is characterized by a first resonant frequency in a first direction (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move horizontally at a resonant frequency);
the movement of the platform with respect to the base is characterized by a second resonant frequency in a second direction (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move vertically at a resonant frequency); and
the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move horizontally and vertically at different resonant frequencies).
Regarding claim 13, Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the platform is centered between the first flexure and the second flexure (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 is in between 670a and 670b).
Regarding claim 14, Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the optical component is mounted on the first side of the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has laser sources 640 on the left half of the platform).
Regarding claim 17 Pei1 teaches a method for using a LiDAR system, the method comprising:
translating a platform relative to a lens in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the lens (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each can move horizontally and vertically at different resonant frequencies and therefore move platform 620 in Fig 6., which is perpendicular to the optical axis of the lenses as disclosed in Fig. 12 step 1202), wherein:
a laser is mounted on the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has both laser sources 640 and photodetectors 650 attached to a face of a platform);
the platform comprises a first side and a second side (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 has a side where the laser sits in between the two opposite sides parallel to the extending direction of flexures 670a and 670b);
the second side is opposite the first side (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 two opposite sides parallel to the extending direction of flexures 670a and 670b),
the first flexure is fixedly coupled with a base at the first mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610);
the first mounting location is closer to the first side of the platform than the second side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where first flexure 670a is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the left side of the platform according to the figure);
a second flexure extends from a second mounting location to the platform (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is mounted on the frame 610 and extends to one side of platform 620);
the second flexure is fixedly coupled with the base at the second mounting location (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610); and
the second mounting location is closer to the second side of the platform than the first side (Pei1, Para [0046] lin. 1-9, Fig 6, where second flexure 670b is coupled with the base by extending to frame 610 and is closer to the right side of the platform according to the figure);
emitting light from the laser, while translating the laser (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure can vibrate and therefore scan horizontally and vertically at different resonant frequencies);
transmitting light emitted from the laser through the lens and into an environment (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1204 consists of emitting lasers 640 at a plurality of positions, and the lasers are substantially in the focal plane of a lens);
detecting light from the laser, using a detector, after transmitting the light emitted from the laser into the environment (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1206 consists of detecting laser pulses from one or more objects using detector 650); and
calculating a distance to an object in the environment based on detecting the light from the laser (Pei1, Para [0052], Fig 12, where step 1208 consists of using a processor to determine distance using time of flight).
However, Pei1 does not teach such that the first side is characterized by a normal vector that is parallel and opposite to a normal vector of the second side;
a first flexure extends in a direction of the normal vector of the first side from the platform to a first mounting location;
in a direction of the normal vector of the second side the platform to
On the other hand, Yautz teaches a rotating platform that has two opposite sides (Yautz, Para [0030], Fig 3, where the rotating platform has opposite first and second sides of a rotating platform in which top part of housing 302 has a position of flexures which when combined extend past the opposite sides) with a housing functioning as flexures that extend across the opposite sides which when combined with Pei1 teaches multiple sets of flexures where each set extends across both opposite sides of a platform (Yautz, Para [0030], Fig 3, where the top part of housing 302 teaches the position of flexures which extend past a first and second side of a platform. When combined with the first flexure 670a and second flexure 670b of Pei1, Yautz teaches a set of two flexures extending across both opposite sides of a base, the first flexure being closer to a first side and a second flexure being closer to a second side).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of using a Lidar system of Pei1 in view of Yautz, by modifying the position of the first and second flexures such that when combined they extend past first and second opposite side to increase efficiency of heat transfer between the inside of the flexures and the exterior of the Lidar system.
Regarding claim 18, Pei1 teaches the method of claim 17, comprising translating the laser in a focal plane of the lens, wherein the lens is rigidly coupled with the base (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where laser sources 640 substantially lie in the focal plane of emission lens 612 which is rigidly coupled with frame 610. Photodetector surfaces substantially lie in the focal plane of the receiving lens 614 which is rigidly coupled with frame 610. The laser can scan vertically and horizontally at different resonant frequencies as per Para [0039]).
Regarding claim 19, Pei1 teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the first flexure and the second flexure suspend the platform over the base, so that the base is below the platform (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where flexures 670a and 670b suspend platform 620 over the bottom of the base 610).
Regarding claim 20, Pei1 teaches the method of claim 17, comprising:
translating the laser in a first direction at a first resonant frequency (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move horizontally at a resonant frequency); and
translating the laser in a second direction at a second resonant frequency, wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction (Pei1, Para [0039], Fig. 4A and 4B, where each flexure has multiple arms extending from mounting points 430a-430d, allowing the flexures to vibrate and therefore move vertically at a resonant frequency).
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei1 in view of Yautz and Goldman et al. (WO 2022046401 A1, "Goldman”).
Regarding claim 2, Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: the first flexure comprises a tapered arm.
However, Pei1 in view of Yautz does not teach the tapered arm narrows in a direction toward the platform.
On the other hand, Goldman teaches a narrowing arm for increased flexibility when mapping at different resonant frequencies. (Goldman, pp.7 Para (4), Fig. 5A, where the flexure tapers from both directions 507c and 507d to allow for more intense frequencies).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Pei1 in view of Yautz and Goldman, by applying the technique of tapering flexure arms to increase the range of motion in a wide-angle scan . See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Regarding claim 16 Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 4, wherein:
the first flexure and the second flexure are coupled with the spar (Pei1, Para [0045], Fig 6, where platform 620 with lasers 640 can be attached to the Goldman, Fig. 5A, where hinge 502 (spar) disclosed in Goldman, taking the place of the mirror, therefore coupling the flexures and the spar).
However, Pei1 in view of Yautz does not teach the platform comprises a spar;
On the other hand, Goldman teaches a bar attaching a platform with an optical component to a flexure, allowing the component to move while not being directly connected to a base (Goldman, pp.7 Para (4), Fig. 5A, where hinge 502 functions as a spar to attach the flexures to the platform with an optical component (in this case mirror 501)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Pei1 in view of Yautz and Goldman, by applying a hinge/spar to connect a platform with lasers to a flexure, such that the platform can translate through the flexure without being attached directly to a base. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei1 in view of Yautz and Pei et al. (US 20200243577 A1, “Pei2”).
Regarding claim 15, Pei1 in view of Yautz teaches the system of claim 4.
However, Pei1 in view of Yautz does not teach the optical component is mounted on a third side of the platform; and
the third side is between the first side and the second side of the platform.
On the other hand, Pei2 teaches an additional platform board introducing a third side in between the two sides opposite the center of the platform, where the optical components are mounted (Pei2, Para [0014], Fig 1, where platform board 140 is a part of Pei1's Fig 6 platform 620, making the first side the part of the platform left of the board, the second side the part of the platform to the right of the board and the third side the top side of the board. This would put Pei2 board's optical component 130 in between the first and second side of the platform).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the Lidar system of Pei1 in view of Yautz and Pei2, by applying an additional platform board to the original for a change desired scanning angle range. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale D.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645