DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 04/20/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 04/20/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-3, 8-10 and 15-17 are amended
Claims 1-20 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (US 20210329699 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhou, in view of Alireza Babaei (US 20210259040 A1), hereinafter referenced as Babaei.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a method (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0045]-Zhou discloses a UE for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to receive an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0065]-Zhou discloses a base station for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to transmit an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell) comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, configuration parameters of a cell that is associated with a first transmit/receive point (TRP) and a second TRP (Fig. 5, Para. [0229]-Zhou discloses multi-TRP communication (sometimes referred to as multi-panel communication). Fig. 7, Para. [0242]-Zhou discloses base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs and random access configuration information. Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Fig. 10, Para. [0265-0266]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 1005, the base station 110 may associate one or more downlink reference signals (DL-RSs) with a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with the serving cell in which the base station 110 is operating ... multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG) ... different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs ... a first subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with the base station 110, and a second subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with a different base station and/or TRP in the serving cell),
the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used); and
the second TRP is associated with a second TAG (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used);
initiating a random access process by transmitting a random access preamble (Fig. 7, Para. [0243]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 710, the UE 120 may transmit a random access message, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, and/or the like). The message that includes the preamble may be referred to as a message 1, msg1, MSG1, a first message, an initial message, and/or the like in a four-step random access procedure. The random access message may include a random access preamble identifier);
receiving a random access message in response to the transmitting the random access preamble (Fig. Para. [0244]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 715, the base station 110 may transmit an RAR as a reply to the preamble. The message that includes the RAR may be referred to as message 2, msg2, MSG2, or a second message in a four-step random access procedure),
random access message indicates a first timing advance (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages. Para. [0022]-Zhou discloses applying a timing advance value {corresponding to the FIRST TIMING ADVANCE - first value of a first field} received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages); and
a first value of a second field of the random access message indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Para. [0022]-Zhou discloses applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message. Fig. 14, Para. [0306]-Zhou discloses receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a PDCCH portion and a PDSCH portion {corresponding to the second field of the second random access message}, associated with the one or more PCIs {corresponding to the PCIs associated with the timing advance value in the second random access message in the aforementioned timing advance group - TAG} based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages (block 1430). Figs. 10 and 13, Para. [0299]-Zhou discloses the UE may monitor for second random access messages from the base station on the subset of selected SSBs associated with the first PCI during the first RAR window and may monitor for second random access messages from the base station on the subset of selected SSBs associated with the second PCI during the second RAR window. Figs. 10 and 12, Para. [0293]-Zhou discloses UE may monitor for second random access messages from the base station during the individual RAR windows based on which PCIs are associated with the selected SSBs. The different RAR windows in the set of RAR windows may therefore include PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with different PCIs of the multiple PCIs. Para. [0260]-Zhou discloses UE monitors for an RAR message (also referred to as Msg2 or MsgB or “Msg2/B”) from the base station during an RAR window (e.g., as defined by 3GPP specifications). Para. [0280]-Zhou discloses the UE 120 may apply a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages from the base station 110, to all PCIs included in a TAG that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message); and
a second value of the second field indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the second TAG (Para. [0006-0022]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include ... transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) portion and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) portion, associated with the one or more PCIs based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages … the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group {Corresponding to the first TAG} or in different timing advance groups {Corresponding to the second TAG} based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message); and
transmitting, based on the second field having the first value, a first uplink transmission to the first TRP based on the first timing advance (Para. [0252]-Zhou discloses the random access message preamble may include some or all contents of message 1 (e.g., a PRACH preamble), and the random access message payload may include some or all contents of message 3 (e.g., a UE identifier, uplink control information (UCI), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, and/or the like). Para. [0006-0022]-Zhou discloses the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group {Corresponding to the first TAG} or in different timing advance groups {Corresponding to the second TAG} based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message).
Zhou fails to explicitly teach a first field of the random access message indicates a first timing advance.
However, Babaei teaches a first field of the random access message indicates a first timing advance (Fig. 52, Para. [0482]-Babaei discloses receiving the timing advance value, at 5220, may be based on a Message 2 (e.g., RAR) of the four-step random access process ... receiving the timing advance value may be based on a Message B of the two-step random access process ..., a random access response message or the Msg B, of the random access process, may comprise a field indicating the timing advance value. Para. [0295]-Babaei discloses downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value. Para. [0405]-Babaei discloses MAC CE format may comprise a TAG ID field. Para. [0464]-Babaei discloses wireless device may receive a timing advance command (e.g., via a RAR message in a random access process or based on a timing advance MAC CE);
a first value of a second field of the random access message indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Fig. 52, Para. [0482]-Babaei discloses receiving the timing advance value, at 5220, may be based on a Message 2 (e.g., RAR) of the four-step random access process ... receiving the timing advance value may be based on a Message B of the two-step random access process ..., a random access response message or the Msg B, of the random access process, may comprise a field indicating the timing advance value. Para. [0295]-Babaei discloses downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value. Para. [0405]-Babaei discloses MAC CE format may comprise a TAG ID field. Para. [0464]-Babaei discloses wireless device may receive a timing advance command (e.g., via a RAR message in a random access process or based on a timing advance MAC CE. Para. [0241]-Babaei discloses a Timing Advance Command MAC CE may be identified by MAC subheader with a corresponding LCID. The Timing Advance Command MAC CE may have a fixed size and may comprise of an octet comprising a TAG ID field and a Timing Advance Command field. The TAG Identity (TAG ID) may indicate the TAG Identity of the addressed TAG. The TAG containing the SpCell may have a TAG Identity 0. The length of the TAG ID field may be 2 bits. The Timing Advance Command field may indicate the index value TA (0, 1, 2 . . . 63) used to control the amount of timing adjustment that MAC entity has to apply. The length of the Timing Advance Command field may be 6 bits).
Zhou and Babaei are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with wireless network processes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Babaei on random access messages, with a motivation to indicate timing advance and timing advance groups, and guarantee a common protocol that enables different user equipment to communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level, (Zhou, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0045]-Zhou discloses a UE for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to receive an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0065]-Zhou discloses a base station for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to transmit an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell), cause the wireless device to:
receive configuration parameters of a cell that is associated with a first transmit/receive point (TRP) and a second TRP (Fig. 5, Para. [0229]-Zhou discloses multi-TRP communication (sometimes referred to as multi-panel communication). Fig. 7, Para. [0242]-Zhou discloses base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs and random access configuration information. Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Fig. 10, Para. [0265-0266]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 1005, the base station 110 may associate one or more downlink reference signals (DL-RSs) with a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with the serving cell in which the base station 110 is operating ... multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG) ... different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs ... a first subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with the base station 110, and a second subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with a different base station and/or TRP in the serving cell),
the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used); and
the second TRP is associated with a second TAG (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used);
initiate a random access process by transmitting a random access preamble (Fig. 7, Para. [0243]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 710, the UE 120 may transmit a random access message, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, and/or the like). The message that includes the preamble may be referred to as a message 1, msg1, MSG1, a first message, an initial message, and/or the like in a four-step random access procedure. The random access message may include a random access preamble identifier);
receive a random access message in response to the transmitting the random access preamble (Fig. Para. [0244]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 715, the base station 110 may transmit an RAR as a reply to the preamble. The message that includes the RAR may be referred to as message 2, msg2, MSG2, or a second message in a four-step random access procedure),
random access message indicates a first timing advance (Fig. 52, Para. [0482]-Babaei discloses receiving the timing advance value, at 5220, may be based on a Message 2 (e.g., RAR) of the four-step random access process ... receiving the timing advance value may be based on a Message B of the two-step random access process ..., a random access response message or the Msg B, of the random access process, may comprise a field indicating the timing advance value. Para. [0295]-Babaei discloses downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value. Para. [0405]-Babaei discloses MAC CE format may comprise a TAG ID field. Para. [0464]-Babaei discloses wireless device may receive a timing advance command (e.g., via a RAR message in a random access process or based on a timing advance MAC CE); and
a first value of a second field of the random access message indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Para. [0022]-Zhou discloses applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message. Fig. 14, Para. [0306]-Zhou discloses receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a PDCCH portion and a PDSCH portion {corresponding to the second field of the second random access message}, associated with the one or more PCIs {corresponding to the PCIs associated with the timing advance value in the second random access message in the aforementioned timing advance group - TAG} based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages (block 1430). Figs. 10 and 13, Para. [0299]-Zhou discloses the UE may monitor for second random access messages from the base station on the subset of selected SSBs associated with the first PCI during the first RAR window and may monitor for second random access messages from the base station on the subset of selected SSBs associated with the second PCI during the second RAR window. Figs. 10 and 12, Para. [0293]-Zhou discloses UE may monitor for second random access messages from the base station during the individual RAR windows based on which PCIs are associated with the selected SSBs. The different RAR windows in the set of RAR windows may therefore include PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with different PCIs of the multiple PCIs. Para. [0260]-Zhou discloses UE monitors for an RAR message (also referred to as Msg2 or MsgB or “Msg2/B”) from the base station during an RAR window (e.g., as defined by 3GPP specifications). Para. [0280]-Zhou discloses the UE 120 may apply a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages from the base station 110, to all PCIs included in a TAG that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message); and
a second value of the second field indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the second TAG (Para. [0006-0022]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include ... transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) portion and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) portion, associated with the one or more PCIs based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages … the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group {Corresponding to the first TAG} or in different timing advance groups {Corresponding to the second TAG} based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message); and
transmit, based on the second field having the first value, an uplink transmission to the first TRP based on the first timing advance (Para. [0252]-Zhou discloses the random access message preamble may include some or all contents of message 1 (e.g., a PRACH preamble), and the random access message payload may include some or all contents of message 3 (e.g., a UE identifier, uplink control information (UCI), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, and/or the like). Para. [0006-0022]-Zhou discloses the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group {Corresponding to the first TAG} or in different timing advance groups {Corresponding to the second TAG} based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message).
Zhou fails to explicitly teach a first field of the random access message indicates a first timing advance.
However, Babaei teaches a first field of the random access message indicates a first timing advance (Fig. 52, Para. [0482]-Babaei discloses receiving the timing advance value, at 5220, may be based on a Message 2 (e.g., RAR) of the four-step random access process ... receiving the timing advance value may be based on a Message B of the two-step random access process ..., a random access response message or the Msg B, of the random access process, may comprise a field indicating the timing advance value. Para. [0295]-Babaei discloses downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value. Para. [0405]-Babaei discloses MAC CE format may comprise a TAG ID field. Para. [0464]-Babaei discloses wireless device may receive a timing advance command (e.g., via a RAR message in a random access process or based on a timing advance MAC CE);
a first value of a second field of the random access message indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Fig. 52, Para. [0482]-Babaei discloses receiving the timing advance value, at 5220, may be based on a Message 2 (e.g., RAR) of the four-step random access process ... receiving the timing advance value may be based on a Message B of the two-step random access process ..., a random access response message or the Msg B, of the random access process, may comprise a field indicating the timing advance value. Para. [0295]-Babaei discloses downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value. Para. [0405]-Babaei discloses MAC CE format may comprise a TAG ID field. Para. [0464]-Babaei discloses wireless device may receive a timing advance command (e.g., via a RAR message in a random access process or based on a timing advance MAC CE. Para. [0241]-Babaei discloses a Timing Advance Command MAC CE may be identified by MAC subheader with a corresponding LCID. The Timing Advance Command MAC CE may have a fixed size and may comprise of an octet comprising a TAG ID field and a Timing Advance Command field. The TAG Identity (TAG ID) may indicate the TAG Identity of the addressed TAG. The TAG containing the SpCell may have a TAG Identity 0. The length of the TAG ID field may be 2 bits. The Timing Advance Command field may indicate the index value TA (0, 1, 2 . . . 63) used to control the amount of timing adjustment that MAC entity has to apply. The length of the Timing Advance Command field may be 6 bits).
Zhou and Babaei are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with wireless network processes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Babaei on random access messages, with a motivation to indicate timing advance and timing advance groups, and guarantee a common protocol that enables different user equipment to communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level, (Zhou, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches a system comprising: a base station; and a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0045]-Zhou discloses a UE for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to receive an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0065]-Zhou discloses a base station for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to transmit an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell), cause the wireless device to:
receive, from the base station, configuration parameters of a cell that is associated with a first transmit/receive point (TRP) and a second TRP (Fig. 7, Para. [0242]-Zhou discloses base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs and random access configuration information. Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Fig. 10, Para. [0265-0266]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 1005, the base station 110 may associate one or more downlink reference signals (DL-RSs) with a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with the serving cell in which the base station 110 is operating ... multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG) ... different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs ... a first subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with the base station 110, and a second subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with a different base station and/or TRP in the serving cell),
the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used); and
the second TRP is associated with a second TAG (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used);
initiate a random access process by transmitting a random access preamble (Fig. 7, Para. [0243]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 710, the UE 120 may transmit a random access message, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, and/or the like). The message that includes the preamble may be referred to as a message 1, msg1, MSG1, a first message, an initial message, and/or the like in a four-step random access procedure. The random access message may include a random access preamble identifier);
receive a random access message in response to the transmitting the random access preamble (Fig. Para. [0244]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 715, the base station 110 may transmit an RAR as a reply to the preamble. The message that includes the RAR may be referred to as message 2, msg2, MSG2, or a second message in a four-step random access procedure),
random access message indicates a first timing advance (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages. Para. [0022]-Zhou discloses applying a timing advance value {corresponding to the FIRST TIMING ADVANCE - first value of a first field} received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages); and
a first value of a second field of the random access message indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) portion and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) portion, associated with the one or more PCIs based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages. Para. [0021]-Zhou discloses the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group or in different timing advance groups based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure); and
a second value of the second field indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the second TAG (Para. [0006-0022]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include ... transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) portion and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) portion, associated with the one or more PCIs based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages … the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group {Corresponding to the first TAG} or in different timing advance groups {Corresponding to the second TAG} based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message); and
transmit, based on the second field having the first value, an uplink transmission to the first TRP based on the first timing advance (Para. [0252]-Zhou discloses the random access message preamble may include some or all contents of message 1 (e.g., a PRACH preamble), and the random access message payload may include some or all contents of message 3 (e.g., a UE identifier, uplink control information (UCI), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, and/or the like). Para. [0006-0022]-Zhou discloses the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group {Corresponding to the first TAG} or in different timing advance groups {Corresponding to the second TAG} based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message).
Zhou fails to explicitly teach a first field of the random access message indicates a first timing advance.
However, Babaei teaches a first field of the random access message indicates a first timing advance (Fig. 52, Para. [0482]-Babaei discloses receiving the timing advance value, at 5220, may be based on a Message 2 (e.g., RAR) of the four-step random access process ... receiving the timing advance value may be based on a Message B of the two-step random access process ..., a random access response message or the Msg B, of the random access process, may comprise a field indicating the timing advance value. Para. [0295]-Babaei discloses downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value. Para. [0405]-Babaei discloses MAC CE format may comprise a TAG ID field. Para. [0464]-Babaei discloses wireless device may receive a timing advance command (e.g., via a RAR message in a random access process or based on a timing advance MAC CE);
a first value of a second field of the random access message indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Fig. 52, Para. [0482]-Babaei discloses receiving the timing advance value, at 5220, may be based on a Message 2 (e.g., RAR) of the four-step random access process ... receiving the timing advance value may be based on a Message B of the two-step random access process ..., a random access response message or the Msg B, of the random access process, may comprise a field indicating the timing advance value. Para. [0295]-Babaei discloses downlink packet may comprise a timing advance command MAC CE comprising the timing advance value. Para. [0405]-Babaei discloses MAC CE format may comprise a TAG ID field. Para. [0464]-Babaei discloses wireless device may receive a timing advance command (e.g., via a RAR message in a random access process or based on a timing advance MAC CE. Para. [0241]-Babaei discloses a Timing Advance Command MAC CE may be identified by MAC subheader with a corresponding LCID. The Timing Advance Command MAC CE may have a fixed size and may comprise of an octet comprising a TAG ID field and a Timing Advance Command field. The TAG Identity (TAG ID) may indicate the TAG Identity of the addressed TAG. The TAG containing the SpCell may have a TAG Identity 0. The length of the TAG ID field may be 2 bits. The Timing Advance Command field may indicate the index value TA (0, 1, 2 . . . 63) used to control the amount of timing adjustment that MAC entity has to apply. The length of the Timing Advance Command field may be 6 bits).
Zhou and Babaei are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with wireless network processes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Babaei on random access messages, with a motivation to indicate timing advance and timing advance groups, and guarantee a common protocol that enables different user equipment to communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level, (Zhou, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Zhou in view of Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, the wireless device of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 respectively,
Zhou further teaches the first value of the bit indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Para. [0006-0022]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include ... transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) portion and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) portion, associated with the one or more PCIs based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages … the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group {Corresponding to the first TAG} or in different timing advance groups {Corresponding to the second TAG} based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message); and
the second value of the bit indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the second TAG (Para. [0006-0022]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include ... transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) portion and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) portion, associated with the one or more PCIs based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages … the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group {Corresponding to the first TAG} or in different timing advance groups {Corresponding to the second TAG} based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message).
Zhou fails to explicitly teach the second filed comprises a bit.
However, Babaei teaches the second filed comprises a bit (Para. [0241]-Babaei discloses a Timing Advance Command MAC CE may be identified by MAC subheader with a corresponding LCID. The Timing Advance Command MAC CE may have a fixed size and may comprise of an octet comprising a TAG ID field and a Timing Advance Command field. The TAG Identity (TAG ID) may indicate the TAG Identity of the addressed TAG. The TAG containing the SpCell may have a TAG Identity 0. The length of the TAG ID field may be 2 bits. The Timing Advance Command field may indicate the index value TA (0, 1, 2 . . . 63) used to control the amount of timing adjustment that MAC entity has to apply. The length of the Timing Advance Command field may be 6 bits. Para. [0464]-Babaei discloses wireless device may receive a timing advance command (e.g., via a RAR message in a random access process or based on a timing advance MAC CE).
Babaei is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication, dealing with wireless network processes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Babaei on random access messages, with a motivation for bit indication of timing advance and timing advance groups, and guarantee a common protocol that enables different user equipment to communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level, (Zhou, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Zhou in view of Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, the wireless device of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 respectively,
Zhou further teaches the first value of the second field indicates that the first timing advance is applicable for uplink transmissions to the first TRP (Para. [0006-0022]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include ... transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) portion and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) portion, associated with the one or more PCIs based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages … the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group {Corresponding to the first TAG} or in different timing advance groups {Corresponding to the second TAG} based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message. Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used. Para. [0252]-Zhou discloses the random access message preamble may include some or all contents of message 1 (e.g., a PRACH preamble), and the random access message payload may include some or all contents of message 3 (e.g., a UE identifier, uplink control information (UCI), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, and/or the like)); and
the second value of the second field indicates that the first timing advance is applicable for uplink transmissions to the second TRP (Para. [0006-0022]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include ... transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) portion and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) portion, associated with the one or more PCIs based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages … the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group {Corresponding to the first TAG} or in different timing advance groups {Corresponding to the second TAG} based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message. Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used. Para. [0252]-Zhou discloses the random access message preamble may include some or all contents of message 1 (e.g., a PRACH preamble), and the random access message payload may include some or all contents of message 3 (e.g., a UE identifier, uplink control information (UCI), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, and/or the like)).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, the wireless device of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 respectively,
Zhou further teaches the random access process is a four-step random access process and the random access message is a random access response (RAR) (Para. [0244]-Zhou discloses the message that includes the RAR may be referred to as message 2, msg2, MSG2, or a second message in a four-step random access procedure).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Zhou in view of Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, the wireless device of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 respectively,
Zhou further teaches the random access process is a two-step random access process and the random access message is a MsgB (Para. [0254]-Zhou discloses the base station 110 may transmit an RAR (sometimes referred to as an RAR message). As shown, the base station 110 may transmit the RAR message as part of a second step of the two-step random access procedure. In some aspects, the RAR message may be referred to as message B, msgB, or a second message in a two-step random access procedure).
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (US 20210329699 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhou, in view of Alireza Babaei (US 20210259040 A1), hereinafter referenced as Babaei, and further in view of Molavianjazi et al. (US 20220210844 A1), hereinafter referenced as Molavianjazi.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Zhou in view of Babaei teaches the method of claim 1, the wireless device of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 respectively,
Zhou fails to teach receiving, from the first TRP, a first downlink control information (DCI) comprising scheduling information for the first uplink transmission to the first TRP.
However, Molavianjazi teaches receiving, from the first TRP, a first downlink control information (DCI) comprising scheduling information for the first uplink transmission to the first TRP (Para. [0122]-Molavianjazi discloses dynamic PUSCH transmission is used to refer to a PUSCH transmission that is scheduled by a DCI format. Para. [0172]-Molavianjazi discloses upon RAR reception, the UE transmits a MSG3 PUSCH that is scheduled by an UL grant in the RAR response. Claim [1]-Molavianjazi discloses A method for performing random access (RA) procedures, the method comprising: receiving a first configuration for RA; initiating a first RA procedure with a first transmission-reception point (TRP) based on the first configuration; and initiating a second RA procedure with a second TRP. Claim [6]-Molavianjazi discloses first RAR includes a first temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI) and a first uplink grant, and a second RAR corresponding to the second RA procedure, wherein the second RAR includes a second TC-RNTI and a second uplink grant; and transmitting: a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the first uplink grant, wherein the first PUSCH includes first TRP-coordination assistance information, and a second PUSCH scheduled by the second uplink grant, wherein the second PUSCH includes second TRP-coordination assistance information).
Zhou and Molavianjazi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with multiple concurrent random access procedures with multiple transmission reception points or multiple cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhou in view of Babaei to incorporate the teachings of Molaviajazi on uplink transmission, with a motivation for receiving DCI comprising the scheduling information, and guarantee increased capacity, (Molavianjazi, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Zhou in view of Babaei and Molavianjazi teaches the method of claim 4, the wireless device of claim 11 respectively,
Zhou fails to teach receiving, from the second TRP, a second DCI comprising scheduling information for a second uplink transmission to the second TRP; and transmitting the second uplink transmission based on a second timing advance.
However, Molavianjazi teaches receiving, from the second TRP, a second DCI comprising scheduling information for a second uplink transmission to the second TRP (Para. [0122]-Molavianjazi discloses dynamic PUSCH transmission is used to refer to a PUSCH transmission that is scheduled by a DCI format. Para. [0172]-Molavianjazi discloses upon RAR reception, the UE transmits a MSG3 PUSCH that is scheduled by an UL grant in the RAR response. Claim [1]-Molavianjazi discloses A method for performing random access (RA) procedures, the method comprising: receiving a first configuration for RA; initiating a first RA procedure with a first transmission-reception point (TRP) based on the first configuration; and initiating a second RA procedure with a second TRP. Claim [6]-Molavianjazi discloses first RAR includes a first temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI) and a first uplink grant, and a second RAR corresponding to the second RA procedure, wherein the second RAR includes a second TC-RNTI and a second uplink grant; and transmitting: a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the first uplink grant, wherein the first PUSCH includes first TRP-coordination assistance information, and a second PUSCH scheduled by the second uplink grant, wherein the second PUSCH includes second TRP-coordination assistance information); and
transmitting the second uplink transmission based on a second timing advance (Para. [0086]-Molavianjazi discloses configuration of RA procedure parameters including for PRACH transmission and RAR monitoring can be ... TRP-specific. In addition, multiple concurrent RA procedures can provide panel-specific or TRP-specific timing advance (TA) values for the UE to use for subsequent UL transmissions).
Zhou and Molavianjazi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with multiple concurrent random access procedures with multiple transmission reception points or multiple cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhou in view of Babaei to incorporate the teachings of Molaviajazi on scheduling uplink transmission, with a motivation to transmit uplink transmission based on timing advance, and guarantee increased capacity, (Molavianjazi, Para. [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (Alireza Babaei (US 20210259040 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Ingale et al. (US 20180359790 A1)-discloses an example of contents of random access response message (700) transmitted to a UE from a cell of next generation of wireless system. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the RAR message includes at least the following field elements: UL timing advance information, UL grant for UE to send random access message (i.e. MSG 3) including Buffer Status Report (BSR), temporary C-RNTI to be used by UE to be included in MSG 3, current SFN (710, 712) of the next generation RAT cell, best UL beam index determined by the SeNB so that UE sends MSG 3 using that UL beam and other information. The RAR is octet aligned and length of the field elements shown in FIG. 7 are exemplary lengths which can be modified without deviating from the purpose served by each field element. The field ‘R’ means reserved field. Therefore, the length of the field elements of each field element should not be considered as the limiting case restricted to lengths depicted in FIG. 7. For e.g. the Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) field may be 24 bits long instead of 16 bits as shown in FIG. 7. With 24 bit C-RNTI it should be possible to address a large density of connected mode UEs compared to 16 bit C-RNTI.…. …Fig. 1-5
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472