DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 01/06/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/06/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-20 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (US 20210329699 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhou.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a method (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0045]-Zhou discloses a UE for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to receive an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0065]-Zhou discloses a base station for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to transmit an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell) comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device, configuration parameters of a cell that is associated with a first transmit/receive point (TRP) and a second TRP (Fig. 5, Para. [0229]-Zhou discloses multi-TRP communication (sometimes referred to as multi-panel communication). Fig. 7, Para. [0242]-Zhou discloses base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs and random access configuration information. Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Fig. 10, Para. [0265-0266]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 1005, the base station 110 may associate one or more downlink reference signals (DL-RSs) with a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with the serving cell in which the base station 110 is operating ... multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG) ... different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs ... a first subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with the base station 110, and a second subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with a different base station and/or TRP in the serving cell),
the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used); and
the second TRP is associated with a second TAG (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used);
initiating a random access process by transmitting a random access preamble (Fig. 7, Para. [0243]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 710, the UE 120 may transmit a random access message, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, and/or the like). The message that includes the preamble may be referred to as a message 1, msg1, MSG1, a first message, an initial message, and/or the like in a four-step random access procedure. The random access message may include a random access preamble identifier);
receiving a random access message in response to the transmitting the random access preamble (Fig. Para. [0244]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 715, the base station 110 may transmit an RAR as a reply to the preamble. The message that includes the RAR may be referred to as message 2, msg2, MSG2, or a second message in a four-step random access procedure),
a first value of a first field of the random access message indicates a first timing advance (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages. Para. [0022]-Zhou discloses applying a timing advance value {corresponding to the FIRST TIMING ADVANCE - first value of a first field} received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages); and
a second value of a second field of the random access message indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Para. [0022]-Zhou discloses applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message. Fig. 14, Para. [0306]-Zhou discloses receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a PDCCH portion and a PDSCH portion {corresponding to the second field of the second random access message}, associated with the one or more PCIs {corresponding to the PCIs associated with the timing advance value in the second random access message in the aforementioned timing advance group - TAG} based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages (block 1430). Figs. 10 and 13, Para. [0299]-Zhou discloses the UE may monitor for second random access messages from the base station on the subset of selected SSBs associated with the first PCI during the first RAR window and may monitor for second random access messages from the base station on the subset of selected SSBs associated with the second PCI during the second RAR window. Figs. 10 and 12, Para. [0293]-Zhou discloses UE may monitor for second random access messages from the base station during the individual RAR windows based on which PCIs are associated with the selected SSBs. The different RAR windows in the set of RAR windows may therefore include PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with different PCIs of the multiple PCIs. Para. [0260]-Zhou discloses UE monitors for an RAR message (also referred to as Msg2 or MsgB or “Msg2/B”) from the base station during an RAR window (e.g., as defined by 3GPP specifications). Para. [0280]-Zhou discloses the UE 120 may apply a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages from the base station 110, to all PCIs included in a TAG that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message); and
transmitting a first uplink transmission to the first TRP based on the first timing advance (Para. [0252]-Zhou discloses the random access message preamble may include some or all contents of message 1 (e.g., a PRACH preamble), and the random access message payload may include some or all contents of message 3 (e.g., a UE identifier, uplink control information (UCI), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, and/or the like)).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0045]-Zhou discloses a UE for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to receive an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0065]-Zhou discloses a base station for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to transmit an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell), cause the wireless device to:
receive configuration parameters of a cell that is associated with a first transmit/receive point (TRP) and a second TRP (Fig. 5, Para. [0229]-Zhou discloses multi-TRP communication (sometimes referred to as multi-panel communication). Fig. 7, Para. [0242]-Zhou discloses base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs and random access configuration information. Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Fig. 10, Para. [0265-0266]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 1005, the base station 110 may associate one or more downlink reference signals (DL-RSs) with a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with the serving cell in which the base station 110 is operating ... multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG) ... different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs ... a first subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with the base station 110, and a second subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with a different base station and/or TRP in the serving cell),
the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used); and
the second TRP is associated with a second TAG (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used);
initiate a random access process by transmitting a random access preamble (Fig. 7, Para. [0243]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 710, the UE 120 may transmit a random access message, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, and/or the like). The message that includes the preamble may be referred to as a message 1, msg1, MSG1, a first message, an initial message, and/or the like in a four-step random access procedure. The random access message may include a random access preamble identifier);
receive a random access message in response to the transmitting the random access preamble (Fig. Para. [0244]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 715, the base station 110 may transmit an RAR as a reply to the preamble. The message that includes the RAR may be referred to as message 2, msg2, MSG2, or a second message in a four-step random access procedure),
a first value of a first field of the random access message indicates a first timing advance (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages. Para. [0022]-Zhou discloses applying a timing advance value {corresponding to the FIRST TIMING ADVANCE - first value of a first field} received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages); and
a second value of a second field of the random access message indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Para. [0022]-Zhou discloses applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message. Fig. 14, Para. [0306]-Zhou discloses receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a PDCCH portion and a PDSCH portion {corresponding to the second field of the second random access message}, associated with the one or more PCIs {corresponding to the PCIs associated with the timing advance value in the second random access message in the aforementioned timing advance group - TAG} based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages (block 1430). Figs. 10 and 13, Para. [0299]-Zhou discloses the UE may monitor for second random access messages from the base station on the subset of selected SSBs associated with the first PCI during the first RAR window and may monitor for second random access messages from the base station on the subset of selected SSBs associated with the second PCI during the second RAR window. Figs. 10 and 12, Para. [0293]-Zhou discloses UE may monitor for second random access messages from the base station during the individual RAR windows based on which PCIs are associated with the selected SSBs. The different RAR windows in the set of RAR windows may therefore include PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with different PCIs of the multiple PCIs. Para. [0260]-Zhou discloses UE monitors for an RAR message (also referred to as Msg2 or MsgB or “Msg2/B”) from the base station during an RAR window (e.g., as defined by 3GPP specifications). Para. [0280]-Zhou discloses the UE 120 may apply a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages from the base station 110, to all PCIs included in a TAG that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message); and
transmitting a first uplink transmission to the first TRP based on the first timing advance (Para. [0252]-Zhou discloses the random access message preamble may include some or all contents of message 1 (e.g., a PRACH preamble), and the random access message payload may include some or all contents of message 3 (e.g., a UE identifier, uplink control information (UCI), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, and/or the like)).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches a system comprising: a base station; and a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0045]-Zhou discloses a UE for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to receive an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Para. [0065]-Zhou discloses a base station for wireless communication may include a memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to transmit an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell), cause the wireless device to:
receive, from the base station, configuration parameters of a cell that is associated with a first transmit/receive point (TRP) and a second TRP (Fig. 7, Para. [0242]-Zhou discloses base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs and random access configuration information. Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Fig. 10, Para. [0265-0266]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 1005, the base station 110 may associate one or more downlink reference signals (DL-RSs) with a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with the serving cell in which the base station 110 is operating ... multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG) ... different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs ... a first subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with the base station 110, and a second subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with a different base station and/or TRP in the serving cell),
the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used); and
the second TRP is associated with a second TAG (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used);
initiate a random access process by transmitting a random access preamble (Fig. 7, Para. [0243]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 710, the UE 120 may transmit a random access message, which may include a preamble (sometimes referred to as a random access preamble, a PRACH preamble, and/or the like). The message that includes the preamble may be referred to as a message 1, msg1, MSG1, a first message, an initial message, and/or the like in a four-step random access procedure. The random access message may include a random access preamble identifier);
receive a random access message in response to the transmitting the random access preamble (Fig. Para. [0244]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 715, the base station 110 may transmit an RAR as a reply to the preamble. The message that includes the RAR may be referred to as message 2, msg2, MSG2, or a second message in a four-step random access procedure),
a first value of a first field of the random access message indicates a first timing advance (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages. Para. [0022]-Zhou discloses applying a timing advance value {corresponding to the FIRST TIMING ADVANCE - first value of a first field} received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages); and
a second value of a second field of the random access message indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) portion and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) portion, associated with the one or more PCIs based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages. Para. [0021]-Zhou discloses the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group or in different timing advance groups based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure); and
transmit an uplink transmission to the first TRP based on the first timing advance (Para. [0252]-Zhou discloses the random access message preamble may include some or all contents of message 1 (e.g., a PRACH preamble), and the random access message payload may include some or all contents of message 3 (e.g., a UE identifier, uplink control information (UCI), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, and/or the like)).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, the wireless device of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 respectively,
Zhou further teaches a value of the second field indicates that a timing advance, indicated by the first field, is applicable to which of the first TAG and the second TAG (Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses transmitting one or more first random access messages in one or more corresponding RACH occasions associated with one or more PCIs of the multiple PCIs; and receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) portion and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) portion, associated with the one or more PCIs based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages. Para. [0021-0022]-Zhou discloses the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group or in different timing advance groups based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, the wireless device of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 respectively,
Zhou further teaches a value of the second field indicates that a timing advance, indicated by the first field, is applicable for uplink transmissions to which of the first TRP and the second TRP (Para. [0225]-Zhou discloses different TRPs 435 may be associated with different physical cell identifiers (PCIs). The different TRPs 435 and/or the different PCIs may be associated with the same serving cell (e.g., the same base station 110, the same 5G access node 405, the same access node controller 410, the same cell identifier, and/or the like). Para. [0265]-Zhou discloses some or all of the multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG). In some aspects, different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs. For example, the multiple PCIs may be included in the same TAG or in different TAGs based at least in part on a purpose of a RACH procedure in which the multiple PCIs are used. Para. [0021-0022]- Zhou discloses the multiple PCIs {corresponding to the SECOND VALUE of the second field} are included in a same timing advance group or in different timing advance groups based at least in part on a purpose of the RACH procedure ... applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, the wireless device of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 respectively,
Zhou further teaches the random access process is a four-step random access process and the random access message is a random access response (RAR) (Para. [0244]-Zhou discloses the message that includes the RAR may be referred to as message 2, msg2, MSG2, or a second message in a four-step random access procedure).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, the wireless device of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 respectively,
Zhou further teaches the random access process is a two-step random access process and the random access message is a MsgB (Para. [0254]-Zhou discloses the base station 110 may transmit an RAR (sometimes referred to as an RAR message). As shown, the base station 110 may transmit the RAR message as part of a second step of the two-step random access procedure. In some aspects, the RAR message may be referred to as message B, msgB, or a second message in a two-step random access procedure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (US 20210329699 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zhou, in view of Molavianjazi et al. (US 20220210844 A1), hereinafter referenced as Molavianjazi.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, the wireless device of claim 8 and the system of claim 15 respectively,
Zhou fails to teach receiving, from the first TRP, a first downlink control information (DCI) comprising scheduling information for the first uplink transmission to the first TRP.
However, Molavianjazi teaches receiving, from the first TRP, a first downlink control information (DCI) comprising scheduling information for the first uplink transmission to the first TRP (Para. [0122]-Molavianjazi discloses dynamic PUSCH transmission is used to refer to a PUSCH transmission that is scheduled by a DCI format. Para. [0172]-Molavianjazi discloses upon RAR reception, the UE transmits a MSG3 PUSCH that is scheduled by an UL grant in the RAR response. Claim [1]-Molavianjazi discloses A method for performing random access (RA) procedures, the method comprising: receiving a first configuration for RA; initiating a first RA procedure with a first transmission-reception point (TRP) based on the first configuration; and initiating a second RA procedure with a second TRP. Claim [6]-Molavianjazi discloses first RAR includes a first temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI) and a first uplink grant, and a second RAR corresponding to the second RA procedure, wherein the second RAR includes a second TC-RNTI and a second uplink grant; and transmitting: a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the first uplink grant, wherein the first PUSCH includes first TRP-coordination assistance information, and a second PUSCH scheduled by the second uplink grant, wherein the second PUSCH includes second TRP-coordination assistance information).
Zhou and Molavianjazi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with multiple concurrent random access procedures with multiple transmission reception points or multiple cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Molaviajazi on uplink transmission, with a motivation for receiving DCI comprising the scheduling information, and guarantee increased capacity, (Molavianjazi, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Zhou in view of Molavianjazi teaches the method of claim 4, the wireless device of claim 11 respectively,
Zhou fails to teach receiving, from the second TRP, a second DCI comprising scheduling information for a second uplink transmission to the second TRP; and transmitting the second uplink transmission based on a second timing advance.
However, Molavianjazi teaches receiving, from the second TRP, a second DCI comprising scheduling information for a second uplink transmission to the second TRP (Para. [0122]-Molavianjazi discloses dynamic PUSCH transmission is used to refer to a PUSCH transmission that is scheduled by a DCI format. Para. [0172]-Molavianjazi discloses upon RAR reception, the UE transmits a MSG3 PUSCH that is scheduled by an UL grant in the RAR response. Claim [1]-Molavianjazi discloses A method for performing random access (RA) procedures, the method comprising: receiving a first configuration for RA; initiating a first RA procedure with a first transmission-reception point (TRP) based on the first configuration; and initiating a second RA procedure with a second TRP. Claim [6]-Molavianjazi discloses first RAR includes a first temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI) and a first uplink grant, and a second RAR corresponding to the second RA procedure, wherein the second RAR includes a second TC-RNTI and a second uplink grant; and transmitting: a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduled by the first uplink grant, wherein the first PUSCH includes first TRP-coordination assistance information, and a second PUSCH scheduled by the second uplink grant, wherein the second PUSCH includes second TRP-coordination assistance information); and
transmitting the second uplink transmission based on a second timing advance (Para. [0086]-Molavianjazi discloses configuration of RA procedure parameters including for PRACH transmission and RAR monitoring can be ... TRP-specific. In addition, multiple concurrent RA procedures can provide panel-specific or TRP-specific timing advance (TA) values for the UE to use for subsequent UL transmissions).
Zhou and Molavianjazi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication systems, dealing with multiple concurrent random access procedures with multiple transmission reception points or multiple cells.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Molaviajazi on scheduling uplink transmission, with a motivation to transmit uplink transmission based on timing advance, and guarantee increased capacity, (Molavianjazi, Para. [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 01/06/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 103 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 9, Lines [19-21], Applicant argues that, “Office Action in Pages 4-6 appears to map the first TRP and the second TRP limitations of claim 1 to the separate PCis disclosure of Zhou.”
However, Zhou teaches receiving, by a wireless device, configuration parameters of a cell that is associated with a first transmit/receive point (TRP) and a second TRP (Fig. 5, Para. [0229]-Zhou discloses multi-TRP communication (sometimes referred to as multi-panel communication). Fig. 7, Para. [0242]-Zhou discloses base station 110 may transmit, and the UE 120 may receive, one or more SSBs and random access configuration information. Para. [0006]-Zhou discloses a method of wireless communication, performed by a user equipment (UE), may include receiving an indication of an association between one or more downlink reference signals and a corresponding physical cell identifier (PCI) of multiple PCIs associated with a serving cell. Fig. 10, Para. [0265-0266]-Zhou discloses as shown by reference number 1005, the base station 110 may associate one or more downlink reference signals (DL-RSs) with a corresponding PCI of multiple PCIs associated with the serving cell in which the base station 110 is operating ... multiple PCIs may be included in a same timing advance group (TAG) ... different PCIs included in the multiple PCIs may be associated with different TAGs ... a first subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with the base station 110, and a second subset of the multiple PCIs may be associated with a different base station and/or TRP in the serving cell).
In the remarks, on page 10, Lines [17-19], Applicant argues that, “Zhou does not teach or suggest that the random access message includes a field that indicates a timing advance is applicable to a first TAG of the multiple TAGs.”
However, Zhou teaches a second value of a second field of the random access message indicates that the first timing advance is applicable to the first TAG (Para. [0022]-Zhou discloses applying a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages, to all PCIs included in a timing advance group that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message. Fig. 14, Para. [0306]-Zhou discloses receiving one or more second random access messages, that include a PDCCH portion and a PDSCH portion {corresponding to the second field of the second random access message}, associated with the one or more PCIs {corresponding to the PCIs associated with the timing advance value in the second random access message in the aforementioned timing advance group - TAG} based at least in part on transmitting the one or more first random access messages (block 1430). Figs. 10 and 13, Para. [0299]-Zhou discloses the UE may monitor for second random access messages from the base station on the subset of selected SSBs associated with the first PCI during the first RAR window and may monitor for second random access messages from the base station on the subset of selected SSBs associated with the second PCI during the second RAR window. Figs. 10 and 12, Para. [0293]-Zhou discloses UE may monitor for second random access messages from the base station during the individual RAR windows based on which PCIs are associated with the selected SSBs. The different RAR windows in the set of RAR windows may therefore include PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with different PCIs of the multiple PCIs. Para. [0260]-Zhou discloses UE monitors for an RAR message (also referred to as Msg2 or MsgB or “Msg2/B”) from the base station during an RAR window (e.g., as defined by 3GPP specifications). Para. [0280]-Zhou discloses the UE 120 may apply a timing advance value received in a second random access message, of the one or more second random access messages from the base station 110, to all PCIs included in a TAG that includes a PCI associated with the second random access message).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472