DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, line 3, “the inserter device body” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims depending from rejected claims include the limitations of their respective parent claim(s) and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same (identical) invention as that of claim 18 of prior U.S. Patent No. 10,219,841, as set forth above. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kleiner et al. (2015/0148907; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Kleiner et al. disclose a device, comprising:
a graft body 60 (Fig. 41) comprising a generally rectangular cross sectional area, a first end, and a second end, the graft body comprising a plurality of rows of teeth 61;
a head 64 extending from the first end of the graft body; and
an adaptor 92 extending from the second end, the adaptor being spaced apart from a last of the plurality of rows of teeth to form an inserter device groove (Fig. 41), the adaptor terminating with an inserter device interface 93, wherein the inserter device interface is configured to mate with an adaptor interface 96 of an inserter device 1 (Fig. 40), wherein the plurality of rows of teeth 61 are oriented so as to be capable of preventing migration or ejection of the graft body 60 when inserted, for example and if desired, into a pilot hole created in adjacent bone structures. It is noted that the sharp edges, described as “sawtooth-like ridges” (para. 0256) of the rows of teeth 61 are capable of engaging bone tissue, whether at the surface or at a drilled portion thereof.
Regarding claim 2, the graft body 60 (Fig. 41) comprises one or more apertures 67 that provide a pathway for bone growth through the graft body 60.
Regarding claim 4, the device interface 93 comprises a plurality of arcuate shaped sidewalls that form a protrusion (Fig. 41; e.g., both their lateral cross-sectional shape and their corners).
Regarding claim 5, the inserter device 1 comprises:
an inserter device body 2 (Fig. 40) having a first end and a second end; and
the first end comprising the adaptor interface 96, the adaptor interface comprising:
a plurality of resiliently biased tabs 97 that are spaced apart from one another so as to allow for independent movement (Fig. 41); and
wherein each of the plurality of resiliently biased tabs comprises a shape configured to engage the plurality of arcuate sidewalls (supra) of the inserter device interface 93 of the adaptor 92 (i.e., a groove to compliment the arcuate sidewalls and a detent to engage the spaced apart portion between the inserter device interface 93 and the graft body 60 (Fig. 41).
Regarding claim 6, the second end of the inserter device 1 comprises an annular stop (Fig. 40 and para. 0252).
Regarding claim 13, the head 64 is a blunt, tapered polygonal sided head (Fig. 41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Kleiner et al. (2015/0148907; cited by Applicant) in view of Lynn et al. (2015/0045892).
Regarding claim 3, Kleiner discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly reciting a first portion of the plurality of rows of teeth being oriented in a first direction and a second portion of the plurality of rows of teeth being oriented in a second direction that is opposite of the first direction, the first portion of the plurality of rows of teeth being configured to remove bone as the graft body is inserted into the pilot hole, the second portion of the plurality of rows of teeth being configured to prevent retraction of the graft body from disengaging from the bone.
Lynn et al. disclose that a plurality of rows of teeth 40 of an implant 10 (Fig. 1A) can comprise a first portion of the plurality of rows of teeth being oriented in a first direction and a second portion of the plurality of rows of teeth being oriented in a second direction that is opposite of the first direction (paras. 0064-0066; cf. Fig. 3A). In addition, the first portion of the plurality of rows of teeth are shaped such that they are capable of removing bone as the graft body is inserted into the pilot hole (e.g., due to their sharp shape and orientation), and the second portion of the plurality of rows of teeth are configured to prevent retraction of the graft body from disengaging from the bone (para. 0066).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the graft body of Kleiner et al. with a first portion of the plurality of rows of teeth being oriented in a first direction and a second portion of the plurality of rows of teeth being oriented in a second direction that is opposite of the first direction, in view of Lynn et al., to enable the first portion of the plurality of rows of teeth to remove bone as the graft body is inserted into the pilot hole if desired, and to enable the second portion of the plurality of rows of teeth being to prevent retraction of the graft body from disengaging from the bone.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Kleiner et al. (2015/0148907; cited by Applicant) in view of Michelson (2002/0077641; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Kleiner et al. disclose the claimed device except for a retraction guide that comprises a tubular retraction guide body having an inner sidewall surface, the retraction guide body having two prongs that are positionable in a space between two adjacent bone structures; and a drill bit that is configured to create a hemispherical groove on each of the two adjacent bone structures with one pass, wherein the hemispherical grooves form a spaced-apart aperture based on a joint space that exists between the two adjacent bone structures.
Michelson discloses a retraction guide 100, 140 (Figs. 1 and 6) that comprises a tubular retraction guide body, e.g., 106, the retraction guide body having two prongs 102 that are positionable in a space between two adjacent bone structures V; and
a drill bit, e.g., 250 (cf. Fig. 40) that is configured to create a hemispherical groove on each of the two adjacent bone structures V with one pass, wherein the hemispherical grooves form a spaced-apart aperture based on a joint space that exists between the two adjacent bone structures V. (para 0196).
The retraction guide and drill bit facilitate safe distraction of the vertebrae and preparation of the opposed vertebral surfaces (para. 0239) to enhance the stability of the implant and expedite fusion (para. 0067).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Kleiner et al. with retraction guide that comprises a tubular retraction guide body having an inner sidewall surface, the retraction guide body having two prongs that are positionable in a space between two adjacent bone structures; and a drill bit that is configured to create a hemispherical groove on each of the two adjacent bone structures with one pass, wherein the hemispherical grooves form a spaced-apart aperture based on a joint space that exists between the two adjacent bone structures, in view of Michelson, to facilitate safe distraction of the vertebrae and preparation of the opposed vertebral surfaces ) to enhance the stability of the implant and expedite fusion (para. 0067).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Kleiner et al. (2015/0148907; cited by Applicant) in view of Michelson (2002/0077641; cited by Applicant), as applied above, and further in view of Mauldin et al. (2014/0276846; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 9, Michelson discloses using any of various tools, including a broach (i.e., reamer; para. 0196) to prepare the intervertebral space for an implant, but does not explicitly recite a broach comprising:
a broach body having a first end and a second end; a broach tip disposed on the first end of the broach body, the broach tip comprising a generally cylindrical head that is configured to insert within the spaced-apart aperture formed by the drill bit; and an incising member comprising a plurality of rectangular, circumferential cutting teeth positioned behind the generally cylindrical head, the plurality of rectangular circumferential cutting teeth incise out the hemispherical grooves to create an angular grooves, each with a vertex.
Mauldin et al. disclose a broach body, e.g., 800 (Fig. 8A and cf. Fig. 9A), having a first end and a second end (id.);
a broach tip 800 disposed on the first end of the broach body, the broach tip comprising a generally cylindrical head 804 that is capable of being inserted within a spaced-apart aperture between adjacent vertebrae formed by a drill bit; and
an incising member comprising a plurality of rectangular, circumferential cutting teeth 806 positioned behind the generally cylindrical head, the plurality of rectangular circumferential cutting teeth capable of incising out hemispherical grooves from the drill to create angular grooves, each with a vertex, if desired (para. 0048, disclosing a square cross-section, which is capable of being rotated to be a diamond shape, with a vertex extending into each adjacent vertebra). This broach configuration allows bone to be prepared for a matching implant (id.).
It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the broach of Michelson in the device of the combination of Kleiner et al. and Michelson, to comprise a broach body having a first end and a second end; a broach tip disposed on the first end of the broach body, the broach tip comprising a generally cylindrical head that is configured to insert within the spaced-apart aperture formed by the drill bit; and an incising member comprising a plurality of rectangular, circumferential cutting teeth positioned behind the generally cylindrical head, the plurality of rectangular circumferential cutting teeth capable of incising out the hemispherical grooves created by the drill to create an angular grooves, each with a vertex, in view of Mauldin et al., to allow the vertebral bone to be prepared for a complimentary graft body implant inserted in a desired manner.
Regarding claim 10, the vertex of the disclosed (para. 0048) triangular cross section or rectangular cross section (rotated) is orthogonal to a surface of a bone structure.
Regarding claim 11, the plurality of rectangular (para. 0048), circumferential cutting teeth comprise an initial set of rectangular, circumferential cutting teeth that are proximate the broach tip (cf. Fig. 8A showing a triangular configuration), each of the initial set comprising four surfaces, wherein each corner of where the four surfaces meet comprise an arcuate chamfered edge (id.).
Regarding claim 12, each of the initial set increases in outer-peripheral area based on a distance from the broach tip (para. 0048 and cf. Fig. 8A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,219,841. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims resides in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are more specific (e.g., independent claim 1 further defines the rectangular cross sectional area, as well as further details of the pilot hole; independent claim 14 further defines the angular grooves as triangular). Thus, at least each element of the claims of the present application are disclosed in corresponding claims of the issued patent, as set forth below. Thus, the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Claims 1-18 of the present application and the issued patent are mapped directly, as follows:
Appl. 18/138,500
Pat. 10,219,841
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
11
11
12
12
13
13
14
14
15
14
16
15
17
16
18
17
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, statutory double patenting, as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, it is noted that the corrections made to overcome the outstanding claim objections are acknowledged. The noted objections have been withdrawn.
The corrections to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections have been considered. However, it is noted that the rejection of claims 5-12 is maintained because the issue pertaining to lack of antecedent basis in claim 5 has not been addressed. Claims 6-12 also remain rejected because they depend from claim 5. The remaining rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
It is respectfully noted that the remaining arguments under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 all depend on an incorrect characterization of Kleiner et al. (2015/0148907) and are not persuasive.
In the Remarks, pages 6-7, Applicant asserts that Kleiner discloses a cylindrical implant and cites Fig. 41 and paragraph 0256:
Kleiner discloses a cylindrical implant body with circumferential sawtooth-like ridges, as confirmed in paragraph [0256] describing a cylindrical body with ridges around the circumference and as illustrated in Figure 41 showing a rounded, tubular structure rather than a graft body with a generally rectangular cross- sectional area. This cylindrical configuration in Kleiner is fundamentally distinct from the claimed graft body, which features a rectangular shape enabling precise incising of angular grooves in adjacent bone structures such as those in a sacroiliac joint, as supported by Applicant's specification at paragraphs [0063]-[0066] and Figure 15 depicting the transformation of hemispherical grooves into angular ones via a rectangular profile.
However, this is not persuasive because paragraph 0256 does not at any point disclose a cylindrical implant body. Moreover, Fig. 41 clearly shows a graft body 60 having a generally rectangular cross-sectional area:
Accordingly, the arguments are not persuasive and the rejections based on Kleiner under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained and made final.
The double patenting rejections, both statutory and non-statutory, have not been overcome by claim cancelation or a terminal disclaimer, and are accordingly maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID C. COMSTOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 3773
/DAVID C COMSTOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773