DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an output device in claims 1, 8-9, and 12 and a user device in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, line 9, “a second amusement park attraction of the one or more amusement park attractions” is indefinite. Line 1 of the claim recites “one or more amusement park attractions” but lines 6 and 9 of the claim recite “a first amusement park attraction” and “a second amusement park attraction,” respectively. The claim seems to require at least two amusement park attractions making “one or more amusement park attractions” indefinite. It is unclear how only one amusement park attraction can be present. It is suggested to change “one or more amusement park attractions” to two or more amusement park attractions throughout the claim to remedy this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khalfan (US 12,340,371 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Khalfan discloses an interactive system (Figures 1 and 3) for an amusement park attraction [103, 306], the interactive system (Figures 1 and 3) comprising: one or more processors [124] configured to: identify [206] a non-fungible token (NFT) [310a, 310b, or 310c] possessed by a user within the amusement park attraction [103, 306]; transform [208] the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into a derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] based on context data for the amusement park attraction [103, 306]; and instruct output [210] of the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] via an output device [112] (lights, speakers, display screen, projectors, scent device, temperature system, or suspension system) within the amusement park attraction [103, 306] (col. 2 lines 21-29, col. 3 lines 1-15, col. 4 line 57 – col. 9 line 49, col. 11 line 24 – col. 12 line 19, and Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Khalfan discloses the interactive system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors [124] is configured to identify [206] the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] possessed by the user via communication with a user device [308] carried by the user in the amusement park attraction [103, 306] (col. 6 line 58 – col. 7 line 14, col. 7 lines 25-32, col. 9 lines 27-36, col. 11 line 59 – col. 12 line 3, and Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 3, Khalfan discloses the interactive system of claim 1, wherein the context data comprises attributes (col. 7 lines 34-37: “light settings, audio, visual content, a visual theme, scents, temperature, manipulation of suspension system (e.g., hydraulic suspension system, shock absorbers) of vehicle(s) 103, and/or other in-vehicle content”) that are available to transform [208] the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] (col. 7 lines 25-51, col. 9 lines 27-49, col 11. line 59 – col. 12 line 11, and Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 4, Khalfan discloses the interactive system of claim 3, wherein the context data comprises rules that set a respective rarity for a first attribute (e.g., col. 7 line 30: “a first digital asset correlated to first content”) of the attributes (col. 7 lines 34-37: “light settings, audio, visual content, a visual theme, scents, temperature, manipulation of suspension system (e.g., hydraulic suspension system, shock absorbers) of vehicle(s) 103, and/or other in-vehicle content”) that are available to transform [208] the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c], and a respective rarity for a second attribute (e.g., col. 7 lines 30-31: “a second digital asset correlated to second content”) of the attributes (col. 7 lines 34-37: “light settings, audio, visual content, a visual theme, scents, temperature, manipulation of suspension system (e.g., hydraulic suspension system, shock absorbers) of vehicle(s) 103, and/or other in-vehicle content”) that are available to transform [208] the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] (col. 7 lines 25-51, col. 9 lines 27-49, col 11. line 59 – col. 12 line 11, and Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 5, Khalfan discloses the interactive system of claim 4, wherein the first attribute (e.g., col. 7 line 30: “a first digital asset correlated to first content”) of the attributes (col. 7 lines 34-37: “light settings, audio, visual content, a visual theme, scents, temperature, manipulation of suspension system (e.g., hydraulic suspension system, shock absorbers) of vehicle(s) 103, and/or other in-vehicle content”) comprises a first color, and a second attribute (e.g., col. 7 lines 30-31: “a second digital asset correlated to second content”) of the attributes (col. 7 lines 34-37: “light settings, audio, visual content, a visual theme, scents, temperature, manipulation of suspension system (e.g., hydraulic suspension system, shock absorbers) of vehicle(s) 103, and/or other in-vehicle content”) comprises a second color (col. 7 lines 25-62 and col. 8 lines 26-35).
Regarding claim 7, Khalfan discloses the interactive system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors [124] are configured to adjust a lighting effect, a sound effect, or both within the amusement park attraction [103, 306] based on characteristics of the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] (col. 7 line 25 – col. 8 line 35, col. 9 lines 38-49, and Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 8, Khalfan discloses the interactive system of claim 1, wherein the output device [112] comprises a display screen (col. 8 line 27: “display screen”), and the one or more processors [124] are configured to: identify an additional NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] possessed by an additional user (col. 7 lines 43-45: “in-vehicle content may depict virtual worlds that may be experience by any number of users synchronously and persistently”) within the amusement park attraction [103, 306]; transform [208] the additional NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into an additional derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the additional NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] based on the context data for the amusement park attraction [103, 306]; and instruct simultaneous display [210] of the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] and the additional derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the additional NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] via the display screen within the amusement park attraction [103, 306] (col. 7 lines 25-51, col 8 lines 26-35, col. 9 lines 16-49, col. 11 line 59 – col. 12 line 19, and Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Khalfan discloses the interactive system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors [124] are configured to: transform [208] the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into an additional derivative (another of [312a, 312b, or 312c]) of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] based on the context data for the amusement park attraction [103, 306], wherein the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] and the additional derivative (another of [312a, 312b, or 312c]) vary by at least one attribute; and instruct output [210] of the additional derivative (another of [312a, 312b, or 312c]) of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] via the output device [112] within the amusement park attraction [103, 306] (col. 7 line 25 – col. 9 line 49, col. 11 line 59 – col. 12 line 19, and Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Khalfan discloses the interactive system of claim 1, wherein the output device [112] comprises a display screen (col. 8 line 27: “display screen”), and the one or more processors [124] are configured to: identify an avatar (col. 7 line 39: “digital representations of persons”) associated with the user; and instruct display of the avatar and the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] being worn or carried by the avatar (col. 7 lines 39-40: “fictional characters…objects, and identifiers such as brands and logos”) on the display screen within the amusement park attraction [103, 306] (col. 7 lines 25-51, col. 8 lines 26-30, col. 9 lines 38-49, col. 11 line 59 – col. 12 line 19, and Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 15, Khalfan discloses a method [200] of operating an interactive system (Figures 1 and 3) for one or more amusement park attractions [103, 306], the method [200] comprising: identifying [206], using one or more processors [124], a non-fungible token (NFT) [310a, 310b, or 310c] possessed by a user; transforming [208], using the one or more processors [124], the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into a derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] based on first context data for a first amusement park attraction [103, 306] of the one or more amusement park attractions [103, 306]; and instructing [210], using the one or more processors [124], display of the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] on a first display screen [112] (also see col. 8 line 27: “display screen”) within the first amusement park attraction [103, 306] of the one or more amusement park attractions [103, 306] (col. 2 lines 21-29, col. 3 lines 1-15, col. 4 line 57 – col. 9 line 49, col. 11 line 24 – col. 12 line 19, and Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 18, Khalfan discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] is an image, and transforming [208] the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] comprises modifying a color of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c], modifying a shape of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c], adding an embellishment to the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c], or any combination thereof (col. 7 lines 25-51; wherein in-vehicle content may include digital representation of persons, fictional characters, objects, and identifiers such as brands and logos).
Regarding claim 19, Khalfan discloses the method of claim 15, comprising: identifying, using the one or more processors [124], an additional NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] possessed by an additional user (col. 7 lines 43-45: “in-vehicle content may depict virtual worlds that may be experience by any number of users synchronously and persistently”); transforming [208], using the one or more processors [124], the additional NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into an additional derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the additional NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] based on the first context data for the first amusement park attraction [103, 306] of the one or more amusement park attractions [103, 306]; and instructing [210], using the one or more processors [124], display of the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] and the additional derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the additional NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] together on the first display screen within the first the amusement park attraction [103, 306] of the one or more amusement park attractions [103, 306] (col. 7 lines 25-51, col 8 lines 26-35, col. 9 lines 16-49, col. 11 line 59 – col. 12 line 19, and Figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 20, Khalfan discloses the method of claim 15, comprising: receiving, at the one or more processors [124], an image of the user (col. 7 line 39: “digital representations of persons”) within the first amusement park attraction [103, 306] of the one or more amusement park attraction [103, 306]; and instructing [210], using the one or more processors [124], display of the image of the user in association with the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] on the first display screen within the first amusement park attraction [103, 306] of the one or more amusement park attractions [103, 306] (col. 7 lines 25-51, col. 8 lines 26-30, col. 11 line 59 – col. 12 line 21, and Figures 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalfan.
Regarding claim 6, Khalfan discloses the interactive system of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors [124] are configured to assign the attributes (col. 7 lines 34-37: “light settings, audio, visual content, a visual theme, scents, temperature, manipulation of suspension system (e.g., hydraulic suspension system, shock absorbers) of vehicle(s) 103, and/or other in-vehicle content”) to transform [208] the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] (col. 7 lines 25-51, col. 9 lines 36-49, and Figure 3). Khalfan does not disclose the specifics of assigning the attributes, specifically not disclosing randomly assigning the attributes. However, it would have been obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable assignment schemes, such as ordered or random assignment, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalfan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cox et al. (US 12,307,438 B2; hereinafter Cox).
Regarding claim 10, Khalfan does not disclose an NFT marketplace. Cox, however, teaches a similar system [110] configured to provide an NFT marketplace [101] to facilitate transfer of the NFT [122, 124] to another user (col. 2 line 50 – col. 3 line 2, col. 4 lines 60-64, col. 5 lines 16-31, 51-67, col. 6 lines 12-28, col. 7 line 55 – col. 8 line 58, and Figures 1A-2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Khalfan’s processor to provide an NFT marketplace to facilitate transfer of the NFT to another user because Cox teaches that this configuration allows NFTs to be exchanged with other NFT collectors (col. 5 lines 19-26 and col. 7 lines 55-57).
Regarding claim 11, Khalfan does not disclose directing the user to travel to a location to obtain the NFT. Cox, however, teaches a similar system requiring the user to travel to a location to obtain the NFT [122, 124] (col. 2 line 50 – col. 3 line 2, col. 4 lines 60-64, col. 5 lines 16-31, col. 5 line 51 – col. 6 line 11, and Figures 1A-1B; wherein collector container is purchased). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Khalfan’s processor to direct a user who does not have an NFT to travel to a location to obtain an NFT because Cox teaches that NFTs can be purchased at a location (col. 5 lines 26-31 and col. 6 lines 5-11). It directly follows that a user who does not have an NFT, and thus would not enjoy the full aspects of the ride/attraction vehicle, would be instructed to travel to a location to obtain an NFT.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalfan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cossairt et al. (US 2019/0220634 A1; hereinafter Cossairt).
Regarding claim 13, Khalfan discloses the interactive system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors [124] are configured to: enable the user to form an avatar (col. 7 line 39: “digital representations of persons”); and mint the avatar as an NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] (col. 7 lines 25-51, col. 8 lines 26-30, col. 9 lines 36-49, and Figure 3). Khalfan does not disclose a library of elements. Cossairt, however, teaches a similar processor configured to: provide a graphical user interface (paragraph 0021: “a user’s computing device, such as a mobile phone) that includes a library of elements (paragraph 0021: “physical attributes…preferred characters… preferred team affiliation”), and enables the user to select elements from the library of elements to form an avatar; and mint the avatar (paragraph 0026: “display of an animated character that is associated with the particular team”) (paragraphs 0017, 0019, 0021, 0026, and Figure 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Khalfan’s processor to provide a graphical user interface that includes a library of elements and enable the user to select elements from the library of elements to form an avatar because Cossairt discloses that this configuration allows a user to customize preferences for display in an amusement attraction to provide a more interactive and personalized experience (paragraphs 0003, 0015, 0019, and 0021).
Claims 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khalfan in view of Cossairt.
Regarding claim 14, Khalfan discloses an interactive system (Figures 1 and 3) for one or more amusement park attractions [103, 306], the interactive system (Figures 1 and 3) comprising: one or more processors [124] configured to: identify [206] a non-fungible token (NFT) [310a, 310b, or 310c] possessed by a user; transform [208] the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into a first derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] based on first context data for a first amusement park attraction [103, 306 ]of the one or more amusement park attractions [103, 306]; and instruct display [210] of the first derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] for visualization by the user (col. 2 lines 21-29, col. 3 lines 1-15, col. 4 line 57 – col. 9 line 49, col. 11 line 24 – col. 12 line 19, and Figures 1-3). Khalfan only discloses a first amusement park attraction. Cossairt, however, teaches a similar system [8] for one or more amusement park attractions (paragraph 0019: “multiple interactive systems 8”) comprising one or more processors [26] configured to: identify an RFID tag [50] possessed by a user [18]; transform the RFID signal into a first derivative (paragraph 0019: “corresponding information”) of the RFID signal based on first context data for a first amusement park attraction of the one or more amusement park attractions; and transform the RFID signal into a second derivative (paragraph 0019: “corresponding information”) of the RFID signal based on second context data for a second amusement park attraction of the one or more amusement park attractions (paragraph 0019: “[t]he wearable device 16 may be compatible with multiple RFID readers 10 disposed in multiple interactive systems 8”); and instruct display (see [21]) of the first derivative of the RFID signal and the second derivative of the RFID signal for visualization by the user [18] (paragraphs 0017, 0019, 0021, 0026, 0042-0045, and Figures 1 and 6). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Khalfan’s system to include a second amusement park attraction which uses the NFT for amusement purposes similarly to the first amusement park attraction because Cossairt teaches that this configuration allows user information and preferences to be used and reused across multiple interactive systems at an amusement park (paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Khalfan discloses the method of claim 15, comprising: transforming, using the one or more processors [124], the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into a second derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] based on second context data for a second amusement park attraction (for reasons provided by Cossairt in paragraph 32 of above) of the one or more amusement park attractions; and instructing, using the one or more processors [124], display of the second derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] of the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] on a second display screen (col. 8 line 27: “display screen”) within the second amusement park attraction of the one or more amusement park attractions (col. 7 lines 25-51, col. 8 lines 26-35, col. 9 lines 27-49, and Figure 3; also see paragraph 0019 of Cossairt).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Khalfan discloses the method of claim 16, wherein transforming [208] the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into the derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] comprises applying a first set of rules established by the first context data, and transforming the NFT [310a, 310b, or 310c] into the second derivative [312a, 312b, or 312c] comprises applying a second set of rules established by the second context data, and the first set of rules and the second set of rules are different from one another (col. 7 lines 25-51, col. 9 lines 36-49, and Figure 3; wherein there are multiple rules for in-vehicle content options). The modified Khalfan does not disclose the specifics of applying the sets of rules, specifically not disclosing randomly applying the sets of rules. However, it would have been obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable rule application schemes, such as ordered or random application, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Khalfan (US 12,367,484 B2), Khalfan (US 12,211,031 B2), and Turner et al. (US 2022/0271915 A1) which disclose similar use of NFTs at amusement parks.
/AUDREY B. WALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711