DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson et al (US20190054387) in view of Morgan (US20160158605).
Davidson, paragraph 9 of the PGPUB, teaches a method of making a slime composition is provided including combining any of the slime activator compositions with a polyvinyl acetate-based glue/adhesive or a polyvinyl alcohol-based glue/adhesive or another polymeric based glue/adhesive of appropriate functionality for crosslinking.
Davidson, paragraph 24 of the PGPUB, teaches the slime activator compositions may contain one or more additives to affect the texture, feel color, or look of the slime activator composition and slime compositions made therefrom.
Davidson, paragraph 28 of the PGPUB, teaches the slime activator composition further contains one or more agents to provide one or more tactile or aesthetic properties to the resultant slime material. For example, the agents(s) may be selected to provide a particular color, a color-changing quality, a textured, foamy or other tactile feel, a metallic finish, a particular smell, and/or a glow-in-the-dark quality.
Although Davidson teaches agents may be selected to provide a particular color, Davidson does not teach the agent to be a fiber.
Morgan, paragraph 9 of the PGPUB, teaches the first color appearance may for example have at least one of a different lightness, chroma, hue, saturation, tint, shade, tone, and/or luma than the second color appearance. In one embodiment, at least one of the first color appearance and the second color appearance comprises at least one of colored flakes, particulates, glitter specs, whiskers, fibers, edge effect pigments and filaments.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use a fiber as taught by Morgan as the agent to provide a particular color as taught by Davidson as Morgan teaches fibers are a source that can be used as a coloring agent.
Regarding claim 16, Davidson, paragraph 9 of the PGPUB, teaches a method of making a slime composition is provided including combining any of the slime activator compositions with a polyvinyl acetate-based glue/adhesive or a polyvinyl alcohol-based glue/adhesive or another polymeric based glue/adhesive of appropriate functionality for crosslinking.
Davidson, paragraph 21 of the PGPUB, teaches the activator can comprise sodium tetraborate (borax).
Claim 2-5 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson et al (US20190054387) in view of Morgan (US20160158605) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Kostelyk (Aug 2019).
Although the references teach a slime composition, the references do not teach adding a non-fibrous structure to the slime.
Kostelyk teaches this spider web slime is great for Halloween parties.
Kostelyk, step 10, teaches adding plastic spiders into the slime.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to add plastic spiders as taught by Kostelyk into the slime as taught by the references above as slime with plastic spiders can be used at Halloween parties or Spiderman birthday parties.
Regarding claim 3, the references teach fibers which can have an appearance as hair or fuzz.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 17, Kostelyk, step 10, teaches adding plastic spiders into the slime.
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that the slime can be configured to any shape or color such as fecal matter as claimed in claim 18.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson et al (US20190054387) in view of Morgan (US20160158605) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Mizuno et al (20020142114).
Although the references teach colored fibers, the references do not teach a specific colored fiber.
Mizuno teaches a molded product.
Mizuno, paragraphs 129 and 142 of the PGPUB, teaches light-shielding material such as polypropylene fiber can be added in order to introduce light-shielding performance It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that the colored fibers as taught by the references can be polypropylene fibers as taught by Mizuno as Mizuno teaches polypropylene is one useful type of colored fiber.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20120156451 teaches an ink composition.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1732 7/15/26