Response to Amendments
The amendments filed 5/28/2026 have been entered. They provide amendments to claims 1, 3-4, 10, 12-13 and 19-20. The amendments overcome the specification objection and the 112b rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C 101 filed 5/28/2026 (pages 11-17 of applicant’s arguments) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims do not recite a judicial exception (pages 13-14 of applicant’s arguments). The examiner respectfully disagrees. According to MPEP 2106.04(a), a claim recites an abstract idea if a limitation recites one of the following: mathematical concept, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes. The limitations “determining, …, cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject;”, “deriving, …, custom attributes based on the cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject;”, “identifying, …, custom attribute relationships and labels for the derived custom attributes of the subject based on the cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject, the custom attribute relationships including at least one belongs-to relationship and at least one decision relationship;”, “generating, …, a hierarchy of the custom attributes using a finite state automaton”, “computing, for custom attributes remaining in a set, degradation rates and balance coefficients for the custom attributes when placed in a current level of the hierarchy;”, “computing a transition function value as a minimum of products of the respective degradation rates and the respective balance coefficients for the custom attributes remaining in the set;”, “fixing, to the current level of the hierarchy, a custom attribute corresponding to the minimum of the products; and generating an optimal hierarchy by placing the custom attributes at each state of the finite state automaton into corresponding levels of the hierarchy; and”, “creating, …, the hierarchical multi-label classifier based on the generated hierarchy,” given their broadest reasonable interpretations can all be performed in the human mind or with pen/paper. A person can make decisions determining and identifying patterns and relationships. A person can make computations using pen and paper. Thus, the claims do recite a judicial exception.
Applicant argues that the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application because the claims recite a technical improvement to hierarchical multi-label classifier training. The examiner respectfully disagrees. According to MPEP 2106.05(a) the improvement cannot come from the judicial exception (mental process in this case) alone. The improvement must be shown by the additional elements. The additional elements of the independent claims are directed to collecting data, training a classifier, and outputting data. None of these show the improvements mentioned in the applicant’s arguments.
Finally, applicant argues the claims recite significantly more than the abstract idea. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As mentioned above the additional elements of the independent claims are directed to collecting data, training a classifier, and outputting data. Storing and retrieving information in memory is a well understood routine conventional activity and cannot provide an inventive concept. Similarly mere instructions to apply the exception cannot provide an inventive concept. Even in combination they represent insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply the exception, which is not an inventive concept.
Thus, the 101 rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C 103 filed 5/28/2026 (pages 17-19 of applicant’s arguments) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither Cerri nor Behera teach the newly added limitation in amended claim 1. They also state that the additional references of Cicalese and Erradi also do not teach these limitations. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Cicalese does teach these limitations. Cicalese has already been shown to teach the “degradation rates” and “balance coefficients” with their “shrinkage-cost ratio” and “minimization of heaviest group”. Cicalese then teaches finding the best test (attribute) to be minimized. They then select the appropriate test based on the minimization which is used in generating optimal decision trees. Using this method to select appropriate attributes for creating a hierarchy would result in the claimed subject matter.
Thus, the 103 rejection is maintained.
Effective Filing Date
The effective filing date of 04/24/2023 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 04/24/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
The present application is being examined under the claims filed on 04/24/2023.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Prior Art References
Wehrmann, J., Cerri, R. and Barros, R., 2018, July. Hierarchical multi-label classification networks. In International conference on machine learning (pp. 5075-5084). PMLR. (Hereafter, “Wehrmann”).
Cerri, R., Barros, R.C. and de Carvalho, A.C., 2012, March. A genetic algorithm for hierarchical multi-label classification. In Proceedings of the 27th annual ACM symposium on applied computing (pp. 250-255). (Hereafter, “Cerri”).
Behera, S., 2018, May. Implementation of a finite state automaton to recognize and remove stop words in english text on its retrieval. In 2018 2nd international conference on trends in electronics and informatics (ICOEI) (pp. 476-480). IEEE. (Hereafter, “Behera”).
Cicalese, F., Jacobs, T., Laber, E. and Molinaro, M., 2010, December. On greedy algorithms for decision trees. In International Symposium on Algorithms and Computation (pp. 206-217). Berlin, Heidelberg: Springer Berlin Heidelberg. (Hereafter, “Cicalese”).
Erradi, A. and Mansouri, Y., 2020. Online cost optimization algorithms for tiered cloud storage services. Journal of Systems and Software, 160, p.110457. (Hereafter, “Erradi”).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application as outlined in the 2-step analyses for each claim that follows.
Combined Step 1 (Statutory Category) - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes - claims 1-9 claim a method and claims 10-20 claim machines.
In reference to Steps 2A Prong 1 regarding independent claims 1, 10, 19.
Step 2A Prong 1 (Recited Judicial Exception) - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes - representative claim 1 recites:
“determining, by the computer, cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“deriving, by the computer, custom attributes based on the cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“identifying, by the computer, custom attribute relationships and labels for the derived custom attributes of the subject based on the cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject, the custom attribute relationships including at least one belongs-to relationship and at least one decision relationship;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“generating, by the computer, a hierarchy of the custom attributes using a finite state automaton;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“computing, for custom attributes remaining in a set, degradation rates and balance coefficients for the custom attributes when placed in a current level of the hierarchy;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“computing a transition function value as a minimum of products of the respective degradation rates and the respective balance coefficients for the custom attributes remaining in the set;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“fixing, to the current level of the hierarchy, a custom attribute corresponding to the minimum of the products; and” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“generating an optimal hierarchy by placing the custom attributes at each state of the finite state automaton into corresponding levels of the hierarchy; and” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“creating, by the computer, a hierarchical multi-label classifier based on the generated hierarchy;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“using, by the computer, the classifier to generate class label decisions associated with labels of the classifier to objects of the subject; and” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
Claims 10 and 19 are substantially similar to claim 1 and thus also recite abstract ideas.
In reference to Steps 2A Prong 1 regarding dependent claims 2-6, 8, 9, 11, 13-18, 20.
Step 2A Prong 1 (Recited Judicial Exception) - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes -
“2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein identifying the custom attribute relationships includes identifying the attributes of the subject as having the belongs-to relationship with the subject in response to determining that the subject has a first order dependency with the attributes and directly contributes to a problem to be solved by the classifier; and identifying the attributes of the subject as having the decision relationship in response to determining that a derived action from the respective attribute, when applied, indirectly contributes to a solution of the problem.” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the degradation rates and the balance coefficients are inversely proportional to level number, wherein attributes with lower degradation rates and lower balance coefficients are placed in top levels of the hierarchy; wherein the degradation rates are rates at which the labels for the derived custom attributes are pruned when the attributes are placed at a particular level in the hierarchy, and wherein the balance coefficients define how well samples for attributes at the respective levels are distributed. which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the hierarchy using the finite state automaton further includes:
“initializing a set of the custom attributes;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“using an initial state transition function to select one of the custom attributes to fix to a first level of the hierarchy;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“removing, from the set of the custom attributes, the custom attribute fixed to the first level;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“assigning the custom attributes remaining in the set to levels of the hierarchy by performing the following sequence:”
“determining a next state using a state transition function by computing balance coefficients and degradation rates for the custom attributes remaining in the set;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“in response to determining that one of the custom attributes remaining in the set has a lowest transition function value out of the custom attributes remaining in the set, fixing said one of the custom attributes at a current level;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“in response to determining that more than one of the custom attributes remaining in the set have a same transition function value, entering a first transition state ts0;”
“in response to entering the first transition state ts0, determining whether more than one of the custom attributes remaining in the set have the same attribute importance;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“in response to determining that none of the custom attributes remaining in the set have the same attribute importance, fixing the custom attribute having the highest attribute importance to the current level;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“in response to determining that more than one of the custom attributes remaining in the set have the same attribute importance, entering a second transition state ts1 from the first transition state ts0;” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“in response to entering the second transition state ts1, computing an error rate for hierarchies at the current level, and fixing the custom attribute with a least error to the current level; and” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“removing, from the set of the custom attributes, the custom attribute fixed to the current level.” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the hierarchy is generated without training every possible hierarchical multi-label classifier.” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the labels of the classifier have no predefined hierarchy.” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the objects include cloud objects, cloud assets, or cloud objects and cloud assets.” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
“9. The computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the subject is a cloud based storage system, wherein the objects include cloud-storage objects and cloud-storage assets in the cloud based storage system.” which, but for the inclusion of generic computing equipment, is an evaluation that may be performed mentally by a human with the aid of pen and paper. Refer to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) for more information about mental processes being performed on a computer.
Claims 2-4, and 6-9 are substantially similar to claims 11-13, and 15-18 and thus also recite abstract ideas.
Claims 14 and 20 are substantially similar to claim 5 and thus also recite abstract ideas.
In reference to Steps 2A Prong 2 and 2B regarding independent claims 1, 10, 19.
Step 2A Prong 2 (Integration into a Practical Application) - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? & Step 2B (Significantly More or Amounting to an Inventive Concept) - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Yes - representative claim 1 recites:
“collecting, by a computer, attributes of a subject;” which amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity per MPEP2106.05(g). This is well-understood, routine, conventional computer functionality as recognized by MPEP2106.05(d)(II) i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network.
“wherein creating the hierarchical multi-label classifier includes training, after generation of the optimal hierarchy, the hierarchical multi-label classifier based on the optimal hierarchy;” which amounts to mere instructions to apply the judicial exception per MPEP2106.05(f).
“outputting the decisions.” which amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity per MPEP2106.05(g). This is well-understood, routine, conventional computer functionality as recognized by MPEP2106.05(d)(II) i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network.
Claims 10 and 19 are substantially similar to claim 1 and thus are also rejected for reciting patent ineligible subject matter.
In reference to Steps 2A Prong 2 and 2B regarding dependent claims 7, 12.
Step 2A Prong 2 (Integration into a Practical Application) - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? & Step 2B (Significantly More or Amounting to an Inventive Concept) - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Yes - representative claim 7 recites:
“7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, comprising applying the class label decisions to the objects of the subject to make changes to the subject.” which amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity per MPEP2106.05(g). This is well-understood, routine, conventional computer functionality as recognized by MPEP2106.05(d)(II) i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network.
Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 7 and thus is also rejected for reciting patent ineligible subject matter.
Thus, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12 , 13, 14, 15, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerri in view of Behera in further view of Cicalese.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9, 16, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerri in view of Behera in further view of Erradi.
“1. A computer-implemented method, comprising:”
Cerri teaches:
“collecting, by a computer, attributes of a subject; determining, by the computer, cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject;”
(Cerri 252, “Seven datasets related to protein functions of the Saccharomyces cerevisiae organism were employed in the experiments. The datasets are freely available at [URL], and are related to bioinformatics data such as phenotype data and gene expression levels. […] Table 1 shows the main characteristics of the training, valid and test datasets used.”
“collecting […] attributes” is taught by the “datasets” of Cerri wherein the datasets are comprised of attributes.
“determining cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject” is taught by the phenotype and gene expression levels. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation of “cause-effect-decision relationship”, the “cause” is taught by the protein data, the “effect” is the phenotypic expression, and the “decision” is the class it belongs to.
“deriving, by the computer, custom attributes based on the cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject;”
(Cerri 251, “In this section, we present a novel global method for HMC problems called Hierarchical Multi-Label Classification with Genetic Algorithm (HMC-GA). […] In HMC-GA, each individual is a string of integer/real values, representing a sequence of tests (antecedent) that constitute the classification rule.”)
“deriving […] custom attributes based on the […] relationships of the attributes” is taught by “the sequence of tests that constitute the classification rule”. The sequence of tests teach the custom attributes.
“identifying, by the computer, custom attribute relationships and labels for the derived custom attributes of the subject based on the cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject, the custom attribute relationships including at least one belongs-to relationship and at least one decision relationship;”
(Cerri Abstract, “In this work, we propose a novel global method called HMC-GA, which employs a genetic algorithm for solving the HMC problem. In our approach, the genetic algorithm evolves the antecedents of classification rules, in order to optimize the level of coverage of each antecedent. Then, the set of optimized antecedents is selected to build the corresponding consequent of the rules (set of classes to be predicted).”)
“identifying […] custom attribute relationships and labels for the derived custom attributes” is taught by the selection of “optimized antecedents” to “build the corresponding consequent of the rules (the set of classes to be predicted)”.
(Cerri 251, “The antecedent of the rule is comprised of AND clauses, which test a given dataset attribute Ai according to a threshold [Symbol font/0x44], based on a corresponding operator OP. For the case of nominal attributes, the operators employed are = and =/=. For numeric attributes, operators available are >, <, >=, <=.”)
“belongs-to relationship” is taught by an “=” “nominal attribute”.
“decision relationship” is taught by “>, <, >=, <=”.
“generating, by the computer, a hierarchy of the custom attributes [using a finite state automaton];”
(Cerri Abstract, “In this work, we propose a novel global method called HMC-GA, which employs a genetic algorithm for solving the HMC problem. In our approach, the genetic algorithm evolves the antecedents of classification rules, in order to optimize the level of coverage of each antecedent. Then, the set of optimized antecedents is selected to build the corresponding consequent of the rules (set of classes to be predicted).”)
“generating […] a hierarchy of the custom attributes” is taught by the antecedent.
“creating, by the computer, a hierarchical multi-label classifier based on the generated hierarchy, wherein creating the hierarchical multi-label classifier includes training, after generation of the optimal hierarchy, the hierarchical multi-label classifier based on the optimal hierarchy; using, by the computer, the classifier to generate class label decisions associated with labels of the classifier to objects of the subject; and outputting the decisions.”
(Cerri 252, “HMC-GA evolves the antecedents of the rules, i.e., the AND clauses that form a rule. The consequent of the rule, which indicates the classes to which the examples that satisfy the rule belong to, is calculated using a deterministic procedure as follows.” Also, algorithm 1 shows the training algorithm)
“creating […] a hierarchical multi-label classifier” is taught by the “consequent of the rule, which indicates the classes to which the examples that satisfy the rule belong to”.
Behera teaches:
“generating, by the computer, a hierarchy of the custom attributes] using a finite state automaton;”
(Behera Abstract, “Here I am proposing a solution to identify the stop word present in the English language using finite state automata.”)
Motivation to combine Cerri, Behera.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Cerri, Behera.
Cerri discloses a genetic algorithm for hierarchical multi-label classification.
Behera discloses an implementation of a finite state automata for natural language processing.
One would be motivated to combine these references because the finite state machine structure of Behera provides a clear mechanism for implementing the algorithmic logic of Cerri.
Further, MPEP § 2143(I) EXAMPLES OF RATIONALES sets forth the Supreme Court rationales for obviousness, including:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
Cicalese teaches:
“computing, for custom attributes remaining in a set, degradation rates and balance coefficients for the custom attributes when placed in a current level of the hierarchy;”
(Cicalese 3, “This might be a result of the two specific greedy criteria considered in those papers, namely the shrinkage-cost ratio and the minimization of the heaviest group. In the paper considering the former criterium, at each step the algorithm selects the test i which maximizes the shrinkage-cost ratio defined by [...] where S is the set of objects consistent with the tests performed so far [2, 7, 15]. In the case when only uniform weights are considered the weights are substituted by cardinalities of the corresponding sets. In the papers considering the latter criterium, greedy means selecting the test that generates a partition of S whose heaviest group is as light as possible [6, 21].”)
The “degradation rates” are taught by the “shrinkage-cost ratio” criteria.
The “balance coefficients” are taught by the “minimization of the heaviest group” criteria.
“computing a transition function value as a minimum of products of the respective degradation rates and the respective balance coefficients for the custom attributes remaining in the set;”
(Cicalese 4,“Now we describe the greedy approach we propose, dubbed GREEDY. Let I = ( U, T, w) be an instance of an identification problem, where I U I = n and W = L-uEUw(u). Lett E T be the test which minimizes ct/(nW - ntWt)Then the root of the decision tree of GREEDY is associated to the test t and its children are decision trees obtained recursively by applying GREEDY to the instances Ii, ... , h, where Ii= (GLT, w).”)
“fixing, to the current level of the hierarchy, a custom attribute corresponding to the minimum of the products; and”
(Circalese 10, “Our greedy algorithm always selects a test edge t such that the two subtrees Fi, F2 obtained by the removal oft are as even as possible in terms of weight, i.e. the algorithm always maximizes min{ w(Fi), w(F2)}, breaking ties arbitrarily.”)
“generating an optimal hierarchy by placing the custom attributes at each state of the finite state automaton into corresponding levels of the hierarchy; and”
(Cicalese 10, “In order to prove that this algorithm results in a 2-approximation, we describe a procedure for turning any search tree D*, including the optimal one, into the greedy search tree D computed by our algorithm, and we show that during the transformation the cost increases by no more than cost(D)/2.”)
Motivation to combine Cerri, Behera, Cicalese.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Cerri, Behera, Cicalese.
Cerri, Behera discloses an algorithm for hierarchical multi-label classification.
Cicalese discloses greedy criteria in the development of decision tress.
One would be motivated to combine these references because greedy criteria provide a performant way for forming hierarchical structures without exhausting the entire search space.
Further, MPEP § 2143(I) EXAMPLES OF RATIONALES sets forth the Supreme Court rationales for obviousness, including:
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
“2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1,”
Cerri teaches:
“wherein identifying the custom attribute relationships includes identifying the attributes of the subject as having the belongs-to relationship with the subject in response to determining that the subject has a first order dependency with the attributes and directly contributes to a problem to be solved by the classifier; and identifying the attributes of the subject as having the decision relationship in response to determining that a derived action from the respective attribute, when applied, indirectly contributes to a solution of the problem.”
(Cerri 251, “The antecedent of the rule is comprised of AND clauses, which test a given dataset attribute Ai according to a threshold [Symbol font/0x44], based on a corresponding operator OP. For the case of nominal attributes, the operators employed are = and =/=. For numeric attributes, operators available are >, <, >=, <=.”)
“belongs-to relationship” is taught by an “=” “nominal attribute”.
“decision relationship” is taught by “>, <, >=, <=”.
“3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1,”
Cicalese teaches:
“wherein the degradation rates and the balance coefficients are inversely proportional to level number, wherein attributes with lower degradation rates and lower balance coefficients are placed in top levels of the hierarchy; wherein the degradation rates are rates at which the labels for the derived custom attributes are pruned when the attributes are placed at a particular level in the hierarchy, and wherein the balance coefficients define how well samples for attributes at the respective levels are distributed.”
(Cicalese 3, “This might be a result of the two specific greedy criteria considered in those papers, namely the shrinkage-cost ratio and the minimization of the heaviest group. In the paper considering the former criterium, at each step the algorithm selects the test i which maximizes the shrinkage-cost ratio defined by [...] where S is the set of objects consistent with the tests performed so far [2, 7, 15]. In the case when only uniform weights are considered the weights are substituted by cardinalities of the corresponding sets. In the papers considering the latter criterium, greedy means selecting the test that generates a partition of S whose heaviest group is as light as possible [6, 21].”)
The “degradation rates” are taught by the “shrinkage-cost ratio” criteria.
The “balance coefficients” are taught by the “minimization of the heaviest group” criteria.
“4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the hierarchy [using the finite state automaton] includes:”
Cerri teaches:
“initializing a set of the custom attributes; using an initial state transition function to select one of the custom attributes to fix to a first level of the hierarchy;”
(Cerri Algorithm 1 line 3, “Generate InitialPop”)
“removing, from the set of the custom attributes, the custom attribute fixed to the first level;”
(Cerri Algorithm 1 line 25, “Remove examples from D covered by Rules”)
“assigning the custom attributes remaining in the set to levels of the hierarchy by performing the following sequence:”
“in response to determining that one of the custom attributes remaining in the set has a lowest transition function value out of the custom attributes remaining in the set, fixing said one of the custom attributes at a current level;”
(Cerri Algorithm 1, “selection”, “crossover”, “calculateFitness”)
The “transition function value” is taught by “calculateFitness”
“in response to determining that more than one of the custom attributes remaining in the set have a same transition function value, entering a first transition state ts0; in response to entering the first transition state ts0, determining whether more than one of the custom attributes remaining in the set have the same attribute importance;”
(Cerri Algorithm 1, “selection”, “crossover”)
“in response to determining that none of the custom attributes remaining in the set have the same attribute importance, fixing the custom attribute having the highest attribute importance to the current level;”
(Cerri Algorithm 1, “selection”, “crossover”)
“in response to determining that more than one of the custom attributes remaining in the set have the same attribute importance, entering a second transition state ts1 from the first transition state ts0; in response to entering the second transition state ts1, computing an error rate for hierarchies at the current level, and fixing the custom attribute with a least error to the current level; and”
(Cerri Algorithm 1, “calculateFitness”)
“removing, from the set of the custom attributes, the custom attribute fixed to the current level.”
(Cerri Algorithm 1, “selection”)
Behera teaches:
“using a finite state automaton;”
(Behera Abstract, “Here I am proposing a solution to identify the stop word present in the English language using finite state automata.”)
Cicalese teaches:
“determining a next state using a state transition function by computing balance coefficients and degradation rates for the custom attributes remaining in the set;”
(Cicalese 3, “This might be a result of the two specific greedy criteria considered in those papers, namely the shrinkage-cost ratio and the minimization of the heaviest group. In the paper considering the former criterium, at each step the algorithm selects the test i which maximizes the shrinkage-cost ratio defined by [...] where S is the set of objects consistent with the tests performed so far [2, 7, 15]. In the case when only uniform weights are considered the weights are substituted by cardinalities of the corresponding sets. In the papers considering the latter criterium, greedy means selecting the test that generates a partition of S whose heaviest group is as light as possible [6, 21].”)
The “degradation rates” are taught by the “shrinkage-cost ratio” criteria.
The “balance coefficients” are taught by the “minimization of the heaviest group” criteria.
“5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1,”
Cerri teaches:
“wherein the hierarchy is generated without training every possible hierarchical multi-label classifier.”
(Cerri Algorithm 1)
The algorithm generates hierarchies for a finite number of generations and does not train every possible classifier.
“6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1,”
Cerri teaches:
“wherein the labels of the classifier have no predefined hierarchy.”
(Cerri 252, “HMC-GA evolves the antecedents of the rules, i.e., the AND clauses that form a rule. The consequent of the rule, which indicates the classes to which the examples that satisfy the rule belong to, is calculated using a deterministic procedure as follows. Given the set of examples Sr covered by a rule r, the consequent is a vector of length k (where k is the number of class labels in the class hierarchy). The value for each ith component of the consequent vector for rule r is given by [EQUATION 3]”)
The labels generated by the classifier have a hierarchy that is not predefined as it is generated from the HMC-GA algorithm.
“7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1,”
Erradi teaches:
“comprising applying the class label decisions to the objects of the subject to make changes to the subject.”
(Erradi 4, “Our system model uses tiered cloud storage services with hot and cool tiers. For example, an object can be a tweet or a photo posted by the user on Twitter feed or Facebook timeline with either hot or cool status. The status of the object depends on the access frequency and whether it is in the either hot or cool status in each time slot of its lifetime.”)
Motivation to combine Cerri, Behera, Erradi.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Cerri, Behera, Erradi.
Cerri, Behera discloses an algorithm for hierarchical multi-label classification.
Erradi discloses cost optimization strategies for tiered cloud storage systems.
One would be motivated to combine these references because cloud storage is inherently hierarchical with tiers like “hot” and “cold” storage and the hierarchical classification methodology of Cerri, Behera could be utilized to optimize cloud storage usage.
Further, MPEP § 2143(I) EXAMPLES OF RATIONALES sets forth the Supreme Court rationales for obviousness, including:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
“8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1,”
Erradi teaches:
”wherein the objects include cloud objects, cloud assets, or cloud objects and cloud assets.”
(Erradi 4, “Our system model uses tiered cloud storage services with hot and cool tiers. For example, an object can be a tweet or a photo posted by the user on Twitter feed or Facebook timeline with either hot or cool status. The status of the object depends on the access frequency and whether it is in the either hot or cool status in each time slot of its lifetime.”)
“9. The computer-implemented method of claim 8,”
Erradi teaches:
”wherein the subject is a cloud based storage system, wherein the objects include cloud-storage objects and cloud-storage assets in the cloud based storage system.”
(Erradi 4, “Our system model uses tiered cloud storage services with hot and cool tiers. For example, an object can be a tweet or a photo posted by the user on Twitter feed or Facebook timeline with either hot or cool status. The status of the object depends on the access frequency and whether it is in the either hot or cool status in each time slot of its lifetime.”)
“10. A computer program product, the computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a computer to cause the computer to:”
Cerri teaches:
“collecting, by a computer, attributes of a subject; determining, by the computer, cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject;”
(Cerri 252, “Seven datasets related to protein functions of the Saccharomyces cerevisiae organism were employed in the experiments. The datasets are freely available at [URL], and are related to bioinformatics data such as phenotype data and gene expression levels. […] Table 1 shows the main characteristics of the training, valid and test datasets used.”
“collecting […] attributes” is taught by the “datasets” of Cerri wherein the datasets are comprised of attributes.
“determining cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject” is taught by the phenotype and gene expression levels. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation of “cause-effect-decision relationship”, the “cause” is taught by the protein data, the “effect” is the phenotypic expression, and the “decision” is the class it belongs to.
Cerri teaches multiple algorithms (page 3) and thus must have a some sort of storage/program instruction to execute the algorithm.
“deriving, by the computer, custom attributes based on the cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject;”
(Cerri 251, “In this section, we present a novel global method for HMC problems called Hierarchical Multi-Label Classification with Genetic Algorithm (HMC-GA). […] In HMC-GA, each individual is a string of integer/real values, representing a sequence of tests (antecedent) that constitute the classification rule.”)
“deriving […] custom attributes based on the […] relationships of the attributes” is taught by “the sequence of tests that constitute the classification rule”. The sequence of tests teach the custom attributes.
“identifying, by the computer, custom attribute relationships and labels for the derived custom attributes of the subject based on the cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject, the custom attribute relationships including at least one belongs-to relationship and at least one decision relationship;”
(Cerri Abstract, “In this work, we propose a novel global method called HMC-GA, which employs a genetic algorithm for solving the HMC problem. In our approach, the genetic algorithm evolves the antecedents of classification rules, in order to optimize the level of coverage of each antecedent. Then, the set of optimized antecedents is selected to build the corresponding consequent of the rules (set of classes to be predicted).”)
“identifying […] custom attribute relationships and labels for the derived custom attributes” is taught by the selection of “optimized antecedents” to “build the corresponding consequent of the rules (the set of classes to be predicted)”.
(Cerri 251, “The antecedent of the rule is comprised of AND clauses, which test a given dataset attribute Ai according to a threshold [Symbol font/0x44], based on a corresponding operator OP. For the case of nominal attributes, the operators employed are = and =/=. For numeric attributes, operators available are >, <, >=, <=.”)
“belongs-to relationship” is taught by an “=” “nominal attribute”.
“decision relationship” is taught by “>, <, >=, <=”.
“generating, by the computer, a hierarchy of the custom attributes [using a finite state automaton];”
(Cerri Abstract, “In this work, we propose a novel global method called HMC-GA, which employs a genetic algorithm for solving the HMC problem. In our approach, the genetic algorithm evolves the antecedents of classification rules, in order to optimize the level of coverage of each antecedent. Then, the set of optimized antecedents is selected to build the corresponding consequent of the rules (set of classes to be predicted).”)
“generating […] a hierarchy of the custom attributes” is taught by the antecedent.
“creating, by the computer, a hierarchical multi-label classifier based on the generated hierarchy, wherein creating the hierarchical multi-label classifier includes training, after generation of the optimal hierarchy, the hierarchical multi-label classifier based on the optimal hierarchy; using, by the computer, the classifier to generate class label decisions associated with labels of the classifier to objects of the subject; and outputting the decisions.”
(Cerri 252, “HMC-GA evolves the antecedents of the rules, i.e., the AND clauses that form a rule. The consequent of the rule, which indicates the classes to which the examples that satisfy the rule belong to, is calculated using a deterministic procedure as follows.” Also, algorithm 1 shows the training algorithm)
“creating […] a hierarchical multi-label classifier” is taught by the “consequent of the rule, which indicates the classes to which the examples that satisfy the rule belong to”.
Behera teaches:
“generating, by the computer, a hierarchy of the custom attributes] using a finite state automaton;”
(Behera Abstract, “Here I am proposing a solution to identify the stop word present in the English language using finite state automata.”)
Motivation to combine Cerri, Behera.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Cerri, Behera.
Cerri discloses a genetic algorithm for hierarchical multi-label classification.
Behera discloses an implementation of a finite state automata for natural language processing.
One would be motivated to combine these references because the finite state machine structure of Behera provides a clear mechanism for implementing the algorithmic logic of Cerri.
Further, MPEP § 2143(I) EXAMPLES OF RATIONALES sets forth the Supreme Court rationales for obviousness, including:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
Cicalese teaches:
“computing, for custom attributes remaining in a set, degradation rates and balance coefficients for the custom attributes when placed in a current level of the hierarchy;”
(Cicalese 3, “This might be a result of the two specific greedy criteria considered in those papers, namely the shrinkage-cost ratio and the minimization of the heaviest group. In the paper considering the former criterium, at each step the algorithm selects the test i which maximizes the shrinkage-cost ratio defined by [...] where S is the set of objects consistent with the tests performed so far [2, 7, 15]. In the case when only uniform weights are considered the weights are substituted by cardinalities of the corresponding sets. In the papers considering the latter criterium, greedy means selecting the test that generates a partition of S whose heaviest group is as light as possible [6, 21].”)
The “degradation rates” are taught by the “shrinkage-cost ratio” criteria.
The “balance coefficients” are taught by the “minimization of the heaviest group” criteria.
“computing a transition function value as a minimum of products of the respective degradation rates and the respective balance coefficients for the custom attributes remaining in the set;”
(Cicalese 4,“Now we describe the greedy approach we propose, dubbed GREEDY. Let I = ( U, T, w) be an instance of an identification problem, where I U I = n and W = L-uEUw(u). Lett E T be the test which minimizes ct/(nW - ntWt)Then the root of the decision tree of GREEDY is associated to the test t and its children are decision trees obtained recursively by applying GREEDY to the instances Ii, ... , h, where Ii= (GLT, w).”)
“fixing, to the current level of the hierarchy, a custom attribute corresponding to the minimum of the products; and”
(Circalese 10, “Our greedy algorithm always selects a test edge t such that the two subtrees Fi, F2 obtained by the removal oft are as even as possible in terms of weight, i.e. the algorithm always maximizes min{ w(Fi), w(F2)}, breaking ties arbitrarily.”)
“generating an optimal hierarchy by placing the custom attributes at each state of the finite state automaton into corresponding levels of the hierarchy; and”
(Cicalese 10, “In order to prove that this algorithm results in a 2-approximation, we describe a procedure for turning any search tree D*, including the optimal one, into the greedy search tree D computed by our algorithm, and we show that during the transformation the cost increases by no more than cost(D)/2.”)
Motivation to combine Cerri, Behera, Cicalese.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Cerri, Behera, Cicalese.
Cerri, Behera discloses an algorithm for hierarchical multi-label classification.
Cicalese discloses greedy criteria in the development of decision tress.
One would be motivated to combine these references because greedy criteria provide a performant way for forming hierarchical structures without exhausting the entire search space.
Further, MPEP § 2143(I) EXAMPLES OF RATIONALES sets forth the Supreme Court rationales for obviousness, including:
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
“19. A system, comprising: a hardware processor; and logic integrated with the processor, executable by the processor, or integrated with and executable by the processor, the logic being configured to”
Cerri teaches:
“collecting, by a computer, attributes of a subject; determining, by the computer, cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject;”
(Cerri 252, “Seven datasets related to protein functions of the Saccharomyces cerevisiae organism were employed in the experiments. The datasets are freely available at [URL], and are related to bioinformatics data such as phenotype data and gene expression levels. […] Table 1 shows the main characteristics of the training, valid and test datasets used.”
“collecting […] attributes” is taught by the “datasets” of Cerri wherein the datasets are comprised of attributes.
“determining cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject” is taught by the phenotype and gene expression levels. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation of “cause-effect-decision relationship”, the “cause” is taught by the protein data, the “effect” is the phenotypic expression, and the “decision” is the class it belongs to.
Cerri teaches multiple algorithms (page 3) and thus must have some sort of processor/program instruction to execute the algorithm.
“deriving, by the computer, custom attributes based on the cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject;”
(Cerri 251, “In this section, we present a novel global method for HMC problems called Hierarchical Multi-Label Classification with Genetic Algorithm (HMC-GA). […] In HMC-GA, each individual is a string of integer/real values, representing a sequence of tests (antecedent) that constitute the classification rule.”)
“deriving […] custom attributes based on the […] relationships of the attributes” is taught by “the sequence of tests that constitute the classification rule”. The sequence of tests teach the custom attributes.
“identifying, by the computer, custom attribute relationships and labels for the derived custom attributes of the subject based on the cause-effect-decision relationships of the attributes of the subject, the custom attribute relationships including at least one belongs-to relationship and at least one decision relationship;”
(Cerri Abstract, “In this work, we propose a novel global method called HMC-GA, which employs a genetic algorithm for solving the HMC problem. In our approach, the genetic algorithm evolves the antecedents of classification rules, in order to optimize the level of coverage of each antecedent. Then, the set of optimized antecedents is selected to build the corresponding consequent of the rules (set of classes to be predicted).”)
“identifying […] custom attribute relationships and labels for the derived custom attributes” is taught by the selection of “optimized antecedents” to “build the corresponding consequent of the rules (the set of classes to be predicted)”.
(Cerri 251, “The antecedent of the rule is comprised of AND clauses, which test a given dataset attribute Ai according to a threshold [Symbol font/0x44], based on a corresponding operator OP. For the case of nominal attributes, the operators employed are = and =/=. For numeric attributes, operators available are >, <, >=, <=.”)
“belongs-to relationship” is taught by an “=” “nominal attribute”.
“decision relationship” is taught by “>, <, >=, <=”.
“generating, by the computer, a hierarchy of the custom attributes [using a finite state automaton];”
(Cerri Abstract, “In this work, we propose a novel global method called HMC-GA, which employs a genetic algorithm for solving the HMC problem. In our approach, the genetic algorithm evolves the antecedents of classification rules, in order to optimize the level of coverage of each antecedent. Then, the set of optimized antecedents is selected to build the corresponding consequent of the rules (set of classes to be predicted).”)
“generating […] a hierarchy of the custom attributes” is taught by the antecedent.
“creating, by the computer, a hierarchical multi-label classifier based on the generated hierarchy, wherein creating the hierarchical multi-label classifier includes training, after generation of the optimal hierarchy, the hierarchical multi-label classifier based on the optimal hierarchy; using, by the computer, the classifier to generate class label decisions associated with labels of the classifier to objects of the subject; and outputting the decisions.”
(Cerri 252, “HMC-GA evolves the antecedents of the rules, i.e., the AND clauses that form a rule. The consequent of the rule, which indicates the classes to which the examples that satisfy the rule belong to, is calculated using a deterministic procedure as follows.” Also algorithm 1 shows the training algorithm)
“creating […] a hierarchical multi-label classifier” is taught by the “consequent of the rule, which indicates the classes to which the examples that satisfy the rule belong to”.
Behera teaches:
“generating, by the computer, a hierarchy of the custom attributes] using a finite state automaton;”
(Behera Abstract, “Here I am proposing a solution to identify the stop word present in the English language using finite state automata.”)
Motivation to combine Cerri, Behera.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Cerri, Behera.
Cerri discloses a genetic algorithm for hierarchical multi-label classification.
Behera discloses an implementation of a finite state automata for natural language processing.
One would be motivated to combine these references because the finite state machine structure of Behera provides a clear mechanism for implementing the algorithmic logic of Cerri.
Further, MPEP § 2143(I) EXAMPLES OF RATIONALES sets forth the Supreme Court rationales for obviousness, including:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
Cicalese teaches:
“computing, for custom attributes remaining in a set, degradation rates and balance coefficients for the custom attributes when placed in a current level of the hierarchy;”
(Cicalese 3, “This might be a result of the two specific greedy criteria considered in those papers, namely the shrinkage-cost ratio and the minimization of the heaviest group. In the paper considering the former criterium, at each step the algorithm selects the test i which maximizes the shrinkage-cost ratio defined by [...] where S is the set of objects consistent with the tests performed so far [2, 7, 15]. In the case when only uniform weights are considered the weights are substituted by cardinalities of the corresponding sets. In the papers considering the latter criterium, greedy means selecting the test that generates a partition of S whose heaviest group is as light as possible [6, 21].”)
The “degradation rates” are taught by the “shrinkage-cost ratio” criteria.
The “balance coefficients” are taught by the “minimization of the heaviest group” criteria.
“computing a transition function value as a minimum of products of the respective degradation rates and the respective balance coefficients for the custom attributes remaining in the set;”
(Cicalese 4,“Now we describe the greedy approach we propose, dubbed GREEDY. Let I = ( U, T, w) be an instance of an identification problem, where I U I = n and W = L-uEUw(u). Lett E T be the test which minimizes ct/(nW - ntWt)Then the root of the decision tree of GREEDY is associated to the test t and its children are decision trees obtained recursively by applying GREEDY to the instances Ii, ... , h, where Ii= (GLT, w).”)
“fixing, to the current level of the hierarchy, a custom attribute corresponding to the minimum of the products; and”
(Circalese 10, “Our greedy algorithm always selects a test edge t such that the two subtrees Fi, F2 obtained by the removal oft are as even as possible in terms of weight, i.e. the algorithm always maximizes min{ w(Fi), w(F2)}, breaking ties arbitrarily.”)
“generating an optimal hierarchy by placing the custom attributes at each state of the finite state automaton into corresponding levels of the hierarchy; and”
(Cicalese 10, “In order to prove that this algorithm results in a 2-approximation, we describe a procedure for turning any search tree D*, including the optimal one, into the greedy search tree D computed by our algorithm, and we show that during the transformation the cost increases by no more than cost(D)/2.”)
Motivation to combine Cerri, Behera, Cicalese.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Cerri, Behera, Cicalese.
Cerri, Behera discloses an algorithm for hierarchical multi-label classification.
Cicalese discloses greedy criteria in the development of decision tress.
One would be motivated to combine these references because greedy criteria provide a performant way for forming hierarchical structures without exhausting the entire search space.
Further, MPEP § 2143(I) EXAMPLES OF RATIONALES sets forth the Supreme Court rationales for obviousness, including:
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Claims 11-18 are substantially similar to claims 2-9 and are thus rejected using the same art.
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 5 and is rejected using the same art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL GRUSZKA/Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121