DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “Claim16” which should read “Claim 16”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Corbett et al (US 2017/0340787, hereinafter “Corbett”).
Regarding claim 1, Corbett discloses a percutaneous circulatory support device (par 0001-0002, 0005), comprising: an impeller portion (par 0078) comprising: a distal end portion (par 0078); a proximal end portion (par 0078); and an impeller being rotatable to cause blood to flow through the percutaneous circulatory support device (par 0001-0002, 0078); a cannula coupled to the distal end portion (par 0078); and a catheter coupled to the proximal end portion, the catheter comprising a preformed curve having a radius in a range of 2.00 inches to 0.25 inches (par 0078, 0081, 0091).
Regarding claim 2, Corbett discloses the radius of the preformed curve is in a range of 1.50 inches to 0.90 inches (par 0078, 0081).
Regarding claim 10, Corbett discloses the preformed curve is a preformed catheter curve, and the cannula comprises a preformed cannula curve (par 0091).
Regarding claim 11, Corbett discloses the preformed catheter curve and the preformed cannula curve are disposed in a common plane (par 0106).
Regarding claim 16, Corbett discloses a method of manufacturing a percutaneous circulatory support device (par 0001-0002, 0005), the method comprising: providing an impeller portion comprising a distal end portion, a proximal end portion, and a rotatable impeller (par 0001-0002, par 0078); coupling a cannula to the distal end portion (par 0078); and coupling a catheter to the proximal end portion, the catheter comprising a preformed curve having a radius in a range of 2.00 inches to 0.25 inches (pars 0078, 0081, 0091).
Regarding claim 17, Corbett discloses the preformed curve comprises an arc length in a range of 1.88 inches to 0.63 inches (par 0078, 0081).
Regarding claim 19, Corbett discloses the preformed curve is a preformed catheter curve, and the cannula comprises a preformed cannula curve (par 0091).
Regarding claim 20, Corbett discloses the preformed catheter curve and the preformed cannula curve are disposed in a common plane (par 0106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corbett.
Regarding claim 3, Corbett discloses the claimed invention including details about the shaping of the device (par 0106, 0115) as well as shape features for assisting with navigating the device through locations in the body such as the aortic arch (par 0103-0106). Corbett discloses the various curves and locations (par 0078, 0081, 0091) and modifications to the structure to fit the anatomy of the patient (par 0115), including as shown in figures 1, 3, and 6. Corbett, however, does not explicitly disclose the radius of the preformed curve is in a range of 1.40 inches to 1.00 inches. Corbett does, however, note that the shape of the device may include variations in sizes, shapes, proportions (par 0115) to established curves, angles, and shapes (pars 0106; figures 1, 3, 6). Therefore, the disclosure of Corbett encompasses a modification that includes the radius of the preformed curve in a range of 1.40 inches to 1.00 inches as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Corbett to include the radius of the preformed curve in a range of 1.40 inches to 1.00 inches, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of shaping modifications that facilitate insertion of the pump assembly into the body.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 6, Corbett discloses the claimed invention including details about the shaping of the device (par 0106, 0115) as well as shape features for assisting with navigating the device through locations in the body such as the aortic arch (par 0103-0106). Corbett discloses the various curves and locations (par 0078, 0081, 0091) and modifications to the structure to fit the anatomy of the patient (par 0115), including as shown in figures 1, 3, and 6. Corbett, however, does not explicitly disclose the preformed curve is offset from the proximal end portion of the impeller portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches, 0.65 inches to 0.05 inches, or 0.55 inches to 0.15 inches. Corbett does, however, note that the shape of the device may include variations in sizes, shapes, proportions (par 0115) to established curves, angles, and shapes (pars 0106; figures 1, 3, 6). Therefore, the disclosure of Corbett encompasses a modification that includes the preformed curve offset from the proximal end portion of the impeller portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches, 0.65 inches to 0.05 inches, or 0.55 inches to 0.15 inches as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Corbett to include the preformed curve offset from the proximal end portion of the impeller portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches, 0.65 inches to 0.05 inches, or 0.55 inches to 0.15 inches, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of shaping modifications that facilitate insertion of the pump assembly into the body.
Regarding claims 7, 8, and 9, Corbett discloses the claimed invention including details about the shaping of the device (par 0106, 0115) as well as shape features for assisting with navigating the device through locations in the body such as the aortic arch (par 0103-0106). Corbett discloses the various curves and locations (par 0078, 0081, 0091) and modifications to the structure to fit the anatomy of the patient (par 0115), including as shown in figures 1, 3, and 6. Corbett, however, does not explicitly disclose an arc length in a range of 1.88 inches to 0.63 inches, 1.70 inches to 1.10 inches, or 1.60 inches to 1.20 inches. Corbett does, however, note that the shape of the device may include variations in sizes, shapes, proportions (par 0115) to established curves, angles, and shapes (pars 0106; figures 1, 3, 6). Therefore, the disclosure of Corbett encompasses a modification that includes an arc length in a range of 1.88 inches to 0.63 inches, 1.70 inches to 1.10 inches, or 1.60 inches to 1.20 inches as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Corbett to include an arc length in a range of 1.88 inches to 0.63 inches, 1.70 inches to 1.10 inches, or 1.60 inches to 1.20 inches, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of shaping modifications that facilitate insertion of the pump assembly into the body.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Corbett discloses a percutaneous circulatory support device (par 0001-0002, 0005), comprising: an impeller portion (par 0078) comprising: a distal end portion (par 0078); a proximal end portion (par 0078); an impeller being rotatable to cause blood to flow through the percutaneous circulatory support device (pars 0001-0002, 0078); a cannula coupled to the distal end portion (par 0078); and a catheter coupled to the proximal end portion (par 0078, 0081, 0091), the catheter comprising a preformed curve having an arc length in a range of 1.88 inches to 0.63 inches and being offset from the proximal end portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches.
Corbett discloses the claimed invention including details about the shaping of the device (par 0106, 0115) as well as shape features for assisting with navigating the device through locations in the body such as the aortic arch (par 0103-0106). Corbett discloses the various curves and locations (par 0078, 0081, 0091) and modifications to the structure to fit the anatomy of the patient (par 0115), including as shown in figures 1, 3, and 6. Corbett, however, does not explicitly disclose the catheter comprising a preformed curve having an arc length in a range of 1.88 inches to 0.63 inches and being offset from the proximal end portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches, where the preformed curve comprises a radius in a range of 2.00 inches to 0.25 inches, or the preformed curve is offset from the proximal end portion of the impeller portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches. Corbett does, however, note that the shape of the device may include variations in sizes, shapes, proportions (par 0115) to established curves, angles, and shapes (pars 0106; figures 1, 3, 6). Therefore, the disclosure of Corbett encompasses a modification that includes the catheter comprising a preformed curve having an arc length in a range of 1.88 inches to 0.63 inches and being offset from the proximal end portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches, where the preformed curve comprises a radius in a range of 2.00 inches to 0.25 inches, or the preformed curve is offset from the proximal end portion of the impeller portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Corbett to include the catheter comprising a preformed curve having an arc length in a range of 1.88 inches to 0.63 inches and being offset from the proximal end portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches, where the preformed curve comprises a radius in a range of 2.00 inches to 0.25 inches, or the preformed curve is offset from the proximal end portion of the impeller portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of shaping modifications that facilitate insertion of the pump assembly into the body.
Regarding claim 14, Corbett discloses the preformed curve is a preformed catheter curve, and the cannula comprises a preformed cannula curve (par 0091).
Regarding claim 15, Corbett discloses the preformed catheter curve and the preformed cannula curve are disposed in a common plane (par 0091, 0106).
Regarding claim 18, Corbett discloses the claimed invention including details about the shaping of the device (par 0106, 0115) as well as shape features for assisting with navigating the device through locations in the body such as the aortic arch (par 0103-0106). Corbett discloses the various curves and locations (par 0078, 0081, 0091) and modifications to the structure to fit the anatomy of the patient (par 0115), including as shown in figures 1, 3, and 6. Corbett, however, does not explicitly disclose the preformed curve is offset from the proximal end portion of the impeller portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches. Corbett does, however, note that the shape of the device may include variations in sizes, shapes, proportions (par 0115) to established curves, angles, and shapes (pars 0106; figures 1, 3, 6). Therefore, the disclosure of Corbett encompasses a modification that includes the preformed curve is offset from the proximal end portion of the impeller portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Corbett to include the catheter comprising the preformed curve offset from the proximal end portion of the impeller portion by a distance in a range of 1.00 inches to 0.05 inches, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of shaping modifications that facilitate insertion of the pump assembly into the body.
Conclusion
Lindsey G Wehrheim
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/LINDSEY G WEHRHEIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799