DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 24 April 2023 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 24 April 2023, 26 September 2023, 8 April 2024, and 13 May 2024.
Claims 1-18 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 10-12, filed on 1st October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under Koshta et al in view of Sugawara have been respectfully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Koshta et al. (US 2022/0312307 A1) in view of Kim (20230319687 A1). Kim is applied to address the deficiencies identified in the prior rejection, in combination with Koshta explicit teachings regarding UE behavior in response to slice rejection and allowability based on availability and fallback mechanism 5G to LTE ¶[0048], [0057] and selecting alternate access RAT/PLMN options See ¶[0065], and FIG. 5-7. Kim explained network slice ¶[0163], and ¶[0177] UE may use service #1 through the slice instance #1 and UE may use service #2 through the slice instance #2, See FIG. 16a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshta et al (US 20220312307A1) in view of Kim (US 20230319687 A1). With regarding Claim 1, Koshta discloses a method for communication by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: sending a first request message to access a data service over a first network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) and a voice service over a second NSSAI to a first 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) radio access technology (RAT) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) (See FIG. 3, 5-7 and ¶[0084], [0048]-[0050], [0055]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]. Disclosed the UE transmits a Registration request (N1 Mode or 5G) that includes requested S-NSSAIs (example set {0,1}, means have 2 slices, one slice (S-NSSAI{0} is successfully allowed another rejected due to NSSAA failure)) this two slices can be data and/or voice as [0024], [0055]), and the UE can have configured NSSAI over 3GPP access and separate S-NSSAI over non-3GPP access.); receiving a first response message indicating that the first NSSAI is rejected and the second NSSAI is allowed, in response to the first request message (See FIG. 5-7 and ¶[0065]-[0066], ¶[0057], [0048]-[0049], [0006], [0013-0014]. Disclosed a scenario where some allowed S-NSSAIs that are active on the camped PLMN, some rejected due to failure of NSSAA procedure. On initial request or condition.); and determining, for accessing the data service or both the data service and the voice service, to use one of a second 3GPP RAT of the first PLMN, the first 3GPP RAT of a second PLMN, a non-3GPP (N3GPP) RAT of the second PLMN, or the N3GPP RAT of the first PLMN, based on receiving the first response message indicating that the first NSSAI is rejected and the second NSSAI is allowed (See FIG. 5-7 and ¶[0055]-[0058], [0062]-[0064], [0069]-[0077]. Disclosed UE deactivating N1 mode capability and search for PLMNs in LTE, UMTS, GSM, and non-3GPP having EPC core support after S-NSSAI rejections, a scenario where UE loses coverage on a 5G NR roaming PLMN and searches other 5G roaming PLMNs before searching LTE PLMNs to maintain PDU session continuity and triggering UE to re-attach in N1 mode after previously failing NSSAA). Koshta may not explicitly disclose: sending a first request message to access a data service over a first network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) and a voice service over a second NSSAI to a first 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) radio access technology (RAT) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN). However, in analogous art Kim disclose sending a first request message to access a data service over a first network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) and a voice service over a second NSSAI to a first 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) radio access technology (RAT) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) (See FIG. 7 and ¶[0163]-[0165], [0172], [0176]-[0177]. Disclosed network slicing and network slicing provides various services and slice instance can independently provide a service to the UE(or provide service in association with other nodes or other slice instances), ¶[0172] disclosed Each UE many use a network slice instance suitable for its own service through the RAN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Koshta teaches fallback to lower prioritized (LTE/non-3GPP RAT) on same PLMN when all S-NSSAIs fail due to NSSAA, then PLMN search for other 3GPP/non-3GPP networks. Kim disclosed Slicing architecture FIG 6-7 and PDU session establishment procedures FIG . 8a-8b, and terminal movement between different frequency bands supporting different slices FIG. 9-10, 11A-13C. This combination ensure the both services are provided with better service. With regarding Claim 2, Koshta disclose further comprising: deregistering from the first 3GPP RAT of the first PLMN upon determining to use the second 3GPP RAT of the first PLMN, wherein the second 3GPP RAT is equivalent or lower prioritized than the first 3GPP RAT (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0048], [0088], [0090][0048] Scenario 1: (1) Default Configured NSSAI in UE are {0,1,2} [each number in braces representing a S-NSSAI]; (2) UE is registered on a PLMN which has Configured NSSAI, i.e., {0,1} over 3GPP access and S-NSSAI, {2} on non-3GPP access; and (3) Both S-NSSAIs {0,1} get rejected due to NSSAA failure. As per current handling for this scenario 1, it is not specified on which Access Network UE will move to DEREGISTERED state. Expected behavior for UE in this scenario, is for UE to move to DEREGISTERED state on 3GPP access and move to LTE for 3GPP access and disable N1 mode capabilities over 3GPP access. Besides UE can continue receiving service for S-NSSAI {2} over non-3GPP N1 mode.); and registering on the second 3GPP RAT of the first PLMN for accessing the data service or both the data service and the voice service (See FIG. 3 and ¶[0048], [0057], [0067], [0088], [0090].[0088] Example 1 is a method, performed by a User Equipment (UE) camped on a Fifth Generation (5G) Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) that includes a New Radio (NR) Radio Access Technology (RAT), of avoiding wireless communications service disruptions attributable to rejection of each Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), the method comprising: receiving an indication that no network slices are available; deactivating N1 mode capability; and searching for service on a PLMN that includes a non-NR RAT.[0057] In one embodiment, UE attempts service on LTE on the same PLMN on which all requested S-NSSAIs have failed due to NSSAA. In another embodiment, the camped network provides the redirection information to UE to fallback to LTE RAT. For example, optional steps 4 and 5 show a UE can be redirected immediately to LTE rather than initiating a PLMN search on other RAT if needed. If unsuccessful, UE searches for PLMNs in LTE, UMTS, GSM and non-3GPP having EPC core support as mentioned in 3GPP 24.501 section 4.9.).
With regarding Claim 3, Koshta disclose further comprising: sending a second request message to access the data service from the first NSSAI to the N3GPP RAT of the second PLMN upon determining the N3GPP RAT of the second PLMN, wherein the second PLMN is equivalent or lower prioritized than the first PLMN, and the UE has access to the 3GPP RAT of the first PLMN and the N3GPP RAT of the second PLMN (See ¶[0057], [0088]-[0091], [0093], [0048].[0057] In one embodiment, UE attempts service on LTE on the same PLMN on which all requested S-NSSAIs have failed due to NSSAA. In another embodiment, the camped network provides the redirection information to UE to fallback to LTE RAT. For example, optional steps 4 and 5 show a UE can be redirected immediately to LTE rather than initiating a PLMN search on other RAT if needed. If unsuccessful, UE searches for PLMNs in LTE, UMTS, GSM and non-3GPP having EPC core support as mentioned in 3GPP 24.501 section 4.9.[0088] Example 1 is a method, performed by a User Equipment (UE) camped on a Fifth Generation (5G) Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) that includes a New Radio (NR) Radio Access Technology (RAT), of avoiding wireless communications service disruptions attributable to rejection of each Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI), the method comprising: receiving an indication that no network slices are available; deactivating N1 mode capability; and searching for service on a PLMN that includes a non-NR RAT.[0093] Example 6 is the method of Example 1, in which the non-5G PLMN includes a non-3GPP network having Evolved Packet Core (EPC) core network support.); receiving a second response message with an allowed NSSAI list includes the first NSSAI (See ¶[0070], [0106]-[0107].[0070] On receiving this new cause in LTE, UE will complete the detach procedure and enable N1 mode capabilities (if N1 mode capabilities were disabled earlier) and attempt to select the same PLMN in N1 mode. Before attempting initial registration, UE will delete all its rejected S-NSSAIs and derive the new requested S-NSSAIs from the configured NSSAI for the PLMN or the default configured NSSAI.[0106] Example 19 is the method of Example 18, in which the indication is a Configuration Update Command indicating that the rejected S-NSSAI is to be treated as an allowed S-NSSAI.
[0107] Example 20 is the method of Example 19, in which the Configuration Update Command includes a registration requested flag set.); and routing an internet protocol data unit (PDU)session over the first NSSAI of the N3GPP RAT of the second PLMN (See ¶[0048], [0057], [0090].[0048] Scenario 1: (1) Default Configured NSSAI in UE are {0,1,2} [each number in braces representing a S-NSSAI]; (2) UE is registered on a PLMN which has Configured NSSAI, i.e., {0,1} over 3GPP access and S-NSSAI, {2} on non-3GPP access; and (3) Both S-NSSAIs {0,1} get rejected due to NSSAA failure. As per current handling for this scenario 1, it is not specified on which Access Network UE will move to DEREGISTERED state. Expected behavior for UE in this scenario, is for UE to move to DEREGISTERED state on 3GPP access and move to LTE for 3GPP access and disable N1 mode capabilities over 3GPP access. Besides UE can continue receiving service for S-NSSAI {2} over non-3GPP N1 mode.). With regarding Claim 4, Koshta may not explicitly disclose wherein the routing comprises: establishing the internet PDU session with the first NSSAI of the N3GPP RAT of the second PLMN; and routing the internet PDU over the first NSSAI of the N3GPP RAT of the second PLMN However, in analogous art Kim disclose wherein the routing comprises: establishing the internet PDU session with the first NSSAI of the N3GPP RAT of the second PLMN (See ¶[0178]-[0184]. Disclosed general PDU session establishment procedures); and routing the internet PDU over the first NSSAI of the N3GPP RAT of the second PLMN (See ¶[0328]-[0330], [0338]-[0342]. Disclosed routing decisions during handover procedures between different RAN nodes supporting different S-NSSAIs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Koshta teaches fallback to non-3GPP PLMNs and maintaining PDU session continuity across PLMN/RAT changes. And Kim PDU session establishment with S-NSSAI and non-3GPP access switching and rejection signaling. This combination ensure service continuity while adhering to network slice availability constraints. With regarding Claim 5, Koshta disclose further comprising routing an internet PDU over the first NSSAI of the N3GPP RAT of the first PLMN upon determining to use the N3GPP RAT of the first PLMN (See ¶[0048], [0057], [0056], [0093].[0048] Scenario 1: (1) Default Configured NSSAI in UE are {0,1,2} [each number in braces representing a S-NSSAI]; (2) UE is registered on a PLMN which has Configured NSSAI, i.e., {0,1} over 3GPP access and S-NSSAI, {2} on non-3GPP access;.), wherein the UE has access to both the 3GPP and N3GPP RATs available over the first PLMN the UE is registered for an N3GPP access over the first NSSAI ].), and the first NSSAI is in an allowed NSSAI list of the N3GPP access (See FIG. 7 and ¶[0048]-[0050], [0056], [0066], [0093]. UE has registered on a PLMN which has configured NSSAI over 3GPP access and non-3GPP). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Koshta teaches fallback to non-3GPP RATs after slice rejection and allowed NSSAI updates. And Kim teaches allowed NSSAI per access type and PDU routing over non-3GPP RATs. This combination teachings yields predictable results (service continuity via non-3GPP fallback). With regarding Claim 6, Koshta disclose further comprising: performing one of: a PLMN search by releasing an N1 signaling connection, wait for the first PLMN to send a detach request and wait for a predefined period of time (See ¶[0112], [0119]-[0120], [0056], [0069]-[0073].[0112] Example 25 is the method of Example 24, further comprising: maintaining the timer upon registering on any non-5G PLMN; and in response to expiration of the timer, attempting PLMN selection.[0120] Example 33 is the computer-readable storage medium of Example 26, wherein the instructions further configure the computer to: start a timer while the UE is in a deregistered state on a Fifth Generation (5G) Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) associated with the rejected S-NSSAI; and in response to expiration of the timer, enable N1 mode for initiating the registration request.), wherein the PLMN search is performed by lowering a priority of the first PLMN (See ¶[0110], [0049], [0057][0110] Example 23 is the method of Example 22, further comprising performing a PLMN search with N1 mode enabled so as to find a New Radio (NR) RAT in a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) that includes the non-5G RAT.); finding the second PLMN based on the PLMN search (See ¶[0110], [0090] [0049], [0067].[0049] Expected behavior for UE in this scenario, is for UE to move to DEREGISTERED state on both 3GPP access and non-3GPP access. UE shall also disable N1 mode for both 3GPP and non-3GPP for the camped PLMN and initiate PLMN search. There is no need for UE to search the same PLMN in N1 mode.[0090] Example 3 is the method of Example 2, further comprising attempting Long-Term Evolution (LTE) service on the 5G PLMN that includes the NR RAT through which all S-NSSAIs have failed due to the NSSAA failure.); camping on the second PLMN (See ¶[0110], [0090], [0067], [0075].[0067] (3) UE as per current handling in 3GPP specification 24.501, moves to DEREGISTERED state and optionally performs a PLMN search. UE can find the same PLMN in LTE mode. (4) UE camps and registers on the same PLMN in LTE mode.); and sending registration request to the second PLMN with the first NSSAI and the second NSSAI for accessing the data service and the voice service respectively (See ¶[0110], [0090], [0066], [0070], [0122], [0075].[0066] The trigger in the aforementioned case concerning how UE 602 is indicated about the change is CONFIGURATION UPDATE COMMAND having (1) the previously rejected S-NSSAI (due to NSSAA failure) shown as allowed S-NSSAI and (2) a “registration requested” flag set in the configuration update indication. In other embodiments, it can be indicated in REGISTRATION ACCEPT as well (if NSSAA information changed and UE initiated REGISTRATION REQUEST). The network after REGISTRATION ACCEPT can indicate the previously rejected S-NSSAI (due to NSSAA failure) as pending and re-start the NSSAA procedure.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Koshta teaches fallback to non-3GPP RATs after slice rejection and allowed NSSAI updates. And Kim teaches allowed NSSAI per access type and PDU routing over non-3GPP RATs. This combination teachings yields predictable results (service continuity via non-3GPP fallback).
With regarding Claim 7, Koshta disclose A user equipment (UE) comprising: e-memory storing instructions: (See FIG. 1, 8 and ¶[00354], [0045]); and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE (See ¶[0050][0082]-[0083], [0086].): sending a first request message to access a data service over a first network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) and a voice service over a second NSSAI to a first 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) radio access technology (RAT) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) (See FIG. 3, 5-7 and ¶[0084], [0048]-[0050], [0055]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]. Disclosed the UE transmits a Registration request (N1 Mode or 5G) that includes requested S-NSSAIs (example set {0,1}, means have 2 slices, one slice (S-NSSAI{0} is successfully allowed another rejected due to NSSAA failure)) this two slices can be data and/or voice as [0024], [0055]), and the UE can have configured NSSAI over 3GPP access and separate S-NSSAI over non-3GPP access.); receiving a first response message indicating that the first NSSAI is rejected and the second NSSAI is allowed, in response to the first request message (See FIG. 5-7 and ¶[0065]-[0066], ¶[0057], [0048]-[0049], [0006], [0013-0014]. Disclosed a scenario where some allowed S-NSSAIs that are active on the camped PLMN, some rejected due to failure of NSSAA procedure. On initial request or condition.),; and determining, for accessing the data service or both the data service and the voice service, to use one of a second 3GPP RAT of the first PLMN, the first 3GPP RAT of a second PLMN, a non-3GPP (N3GPP) RAT of the second PLMN, or the N3GPP RAT of the first PLMN, based on receiving the first response message indicating that the first NSSAI is rejected and the second NSSAI is allowed (See FIG. 5-7 and ¶[0055]-[0058], [0062]-[0064], [0069]-[0077]. Disclosed UE deactivating N1 mode capability and search for PLMNs in LTE, UMTS, GSM, and non-3GPP having EPC core support after S-NSSAI rejections, a scenario where UE loses coverage on a 5G NR roaming PLMN and searches other 5G roaming PLMNs before searching LTE PLMNs to maintain PDU session continuity and triggering UE to re-attach in N1 mode after previously failing NSSAA). Koshta may not explicitly disclose: sending a first request message to access a data service over a first network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) and a voice service over a second NSSAI to a first 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) radio access technology (RAT) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN). However, in analogous art Kim disclose sending a first request message to access a data service over a first network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) and a voice service over a second NSSAI to a first 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) radio access technology (RAT) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) (See FIG. 7 and ¶[0163]-[0165], [0172], [0176]-[0177]. Disclosed network slicing and network slicing provides various services and slice instance can independently provide a service to the UE(or provide service in association with other nodes or other slice instances), ¶[0172] disclosed Each UE many use a network slice instance suitable for its own service through the RAN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Koshta teaches fallback to lower prioritized (LTE/non-3GPP RAT) on same PLMN when all S-NSSAIs fail due to NSSAA, then PLMN search for other 3GPP/non-3GPP networks. Kim disclosed Slicing architecture FIG 6-7 and PDU session establishment procedures FIG . 8a-8b, and terminal movement between different frequency bands supporting different slices FIG. 9-10, 11A-13C. This combination ensure the both services are provided with better service. Regarding claim 8, and 14, through of different scope, the limitations of claim 8, and 14 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and is rejected under same reasoning. Regarding claim 9, and 15, through of different scope, the limitations of claim 9, and 15 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 3, and is rejected under same reasoning.
Regarding claim 10, and 16, through of different scope, the limitations of claim 10, and 16 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 4, and is rejected under same reasoning. Regarding claim 11, and 17, through of different scope, the limitations of claim 11, and 17 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 5, and is rejected under same reasoning. Regarding claim 12, and 18, through of different scope, the limitations of claim 12, and 18 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 6, and is rejected under same reasoning. Regarding claim 13, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions (See FIG. 1, 8 and ¶[00354], [0045].), which, when executed by at least one processor of a user equipment (UE), causes the UE to perform operations, the operations comprising (See ¶[0050][0082]-[0083], [0086].): sending a first request message to access a data service over a first network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) and a voice service over a second NSSAI to a first 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) radio access technology (RAT) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) (See FIG. 3, 5-7 and ¶[0084], [0048]-[0050], [0055]-[0057], [0062]-[0064], [0088]. Disclosed the UE transmits a Registration request (N1 Mode or 5G) that includes requested S-NSSAIs (example set {0,1}, means have 2 slices, one slice (S-NSSAI{0} is successfully allowed another rejected due to NSSAA failure)) this two slices can be data and/or voice as [0024], [0055]), and the UE can have configured NSSAI over 3GPP access and separate S-NSSAI over non-3GPP access.); receiving a first response message indicating that the first NSSAI is rejected and the second NSSAI is allowed, in response to the first request message (See FIG. 5-7 and ¶[0065]-[0066], ¶[0057], [0048]-[0049], [0006], [0013-0014]. Disclosed a scenario where some allowed S-NSSAIs that are active on the camped PLMN, some rejected due to failure of NSSAA procedure. On initial request or condition.),; and determining, for accessing the data service or both the data service and the voice service, to use one of a second 3GPP RAT of the first PLMN, the first 3GPP RAT of a second PLMN, a non-3GPP (N3GPP) RAT of the second PLMN, or the N3GPP RAT of the first PLMN, based on receiving the first response message indicating that the first NSSAI is rejected and the second NSSAI is allowed (See FIG. 5-7 and ¶[0055]-[0058], [0062]-[0064], [0069]-[0077]. Disclosed UE deactivating N1 mode capability and search for PLMNs in LTE, UMTS, GSM, and non-3GPP having EPC core support after S-NSSAI rejections, a scenario where UE loses coverage on a 5G NR roaming PLMN and searches other 5G roaming PLMNs before searching LTE PLMNs to maintain PDU session continuity and triggering UE to re-attach in N1 mode after previously failing NSSAA). Koshta may not explicitly disclose: sending a first request message to access a data service over a first network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) and a voice service over a second NSSAI to a first 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) radio access technology (RAT) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN). However, in analogous art Kim disclose sending a first request message to access a data service over a first network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) and a voice service over a second NSSAI to a first 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) radio access technology (RAT) of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) (See FIG. 7 and ¶[0163]-[0165], [0172], [0176]-[0177]. Disclosed network slicing and network slicing provides various services and slice instance can independently provide a service to the UE(or provide service in association with other nodes or other slice instances), ¶[0172] disclosed Each UE many use a network slice instance suitable for its own service through the RAN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Koshta teaches fallback to lower prioritized (LTE/non-3GPP RAT) on same PLMN when all S-NSSAIs fail due to NSSAA, then PLMN search for other 3GPP/non-3GPP networks. Kim disclosed Slicing architecture FIG 6-7 and PDU session establishment procedures FIG . 8a-8b, and terminal movement between different frequency bands supporting different slices FIG. 9-10, 11A-13C. This combination ensure the both services are provided with better service.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468