DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 24 April 2023.
Claims 14-24 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-13 are cancelled.
Claims 14-24 are new.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 25 August 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 January 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: A Method and Apparatus for Transmitting/Drop/Multiplexing Multiple Physical Control Channels (e.g., PUCCH).
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites the limitation “based on that a number”. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to revise to “based on a number” and remove the pronoun “that”.
Claim 18 is missing commas. Please revise the limitation to recite “wherein the uplink data channels, according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmissions, are associated with different reference signal candidate sets, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent Claim 19 is also objected to since it is dependent upon the objected claim set forth above.
Claims 23 and 24 recites, non-functional descriptive material limitations, “An apparatus comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to...in lines 1 and 3-4.
“An apparatus comprising: at least one processor…” merely serves a support for data instructions, and the data instruction will not impart/convey a patentable distinction when no functional relationship exists. In particular, a processing means cannot process data instruction alone, and require enabling a computer processor/CPU to process the data instruction in order to impart/convey a patentable distinction of a claim.
Claim 23 and 24 recite, non-functional descriptive material limitations, “A network entity for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors...in lines 1 and 3-4.
“An apparatus comprising: at least one processor…” merely serves a support for data instructions, and the data instruction will not impart/convey a patentable distinction when no functional relationship exists. In particular, a processing means cannot process data instruction alone, and require enabling a computer processor/CPU to process the data instruction in order to impart/convey a patentable distinction of a claim.
As such, the functional language, “executing/processing data instruction stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium by a CPU or a computer processor” adds functional relationship to the clamed invention. Appropriate correction is required. (see MPEP 2111.05)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 2021/0360683 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding Claim 14, Chen discloses a method comprising:
receiving configuration information for a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs) (see Figure 6, step S210 and paragraphs 58, 73, 75, 78, 85, 146 and 153; receiving/receiving configuration information/(CORESET configuration) for a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs)/CORESET associated with a first DCI and CORESET associated with a second DCI), the plurality of CORESETs related to a first CORESET pool and a second CORESET pool (see Figure 6, step S210 and paragraphs 52 and 57; the plurality of CORESETs/(CORESET associated with a first DCI and CORESET associated with a second DCI) related to a first CORESET pool/(CORESET associated with a first DCI) and a second CORESET pool/CORESET associated with a second DCI); and
performing a transmission of at least one of a plurality of uplink data channels which are overlapping in a time domain (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 55 and 59; performing a transmission/transmitting of at least one of a plurality of uplink data channels/(first and second uplink data channel) which are overlapping/(partially or completely overlap) in a time domain/time domain),
wherein, based on a simultaneous transmission scheme being enabled and the plurality of uplink data channels being related to the first CORESET pool and the second CORESET pool (see Figure 2, step S210 and Figure 3a and paragraphs 42, 53, 55, 57 and 59; wherein, based on a simultaneous transmission scheme being enabled/(the terminal is configured with multiple panels and supports simultaneous PUSCH transmissions on multiple panels) and the plurality of uplink data channels/(uplink data channels) being related to the first CORESET pool/(CORESET associated with a first DCI) and the second CORESET pool/CORESET associated with a second DCI), the transmission is performed through a first transmission of an uplink data channel related to the first CORESET pool and a second transmission of an uplink data channel related to the second CORESET pool (see Figure 6, step S220 and paragraphs 52, 55 and 59; the transmission/transmits is performed through a first transmission/transmits of an uplink data channel/(uplink data channel) related to the first CORESET pool/(CORESET associated with a first DCI) and a second transmission of an uplink data channel/(uplink data channel) related to the second CORESET pool/CORESET associated with a second DCI).
Regarding Claim 21, Chen discloses the method,
wherein, based on the plurality of uplink data channels being related to different CORESET pools (see Figure 6, step S210 and paragraphs 52, 55, 57 and 59; based on the plurality of uplink data channels/(first and second uplink data channel) being related to different CORESET pools/(CORESET associated with a first DCI), the plurality of uplink data channels are scheduled using multiple downlink control information based on multiple CORESET pools (see Figure 6, step S220 and paragraphs 52, 55 and 59; the plurality of uplink data channels/(uplink data channels) are scheduled/schedule using multiple downlink control information/(first and second DCI) based on multiple CORESET pools/ CORESET associated with a first DCI and CORESET associated with a second DCI).
Regarding Claim 22, Chen discloses the method,
wherein the simultaneous transmission scheme is based on multiple panel of an user equipment (see paragraph 42; wherein the simultaneous transmission scheme/(simultaneous PUSCH transmission) is based on multiple/multiple panel/panels of an user equipment/terminal).
Regarding Claim 23, Chen discloses an apparatus (see Figure 12 and paragraph 141; an apparatus/terminal device 300) comprising:
at least one transceiver (see Figure 12 and paragraph 141; at least one transceiver/transceiving unit 320); and
at least one processor (see Figure 12 and paragraph 141; at least one processor/processing unit 310) coupled with the at least one transceiver (see Figure 12 and paragraph 141; coupled with the at least one transceiver/transceiving unit 320), wherein the at least one processor (see Figure 12 and paragraph 141; wherein the at least one processor/processing unit 310) is configured to:
receiving configuration information for a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs) (see Figure 6, step S210 and paragraphs 58, 73, 75, 78, 85, 146 and 153; receiving/receiving configuration information/(CORESET configuration) for a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs)/CORESET associated with a first DCI and CORESET associated with a second DCI), the plurality of CORESETs related to a first CORESET pool and a second CORESET pool (see Figure 6, step S210 and paragraphs 52 and 57; the plurality of CORESETs/(CORESET associated with a first DCI and CORESET associated with a second DCI) related to a first CORESET pool/(CORESET associated with a first DCI) and a second CORESET pool/CORESET associated with a second DCI); and
perform a transmission of at least one of a plurality of uplink data channels which are overlapping in a time domain (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 55 and 59; perform a transmission/transmitting of at least one of a plurality of uplink data channels/(first and second uplink data channel) which are overlapping/(partially or completely overlap) in a time domain/time domain),
wherein, based on a simultaneous transmission scheme being enabled and the plurality of uplink data channels being related to the first CORESET pool and the second CORESET pool (see Figure 2, step S210 and Figure 3a and paragraphs 42, 53, 55, 57 and 59; wherein, based on a simultaneous transmission scheme being enabled/(the terminal is configured with multiple panels and supports simultaneous PUSCH transmissions on multiple panels) and the plurality of uplink data channels/(uplink data channels) being related to the first CORESET pool/(CORESET associated with a first DCI) and the second CORESET pool/CORESET associated with a second DCI), the transmission is performed through a first transmission of an uplink data channel related to the first CORESET pool and a second transmission of an uplink data channel related to the second CORESET pool (see Figure 6, step S220 and paragraphs 52, 55 and 59; the transmission/transmits is performed through a first transmission/transmits of an uplink data channel/(uplink data channel) related to the first CORESET pool/(CORESET associated with a first DCI) and a second transmission of an uplink data channel/(uplink data channel) related to the second CORESET pool/CORESET associated with a second DCI).
Regarding Claim 24, Chen discloses an apparatus (see Figure 13 and paragraph 168; an apparatus/communication device 400) comprising:
at least one transceiver (see Figure 13 and paragraph 166; at least one processor/transceiver 430); and
at least one processor (see Figure 15 and paragraph 180; at least one processor/processor) coupled with the at least one transceiver (see Figure 13 and paragraph 166; coupled with the at least one processor/transceiver 430),
wherein the at least one processor (see Figure 15 and paragraph 180; wherein the at least one processor/processor) is configured to:
transmit configuration information for a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs) (see Figure 6, step S210 and paragraphs 58, 73, 75, 78, 85, 146 and 153; transmit/receiving configuration information/(CORESET configuration) for a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs)/CORESET associated with a first DCI and CORESET associated with a second DCI), the plurality of CORESETs related to a first CORESET pool and a second CORESET pool (see Figure 6, step S210 and paragraphs 52 and 57; the plurality of CORESETs/(CORESET associated with a first DCI and CORESET associated with a second DCI) related to a first CORESET pool/(CORESET associated with a first DCI) and a second CORESET pool/CORESET associated with a second DCI); and
receive a transmission of at least one of a plurality of uplink data channels which are overlapping in a time domain (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 55 and 59; receive a receive/transmitting of at least one of a plurality of uplink data channels/(first and second uplink data channel) which are overlapping/(partially or completely overlap) in a time domain/time domain),
wherein, based on a simultaneous transmission scheme being enabled and the plurality of uplink data channels being related to the first CORESET pool and the second CORESET pool (see Figure 2, step S210 and Figure 3a and paragraphs 42, 53, 55, 57 and 59; wherein, based on a simultaneous transmission scheme being enabled/(the terminal is configured with multiple panels and supports simultaneous PUSCH transmissions on multiple panels) and the plurality of uplink data channels/(uplink data channels) being related to the first CORESET pool/(CORESET associated with a first DCI), the transmission includes a first transmission of an uplink data channel related to the first CORESET pool and a second transmission of an uplink data channel related to the second CORESET pool (see Figure 6, step S220 and paragraphs 52, 55 and 59; the transmission/transmits is performed through a first transmission/transmits of an uplink data channel/(uplink data channel) related to the first CORESET pool/(CORESET associated with a first DCI) and a second transmission of an uplink data channel/(uplink data channel) related to the second CORESET pool/CORESET associated with a second DCI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Cirik et al (US 2022/0272743 A1), hereinafter Cirik.
Regarding Claim 15, Although Chen discloses a first CORESET pool and a second CORESET pool as set forth above,
Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein, based on the plurality of uplink data channels being related to a same CORESET pool, the transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for the plurality of uplink data channels”.
However, Cirik discloses the method,
wherein, based on the plurality of uplink data channels being related to a same CORESET pool (see paragraph 582; based on the plurality of uplink data channels/(physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)) being related to a same/same CORESET pool/a coreset group index associated with the PUCCH resource is the same as the first coreset group index), the transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for the plurality of uplink data channels (see Figure 27 and paragraphs 222, 563, 572 and 582; the transmission/transmit is performed based on an operation resolving time/time overlapping/overlap for the plurality of uplink data channels/PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for the plurality of uplink data channels” as taught by Cirik in the system of Chen to reduce signaling overhead (see paragraph 566 of Cirik).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Lin, and further in view of Khoshnevisa et al (US 2022/0061072 A1), hereinafter Khoshnevisa.
Regarding Claim 16, Although Chen discloses overlapping for uplink data channels related to the first CORESET pool and overlapping for uplink data channels related to the second CORESET pool as set forth above,
Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein the first transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for uplink data channels” and “wherein the second transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for uplink data channels”.
However, Lin discloses the method,
wherein the first transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for uplink data channels related to the (see Figure 6, step S320 and paragraphs 100, 129, 187 and 211; wherein the first transmission/sends is performed based on an operation/(constraint condition) resolving time/time overlapping/overlap for uplink/uplink data channels/channels), and
wherein the second transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for uplink data channels related to the (see Figure and paragraphs 100, 129, 187 and 211; wherein the second transmission/sends is performed based on an operation/(constraint condition) resolving time/time overlapping/overlap for uplink/uplink data channels/channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the first transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for uplink data channels” and “wherein the second transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for uplink data channels” as taught by Lin in the system of Chen to provide the constraint condition enables the terminal device to determine whether to multiplex the information carried in the plurality of uplink channels/signals in one channel/signal within the target time unit for transmission, which can effectively transmit to-be-transmitted information (see paragraph 63 of Lin).
Although the combination of Chen and Lin discloses wherein the first transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for uplink data channels” and “wherein the second transmission is performed based on an operation resolving time overlapping for uplink data channels as set forth above,
The combination of Chen and Lin does not explicitly disclose “the first transmission for uplink data channels related to the first CORESET pool and the second transmission for uplink data channels related to the second CORESET pool”.
However, Khoshnevisa discloses the method,
the first transmission for uplink data channels related to the first CORESET pool and the second transmission for uplink data channels related to the second CORESET pool (see Figures 7A-7B and paragraphs 23, 30-31, 81, 84 and 87; the first transmission/transmission for uplink data channels/(first uplink grant 720) related to the first CORESET pool/(CORESET pool index value 0 for TRP A 705) and the second transmission/transmission for uplink data channels/(second uplink grant 730) related to the second CORESET pool/ CORESET pool index value 1 for TRP B 705).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the first transmission for uplink data channels related to the first CORESET pool and the second transmission for uplink data channels related to the second CORESET pool” as taught by Khoshnevisa in the combined system of Chen and Lin to provide techniques and apparatuses for local channel prioritization (LCP) restriction based on a control resource set (CORESET) pool index value (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Khoshnevisa).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hosseini et al (US 2020/0314900 A1), hereinafter Hosseini.
Regarding Claim 17, Although Chen discloses an uplink data channel related to the first CORESET pool and a second transmission of an uplink data channel related to the second CORESET pool as set forth above,
Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein, based on that a number of the plurality of uplink data channels exceeds a maximum number of simultaneous transmission, uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission are transmitted according to the simultaneous transmission scheme”.
However, Hosseini discloses the method,
wherein, based on that a number of the plurality of uplink data channels exceeds a maximum number of simultaneous transmission (see paragraphs 68-69, 110-111 and 122-123; wherein, based on that a number of the plurality of uplink data channels/(PUCCH and PUSCH) exceeds a maximum number of simultaneous transmission/multiple overlapping channels (e.g., two or more channels of the same priority)), uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission are transmitted according to the simultaneous transmission scheme (see paragraphs 68-69, 110-111 and 122-123; uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission are transmitted according to the simultaneous transmission scheme/highest priority information is transmitted in favor of lower priority information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein, based on that a number of the plurality of uplink data channels exceeds a maximum number of simultaneous transmission, uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission are transmitted according to the simultaneous transmission scheme” as taught by Hosseini in the system of Chen to improve communication quality and reduce latency caused by errors in overlapping resource allocations by avoiding collisions between channels based on priority (see paragraph 189 of Hosseini).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hosseini, and further in view of Lin et al (US 2018/0124712 A1), hereinafter Lin.
Regarding Claim 18, Although Chen discloses an uplink data channel related to the first CORESET pool and a second transmission of an uplink data channel related to the second CORESET pool as set forth above,
Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission”.
However, Hosseini discloses the method,
wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission (see paragraphs 68-69, 110-111 and 122-123; wherein the uplink data channels/(PUCCH and PUSCH) according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission/multiple overlapping channels (e.g., two or more channels of the same priority)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission” as taught by Hosseini in the system of Chen to improve communication quality and reduce latency caused by errors in overlapping resource allocations by avoiding collisions between channels based on priority (see paragraph 189 of Hosseini).
Although the combination of Chen and Hosseini discloses wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission as set forth above,
The combination of Chen and Hosseini does not explicitly disclose wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission “are associated with different reference signal candidate sets, respectively”.
However, Lin discloses the method,
wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission are associated with different reference signal candidate sets, respectively (see paragraphs 55, 57-58, 63-66, 73-74 and 83-88 and 93-94; wherein the uplink data channels/(PUSCH, PUCCH and/or PRACH) according to the maximum number/(sum of the transmission power of each uplink channel of said UE exceeds the maximum transmission power configured by said UE) of simultaneous/simultaneously transmission/transmitted are associated with different/different reference signal candidate sets, respectively/multiple different carriers and the SRSs on multiple different carries).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission “are associated with different reference signal candidate sets, respectively” as taught by Lin the combined system of Chen and Hosseini to provide an uplink signal transmitting method (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Lin).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hosseini, and further in view of Lin et al (US 2018/0124712 A1), hereinafter Lin.
Regarding Claim 19, Although Chen discloses the plurality of uplink data channels being related to the first CORESET pool and the second CORESET pool as set forth above,
Chen does not explicitly disclose “wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission”.
However, Hosseini discloses the method,
Wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission (see paragraphs 68-69, 110-111 and 122-123; uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission are transmitted/highest priority information is transmitted in favor of lower priority information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission” as taught by Hosseini in the system of Chen to improve communication quality and reduce latency caused by errors in overlapping resource allocations by avoiding collisions between channels based on priority (see paragraph 189 of Hosseini).
Although the combination of Chen and Hosseini discloses wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission as set forth above,
The combination of Chen and Hosseini does not explicitly disclose “wherein the uplink data channels are determined are determined based on at least one of an index of a CORESET pool”.
However, Khoshnevisa discloses the method,
wherein the uplink data channels according to the maximum number of simultaneous transmission are determined based on at least one of an index of a CORESET pool, an index of a uplink channel group or an index of resources (see Figure 8, step 820 and paragraphs 50-51, 74-77, 81, 84, 89 and 91; wherein the uplink data channels/(uplink communication) are determined based on at least one of an index of a CORESET pool/CORESET pool index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the uplink data channels are determined are determined based on at least one of an index of a CORESET pool” as taught by Khoshnevisa in the combined system of Chen and Hosseini to provide techniques and apparatuses for local channel prioritization (LCP) restriction based on a control resource set (CORESET) pool index value (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Khoshnevisa).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Cirik, and further in view of Huang et al (US 2022/0086826 A1), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding Claim 20, Although the combination of Chen and Cirik discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Chen and Cirik does not explicitly disclose “receiving indication information on an application of the simultaneous transmission scheme or the operation”.
However, Huang discloses the method, further comprising:
receiving indication information on an application of the simultaneous transmission scheme or the operation (see Figure 5, step 514 and paragraphs 83, 88 and 98-99; receiving/received indication information/(configuration 514) on an application of the simultaneous transmission scheme/overlapping uplink transmission mode to occurrences of overlapping uplink transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “receiving indication information on an application of the simultaneous transmission scheme or the operation” as taught by Huang in the combined system of Chen and Cirik to facilitate improving communications by configuring the UE to apply an overlapping uplink transmission mode when an occurrence of an overlapping uplink transmission occurs (see paragraph 101 of Huang).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al (US 2021/0160880 A1) discloses Configuration Information Transmission Method and Device. Specifically, see paragraphs 163-183.
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469
/Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469