Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell (United States Patent Application Publication 20180284242 A1), hereinafter Campbell.
Regarding claim 1, Campbell teaches an opto-mechanical system, comprising:
a light emission assembly, configured to emit an emission light signal to a target object (Fig. 1; [0026] The light source 110 may be, for example, a laser which emits light having a particular operating wavelength in the infrared, visible, or ultraviolet portions of the electromagnetic spectrum.);
a light receiving assembly, configured to receive an echo light signal reflected by the target object (Fig. 1; [0028] The mirror 115 in turn directs the input beam 135 to the receiver 140.); and
a light scanning assembly, comprising a first light scanning element and a second light scanning element, wherein the emission light signal emitted by the light emission assembly is sequentially transmitted by the first light scanning element and the second light scanning element to the target object, and the echo light signal reflected by the target object is sequentially transmitted by the second light scanning element and the first light scanning element to the light receiving assembly (Fig. 2; In the example of FIG. 2, the scanner 162 includes two mirrors, a mirror 180-1 and a mirror 180-2. The mirror 180-1 may scan the output beam 170 along a substantially horizontal direction, and the mirror 180-2 may scan the output beam 170 along a substantially vertical direction (or vice versa). Mirror 180-1 or mirror 180-2 may be a flat mirror, a curved mirror, or a polygon mirror with two or more reflective surfaces.), wherein
along a first linear direction, one of the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly is on a side of the first light scanning element that is farther away from the second light scanning element, and the other one of the light emission assembly and the light receiving assembly is on a side of the second light scanning element that is farther away from the first light scanning element (Fig. 2; scanner 162, mirror 180-1 and mirror 180-2).
Regarding claim 2, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, wherein the light emission assembly and the light scanning assembly are distributed along a second linear direction and are on a side of the light scanning assembly that is farther away from the target object, and the second linear direction intersects with the first linear direction (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; Light source 110, Scanner 120, 162, mirror 180-1 and mirror 180-2); and
wherein the light receiving assembly and the light scanning assembly are distributed along a second linear direction and are on a side of the light scanning assembly that is farther away from the target object, and the second linear direction intersects with the first linear direction (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; Receiver 140, 164, Scanner 120, 162, mirror 180-1 and mirror 180-2).
Regarding claim 3, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 2, wherein the opto-mechanical system further comprises a first light path changing assembly, and along a transmission path of the emission light signal, the first light path changing assembly is disposed between the light emission assembly and the first light scanning element, and the first light path changing assembly comprises at least one first reflection element ([0102] FIG. 8 illustrates an example configuration in which a laser-sensor link 320 includes an optical link 330 and an electrical link 350 coupled between a laser 300 and a sensor 310; [0103] The optical link 330 may include optical fiber (which may be referred to as fiber-optic cable or fiber) that conveys, carries, transports, or transmits light between the laser 300 and the sensor 310.); and
wherein the opto-mechanical system further comprises a second light path changing assembly, and along a transmission path of the echo light signal, the second light path changing assembly is disposed between the light receiving assembly and the first light scanning element, and the second light path changing assembly comprises at least one second reflection element ([0028] The input beam 135 passes through the scanner 120 to the mirror 115, which may be referred to as an overlap mirror, superposition mirror, or beam-combiner mirror. The mirror 115 in turn directs the input beam 135 to the receiver 140.).
Regarding claim 5, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 3, wherein along the second linear direction, one of the at least one second reflection element is between a first reflection element and the first light scanning element, the second reflection element is provided with a second light-passing aperture, wherein the second light-passing aperture is configured for the emission light signal to pass through and to reach the first light scanning element, and the second linear direction intersects with the first linear direction (As illustrated in FIG. 1, the lidar system 100 may include the mirror 115, which may be a metallic or dielectric mirror. The mirror 115 may be configured so that the light beam 125 passes through the mirror 115. As an example, mirror 115 may include a hole, slot, or aperture through which the output light beam 125 passes.).
Regarding claim 6, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, wherein
the first light scanning element comprises a galvanometer, the galvanometer has a first reflection surface for transmitting the emission light signal or the echo light signal, and the galvanometer is configured to rotate around a first rotation axis ([0074] Mirror 180-1 or mirror 180-2 may be a flat mirror, a curved mirror, or a polygon mirror with two or more reflective surfaces; [0075] the scanner 162 may include a galvanometer actuator that scans the mirror 180-1 along a first direction (e.g., vertical),); and
wherein the second light scanning element comprises a rotating mirror, the rotating mirror has multiple second reflection surfaces for transmitting the emission light signal or the echo light signal, wherein the rotating mirror is configured to rotate around a second rotation axis, and the multiple second reflection surfaces are disposed around a periphery of the second rotation axis ([0075] the scanner 162 includes two mirrors, where one mirror is a polygon mirror that is rotated in one direction (e.g., clockwise or counter-clockwise) by an electric motor (e.g., a brushless DC motor). For example, mirror 180-1 may be a polygon mirror that scans the output beam 170 along a substantially horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 8, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a mainboard, electrically connected to the light emission assembly and configured to control the light emission assembly to emit an emission light signal to the target object, wherein the mainboard is also electrically connected to the light receiving assembly and configured to control the light receiving assembly to receive the echo light signal reflected by the target object ([0063] The controller 150 may be electrically coupled or otherwise communicatively coupled to one or more of the light source 110, the scanner 120, and the receiver 140.); and
an electronic control board, disposed independently of the mainboard and electrically connected to the mainboard, wherein the electronic control board is also electrically connected to the light scanning assembly to control a movement of the light scanning assembly ([0036] Depending on the implementation, the controller 150 may include one or more processors, an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), and/or other suitable circuitry configured to analyze one or more characteristics of the electrical signal 145 to determine one or more characteristics of the target 130, such as its distance downrange from the lidar system 100.).
Regarding claim 11, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, wherein the light emission assembly and the light scanning assembly are distributed along a second linear direction and are on a side of the light scanning assembly that is farther away from the target object, and the second linear direction intersects with the first linear direction (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; Light source 110, Scanner 120, 162, mirror 180-1 and mirror 180-2).
Regarding claim 12, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, wherein the light receiving assembly and the light scanning assembly are distributed along a second linear direction and are on a side of the light scanning element that is farther away from the target object, and the second linear direction intersects with the first linear direction (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; Receiver 140, 164, Scanner 120, 162, mirror 180-1 and mirror 180-2).
Regarding claim 13, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, wherein the opto-mechanical system further comprises a first light path changing assembly, and along a transmission path of the emission light signal, the first light path changing assembly is disposed between the light emission assembly and the first light scanning element, and the first light path changing assembly comprises at least one first reflection element ([0102] FIG. 8 illustrates an example configuration in which a laser-sensor link 320 includes an optical link 330 and an electrical link 350 coupled between a laser 300 and a sensor 310; [0103] The optical link 330 may include optical fiber (which may be referred to as fiber-optic cable or fiber) that conveys, carries, transports, or transmits light between the laser 300 and the sensor 310.).
Regarding claim 14, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, wherein the opto-mechanical system further comprises a second light path changing assembly, and along a transmission path of the echo light signal, the second light path changing assembly is disposed between the light receiving assembly and the first light scanning element, and the second light path changing assembly comprises at least one second reflection element ([0028] The input beam 135 passes through the scanner 120 to the mirror 115, which may be referred to as an overlap mirror, superposition mirror, or beam-combiner mirror. The mirror 115 in turn directs the input beam 135 to the receiver 140.).
Regarding claim 15, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, wherein the first light scanning element comprises a galvanometer, the galvanometer has a first reflection surface for transmitting the emission light signal or the echo light signal, and the galvanometer is configured to rotate around a first rotation axis ([0074] Mirror 180-1 or mirror 180-2 may be a flat mirror, a curved mirror, or a polygon mirror with two or more reflective surfaces; [0075] the scanner 162 may include a galvanometer actuator that scans the mirror 180-1 along a first direction (e.g., vertical),).
Regarding claim 16, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, wherein the second light scanning element comprises a rotating mirror, the rotating mirror has multiple second reflection surfaces for transmitting the emission light signal or the echo light signal, wherein the rotating minor is configured to rotate around a second rotation axis, and the multiple second reflection surfaces are disposed around a periphery of the second rotation axis ([0075] the scanner 162 includes two mirrors, where one mirror is a polygon mirror that is rotated in one direction (e.g., clockwise or counter-clockwise) by an electric motor (e.g., a brushless DC motor). For example, mirror 180-1 may be a polygon mirror that scans the output beam 170 along a substantially horizontal direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Yuasa (United States Patent Application Publication 20210285765 A1), hereinafter Yuasa.
Regarding claim 4, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 3,
Campbell fails to teach the system wherein along the second linear direction, one of the at least one first reflection element is between a second reflection element and the first light scanning element, the first reflection element is provided with a first light-passing aperture, wherein the first light-passing aperture is configured for the echo light signal to pass through and to reach the second reflection element, and the second linear direction intersects with the first linear direction
However, Yuasa teaches a system wherein along the second linear direction, one of the at least one first reflection element is between a second reflection element and the first light scanning element, the first reflection element is provided with a first light-passing aperture, wherein the first light-passing aperture is configured for the echo light signal to pass through and to reach the second reflection element, and the second linear direction intersects with the first linear direction (Fig. 1; Fig. 6; Fig. 3A-B; [0051] As shown in FIG. 3A, in an incidence surface of the deflecting optical member 25 for the distance measuring light 23, a beam splitter surface 35 having a beam splitter film vapor-deposited is formed at a central portion, and an antireflection surface 36 having an antireflection film vapor-deposited is formed at other portions than the beam splitter surface 35; [0085-86] a light receiving optical system 27 has a light receiving prism 57 provided between a receiving light lens 37 and a light amount adjusting member 38. The light receiving prism 57 is a prism which has a predetermined refractive index...The reflected distance measuring light 26 transmitted through the fourth surface 57 d enters a photodetector 28.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Campbell to comprise the reflection element with aperture to allow echo light to pass through and reach a second reflection element to then reach the receiver similar to Yuasa, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of making the overall lidar system more compact in its design, limiting the space required for to spaces for the components..
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Huelsen et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20220283263 A1), hereinafter Huelsen.
Regarding claim 7, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a housing having a first accommodating cavity, wherein the light emission assembly, the light receiving assembly and the light scanning assembly are all located in the first accommodating cavity ([0039] In some implementations, the light source 110, the scanner 120, and the receiver 140 may be packaged together within a single housing 155)
Campbell fails to teach a heat conduction member, wherein the heat conduction member is located between the housing and at least one of the light emission assembly, the light receiving assembly, or the light scanning assembly
However, Huelsen teaches a heat conduction member, wherein the heat conduction member is located between the housing and at least one of the light emission assembly, the light receiving assembly, or the light scanning assembly ([0030] A heat conducting element 08, which can be configured in the manner of a heat pipe or a metal plate part, such as a support plate, extends between cooler 07 and environment sensor 04.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Campbell to comprise the heat conducting element similar to Huelsen, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of reducing the risk of overheating and system failure by diverting the heat generated by the system away from system critical components..
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Tang et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20120229797 A1) hereinafter Tang.
Regarding claim 9, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a housing having a first board and a first accommodating cavity, wherein the light emission assembly, the light receiving assembly, and the light scanning assembly are all located in the -first accommodating cavity ([0039] In some implementations, the light source 110, the scanner 120, and the receiver 140 may be packaged together within a single housing 155);
a mainboard, located in the first accommodating cavity, electrically connected to the light emission assembly and configured to control the light emission assembly to emit an emission light signal to the target object, wherein the mainboard is also electrically connected to the light receiving assembly and configured to control the light receiving assembly to receive the echo light signal reflected by the target object ([0063] The controller 150 may be electrically coupled or otherwise communicatively coupled to one or more of the light source 110, the scanner 120, and the receiver 140.);
Campbell fails to teach a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal parts
However, Tang teaches a separating member, located in the first accommodating cavity and spaced apart from the first board, wherein the mainboard is disposed between the first board and the separating member, and the first board and the separating member are both metal parts (Fig. 8; [0034] a shielding cover 6 having the function of electromagnetic shielding.; [0037] Moreover, the shielding cover 6 is mounted on the periphery of the circuit board 3, and on the side that the infrared light emitting means 4 and the light receiving means 5; [0038] The housing 1 is made of the insulating material such as ordinary plastic. Indeed, in another embodiment of the present invention, the housing 1 is made of the conducting material such as metal, conducting plastics to prevent from the electromagnetic interference effectively.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Campbell to comprise the separating member, made of metal, in a configuration similar to Tang, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of separating components within the housing unit to best fit operations and remove external influence on the sensing materials.
Regarding claim 10, Campbell teaches the opto-mechanical system according to claim 1,
Campbell fails to teach the system further comprising a separating member forming an emission light channel and an echo light channel, wherein the emission light channel has a first light inlet and a first light outlet, the echo light channel has a second light inlet and a second light outlet, the light emission assembly is disposed to correspond to the first light inlet, the first light scanning element is disposed to correspond to the first light outlet, the first light scanning element is also disposed to correspond to the second light inlet, and the light receiving assembly is disposed to correspond to the second light outlet.
However, Tang teaches the system further comprising a separating member forming an emission light channel and an echo light channel, wherein the emission light channel has a first light inlet and a first light outlet, the echo light channel has a second light inlet and a second light outlet, the light emission assembly is disposed to correspond to the first light inlet, the first light scanning element is disposed to correspond to the first light outlet, the first light scanning element is also disposed to correspond to the second light inlet, and the light receiving assembly is disposed to correspond to the second light outlet (Fig. 8; [0038] The housing 1 comprises a longitudinal long main body 10, the first round opening 11 and the second round opening 12 on the top of the main body 10. The condensing lens 2, the circuit board 3 bearing multiple electronic components, the infrared light emitting means 4, the light receiving means 5 and the shielding cover 6 are all set within the main body 10 of the housing 1. Correspondingly, the emitting lens 21 and the receiving lens 22 of the condensing lens 2 are respectively mounted in the first round opening 11 and the second round opening 12.; [0045] Shown as FIG. 8, the small round hole 75 and the big round hole 71 form. the cone-shaped channel of the infrared emission light,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Campbell to comprise the emission and reception channels similar to Tang, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of isolating the emission and receiving channels to remove external influence on the signal.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645