DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Juang in US20190177612.
Regarding Claim 1: Juang teaches the creation of quantum dot light emitting materials (See Paragraph 3), comprising a core comprising an inorganic oxide (See Paragraph 17; Figure 1, Item 110) and a quantum dot layer distributed thereon (See Paragraph 31; Figure 1, Item 120 and 130). Juang teaches that the quantum dots used in the creation of such a layer may include perovskites of formula CsPbX3 for example (See Paragraph 22). The quantum dots disposed on the core of Juang are present in a discontinuous layer covering at least a portion of the core (See Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 2-4: The core of Juang is made of an inorganic oxide such as fumed silica (silica; See Example 1, Core solution 1).
Regarding Claim 5-9: Juang teaches that the quantum dots may be a pure inorganic perovskite such as CsPbX3, wherein X is Cl, Br or I (See Paragraph 22). Juang thus teaches inorganic metal halides of the same composition as those claimed. The inorganic metal halides of Juang meet the claim limitations as set forth in claims 7-8 where a=1, b=1, c=3, d=0 and X is Cl, Br or I. The compositions of Juang meet the compositions as instantly claimed, anticipating the claimed compositions as set forth.
Regarding Claim 10-13: Juang teaches that the light emitting material may further comprise a protection layer (sealing agent) covering the quantum dot layer in the form of an inorganic oxide such as aluminum oxide (See Paragraph 28 and Figure 1, Item 130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juang in US20190177612 in view of Luchinger in WO2021234154.
Juang teaches a quantum dot light emitting material anticipating the material of claim 1, comprising a core comprising a fumed silica and a quantum dot layer covering at least a portion of said core and comprising a perovskite quantum dot (See above).
Juang is silent in terms of devices and products that the quantum dot light emitting material may be used in.
However, Luchinger teaches that quantum dot conversion films may be provided as remote diffusion plates (See Figure 5) for use in a liquid crystal display or other display components (See Background Art). Luchinger teaches that in such a device, a first layer comprising conventional quantum dots is provided adjacent to a light source. A second layer comprising perovskite light emitting compositions (See Page 8-9) dispersed in a polymeric material is provided remotely from the light source. This remote plate-like layer constitutes a substrate and has the perovskite luminescent crystals dispersed throughout said substrate (See Figure 5). The second layer of Luchinger constitutes a diffusion plate as claimed as it may include diffusion particles in the form of scattering particles dispersed throughout the substrate (See Page 9 and example 3; Re: Claim 15). Those of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide the perovskite light emitting material of Juang in a ‘diffusion plate’ such as the one taught by Luchinger on the basis that Luchinger explicitly sets forth that perovskite materials are useful in such a device, which is a quantum dot material taught by Juang. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been particularly motivated to provide the light emitting material of Juang in the device of Luchinger on the basis that the diffusion plate of Luchinger provides for a higher brightness film based on its adjusted haze values (See Page 2). The teachings of Juang and Luchinger are highly combinable as they are both drawn to the creation and use of perovskite based luminescent materials of formula MM”X3, wherein M may be an alkali such as Cs, M” may be Pb and X may be a halide such as Br.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 14-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18305604 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims are drawn to subject matter that anticipates the instantly claimed subject matter.
Regarding Claim 1: Copending claim 1 is drawn to a quantum dot light emitting material comprising a core of an inorganic oxide and a quantum dot layer covering the core and comprising a perovskite quantum dot.
Regarding Claims 2-4: Copending claim 4 sets forth that the inorganic oxide is fumed silica.
Regarding Claims 5-9: Copending Claim 9 sets forth that the perovskite quantum dots may be an inorganic metal halide such as CsPbBr3.
Regarding Claim 10: Copending Claim 1 sets forth that the material comprises a protection layer covering said quantum dot layer.
Regarding Claims 14-15: Copending Claim 19-20 teaches that a diffusion plate comprising a substrate having quantum dots having a core and comprising perovskite quantum dots covering said core may be dispersed throughout the substrate in conjunction with diffusion particles.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734