DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-15 are pending in this application. This communication is the first action on its merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 4/23/2024 has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 recites, “support surface overlay of claim 12 wherein the wherein the calibrated check valve”. The examiner suggests correcting this claim 14 to recite “support surface overlay of claim 12 calibrated check valve”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrett (WO 2016086224 A1) in view of Richards (US 20120137440 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Garrett discloses a support surface overlay system (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]) comprising: a therapeutic support surface overlay (100 upper left side bladder, 102 upper right side bladder, 200 lower left side bladder, 202 lower right side bladder) comprising: a first inflatable compartment (100 and 102, See Fig. 4) defining a first variable working fluid volume (101 upper left side bladder interior volume, 201 lower left side bladder interior volume, See Fig. 1b); a second inflatable compartment (200 and 202, See Fig. 4) defining a second variable working fluid volume (103 upper right side bladder interior volume, 203 lower right side bladder interior volume, See Fig. 1c) separate from and independent of the first variable working fluid volume (each of the bladders may be independently inflated and/or deflated as desired by the user”; [0057]); and a control system (controller 500) configured to selectively and alternatingly inflate and deflate the first and second inflatable compartments (“controller of the invention in fluid communication with the inflatable bladders of the invention via fluid tubing so that the bladders of the invention may be inflated or deflated by the at least one air pump and valve of the invention”; [0032]) and to concurrently evacuate a working fluid from an uninflated one of the first variable working fluid volume and the second variable working fluid volume (“when filling a second set of bladders with a fluid such as air, where the fluid is drawn from a first set of bladders”; [0041]), the control system (500) comprising: a pneumatic pump (pump 470) having a pump inlet port (See Fig. 14, J representing inlet port) and a pump outlet port (See Fig. 14, K representing outlet port); a first three-way control valve (1012 third fluid valve) having a first port fluidly coupled to the pump inlet port (See Fig. 16, 1012 connected to pump inlet J), a second port fluidly coupled to the first variable working fluid volume (See Fig. 15, 1012 connected to 100 and 102 through tube 304), and a third port coupled to the pump outlet port (See Fig. 15, pump outlet K connected to 1012); and a second three-way control valve (1010 first fluid valve) having a first port fluidly coupled to the pump inlet port (See Fig. 15, 1010 connected to pump inlet J), a second port fluidly coupled to the second variable working fluid volume (See Fig. 15, 1010 connected to 102 and 202 through tube 304), and a third port coupled to the pump outlet port (See Fig. 16, pump outlet K connected to 1010).
Garrett fails to explicitly disclose an envelope enclosing the first and second inflatable compartments, the envelope defining a third variable working fluid volume separate from and independent of the first variable working fluid volume and the second variable working fluid volume; and to concurrently evacuate a working fluid from the third variable working fluid volume; and a second port fluidly coupled to the third variable working fluid volume.
However, Richards teaches an envelope (Air chambers 42, 44, 46, and 48) enclosing the first and second inflatable compartments (“bladders 32, 34, 36, and 38 of mattress 28 are positioned inside of chambers 42, 44, 46, and 48”; [0041]), the envelope defining a third variable working fluid volume separate from and independent of the first variable working fluid volume and the second variable working fluid volume (See Fig. 5, air chambers 42, 44, 46, and 48 are separate from first and second air volume); and to concurrently evacuate a working fluid from the third variable working fluid volume (“air control system 140 includes a manifold 150…control the flow of air into and out of the bladders 32, 34, 36, and 38 as well as the chambers 42, 44, 46, and 48”; [0035]) and a second port fluidly coupled to the third variable working fluid volume (See Fig. 5, conduit 162 connected to valve 166 is connected to air chambers 42, 44, 46, 48).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett by adding the envelope and its accessory components, as taught by Richards. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “reduce the potential for interference with the positioning or egress of the patient”; (Richards, [0043]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 7, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay system (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]) of claim 1.
Garrett fails to explicitly teach a check valve configured to allow flow out of the third variable working fluid volume and to check flow into the third variable working fluid volume.
However, Richards teaches a check valve configured to allow flow out of the third variable working fluid volume and to check flow into the third variable working fluid volume (“chamber 46 may include a check valve that opens to atmosphere if the pressure in the chamber 46 drops below a predetermined negative pressure so that the pressurized air source 160 will have a flow of ambient air”; [0043], check valve implies unidirectional flow out of and into the third variable fluid volume).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett by adding the check valve taught by Richards. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “the pressurized air source 160 will have a flow of ambient air”; (Richards, [0043]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 8, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay system (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]) of claim 1 further comprising an inlet flow control device (1011 second fluid valve) having a first port fluidly coupled to an environment external to the control system (See Fig. 14, 1011 coupled to outside air through fluid port 471) and a second port fluidly coupled to the pump inlet port (See Fig. 14, 1011 coupled to pump 470 through pump inlet J).
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrett (WO 2016086224 A1) in view of Richards (US 20120137440 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Romano (US 7191482 B2), further in view of Caminade (US 20090100604 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay system (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]) of claim 1 wherein, in a first operational state: the first three-way control valve (1012) is configured to enable fluid communication between the first variable working fluid volume and the pump inlet port (See Fig. 17, valve 1012 is enabling fluid communication between bladders 100/200 and pump 470 inlet port J) and to disable fluid communication between the first variable working fluid volume and the pump outlet port (See Fig. 17, valve 1012 is disabling fluid communication between bladders 100/200 and pump 470 outlet port K); the second three-way control valve (1010) is configured to enable fluid communication between the second variable working fluid volume and the pump inlet port (See Fig. 17, valve 1010 is enabling fluid communication between bladders 102/202 and pump 470 inlet port J), and to disable fluid communication between the second variable fluid volume and the pump outlet port (See Fig. 17, valve 1010 is disabling fluid communication between bladders 102/202 and pump 470 outlet port K).
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly teach enabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid volume and the pump is configured in a non-pumping state.
However, Romano teaches enabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid volume (See Fig. 14, three-way valves 332a and 332b are configured to couple respective air bladders 304e, 304g, 304i and 304f, 304h, 304j to respective supply lines 328a and 328b).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding enabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid taught by Romano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “permit zone 324b to provide a percussion therapy while zones 324a, 324c, and 324d maintain a constant pressure profile or provide an alternating pressure therapy”; (Romano, [Col. 11, Lines 60-63]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Further, Caminade teaches the pump is configured in a non-pumping state (“At t3, the setpoint pressure PC is reached in said second cells, thereby causing the pump to be switched off. The pump being switched off again triggers the next state (stage P.3), with the second solenoid valve 14.sub.2 being put into the activation state and the second cells 12C2 being deflated, and thus the second cells being connected to the surrounding air”; [0130]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards, further in view of Romano by adding the non-pumping state taught by Caminade. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “for second cells to be deflated, and, simultaneously, for said first cells to be re-inflated”; (Caminade, [0032]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 3, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay system (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]) of claim 2 wherein, in a second operational state: the first three-way control valve (1012) is configured to disable fluid communication between the first variable working fluid volume and the pump inlet port (See Fig. 15, valve 1012 is disabling fluid communication between bladders 100/200 and pump 470 inlet port J) and to enable fluid communication between the first variable working fluid volume and the pump outlet port (See Fig. 15, valve 1012 is enabling fluid communication between bladders 100/200 and pump 470 outlet port K); the second three-way control valve (1010) is configured to enable fluid communication between the second variable working fluid volume, and the pump inlet port (See Fig. 15, valve 1010 is enabling fluid communication between bladders 102/202 and pump 470 inlet port J) and to disable fluid communication between the second variable working fluid volume and the pump outlet port (See Fig. 15, valve 1010 is disabling fluid communication between bladders 102/202 and pump 470 outlet port K); and the pump is configured in a pumping state (“pump 470 is commanded to an ON state”; [0073].
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly teach enabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid volume.
However, Romano teaches enabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid volume (See Fig. 13, three-way valves 332a and 332b are configured to couple respective air bladders 304e, 304g, 304i and 304f, 304h, 304j to respective supply lines 328a and 328b)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding enabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid taught by Romano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “permit zone 324b to provide a percussion therapy while zones 324a, 324c, and 324d maintain a constant pressure profile or provide an alternating pressure therapy”; (Romano, [Col. 11, Lines 60-63]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 4, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay system (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]) of claim 3 wherein, in a third operational state: the first three-way control valve (1012) is configured to disable fluid communication between the first variable working fluid volume and the pump inlet port (See Fig. 15, valve 1012 is disabling fluid communication between bladders 100/200 and pump 470 inlet port J) and to enable fluid communication between the first variable working fluid volume and the pump outlet port (See Fig. 15, valve 1012 is enabling fluid communication between bladders 100/200 and pump 470 outlet port K); the second three-way control valve (1010) is configured to enable fluid communication between the second variable working fluid volume, and the pump inlet port (See Fig. 15, valve 1010 is enabling fluid communication between bladders 102/202 and pump 470 inlet port J) and to disable fluid communication between the second variable working fluid volume and the pump outlet port (See Fig. 15, valve 1010 is disabling fluid communication between bladders 102/202 and pump 470 outlet port K).
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly teach enabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid volume and the pump is configured in a non-pumping state.
However, Romano teaches enabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid volume (See Fig. 13, three-way valves 332a and 332b are configured to couple respective air bladders 304e, 304g, 304i and 304f, 304h, 304j to respective supply lines 328a and 328b)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding enabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid taught by Romano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “permit zone 324b to provide a percussion therapy while zones 324a, 324c, and 324d maintain a constant pressure profile or provide an alternating pressure therapy”; (Romano, [Col. 11, Lines 60-63]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Further, Caminade teaches the pump is configured in a non-pumping state (“At t3, the setpoint pressure PC is reached in said second cells, thereby causing the pump to be switched off. The pump being switched off again triggers the next state (stage P.3), with the second solenoid valve 14.sub.2 being put into the activation state and the second cells 12C2 being deflated, and thus the second cells being connected to the surrounding air”; [0130]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards, further in view of Romano by adding the non-pumping state taught by Caminade. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “for second cells to be deflated, and, simultaneously, for said first cells to be re-inflated”; (Caminade, [0032]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 5, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay system (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]) of claim 4 wherein, in a fourth operational state: the first three-way control valve (1012) is configured to enable fluid communication between the first variable working fluid volume and the pump inlet port (See Fig. 16, valve 1012 is enabling fluid communication between bladders 100/200 and pump 470 inlet port J) and to disable fluid communication between the first variable working fluid volume and the pump outlet port (See Fig. 16, valve 1012 is disabling fluid communication between bladders 100/200 and pump 470 outlet port K); and the second three-way control valve (1010) is configured to disable fluid communication between the second variable working fluid volume and the pump inlet port (See Fig. 16, valve 1010 is disabling fluid communication between bladders 102/202 and pump 470 inlet port J) and to enable fluid communication between the second working variable fluid volume and the pump outlet port (See Fig. 16, valve 1010 is enabling fluid communication between bladders 102/202 and pump 470 outlet port K); and the pump is configured in a pumping state (“pump 470 is commanded to an ON state”; [0073].
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly teach disabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid volume.
However, Romano teaches disabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid volume (“three-way valve 332a coupled air bladders 304e, 304g, and 304i to atmosphere”; [Col. 16, Lines 55-56)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding disabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid taught by Romano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “quickly reduce pressure in air bladders”; (Romano, [Col. 16, Lines 56-57]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 6, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay system (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]) of claim 5 wherein, in a fifth operational state: the first three-way control valve (1012) is configured to enable fluid communication between the first variable working fluid volume and the pump inlet port (See Fig. 16, valve 1012 is enabling fluid communication between bladders 100/200 and pump 470 inlet port J) and to disable fluid communication between the first variable working fluid volume and the pump outlet port (See Fig. 16, valve 1012 is disabling fluid communication between bladders 100/200 and pump 470 outlet port K); and the second three-way control valve is configured to disable fluid communication between the second variable working fluid volume and the pump inlet port (See Fig. 16, valve 1010 is disabling fluid communication between bladders 102/202 and pump 470 inlet port J) and to enable fluid communication between the second working variable fluid volume and the pump outlet port (See Fig. 16, valve 1010 is enabling fluid communication between bladders 102/202 and pump 470 outlet port K).
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly teach disabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid volume and the pump is configured in a non-pumping state.
However, Romano teaches disabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid volume (“three-way valve 332a coupled air bladders 304e, 304g, and 304i to atmosphere”; [Col. 16, Lines 55-56)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding disabled fluid communication between the third variable working fluid taught by Romano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “quickly reduce pressure in air bladders”; (Romano, [Col. 16, Lines 56-57]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Further, Caminade teaches the pump is configured in a non-pumping state (“At t3, the setpoint pressure PC is reached in said second cells, thereby causing the pump to be switched off. The pump being switched off again triggers the next state (stage P.3), with the second solenoid valve 14.sub.2 being put into the activation state and the second cells 12C2 being deflated, and thus the second cells being connected to the surrounding air”; [0130]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards, further in view of Romano by adding the non-pumping state taught by Caminade. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “for second cells to be deflated, and, simultaneously, for said first cells to be re-inflated”; (Caminade, [0032]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrett (WO 2016086224 A1) in view of Richards (US 20120137440 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of Lemaitre (US 20190106093 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Garrett, as modified teaches the support surface overlay system (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]) of claim 8.
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly teach the inlet flow control device is a calibrated check valve.
However, Lemaitre teaches the inlet flow control device is a calibrated check valve (calibrated check valve 92).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding the calibrated check valve taught by Lemaitre. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the valve is “calibrated to a pressure substantially equivalent to the maximum drive pressure”; (Lemaitre, [0093]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrett (WO 2016086224 A1) in view of Richards (US 20120137440 A1), in view of Lemaitre (US 20190106093 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, further in view of Wilkinson (US 6269505 B1).
Regarding Claim 10, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay system of claim 9 (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]).
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly teach the calibrated check valve is set to open at a predetermined pressure corresponding to a predetermined vacuum in the second and third variable working fluid volumes.
However, Lemaitre teaches the calibrated check valve (calibrated check valve 92).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding the calibrated check valve taught by Lemaitre. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the valve is “calibrated to a pressure substantially equivalent to the maximum drive pressure”; (Lemaitre, [0093]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Further, Wilkonson teaches a check valve (intake valve 40) is set to open at a predetermined pressure corresponding to a predetermined vacuum in the second and third variable working fluid volumes (“as each envelope 34 expands, a partial vacuum is created in the interior space 70 of each envelope 34. The vacuum draws the fluid 36 from the fluid supply reservoir 52 into the intake control system 44. Next the fluid is drawn from the intake control system 44 through a corresponding intake valve 40 into the interior space 70 of each envelope 34”; [Col. 8, Lines 17-23]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards, in view of Lemaitre by adding the check valve set to open at a vacuum pressure such as, taught by Wilkonson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so the invention “has the ability to self-adjust every time a patient moves”; (Wilkonson, [Col. 8, Line 29]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrett (WO 2016086224 A1) in view of Richards (US 20120137440 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Romano (US 7191482 B2).
Regarding Claim 11, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay system of claim 1 (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]).
Garrett fails to explicitly teach: an envelope check valve having a first port fluidly coupled to the third variable air volume and a second port fluidly coupled to the second port of the second three-way control valve and to the second variable air volume, the envelope check valve configured to enable fluid flow out of the third variable air volume and to check fluid flow into the third variable air volume.
However, Richards teaches an envelope check valve having a first port fluidly coupled to the third variable air volume (“chamber 46 may include a check valve”; [0043]), the envelope check valve configured to enable fluid flow out of the third variable air volume and to check fluid flow into the third variable air volume (“chamber 46 may include a check valve that opens to the atmosphere if the pressure in the chamber 46 drops below a predetermined negative pressure so that the pressurized air source 160 will have a flow of ambient air”; [0043]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett by adding the envelope check valve taught by Richards. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “the pressurized air source 160 will have a flow of ambient air”; (Richards, [0043]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly teach a second port fluidly coupled to the second port of the second three-way control valve and to the second variable air volume.
Further, Romano teaches a second port fluidly coupled to the second port of the second three-way control valve and to the second variable air volume (See Fig. 14, valves 330 are coupled to a second port of three-way valves 332 and to bladders in Zone 1, 3 and 4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding the second port taught by Romano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “control the supply of air to each bladder”; (Romano, [Col. 12, Lines 60-61]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 15, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay system (“apparatus for rotating a bed-ridden person”; [Abstract, Line 1]) of claim 1 further comprising: a controller (controller 500); a first pressure sensor (pressure sensors 454) in fluid communication the first variable working fluid volume (See Fig. 4, 454 in fluid communication with bladders 100/200); and a second pressure sensor (pressure sensors 454) in fluid communication with the second working fluid volumes (See Fig. 4, 454 in fluid communication with bladders 102/202), wherein the controller is configured to control the operation of the pump in response to at least one signal from at least one of the first and second pressure sensors (“pressure sensors 454 may be in electrical or wireless communication with fluid pump and valve assembly 450 and may operate to shut off fluid pump and valve assembly 450 once a pre-determined desired pressure is reached in the bladders being inflated”; [0064]).
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly disclose a pressure sensor in fluid communication with a third variable working fluid volume.
However, Romano teaches a pressure sensor in fluid communication with a third variable working fluid volume (“pressure sensors are provided in the interior of at least one of air bladders a-p such that controller 3404 can monitor the pressure inside at least one of air bladders a-p”; [Col. 12, Lines 31-34]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding the pressure sensor in fluid communication with the third variable working fluid volume taught by Romano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to “monitor the pressure inside the at least one of air bladders”; (Romano, [Col. 12, Lines 33-34]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrett (WO 2016086224 A1) in view of Richards (US 20120137440 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Wilkinson (US 6269505 B1).
Regarding Claim 12, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay (100 upper left side bladder, 102 upper right side bladder, 200 lower left side bladder, 202 lower right side bladder) of claim 1.
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly teach a pressure relief valve having a first port fluidly coupled to the pump outlet port and a second port fluidly coupled to an environment external to the control system.
However, Wilkinson teaches a pressure relief valve (pressure relief valve 142) having a first port fluidly coupled to the pump outlet port (See Fig. 7, valve 142 coupled to pressure system 130 (pressure system can be a pump) through conduits 110 and 108) and a second port fluidly coupled to an environment external to the control system (See Fig. 7, valve 142 is coupled to fluid exhaust reservoir 52).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding the pressure relief valve taught by Wilkinson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “a maximum pressure level of the fluid within the envelope can be set and maintained”; (Wilkinson, [Col. 2, Line 67 - Col. 3, Line 1]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrett (WO 2016086224 A1) in view of Richards (US 20120137440 A1), in view of Wilkinson (US 6269505 B1) as applied to claim 12 above, further in view of Lemaitre (US 20190106093 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay (100 upper left side bladder, 102 upper right side bladder, 200 lower left side bladder, 202 lower right side bladder) of claim 12.
Garrett in view of Richards in view of Wilkinson fails to explicitly teach the pressure relief valve is a calibrated check valve.
However, Lemaitre teaches pressure relief valve is a calibrated check valve (calibrated check valve 92).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards in view of Wilkinson by adding the calibrated check valve taught by Lemaitre. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the valve is “calibrated to a pressure substantially equivalent to the maximum drive pressure”; (Lemaitre, [0093]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 14, Garrett, as modified, teaches the support surface overlay (100 upper left side bladder, 102 upper right side bladder, 200 lower left side bladder, 202 lower right side bladder) of claim 12.
Garrett in view of Richards fails to explicitly teach the calibrated check valve is set to open at a predetermined pressure corresponding to a predetermined pressure in an inflated one of the first and second variable working fluid volumes.
Wilkinson teaches the valve (142) is set to open at a predetermined pressure corresponding to a predetermined pressure in an inflated one of the first and second variable working fluid volumes (“pressure relief valve 142 maintains the pressure of the fluid 36 below a selected level in the conduits 108 and 110”; [Col. 10, Lines 21-22]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards by adding the pressure relief valve taught by Wilkinson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so “a maximum pressure level of the fluid within the envelope can be set and maintained”; (Wilkinson, [Col. 2, Line 67 - Col. 3, Line 1]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Garrett in view of Richards in view of Wilkinson fails to explicitly teach a calibrated check valve.
However, Lemaitre teaches a calibrated check valve (calibrated check valve 92).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Garrett in view of Richards in view of Wilkinson by adding the calibrated check valve taught by Lemaitre. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the valve is “calibrated to a pressure substantially equivalent to the maximum drive pressure”; (Lemaitre, [0093]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20160095775 A1: Dzioba discloses a support surface overlay comprising two or possibly more independent inflatable compartments, three-way control valves, and an envelope containing the overlay.
US 20060174416 A1: Wu discloses an inflatable bed comprising an envelope containing two air chambers and a unidirectional air inlet (check valve).
US 20020133877 A1: Kuiper discloses at least one inflation bladder inflated with pressurized fluid from a pump system and a check valve
/GEORGE SAMUEL GINES/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Acting SPE, Art Unit 3600