DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 10/29/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claims 1, 8 and 14 are independent claims.
- Claim Objection
5. Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “CATV (CATV)” should be “cable TV (CATV)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Technetix PLC (EP 1571844 A2 cited in IDS filed on 01/15/2024), hereinafter Technetix PLC, in view of Paul Bailey et al. (US 2020/0304280 A1), hereinafter Bailey.
For claim 1, Technetix PLC teaches a system for providing enhanced wireless performance (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2), comprising:
a first wireless adapter configured to receive wireless signals and cable TV (CATV) signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 item 70, 80 on Floor 1 and paragraphs 17-21 teach a first wireless adapter configured to receive wireless signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a cable. See also Fig. 3.);
a second wireless adapter configured to connect to the first wireless adapter (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 item 70, 80 on Floor 2 and paragraph teach a second wireless adapter configured to connect to the first wireless adapter. See also Fig. 3.);
wherein the first wireless adapter includes a first wireless antenna and a first splitter device (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 item 80 on Floor 1 and paragraph 17 teach antenna of WLAN access point. Fig. 3 item 93 and paragraph 20 teach a first splitter device.);
wherein the second wireless adapter includes a second wireless antenna and a second splitter device (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 item 80 on Floor 2 and paragraph 17 teach antenna of WLAN access point. Fig. 3 item 93 and paragraph 20 teach a second splitter device.);
wherein the first splitter device of the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the first wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals and the CATV signals to the second wireless adapter (Technetix PLC, Fig.3 item 93, 99 and paragraph 20 teach the first splitter device of the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the first wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals and the CATV signals to the second wireless adapter.);
wherein the second splitter device of the second wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals and the CATV signals to a high band device, to a CATV device, and/or to a third wireless adapter (Technetix PLC, Fig.3 item 93, 99 and paragraph 20 teach the second splitter device of the second wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals and the CATV signals to a high band device, to a CATV device, and/or to a third wireless adapter.); and
wherein first wireless adapter and the second wireless adapter are configured to extend a wireless range of the system (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 and paragraph 17 teach first wireless adapter and the second wireless adapter are configured to extend a wireless range of the system.).
Bailey further teaches to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router (Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraphs 40-42 teach wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection taught in Bailey to have “a first wireless adapter configured to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV (CATV) signals from a modem or a router; wherein the first splitter device of the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the first wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals, the high band signals, and the CATV signals to the second wireless adapter over a wired connection.” The motivation to combine the method of Technetix PLC and Bailey is because wired communication is often faster and more reliable, while wireless communication provides ease of use, mobility, and fewer wires, but often at the cost of speed and reliability.
For claim 2, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 1, wherein the first wireless adapter is configured to connect to the second wireless adapter by a wired connection (Technetix PLC, Fig.2 and paragraph 17 teach a wired connection between floor 1 and floor2.).
For claim 3, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 1, wherein the wireless signals are WiFi signals and the high band signals are MoCA signals (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 and background teach cable TV signals, WiFi signal and Ethernet signals. Bailey paragraph 33 teaches CATV signals, MoCA signals, and wireless frequency band signals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with Bailey to have the wireless signals are WiFi signals and the high band signals are MoCA signals because both teach CATV system.).
For claim 4, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 1, wherein the first and second wireless adapters are WOC ("wireless-over-cable") adapters configured to transmit WiFi signals between the first and second wireless adapters over a coaxial connection and configured to wirelessly transmit WiFi signals to wireless devices (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 and paragraph 17 teach WLAN. Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraph 41 teach the first and second wireless adapters are WOC ("wireless-over-cable") adapters configured to transmit WiFi signals between the first and second wireless adapters over a coaxial connection and configured to wirelessly transmit WiFi signals to wireless devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with Bailey to have the first and second wireless adapters are WOC ("wireless-over-cable") adapters configured to transmit WiFi signals between the first and second wireless adapters over a coaxial connection and configured to wirelessly transmit WiFi signals to wireless devices because both teach CATV system.).
For claim 5, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 1, wherein the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless adapter, and the second wireless adapter is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals received from the first wireless adapter to a wireless device, and wherein the wireless device is not within a wireless range of the first wireless device but is within a wireless range of the second wireless device such that a wireless range of the system is extended (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 and paragraph 17 teach each WLAN Access Point has a wireless range which can cover each floor. Bailey paraph 3 teach repeaters and access points to extend wireless networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with Bailey to have the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless adapter, and the second wireless adapter is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals received from the first wireless adapter to a wireless device, and wherein the wireless device is not within a wireless range of the first wireless device but is within a wireless range of the second wireless device such that a wireless range of the system is extended because it is well known in the art for wireless extender.).
For claim 6, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 1, wherein the splitter device comprises one of a directional coupler or a diplexer (Technetix PLC, Fig. 3 item 93 and paragraph 20 teach diplexer.).
For claim 7, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 1, wherein the first wireless adapter further comprises an amplifier configured to amplify the wireless signals (Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraph 41 teach WoC amplifier.).
For claim 8, Technetix PLC teaches a system for providing enhanced wireless performance, comprising:
a first wireless adapter configured to receive wireless signals from a modem or a router (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 item 70, 80 on Floor 1 and paragraphs 17-21 teach a first wireless adapter configured to receive wireless signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router. See also Fig. 3.);
a second wireless adapter configured to connect to the first wireless adapter (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 item 70, 80 on Floor 2 and paragraph teach a second wireless adapter configured to connect to the first wireless adapter. See also Fig. 3.);
wherein the first wireless adapter includes a first wireless antenna device (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 item 80 on Floor 1 and paragraph 17 teach antenna of WLAN access point.);
wherein the second wireless adapter includes a second wireless antenna (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 item 80 on Floor 2 and paragraph 17 teach antenna of WLAN access point.);
wherein the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the first wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless adapter over a wired connection (Technetix PLC, Fig.3 item 93, 99 and paragraph 20 teach the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the first wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless adapter over a wired connection.);
wherein the second wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless antenna (Technetix PLC, Fig.3 item 93, 99 and paragraph 20 teach);
wherein the second wireless antenna is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 and paragraph 17 teach one WLAN Access Point for Floor 2 for wirelessly transmitting the wireless signals); and
wherein the wireless device is outside a wireless range of the first wireless adapter and is within a range of the second wireless adapter, such that the first wireless adapter and the second wireless adapter are configured to extend a wireless range of the system (Technetix PLC, Fig.3 item 93, 99 and paragraph 20 teach the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the first wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless adapter over a wired connection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have that each wireless adapter has range limit, therefore the wireless device maybe outside a wireless range of the first wireless adapter and is within a range of the second wireless adapter, such that the first wireless adapter and the second wireless adapter are configured to extend a wireless range of the system.)
Bailey further teaches to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection (Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraphs 40-42 teach to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection. See also abstract.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection taught in Bailey to have a system for providing enhanced wireless performance, comprising: a first wireless adapter configured to receive wireless signals from a modem or a router; a second wireless adapter configured to connect to the first wireless adapter; wherein the first wireless adapter includes a first wireless antenna; wherein the second wireless adapter includes a second wireless antenna; wherein the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the first wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless adapter over a wired connection; wherein the second wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless antenna; wherein the second wireless antenna is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals to a wireless device; and wherein the wireless device is outside a wireless range of the first wireless adapter and is within a range of the second wireless adapter, such that the first wireless adapter and the second wireless adapter are configured to extend a wireless range of the system. The motivation to combine the method of Technetix PLC and Bailey is because wired communication is often faster and more reliable, while wireless communication provides ease of use, mobility, and fewer wires, but often at the cost of speed and reliability.
For claim 9, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 8, wherein the first wireless adapter is configured to receive the wireless signals, high band signals and CATV signals from a modem or a router (Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraphs 40-42 teach wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router because both Technetix PLC and Bailey teach CATV system.).
For claim 10, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 9, wherein the wireless signals are WiFi signals and the high band signals are MoCA signals (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 and background teach cable TV signals, WiFi signal and Ethernet signals. Bailey paragraph 33 teaches CATV signals, MoCA signals, and wireless frequency band signals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with Bailey to have the wireless signals are WiFi signals and the high band signals are MoCA signals because both teach CATV system.).
For claim 11, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 8, wherein the first wireless adapter is configured to send the wireless signals, the high band signals and the CATV signals to the second wireless adapter over the wired connection (Technetix PLC, Fig.2 and paragraph 17 teach a wired connection between floor 1 and floor2.).
For claim 12, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 8, wherein the first wireless adapter and the second wireless adapter comprise one of a directional coupler or a diplexer (Technetix PLC, Fig. 3 item 93 and paragraph 20 teach diplexer.).
For claim 13, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the system of claim 8, wherein the first wireless adapter further comprises an amplifier configured to amplify the wireless signals (Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraph 41 teach WoC amplifier.).
For claim 14, Technetix PLC teaches a wireless adapter configured to provide an enhanced wireless performance, comprising:
a receiver configured to receive wireless signals over a first wired connection (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 item 70, 80 on Floor 1 and paragraphs 17-21 teach a receiver configured to receive wireless signals over a first wired connection. See also Fig. 3.);
wherein the receiver is further configured to direct the wireless signals and to direct the wireless signals over a second wired connection to a second wireless adapter so that the second wireless adapter is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals to extend the wireless range (Technetix PLC, Fig.3 item 93, 99 and paragraph 20 teach the receiver is further configured to direct the wireless signal and to direct the wireless signals over a second wired connection to a second wireless adapter so that the second wireless adapter is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals.); and
wherein the second wireless device is outside of a wireless range of the first wireless adapter and the second wireless device is within a wireless range of the first wireless adapter (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 and paragraph 17 teach each WLAN Access Point has a wireless range which can cover each floor. Bailey paraph 3 teach repeaters and access points to extend wireless networks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with Bailey to have the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the second wireless adapter, and the second wireless adapter is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals received from the first wireless adapter to a wireless device, and wherein the wireless device is not within a wireless range of the first wireless device but is within a wireless range of the second wireless device such that a wireless range of the system is extended because it is well known in the art for wireless extender.)
Bailey further teaches to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection (Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraphs 40-42 teach to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection. See also abstract.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection taught in Bailey to have a wireless adapter configured to provide an enhanced wireless performance, comprising: a receiver configured to receive wireless signals over a first wired connection; wherein the receiver is further configured to direct the wireless signal to a first wireless device and to direct the wireless signals over a second wired connection to a second wireless adapter so that the second wireless adapter is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals to a second wireless device to extend the wireless range; and wherein the second wireless device is outside of a wireless range of the first wireless adapter and the second wireless device is within a wireless range of the first wireless adapter. Because both Technetix PLC and Bailey teach directional coupler or a diplexer for different signals. Bailey explicitly teaches to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection.
For claim 15, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the wireless adapter of claim 14, further comprising a wireless antenna configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals to the first wireless device (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 item 80 on Floor 1 and paragraph 17 teach antenna of WLAN access point. Bailey, Fig. 5B and abstract teach transmit the wireless frequency band signals wirelessly to one or more wireless communication devices.).
For claim 16, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the wireless adapter of claim 15, wherein the receiver comprises a splitter (Technetix PLC Fig. 3 item 93 and paragraph 20 teach a first splitter device.), wherein the splitter is configured to receive the wireless signals, CATV signals and high band signals from a modem or a router (Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraphs 40-42 teach wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router taught in Bailey. Because both Technetix PLC and Bailey teach directional coupler or a diplexer for different signals. Bailey explicitly teaches to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router.).
For claim 17, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the wireless adapter of claim 16, wherein the splitter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals, the high band signals and the CATV signals to the second wireless adapter (Technetix PLC, Fig.3 item 93, 99 and paragraph 20 teach the first splitter device of the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the first wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals and the CATV signals to the second wireless adapter. Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraphs 40-42 teach wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router taught in Bailey. Because both Technetix PLC and Bailey teach directional coupler or a diplexer for different signals. Bailey explicitly teaches to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router.)
For claim 18, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the wireless adapter of claim 16, wherein the wireless signals are WiFi signals and the high band signals are MoCA signals (Technetix PLC, Fig. 2 and background teach cable TV signals, WiFi signal and Ethernet signals. Bailey paragraph 33 teaches CATV signals, MoCA signals, and wireless frequency band signals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with Bailey to have the wireless signals are WiFi signals and the high band signals are MoCA signals because both teach CATV system.).
For claim 19, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the wireless adapter of claim 16, wherein the splitter comprises one of a directional coupler or a diplexer (Technetix PLC, Fig. 3 item 93 and paragraph 20 teach diplexer.).
For claim 20, Technetix PLC and Bailey further teach the wireless adapter of claim 14, further comprising an amplifier configured to amplify the wireless signals (Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraph 41 teach WoC amplifier.).
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
For claims 1 and 8, Applicant argues that Technetix PLC and Bailey do not teach the following limitations (Remarks, pages 6-8):
a first wireless adapter configured to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV (CATV) signals from a modem or a router; wherein the first splitter device of the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the first wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals, the high band signals, and the CATV signals to the second wireless adapter over a wired connection.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the detailed
rejection below, which includes added explanations which address all of the Applicant’s
arguments.
Claim 4 of current application indicates the system of claim 1, wherein the first and second wireless adapters are WOC ("wireless-over-cable") adapters configured to transmit WiFi signals between the first and second wireless adapters over a coaxial connection and configured to wirelessly transmit WiFi signals to wireless devices.
Technetix PLC (Figs. 2, 3 item 70, 80 on Floor 1 and paragraphs 17-21) teaches a first wireless adapter configured to receive wireless signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection.
Bailey further teaches to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection (Bailey, Fig. 5B and paragraphs 40-42 teach to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection. See also abstract.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Technetix PLC with to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV signals from a modem or a router over a wired connection and transmit the wireless signals wirelessly to a wireless device and transmit the high band and cable TV signals over a wired connection taught in Bailey to have “a first wireless adapter configured to receive wireless signals, high band signals and cable TV (CATV) signals from a modem or a router; wherein the first splitter device of the first wireless adapter is configured to direct the wireless signals to the first wireless antenna and to direct the wireless signals, the high band signals, and the CATV signals to the second wireless adapter over a wired connection.” The motivation to combine the method of Technetix PLC and Bailey is because wired communication is often faster and more reliable, while wireless communication provides ease of use, mobility, and fewer wires, but often at the cost of speed and reliability.
For claim 14, Applicant argues that Technetix PLC and Bailey do not teach the following
limitations (Remarks, pages 7-9):
a receiver configured to receive wireless signals over a first wired connection, wherein the receiver is further configured to direct the wireless signals to a first wireless device and to direct the wireless signals over a second wired connection to a second wireless adapter so that the second wireless adapter is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals to a second wireless device to extend the wireless range.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the detailed
rejection below, which includes added explanations which address all of the Applicant’s
arguments.
Technetix PLC (Figs. 2, 3 item 70, 80 on Floor 1 and paragraphs 17-21) teaches a receiver configured to receive wireless signals over a first wired connection, wherein the receiver is further configured to direct the wireless signals to a first wireless device and to direct the wireless signals over a second wired connection to a second wireless adapter.
Technetix PLC does not teach “so that the second wireless adapter is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals to a second wireless device to extend the wireless range”. However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a receiver configured to receive wireless signals over a first wired connection, wherein the receiver is further configured to direct the wireless signals to a first wireless device and to direct the wireless signals over a second wired connection to a second wireless adapter so that the second wireless adapter is configured to wirelessly transmit the wireless signals to a second wireless device to extend the wireless range.
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412