Specification
1. The amendment filed on 10/16/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: in paragraph [0071], “the first arm has a cutting edge 220 …. arm 212 has a cutting edge 222” introduce a new matter. The original disclosure does not disclose that ends 220 and 222 are cutting edges. In addition, the ends do not look like cutters since they have flat surfaces and do not have any cutting edges or sharp edges. See Fig. 2 of the drawings. It appears that 220 and 222 are jaws of a cutter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 29-33 and 35-55 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Geddes (2,494,996). Regarding claim 1, Geddes teaches a tool for cutting (or capable of cutting) a pin of a connector, comprising: a cutter portion (10, 12, 20) comprising: a first gripping portion 20 that comprises a cutting portion 10; and a second gripping portion 20 that is configured to be pivotally attached to the first gripping portion and comprises a cutting surface 12; a positioning portion 28 that comprises a first gauge portion (defined by a few top plates 28) and a second gauge portion (define by the few bottom plate 28 that can rotate with respect to the top plate to create stepped like structure); an attaching member (16, 30) that is configured to attach the positioning portion to the cutter portion (10, 12, 28); wherein the cutting surface is configured to receive a pin of a connector to be cut between the cutting surface and the cutting portion; wherein the first gauge portion comprises a first through hole 46 (having a different diameter and aligning with the through hole 14; Fig. 3) that is configured to receive a pin of a connector and the second gauge portion comprises a second through hole 46 (defined by the through hole of the bottom plates that has a different diameter than the diameter of the first through hole of the upper plates) that is configured to receive a pin of a connector; wherein the attaching member is configured to extend along a central axis that extends along a central axis direction; wherein an entirety of the positioning portion 28 (including the top plates and the bottom blades that can be rotated to different positions) is configured to rotate relative to the first gripping portion 20 and the second gripping portion 20 around the central axis during tool operation between a first position (where the bottom plates are aligned with one of the through holes 14 and the lower plates are moved to away from the first plates) and a second position (where the lower plates are moved away from the top plates and the top plates are aligned with one of the through holes 46); wherein the first gauge portion has a first gauge thickness dimension (as the thickness of the few lower plates are less than the thickness of the remaining plates which form the upper plates) that is configured to extend in a direction that is predominantly parallel to the central axis direction; wherein the first gauge thickness dimension of the first gauge portion is configured to correspond to a first predetermined cut length of a pin of a connector; and wherein the positioning portion 28 is configured to permit the cutter portion to cut a pin of a connector received by the positioning portion to the first predetermined cut length in the first position of the positioning portion that is needed for an installation so as to provide uniform electrical performance of the connector during operation of the connector. See Fig. 1-4 in Geddes.
It should be noted that when the bottom plates of the positioning portion 28 are simultaneously moved with respect to the upper bottom plates, a stepped structure is formed in which the bottom plates form a first gauge portion and the upper plates form the second first gauge. This is shown in Figs. 5-6 in Geddes. The entire positioning portion 28 could be simultaneously moved to a second position where the through hole 46 of the first gauge portion or the lower plates aligns with one of the holes 14 and the second gauge portion or upper lower plates are moved away from the first gauge portion. Therefore, the entire positioning portion 28 rotates or pivots with respect to the first and second grips 20. It should also be noted that the claim does not specifies that the positioning portion is formed from a single integral piece.
It should also be noted that the claim is directed to a tool for cutting a pin of a connector. The connector is a workpiece. The limitations related to the workpiece as the connector do not limit the apparatus as the cutting tool. In addition, the intended use of the apparatus as the cutting tool does not also further limit the apparatus.
Regarding claim 30, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first predetermined cut length equals the first gauge thickness dimension of the first gauge portion plus a distance between an edge of the cutting portion and the first gauge portion.
Regarding claim 31, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole 46 that is configured to extend in a direction predominantly parallel to the central axis direction. See Fig. 3 in Geddes.
Regarding claim 32, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the second gauge portion comprises a second gauge thickness dimension that is different from the first gauge thickness dimension of the first gauge portion.
Regarding claim 33, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the positioning portion 28 includes a marking portion (1/2, 3/4; Fig. 6) that indicates a thickness of the first gauge portion.
Regarding claim 35, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the positioning portion is configured to be rotated to align the first through hole 14 with a gap between the cutting portion and the cutting surface.
Regarding claim 36, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first gauge portion comprises a recess portion (defined by the stepped structure of the position of the lower plates relative to the upper plates) that is configured to allow at least a portion of the first through hole to pass there through, and the recess portion is configured to receive a portion of a connector other than a pin.
Regarding claim 37, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first and second gripping portions 20 are configured to move toward each other such that the cutting portion cuts a pin of a connector against the cutting surface to reduce a length of a pin of a connector to the first predetermined cut length.
Regarding claim 38, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the cutting portion 10 is a cutting blade.
Regarding claim 39, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole is configured to receive (or capable of receiving) a pin of a coaxial cable connector.
Regarding claim 40, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first though hole is configured to receive a pin of a hardline connector.
Regarding claim 41, Geddes teaches a tool for cutting a pin of a connector, comprising: a cutter portion (10, 12, 20) comprising a first gripping portion 20 and a second gripping portion 20; a positioning portion 28 comprising a first gauge portion (defined by a few top plates 28) and a second gauge portion(define by the few bottom plate 28 that can rotate with respect to the top plate to create stepped like structure); wherein the cutter portion (10, 12, 20) is configured to receive a pin of a connector to be cut by the cutter portion; wherein the first gauge portion 28 comprises a first through hole 46 (having a different diameter and aligning with the through hole 14; Fig. 3) that is configured to receive a pin of a connector and the second gauge portion comprises a second through hole 46 (defined by the through hole of the bottom plates that has a different diameter than the diameter of the first through hole of the upper plates) that is configured to receive a pin of a connector; wherein the positioning portion is configured to extend along an axis that extends along a positioning portion axis direction; wherein an entirety of the positioning portion is configured to rotate relative to the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion around the axis between a first position (where the bottom plates are aligned with one of the through holes 14 and the lower plates are moved to away from the first plates) and a second position (where the lower plates are moves to away from the top plates and the top plates are aligned with one of the through holes 46); wherein the first gauge portion has a first gauge thickness dimension (where the lower plates are moved away from the top plates and the top plates are aligned with one of the through holes 46) that is configured to extend in a direction that is predominantly parallel to the positioning portion axis direction; wherein the first gauge thickness dimension of the first gauge portion is configured to correspond to a first predetermined cut length of a pin of a connector; and wherein the positioning portion 28 is configured to permit the cutter portion to cut a pin of a connector received by the positioning portion to the first predetermined length in the first position of the positioning portion that is needed for a connector installation so as to provide uniform electrical performance of the connector. See Fig. 1-4 in Geddes.
It should be noted that when the bottom plates of the positioning portion 28 are simultaneously moved with respect to the upper bottom plates, a stepped structure is formed in which the bottom plates form a first gauge portion and the upper plates form the second first gauge. This is shown in Figs. 5-6 in Geddes. The entire positioning portion 28 could be simultaneously moved to a second position where the through hole 46 of the first gauge portion or the lower plates aligns with one of the holes 14 and the second gauge portion or upper lower plates are moved away from the first gauge portion. Therefore, the entire positioning portion 28 rotates or pivots with respect to the first and second grips 20. It should also be noted that the claim does not specifies that the positioning portion is formed from a single integral piece.
It should also be noted that the claim is directed to a tool for cutting a pin of a connector. The connector is a workpiece. The limitations related to the workpiece as the connector do not limit the apparatus as the cutting tool. In addition, the intended use of the apparatus as the cutting tool does not also further limit the apparatus.
Regarding claim 42, Geddes teaches everything noted above including an attaching portion (16, 30) that is configured to attach the positioning portion to the cutter portion.
Regarding claim 43, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the cutter portion comprises a cutting portion 10 hat is configured to be pivotably attached to a cutting support portion. See Fig. 1 in Geddes.
Regarding claim 44, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the cutting portion 10 is a cutting blade.
Regarding claim 45, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first predetermined cut length equals the thickness of the first gauge portion plus a distance between a cutting edge of the cutter portion and the first gauge portion.
Regarding claim 46, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole 46 is configured to extend in a direction that is predominantly parallel to the positioning portion axis direction.
Regarding claim 47, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the second gauge portion has a second gauge thickness dimension, and the first gauge thickness dimension is greater (as could be formed by more plates than the second auge portion) than the second gauge thickness dimension.
Regarding claim 48, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole 46 is configured to receive (or capable of receiving) a pin of a coaxial cable connector.
Regarding claim 49, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole is configured to receive (or capable of receiving) a pin of a hardline connector.
Regarding claim 50, Geddes teaches a tool for cutting a pin of a connector, comprising: a cutter portion (10, 12, 20); a positioning portion 28 comprising a first gauge portion (defined by a few top plates 28) and a second gauge portion(define by the few bottom plate 28 that can rotate with respect to the top plate to create stepped like structure); wherein the cutter portion is configured to receive a pin of a connector to be cut by the cutter portion; wherein the first gauge portion comprises a first through hole 46 (having a different diameter and aligning with the through hole 14; Fig. 3) configured to receive a pin of a connector and the second gauge portion comprises a second through hole 46 (defined by the through hole of the bottom plates that has a different diameter than the diameter of the first through hole of the upper plates) that is configured to receive a pin of a connector; wherein an entirety of the positioning portion 28 is configured to rotate relative to an entirety of the cutter portion (including the top plates and the bottom blades that can be rotated to different positions) between a first position (where the bottom plates are aligned with one of the through holes 14 and the lower plates are moved to away from the first plates) and a second position (where the lower plates are moves to away from the top plates and the top plates are aligned with one of the through holes 46); wherein the first gauge portion comprises a first gauge thickness dimension (where the lower plates are moved away from the top plates and the top plates are aligned with one of the through holes 46) that is configured to correspond to a first predetermined cut length of a pin of a connector; wherein the second gauge portion comprises a second gauge thickness dimension (where the upper plates are moved away from the lower plates and the lower plates are aligned with one of the through holes 46) that is configured to correspond to a second predetermined cut length of a pin of a connector; wherein the first predetermined cut length and the second predetermined cut length are different; and wherein the positioning portion is configured to permit the cutter portion to cut a pin of a connector received by the positioning portion to the first predetermined cut length in the first position of the positioning portion and to the second predetermined cut length in the second position of the positioning portion, the pin being cut to a length that is needed for a connector installation so as to provide uniform electrical performance of the connector. See Fig. 1-4 in Geddes.
It should be noted that when the bottom plates of the positioning portion 28 are simultaneously moved with respect to the upper bottom plates, a stepped structure is formed in which the bottom plates form a first gauge portion and the upper plates form the second first gauge. This is shown in Figs. 5-6 in Geddes. The entire positioning portion 28 could be simultaneously moved to a second position where the through hole 46 of the first gauge portion or the lower plates aligns with one of the holes 14 and the second gauge portion or upper lower plates are moved away from the first gauge portion. Therefore, the entire positioning portion 28 rotates or pivots with respect to the first and second grips 20. It should also be noted that the claim does not specifies that the positioning portion is formed from a single integral piece.
It should also be noted that the claim is directed to a tool for cutting a pin of a connector. The connector is a workpiece. The limitations related to the workpiece as the connector do not limit the apparatus as the cutting tool. In addition, the intended use of the apparatus as the cutting tool does not also further limit the apparatus.
Regarding claim 51, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the thickness of the first gauge portion is in a direction parallel to a rotational axis of the positioning portion.
Regarding claim 52, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the cutter portion comprises a first gripping portion 20 and a second gripping portion 20, and wherein the first and second gripping portions are configured to move toward each other such that a cutting blade cuts a pin of a connector against a cutting surface so as to reduce a length of a pin of a connector to the first predetermined cut length.
Regarding claim 53, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole 46 is configured to extend in a direction at least predominantly parallel to a rotational axis of the positioning portion.
Regarding claim 54, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that wherein the first through hole 46 is configured to receive (or capable of receiving) a pin of a coaxial cable connector.
Regarding claim 55, Geddes teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole 46 is configured to receive (or capable of receiving) a pin of a hardline connector.
4. Claims 29-31, 35, 37-46 and 48-49 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Nelson (4,228,585). Regarding claim 1, Nelson teaches a tool for cutting (or capable of cutting) a pin of a connector, comprising: a cutter portion (18, 20, 22, 24, 28) comprising: a first gripping portion 18 that comprises a cutting portion 20; and a second gripping portion 24 that is configured to be pivotally (via pin 50; Fig. 2) attached to the first gripping portion 18 and comprises a cutting surface (defined by the surface of the blade guide 22; Fig. 3; a positioning portion 14 that comprises a first gauge portion (defined by a portion with larger holes 14) and a second gauge portion (define by the portion with smaller holes 14 positioned opposite the larger holes; Fig. 1); an attaching member (16, 44) that is configured to attach the positioning portion 12 to the cutter portion (18, 20, 22, 24, 28); wherein the cutting surface is configured to receive a pin (via hole 42) of a connector to be cut between the cutting surface and the cutting portion; wherein the first gauge portion comprises a first through hole 14 that is configured to receive a pin of a connector and the second gauge portion comprises a second through hole 14 that is configured to receive a pin of a connector; wherein the attaching member (16, 44) is configured to extend along a central axis that extends along a central axis direction; wherein an entirety of the positioning portion 12 is configured to rotate relative to the first gripping portion 18 and the second gripping portion 24 around the central axis during tool operation between a first position and a second position; wherein the first gauge portion has a first gauge thickness dimension (defined by the thickness of the disc 12) that is configured to extend in a direction that is predominantly parallel to the central axis direction; wherein the first gauge thickness dimension of the first gauge portion is configured to correspond to a first predetermined cut length of a pin of a connector; and wherein the positioning portion 12 is configured to permit the cutter portion to cut a pin of a connector received by the positioning portion to the first predetermined cut length in the first position of the positioning portion that is needed for an installation so as to provide uniform electrical performance of the connector during operation of the connector. See Fig. 1-5 in Nelson.
It should also be noted that the claim is directed to a tool for cutting a pin of a connector. The connector is a workpiece. The limitations related to the workpiece as the connector do not limit the apparatus as the cutting tool. In addition, the intended use of the apparatus as the cutting tool does not also further limit the apparatus.
Regarding claim 30, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the first predetermined cut length equals the first gauge thickness dimension of the first gauge portion plus a distance between an edge of the cutting portion and the first gauge portion.
Regarding claim 31, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole 14 that is configured to extend in a direction predominantly parallel to the central axis direction. See Fig. 1 in Nelson.
Regarding claim 35, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the positioning portion 12 is configured to be rotated to align the first through hole with a gap between the cutting portion 20 and the cutting surface.
Regarding claim 37, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the first and second gripping portions (18, 24) are configured to move toward each other such that the cutting portion cuts a pin of a connector against the cutting surface to reduce a length of a pin of a connector to the first predetermined cut length.
Regarding claim 38, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the cutting portion 20 is a cutting blade.
Regarding claim 39, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole is configured to receive (or capable of receiving) a pin of a coaxial cable connector.
Regarding claim 40, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the first though hole is configured to receive a pin of a hardline connector.
Regarding claim 41, Nelson teaches a tool 10 for cutting a pin of a connector, comprising: a cutter portion (18, 20, 22, 24, 28) comprising a first gripping portion 18 and a second gripping portion 24; a positioning portion 12 comprising a first gauge portion (defined by the portion with larger wholes 14) and a second gauge portion (define by the opposite portion with smaller holes 14; Fig. 1); wherein the cutter portion is configured to receive a pin of a connector to be cut by the cutter portion; wherein the first gauge portion comprises a first through hole 14 that is configured to receive a pin of a connector and the second gauge portion comprises a second through hole 14 that is configured to receive a pin of a connector; wherein the positioning portion 12 is configured to extend along an axis that extends along a positioning portion axis direction; wherein an entirety of the positioning portion 12 is configured to rotate relative to the first gripping portion 18 and the second gripping portion 24 around the axis between a first position and a second position; wherein the first gauge portion has a first gauge thickness dimension (defined by the thickness of the disc 12) that is configured to extend in a direction that is predominantly parallel to the positioning portion axis direction; wherein the first gauge thickness dimension of the first gauge portion is configured to correspond to a first predetermined cut length of a pin of a connector; and wherein the positioning portion 12 is configured to permit the cutter portion to cut a pin of a connector received by the positioning portion to the first predetermined length in the first position of the positioning portion that is needed for a connector installation so as to provide uniform electrical performance of the connector. See Fig. 1-5 in Nelson.
It should be noted that the claim is directed to a tool for cutting a pin of a connector. The connector is a workpiece. The limitations related to the workpiece as the connector do not limit the apparatus as the cutting tool. In addition, the intended use of the apparatus as the cutting tool does not also further limit the apparatus.
Regarding claim 42, Nelson teaches everything noted above including an attaching portion 16 that is configured to attach the positioning portion 12 to the cutter portion.
Regarding claim 43, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the cutter portion comprises a cutting portion 20 hat is configured to be pivotably attached to a cutting support portion 32. See Fig. 3 in Nelson.
Regarding claim 44, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the cutting portion 20 is a cutting blade.
Regarding claim 45, Nelson everything noted above including that the first predetermined cut length equals the thickness of the first gauge portion plus a distance between a cutting edge of the cutter portion and the first gauge portion.
Regarding claim 46, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole 14 is configured to extend in a direction that is predominantly parallel to the positioning portion axis direction.
Regarding claim 48, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole 14 is configured to receive (or capable of receiving) a pin of a coaxial cable connector.
Regarding claim 49, Nelson teaches everything noted above including that the first through hole 12 is configured to receive (or capable of receiving) a pin of a hardline connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
6. Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geddes in view of Weissman et al. (3,370,353), hereinafter Weissman. Regarding claim 34, Geddes teaches everything noted above except that marking portion is configured to provide a measurement of the first predetermined cut length. However, Weisman teaches a tool for cutting a pin if a connector including positioning member 32 having a marking portion (defined by marks in mm; Fig. 1) that indicates a thickness dimension of the of the gauge portion. Weissman also teaches that the marking portion is configured to provide a measurement of the predetermined cut length. See Figs. 1-9 in Weissman. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide Geddes’s positioning member with marks, as taught by Weissman, in order to assist the user in measuring the length of the workpiece to be cut.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s argument that Geddes does not teach that an entirety of the positioning portion is configured to rotate relative to the first gripping portion and the second gripping portion around the central axis during tool operation between a first position and a second position is not persuasive. As disclosed above. Geddes teaches that an entirety of the positioning portion 28 (including the top plates and the bottom blades that can be rotated to different positions) is configured to rotate relative to the first gripping portion 20 and the second gripping portion 20 around the central axis during tool operation between a first position (where the bottom plates are aligned with one of the through holes 14 and the lower plates are moved to away from the first plates) and a second position (where the lower plates are moves to away from the top plates and the top plates are aligned with one of the through holes 46). In this case, both lower plates and the upper plates are moves from a first position to a second position.
It should be noted that when the bottom plates of the positioning portion 28 are simultaneously moved with respect to the upper bottom plates, a stepped structure is formed in which the bottom plates form a first gauge portion and the upper plates form the second first gauge. This is shown in Figs. 5-6 in Geddes. The entire positioning portion 28 could be simultaneously moved to a second position where the through hole 46 of the first gauge portion or the lower plates aligns with one of the holes 14 and the second gauge portion or upper lower plates are moved away from the first gauge portion. Therefore, the entire positioning portion 28 rotates or pivots with respect to the first and second grips 20. It should also be noted that the claim does not specifies that the positioning portion is formed from a single integral piece.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724 October 30, 2025