DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
battery, motor, vacuum, as required by Claims 1, 10;
fan driven system, as required by Claims 4, 13;
turbine driven system, as required by Claims 5, 14;
vacuum pump, as required by Claims 6, 15;
separate actuator, as required by Claims 8, 17;
bin, as required by Claims 9, 18,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 &10, the limitation "normal level of performance" is not defined in the INSTANT APPLICATION such that a skilled Artisan would recognize this level from any other. Examiner notes that the SPECIFICATION defines "normally operating" as a "reduced state of power torque or speed", without referring to another state as a baseline. No other definition of "normal" is provided. The claims are therefore indistinct with regards to metes and bounds an cannot be understood by the Examiner. In order to examine the claims and advance prosecution, Examiner has interpreted the claims to mean any level of operation.
Regarding Claims 9 &18, the limitation "foreign matter" is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim whether the foreign matter is a required element of the electric clipper or method of using same. In order to examine the claims and advance prosecution, Examiner has interpreted the claims to mean the foreign matter is not a required element of the claimed matter.
Claims 2-8 and 11-17 are rejected as being dependent on independent claims 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-14, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung, et alia (US 2003/0131480), hereinafter Leung, in view of McCambridge, et alia (US 6,684,511), hereinafter McCambridge.
Regarding Claim 1, Leung discloses method comprising:
providing an electric clipper (Examiner notes the electric clipper exists, ergo it has been provided), wherein the electric clipper comprises:
a body having an exterior surface (Fig 1);
at least one battery disposed within the body (Para [0029]);
a motor (12) disposed within the body (Para [0023]);
a clipper head (6) (Para [0019]), operably coupled to the body (Fig 1), that is powered by the motor and that is configured to clip hair (Para [0005]);
a power actuator (18) (Para [0024]) integrated with the exterior surface of the body (Fig 1) that is configured to selectively connect and disconnect the at least one battery and the motor to thereby power on and off the motor in response to corresponding actuations by a user such that when the motor is powered on by the power actuator the motor operates at a normal level of performance (Para [0024]);
at least one boost actuator (20) (Para [0024] integrated with the exterior surface of the body and configured to provide increased operating performance of the clipper head when actuated by a user.
Leung is silent to a vacuum. McCambridge teaches an electric clipper (Col 1, Ln 26) having a vacuum at least partially disposed within the body (Col 9, Ln 63-65), and being selectively connectable and disconnectable from the battery (Col 4, Ln 38-39 teaches a non–rechargeable battery which Examiner interprets to mean it is removable and therefore connectable and disconnectable from the electric clipper and therefore also the vacuum). McCambridge further teaches the advantage of the vacuum in that it collects hair clippings.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for the electric clipper, as disclosed by Leung, to include a vacuum at least partially disposed within the body (Col 9, Ln 63-65), and being selectively connectable and disconnectable from the battery, as taught by McCambridge, in order to collect hair clippings.
Regarding Claim 2, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung further discloses the body of the electric clipper has at least two opposing sides (Fig 1) and wherein the at least one boost actuator is located on a first one of the two opposing sides (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 3, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is not explicit to more than one boost actuator, however, having provided one boost actuator, a skilled Artisan would easily recognize the ability to provide a second, for the ease of use by both right and left handed users, or in order to actuate the boost with the electric clipper in more than one operating position.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for the electric clipper, as taught by combined Leung/McCambridge to include another of the at least one boost actuator is located on a second one of the two opposing sides, such that both opposing sides of the body have a corresponding boost actuator that each independently, when actuated by a user, provide increased operating performance of the clipper head, in order to provide a second boost actuator, for the ease of use by both right and left handed users, or in order to actuate the boost with the electric clipper in more than one operating position.
Regarding Claim 4, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum, however McCambridge teaches the vacuum comprises a fan driven system (190) (Col 10, Ln 14).
Regarding Claim 5, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum, however McCambridge teaches the vacuum comprises a turbine driven system (190) (Col 10, Ln 14) (Examiner has interpreted the limitation turbine to include a fan).
Regarding Claim 7, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum, however McCambridge teaches operation of the vacuum is directly coupled to operation of the electric clipper (Col 10, Ln 20-28).
Regarding Claim 9, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum, however McCambridge teaches the vacuum comprises a bin (182) (Col 10, Ln 30) configured to store foreign matter during operation of the vacuum.
Regarding Claim 10, Leung discloses an electric clipper comprising:
a body having an exterior surface (Fig 1);
at least one battery disposed within the body (Para [0029]);
a motor (12) disposed within the body (Para [0023]);
a clipper head (6) (Para [0019]), operably coupled to the body (Fig 1), that is powered by the motor and that is configured to clip hair (Para [0005]);
a power actuator (18) (Para [0024]) integrated with the exterior surface of the body (Fig 1) that is configured to selectively connect and disconnect the at least one battery and the motor to thereby power on and off the motor in response to corresponding actuations by a user such that when the motor is powered on by the power actuator the motor operates at a normal level of performance (Para [0024]);
at least one boost actuator (20) (Para [0024] integrated with the exterior surface of the body and configured to provide increased operating performance of the clipper head when actuated by a user.
Leung is silent to a vacuum. McCambridge teaches an electric clipper (Col 1, Ln 26) having a vacuum at least partially disposed within the body (Col 9, Ln 63-65), and being selectively connectable and disconnectable from the battery (Col 4, Ln 38-39 teaches a non–rechargeable battery which Examiner interprets to mean it is removable and therefore connectable and disconnectable from the electric clipper and therefore also the vacuum). McCambridge further teaches the advantage of the vacuum in that it collects hair clippings.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for the electric clipper, as disclosed by Leung, to include a vacuum at least partially disposed within the body (Col 9, Ln 63-65), and being selectively connectable and disconnectable from the battery, as taught by McCambridge, in order to collect hair clippings.
Regarding Claim 11, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung further discloses the body of the electric clipper has at least two opposing sides (Fig 1) and wherein the at least one boost actuator is located on a first one of the two opposing sides (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 12, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is not explicit to more than one boost actuator, however, having provided one boost actuator, a skilled Artisan would easily recognize the ability to provide a second, for the ease of use by both right and left handed users, or in order to actuate the boost with the electric clipper in more than one operating position.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for the electric clipper, as taught by combined Leung/McCambridge to include another of the at least one boost actuator is located on a second one of the two opposing sides, such that both opposing sides of the body have a corresponding boost actuator that each independently, when actuated by a user, provide increased operating performance of the clipper head, in order to provide a second boost actuator, for the ease of use by both right and left handed users, or in order to actuate the boost with the electric clipper in more than one operating position.
Regarding Claim 13, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum, however McCambridge teaches the vacuum comprises a fan driven system (190) (Col 10, Ln 14).
Regarding Claim 14, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum, however McCambridge teaches the vacuum comprises a turbine driven system (190) (Col 10, Ln 14) (Examiner has interpreted the limitation turbine to include a fan).
Regarding Claim 16, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum, however McCambridge teaches operation of the vacuum is directly coupled to operation of the electric clipper (Col 10, Ln 20-28).
Regarding Claim 18, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum, however McCambridge teaches the vacuum comprises a bin (182) (Col 10, Ln 30) configured to store foreign matter during operation of the vacuum.
Claims 6, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung, in view of McCambridge and Johnson (US 5,269,073), hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding Claim 6, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum. Johnson teaches an electric clipper having a vacuum and further having a vacuum pump for directing cut hair into a bin (Col 3, Ln 20).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for the electric clipper, as taught by combined Leung/McCambridge to include a vacuum comprising a vacuum pump, as taught by Johnson, in order to directing cut hair into a bin.
Regarding Claim 15, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum. Johnson teaches an electric clipper having a vacuum and further having a vacuum pump for directing cut hair into a bin (Col 3, Ln 20).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for the electric clipper, as taught by combined Leung/McCambridge to include a vacuum comprising a vacuum pump, as taught by Johnson, in order to directing cut hair into a bin.
Claims 8, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leung, in view of McCambridge and Ortega (US 7,114,257), hereinafter Ortega.
Regarding Claim 8, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum. Ortega teaches an electric clipper having a vacuum and further having a separate actuator that controls actuation of the vacuum (32) (Col 3, Ln 4).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for the electric clipper, as taught by combined Leung/McCambridge to include a separate actuator that controls actuation of the vacuum, as taught by Ortega, in order to provide more flexibility in operation.
Regarding Claim 17, combined Leung/McCambridge teaches all aspects of the claimed invention, as stated above. Leung is silent to the vacuum. Ortega teaches an electric clipper having a vacuum and further having a separate actuator that controls actuation of the vacuum (32) (Col 3, Ln 4).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for the electric clipper, as taught by combined Leung/McCambridge to include a separate actuator that controls actuation of the vacuum, as taught by Ortega, in order to provide more flexibility in operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2001/0025421 to Damstra teaches an electric clipper.
/FRED C HAMMERS/
Examiner
Art Unit 3724
/ADAM J EISEMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724